View Full Version : Bernie 'Superboot' Quinlan (1978 - 1986)

Grimreepah
8 Jan 2011, 14:11
http://img818.imageshack.us/img818/4736/quinlan.jpg

Grimreepah
8 Jan 2011, 14:21
Link to site (http://www.latrobe.vic.gov.au/events/hof/legends/)

When he retired in 1986, at the time he was the fifth highest goal kicker and was second on the list for total number of games played only behind Richmond legend Kevin Bartlett. In 1996 Bernie Quinlan was inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame. He was named in Fitzroy's Team of the Century at Centre Half Forward in 2001.

Key Achievements

Total Games played in the VFL - 366
Total Goals Kicked - 814
Brownlow Medallist, 1981
Coleman Medallist, 1983, 1984
All - Australian 1983, 1984
Victorian Team Representation 4 Games, 6 Goals
Inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame in 1996
Named as Centre Half Forward in Fitzroy Football Club's 'Team of the Century'

http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/316/quinlanj.jpg

Grimreepah
8 Jan 2011, 14:25
http://img507.imageshack.us/img507/4736/quinlan.jpg

Grimreepah
8 Jan 2011, 14:28
G_GIs1YPX3c

XWrDqwRwGoo&NR=1

Mr Ripper
8 Jan 2011, 14:46
-RIxKutDhZQ

GWTQhzrxUek

RWdunBQmJ-c

MVfCWLzPeyo

piHI4bz6DHI

God bless Bernie.

Grimreepah
8 Jan 2011, 14:57
Link to site (http://www.countryfootyscores.com/media-articles/159-bush-beat-with-ken-piesse/3128-favorite-10-footballers-from-the-latrobe-valley.html)

A finer player at 30 than he was at 20, Quinlan was one of post-war football's most enduring and the first to amass 300 VFL/AFL games, win a Brownlow Medal and kick 100 goals in a season. Recruited from Traralgon, he was the outstanding kick in the game in his heyday, a drop kick in 1966 being measured at 85 yards.

http://img202.imageshack.us/img202/5443/quinlan3.jpg

Grimreepah
8 Jan 2011, 15:01
http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/1708/quinlan5.jpg

Grimreepah
8 Jan 2011, 15:16
Link to article (http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2009/05/21/71991_news.html)

Vinar won a few champion kick competitions on the World of Sport Sunday morning show on Channel 7 in the 1960s.His son, Sean, yesterday recalled accompanying him to kicking competitions.
"Dad had the world record for the longest drop kick which was in the Guinness Book of Records," he said.
"Dad kicked the ball 84 yards and held the record for many years until Bernie Quinlan, known as the Superboot from Fitzroy, broke it."

Dylan12
8 Jan 2011, 15:36
Had the privilege of being coached for a season by Superboot whilst he was a current player in my primary school years where his daughter also attended in Black Rock. My god he had a massive kick on him and a terrific fella to boot.

Being the only Fitzroy supporter at my school (everyone else supported St Kilda, Collingwood or Richmond), I only wore 12 on my jumpers and duffle coat, but convinced the folks to get me a Fitzroy James Spicer training jumper IIRC with a number 5 on it to impress the man. Certainly a highlight of mine having one of your favourite players at the time coach you as well.

Mr Ripper
8 Jan 2011, 15:38
Great story, Dylan! :thumbsu: I had to make do with the bloke who played back pocket for Brunswick. :o

MICKYCONLAN
8 Jan 2011, 22:27
A dead set champion. I remember him kicking 5 goals against the wind in the last quarter of a final. Also kicked 11 goals in another game. He could also play in any position on the ground.

greendiesel
9 Jan 2011, 10:25
The prototype for todays game....and any game in the future.

Grimreepah
9 Jan 2011, 14:38
Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bernie_Quinlan)

The Brisbane Lions mascot Bernie "Gabba" Vegas is partially named as a tribute to Quinlan.

Grimreepah
9 Jan 2011, 14:54
http://img835.imageshack.us/img835/4736/quinlan.jpg

Voss the boss
10 Jan 2011, 06:44
He was my hero growing up and everyone one of my primary school year photo's i had a fitzroy jumper on it with the No. 5. Loved him and was there in his last game when we lost the prelim to hawthorn at VFL park.

Heard david parkin talk about him once and he said one of his biggest regrets was the fact he didn't mamange BQ properly in 87 making him do all the work on the track and as a result he retired not adding to his game tally.

3KZ is Football
10 Jan 2011, 07:46
Nice snap from the forward pocket by Bernie.

4BBg0djXemw&feature=related

http://www.fitzroyfc.com.au/2011FFCMembershipform.pdf

Grimreepah
11 Jan 2011, 03:00
Link to article (http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2008/08/12/17088_gfc.html)

Watching Goodes making a successful transition to attack reminded Roos of Quinlan, the champion dubbed Superboot. Roos noticed both men were of similar stature, with Goodes listed at 194cm and 98kgs and Quinlan at 193cm and 97kgs.
"Bernie Quinlan won a Brownlow Medal as a midfielder and then he played until he was 36 as a full forward. Adam is about the same size as Bernie," Roos said.

Grimreepah
12 Jan 2011, 00:12
Interview with Barry Round and Bernie Quinlan (http://www.bikegames.com.au/news/2004/9/19/the-two-of-us-barry-round-bernie-quinlan/)

Barry Round - "I suppose he did have a good sense of humour then, but he's turned into a grumpy old bastard now; he hates the world now. I'm too scared if I'm in a shout with him to go to the toilet because I reckon he'll talk about me when I'm gone. Since he got the arse from Fitzroy as coach, he's got a list as long as your arm of people he doesn't like any more.

He's much too skinny. He has a go at me for being too fat, but he's much too skinny. He looks crook, he's running out of hair. But he rides a bike and plays golf about eight days a week so that's why he's still in such good nick. He's disgusting actually - he looks too fit.

Yeah, it was ironic to win the Brownlow with him. Even our wives were pretty good mates, not that they're our wives any longer, of course. But it was amazing to first of all tie and then to tie with somebody you were so close to. It was unbelievable. It was terrific actually."

http://img34.imageshack.us/img34/6403/quinlan4.jpg

Grimreepah
12 Jan 2011, 16:31
Link to article (http://www.theage.com.au/news/Sport/Landmarks/2005/05/13/1115843367091.html)

Rendell kicked eight goals, while Mick Conlan and Bernie Quinlan both kicked seven, as the Roys racked up the highest score at the Junction Oval, 34.16 (220), while the Roos, who were on top of the ladder, could muster only 10.10 (70). "Everything just clicked," said Quinlan, who denied a suggestion that he often tried to boot the ball into the Junction Oval scoreboard.

http://img835.imageshack.us/img835/6380/berniequinlan.jpg

3KZ is Football
17 Jan 2011, 19:16
Some absolute "ball bursters" from Bernie Quinlan in these clips. There is no doubt why he was refered to as "Super Boot" by the football world. Quinlan's pace and agility are also on display here.

Micky Conlan's goals are an added bonus.

CSzDYoBl5Y4&feature=related

efybhNRvDG4&feature=related

Grimreepah
17 Jan 2011, 19:57
http://img638.imageshack.us/img638/4736/quinlan.jpg

Voss the boss
17 Jan 2011, 20:04
Link to article (http://www.theage.com.au/news/Sport/Landmarks/2005/05/13/1115843367091.html)

I was at this game and my dad told me (on the way in the tram) not to get upset as he believed that we would get thrashed. Standing in the outer at the Junction oval - still remember how good it was and turning to him and just saying...this is the best day of my life. To celebrate i got taken back to the St Kilda RSL to have two raspberry lemonades!!

3KZ is Football
20 Jan 2011, 06:45
Another great goal from Quinlan.

s_oh82_MVI8&feature=related

Wallaby
20 Jan 2011, 07:05
Best kick I ever saw. Distance and accuracy.

LIONHART
20 Jan 2011, 09:54
maybe brisbane lions need to employ bernie to coach clark on how to kick, particularly if he is to have a role in front of the goalposts this year.

they couldn't get a better teacher

Grimreepah
17 Apr 2011, 05:54
100 players who made the Lions roar (http://books.google.com.au/books?id=zu305oUYP5kC&printsec=frontcover&dq=Fitzroy:+for+the+love+of+the+jumper+:+100+players+who+mad e+the+%22Lions%22+roar&source=bl&ots=sXAhDV3vlq&sig=LBAicrNi604tiQH2075cBZx68As&hl=en&ei=TPOpTeeIA5GsugOivJGYCg&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=1&ved=0CBUQ6AEwAA#v=onepage&q&f=false)

Bernie Quinlan is as decorated a player as any who has pulled on the Fitzroy guernsey. The only honour that eluded him during his long career was a premiership medallion. The son of Fitzroy reserves player Frank Quinlan, he was born on 21 July 1951. Quinlan played his early football at Traralgon in Gippsland and was zoned to Footscray. He made his VFL debut in Round 12 of 1969, ironically against Fitzroy, when he was days short of his 18th birthday, and kicked four goals from full forward.

He eventually played 177 games for 241 goals for the Bulldogs, winning the Footscray goalkicking in 1971 with 48 goals and representing Victoria twice while at the club. He crossed to Fitzroy mid-season 1978, having threatened to play with VFA club Sandringham if he was not given a clearance. He received overtures from both Collingwood and Geelong at the time.

http://img864.imageshack.us/img864/5872/quinlanz.jpg
Bernie Quinlan and Barry Round show off their Brownlow Medals jointly won in 1981

Grimreepah
10 Sep 2011, 16:55
Link (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/123019/default.aspx) ....

A shift took place from 1977 onwards that became entrenched in the 1980s. Teams became more accurate in front of goal. Brownlow medallist and champion goalkicker Bernie Quinlan's career statistics reflected that overall shift. From 1969-77, Quinlan kicked 241 goals with an accuracy rating of 49 per cent. From 1978-86, he kicked 576 goals (61.67 per cent).

However, Quinlan guesses it was probably a change in environment rather than a change in routine or kicking technique that explained the difference. "I don't think I changed anything significantly over the years," Quinlan said.

He changed teams in 1978, moving from playing home games at the windy Western Oval (now Whitten Oval) to the more predictable Junction Oval. No such thing as playing games under a roof in Quinlan's era. "There was a lot of bog heaps. Even the MCG was a mess at times. It was pretty hard to get your footing some days coming in to kick," he said.

http://img819.imageshack.us/img819/5443/quinlan3.jpg

Grimreepah
18 Sep 2011, 07:24
Footy record (http://www.aflrecord.com.au/displayrecord/id/83)

http://img855.imageshack.us/img855/5894/conlanquinlan.jpg

Bernie Quinlan missed the elimination final through injury but he was quick to congratulate Michael Conlan for his last-goal heroics.

Grimreepah
9 Oct 2011, 02:22
Round 17, 1984 (http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=1300&dat=19840730&id=WkBVAAAAIBAJ&sjid=9pQDAAAAIBAJ&pg=3857,7717212)

Fitzroy 11.11.77
Hawthorn 10.7.67

It was the wettest afternoon of the season, an afternoon for swimming to the ball first, diving into packs and paddling out to team mates.

Bernie Quinlan kicked only three, but he looked a threat every time the ball came in his direction.

http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/6380/berniequinlan.jpg