View Full Version : TV Gervais tears up the Golden Globes

RisingPhoenix
18 Jan 2011, 09:06
72HAlrdOjKQ

Class.

Magpiespower
18 Jan 2011, 09:49
Reckon the opening monologue is pretty limp.

Especially compared to his previous awards night efforts.

The hysterical fallout has been much funnier.

Harden up Hollywood!

Suspense
18 Jan 2011, 10:13
http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2011/01/17/article-1348067-0CCB9614000005DC-867_468x286.jpg

RisingPhoenix
18 Jan 2011, 10:13

Harden up Hollywood!

Robert Downey Jr and his 'sinister undertones'.

:D

I loved how Batman went into bat for Ricky...could just imagine him punching on with someone after the show for 'not having a sense of humor'.

ThePezDispenser
18 Jan 2011, 10:35
Heard about this on the radio and couldn't wait to watch it. Big fan of his atm!

Kong
18 Jan 2011, 11:42
Damn, I'll have to wait until I get home to watch it.

Hoping that he continues to keep his own true sense of humour, and doesn't compromise it too much (like he did with The Invention of Lying).

Kerrby
18 Jan 2011, 11:51
I love the fact that the producers tied him up backstage for an hour and forced him to stop being so insulting.

great_pass
18 Jan 2011, 12:00
ricky gervais should make a funny movie

mayhem20202
18 Jan 2011, 12:09
All very predictable and lame......

great_pass
18 Jan 2011, 12:18
wrong, ricky gervais is a god

mayhem20202
18 Jan 2011, 12:29
He just says stuff that everyone else is thinking, but choose not to say for the sake of "political correctness".

great_pass
18 Jan 2011, 12:35
so you would be as funny as ricky if you said what you thought.

go on and create two brilliant sitcoms.

Admiral Afterworld
18 Jan 2011, 12:53
"The other... is Tim Allen" :D:thumbsu:

He just says stuff that everyone else is thinking, but choose not to say for the sake of "political correctness".

I don't think you know what political correctness is.

alfy!
18 Jan 2011, 12:53
I love the fact that the producers tied him up backstage for an hour and forced him to stop being so insulting.
That didn't happen at all, but okay.

smitchell
18 Jan 2011, 13:10

Um,yeah,exactly.:confused:

That's why he is the man. Does not care about blacklisting himself.

great_pass
18 Jan 2011, 13:20
thanks for the support fellas

ricky gervais

Forthwrite
18 Jan 2011, 13:23
That didn't happen at all, but okay.

o'rly?

"Ricky will not be invited back to host the show next year, for sure," a member of the HFPA tells me, adding that Gervais' relentlessly mean shtick could have even larger consequences. "For sure any movie he makes he can forget about getting nominated. He humiliated the organization last night and went too far with several celebrities whose representatives have already called to complain."

http://www.popeater.com/2011/01/17/ricky-gervais-banned-golden-globes/

I thought he was good and he did basically the exact same thing last year so I'm not sure what they were expecting.

mayhem20202
18 Jan 2011, 13:23
thanks for the support fellas

ricky gervais

This poor attempt at humor by you shows your poor sense of humor, which probably explains why you find such predictable humor so hilarious.

great_pass
18 Jan 2011, 13:28
what humour? i am ricky gervais.

its not my fault you find nothing funny.

ricky gervais

THRILLHO
18 Jan 2011, 13:28
ricky gervais should make a funny movie

Lol.

6 Ricky's

RisingPhoenix
18 Jan 2011, 13:34
o'rly?

I thought he was good and he did basically the exact same thing last year so I'm not sure what they were expecting.

"For sure any movie he makes he can forget about getting nominated. He humiliated the organization last night and went too far with several celebrities whose representatives have already called to complain."

Harden the f up.

What a pathetic country America truly is.

smitchell
18 Jan 2011, 13:37
This poor attempt at humor by you shows your poor sense of humor, which probably explains why you find such predictable humor so hilarious.

True, but at least he's not a hater.

Nothing predictable about yesterday.

The scientology gag alone was very risky. Not for someone tough who sits in front of a computer;), but for someone who could possibly sabotage his career.

But somehow I don't think he gives a flying f***.

Respect.

docker_champ29
18 Jan 2011, 13:45
Mainly very old material. But I admire his guts.

great_pass
18 Jan 2011, 13:48
thank you docker champ

ricky gervais

alfy!
18 Jan 2011, 13:54
o'rly?

Yeah.

http://www.cinemablend.com/television/Ricky-Gervais-Won-t-Invited-Back-Golden-Globes-29427.html

Entertainment Weekly (http://insidetv.ew.com/2011/01/17/hollywood-foreign-press-association-on-ricky-gervais-outrageous-material/) obtained a statement from The Hollywood Foreign Press, which seems to conflict somewhat with the tone of the one Popeater.com released:

“We loved the show. It was a lot of fun and obviously has a lot of people talking. When you hire a comedian like Ricky Gervais, one expects in your face, sometimes outrageous material. Certainly, in this case, he pushed the envelope and occasionally went too far. The HFPA would never condone some of his personal remarks. Overall, however, the show was among the best we’ve ever had and we were pleased.”

Kerrby
18 Jan 2011, 14:06
Yeah.

http://www.cinemablend.com/television/Ricky-Gervais-Won-t-Invited-Back-Golden-Globes-29427.html
http://news.ninemsn.com.au/entertainment/8198545/gervaiss-jokes-totally-unacceptable-globes-boss

great_pass
18 Jan 2011, 14:07
wat is this , battle of the links?

ricky gervais

Damon_3388
18 Jan 2011, 14:24
Lulz at Mark Wahlberg's total indifference when Gervais is introduced :p

neddy36
18 Jan 2011, 14:43
"For sure any movie he makes he can forget about getting nominated. He humiliated the organization last night and went too far with several celebrities whose representatives have already called to complain."

Harden the f up.

Couldn't agree more. I admire him for taking the piss out of them. They all take themselves and their profession way too seriously. In comparison to what we have recently witnessed in Queensland and the war and poverty in some third world countries, their pretentious and indulgent industry needs to wake up to what is real in the world. Good to see Bob DeNiro get a good laugh out of it! :thumbsu:

ThePezDispenser
18 Jan 2011, 14:49
Harden the f up.

Couldn't agree more.

alfy!
18 Jan 2011, 15:01
http://news.ninemsn.com.au/entertainment/8198545/gervaiss-jokes-totally-unacceptable-globes-boss
Not sure what that has to do with your original comment, which said that Ricky was pulled off screen for an hour.

ThePezDispenser
18 Jan 2011, 15:01
Damn, I'll have to wait until I get home to watch it.

Hoping that he continues to keep his own true sense of humour, and doesn't compromise it too much (like he did with The Invention of Lying).

I surprisingly didn't mind it.

I found it average until he invented religion - Then I nearly fell into tears.

Chief
18 Jan 2011, 15:24
Ricky was pulled off screen for an hour.

Lucky boy. Though he was probably a bit raw by the end of it.

*boom-tish*

No? OK...

ManWithNoName
18 Jan 2011, 15:27
"And thankyou to god for making me an athiest"

Ludwig van Bertstare
18 Jan 2011, 15:29
The people that didn't like it probably prefer the US version of The Office too.

Warsaw
18 Jan 2011, 15:32
Sometimes I find Gervais too much in love with himself but Globes were brilliant. Loved his intros to the presenters and them not knowing what to say. Should of done one for the Bieber.

Also loved Damon

PGTArgIqhDA

always right
18 Jan 2011, 15:36
Always nice to see the same people who go and on about their "craft" shift uncomfortably in their seats.

Some great stuff from Ricky mixed in amongst some dross. Some people (me) wouldn't watch any of this show if Ricky wasn't hosting.

Ricky's biggest crime was selling out to Hollywood with his film making. How can someone who is such a brilliant writer create such lame unfunny movies?

docker_champ29
18 Jan 2011, 15:37
Sometimes I find Gervais too much in love with himself.

You Must be confused with David Brent

JR#8
18 Jan 2011, 15:43
I thought it was pretty funny. Can't see why all the sooks are getting worked up over it.

RisingPhoenix
18 Jan 2011, 15:55
You Must be confused with David Brent

There two seperate people?

:eek:

RisingPhoenix
18 Jan 2011, 15:57
I thought it was pretty funny. Can't see why all the sooks are getting worked up over it.

Ummmmmmm because they are a spoilt, pack of narcisisstic, egomaniacal drop kicks?

Kerrby
18 Jan 2011, 15:58
Not sure what that has to do with your original comment, which said that Ricky was pulled off screen for an hour.
This?

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/entertainment/8198169/rumours-fly-over-gervaiss-mystery-absence

Xtreme
18 Jan 2011, 16:02
I thought he was hilarious, the strange thing is i havn't really fallen head over heels for him (not really a fan of The Office nor Extras, or Ricky in general). The funny thing is how the hollywood community (actors, producers, directors) falling head over heels to be seen talking or attempting to work with him over the last few years - now with egg on their faces

Atheist
18 Jan 2011, 16:27
Speaking of pulled off screen...

http://img824.imageshack.us/img824/9987/33135897.gif

Admiral Afterworld
18 Jan 2011, 16:33
Judging by NBC's ads Gervais' style was expected.

CWOe7fhu21w
99w0Bbi9QO4
ppWFmkWYNCQ

RisingPhoenix
18 Jan 2011, 16:47
Speaking of pulled off screen...

http://img824.imageshack.us/img824/9987/33135897.gif

Poor Mother Angie.

:thumbsu:

always right
18 Jan 2011, 17:02
I thought he was hilarious, the strange thing is i havn't really fallen head over heels for him (not really a fan of The Office nor Extras, or Ricky in general). The funny thing is how the hollywood community (actors, producers, directors) falling head over heels to be seen talking or attempting to work with him over the last few years - now with egg on their faces

Amazing how people's taste differs. Most people would rate The Office (UK) perhaps the greatest comedy of all time and Extras not a long way behind.

Damon_3388
18 Jan 2011, 17:48
Amazing how people's taste differs. Most people would rate The Office (UK) perhaps the greatest comedy of all time and Extras not a long way behind.

You'd be surprised at the amount of people who worship The Office (US), but have never even seen or don't at all rate The Office (UK). Personally, I find the US version quite unfunny, while the original is hilarious, even on re-viewing.

always right
18 Jan 2011, 18:19
You'd be surprised at the amount of people who worship The Office (US), but have never even seen or don't at all rate The Office (UK). Personally, I find the US version quite unfunny, while the original is hilarious, even on re-viewing.

Not surprised...some people are easily pleased. The Office UK is simply brilliant. I still watch it from time to time. Tried the US version several times...just doesn't do it for me. I think it's the lack of subtlety.

RobbyRoy
18 Jan 2011, 19:08
I'm a big Gervais fan but I thought it was all very tame and I can't believe the reaction to it. Surely Johnny Depp knows The Tourist was shit; surely Tim Allen knows he's nothing compared to Hanks; surely that old Aussie bloke wasn't offended by an old person joke. These people need to get over themselves.

smitchell
18 Jan 2011, 20:07
Not surprised...some people are easily pleased. The Office UK is simply brilliant. I still watch it from time to time. Tried the US version several times...just doesn't do it for me. I think it's the lack of subtlety.

Reminds me of a golden globes host I remember seeing a while back:)

Love the UK version. Love the US version.

Can't fault either.

US office has probably provided me with more laughs over the course. Plus a show is going to seem better when you can make less than 20 episodes and leave people wanting more. It builds a certain mystique, a legend if you will.

But then again...:D

Both with the same premise but just so different..and awesome.

Shell
18 Jan 2011, 21:10
I'm a big Gervais fan but I thought it was all very tame and I can't believe the reaction to it. Surely Johnny Depp knows The Tourist was shit; surely Tim Allen knows he's nothing compared to Hanks; surely that old Aussie bloke wasn't offended by an old person joke. These people need to get over themselves.

Didnt Allen says something about comedians being funny without being nasty???

Hypocritcal asshole he is then- ive seen him do stand up (in Detroit), he was a sexist, arrogant wanker and no one laughed, he died on stage. Absolute ********, got what he deserved at the Globes.

Oh yeah and loved Rickys work, wished i had watched the whole awards, lol, if i had known...

Warsaw
18 Jan 2011, 22:07
Didnt Allen says something about comedians being funny without being nasty???

That was Robert Downey.

alfy!
19 Jan 2011, 07:59
http://www.rickygervais.com/thissideofthetruth.php

I enjoyed the Globes more this year. I think I had better gags. More along the lines of the Mel Gibson one last year.

Obviously the rumour that the organizers stopped me going out on stage for an hour is rubbish. I did every link I was scheduled to do. The reason why the gaps were uneven is because when I got the rundown I was allowed to choose who I presented to. I obviously chose the spots that I had the best gags for. They couldn't move around the order but I could move around however I wanted.

All the same conspiracy theories as last year too... "So and so was offended"... "hasn't been invited back yet"... exactly the same as last time. "Paul McCartney was furious"... no he wasn't. And nor was Tim Allen and Tom Hanks. I was drinking with them after.

Why do people have to embellish? They're allowed to say they hated it. They're allowed to say they didn't find it funny, that it was tasteless, over the top, or whatever. But why do they speculate and make stuff up?

Don't worry, I know the answer. Because it's more interesting than "it went fine and some people won some awards and then went to a party". But that's all that happened.

Actually, I see what they mean. Boring. So here's what really happened. Bruce Willis and Sly Stallone started a fight with me but Alec Baldwin and Mark Walberg stepped in and helped me out. That's what happened.

Ricky's take on it.

ThePezDispenser
19 Jan 2011, 08:13
That's hilarious. I just watched the Daniel Ratcliffe episode from Extras where the same concept was illustrated - blowing everything out of proportion and making it up.

Shell
19 Jan 2011, 08:59
That was Robert Downey.

Ah k, he responded "None of which he is now" to Hanks' "He used to be a kind comedian"- something along those lines.

I still stand by my comments about him. ;)

Lmfao at last nights "Entertainment Tonight"- was watching it in btw points of the tennis. 100% ignored Ricky's hosting job- not one mention of it. That show is so far up celebrities asses, i guess they had to.

Pessimistic
19 Jan 2011, 15:13
I'd like to think if ol' Charlie Harper(Sheen) was there, the would have had a good old chuckle at gervais' mention of him !!!

Downey needs to lighten up

Was Mel there ? even gervais wont touch some material

alfy!
19 Jan 2011, 15:16

Downey Junior was hilarious.

Pessimistic
19 Jan 2011, 15:26
72HAlrdOjKQ

Class.

You cut out Scarlett Johansen, dammitt !!

This is Bigfooty, its supposed to be the other way around !

DeadlyAkkuret
19 Jan 2011, 15:35
Bruce Willis and Tim Allen's comebacks were laaaaaamme :o

Kong
19 Jan 2011, 16:41
Can somebody post clips of whatever their taking about, with Downey Jr, Bruce Willis etc's comeback.

RobbyRoy
19 Jan 2011, 19:20
RDJ is often the first person to make fun of his dark days and he took Gervais' joke about him as well as anyone. He probably just heard so many comments about it around the room that he felt he should say something.

DeadlyAkkuret
19 Jan 2011, 20:33
Can somebody post clips of whatever their taking about, with Downey Jr, Bruce Willis etc's comeback.

rNRx2oH4Ors

k4cl-37Vug8

33ozHrZRySw

ManWithNoName
19 Jan 2011, 20:34
Robert Downey Jr doesn't strike me as the type to get offended easily. He's also a very, very funny guy. He would've got it.

Johnny Depp however...

Korn
19 Jan 2011, 21:12
I doubt anyone got offended like the what the media have said. They are not even that offensive.

Ludwig van Bertstare
19 Jan 2011, 21:22
Bruce Willis' response was cringe worthy.

Swans120
19 Jan 2011, 21:33
The people in charge of the GG would have known exactly that Gervais was gonna trash them all and they would have been fine with it unofficially. They'd be loving the extra attention, publicity and revenue generated from it. They did commercials before the event saying he was gonna go hard and he went on talk shows saying he was gonna go hard.

They had to come out after and say we distance ourselves from what he said and blah blah blah. Nobody gives a shit about these shows but everyone is talking about it now and it would have got great ratings. Win/win for the GG people.

Gervais doesn't give a **** though. That's why I love him. Extras, The Office and Ricky Gervais Show. So good.

OzBomber
19 Jan 2011, 21:36
Didn't mind the Downey Jr comeback, I thought it was pretty good.

Bruce Willis' was horrible, even worse considering he screwed it up as well.

Damon_3388
19 Jan 2011, 23:54
I doubt Depp was offended by it at all. He even appeared to crack a weak smirk when they quickly panned to him for his reaction. He's not the humourless grouch people here are making him out to be. I mean, he absolutely loves The Fast Show, so he's got a great sense of humour.

_JC_
20 Jan 2011, 07:19
I doubt Depp was offended by it at all. He even appeared to crack a weak smirk when they quickly panned to him for his reaction. He's not the humourless grouch people here are making him out to be. I mean, he absolutely loves The Fast Show, so he's got a great sense of humour.

Having a a good sense of humour and being able to laugh when someone makes fun of you are two different things.

THRILLHO
20 Jan 2011, 08:15
Was Mel there ? even gervais wont touch some material

He got him last year.

Caesar
20 Jan 2011, 08:26

Harden up Hollywood!
My thoughts exactly.

That said, I'm not 100% sure how I feel about Ricky Gervais. I love The Office, but I conversely don't find him to be particularly funny personally. Most of his standup I find to be pretty ordinary - not awful, but not all that great either. I've come to the conclusion that he is a brilliant comic writer, but perhaps not the best performing comedian.

I don't entirely understand why there's been such a fallout over this - didn't he do pretty much the exact same thing last time he hosted? Aside from that, it was really pretty mild. Hardly at Stephen-Colbert-roasting-Bush levels.

THRILLHO
20 Jan 2011, 08:57
Have you seen his stand-up on religion?

O_sfSDCV9Jo

I was in tears watching it.

"I need some planets" :D

Caesar
20 Jan 2011, 09:10
Yeah, see I just don't find it that original or funny. I've seen Animals and Politics. I haven't seen Fame, or his latest one (Science?).

OTOH I find his scripted comedies hilarious.

Damon_3388
20 Jan 2011, 09:33
Having a a good sense of humour and being able to laugh when someone makes fun of you are two different things.

I still don't think Depp is as precious as people are making him out to be.

RisingPhoenix
20 Jan 2011, 09:49
http://www.nydailynews.com/entertainment/tv/2011/01/19/2011-01-19_jennifer_lopez_i_threatened_to_kill_ricky_gervais_at_the_ golden_globes_host_than.html?r=entertainment

Jennifer Lopez threatened to kill Ricky apparently.

Swans120
20 Jan 2011, 10:09
Of course she did. What a ****.

Does she really think this is gonna make her look better than just laughing along politely with whatever he said?

She is exactly why Hollywood needs to have people like Gervais rip on them. People like her truly believe they are above being made fun of because they've released such jewels to our society as "Gigli" and "Jenny from the Block".

DeadlyAkkuret
20 Jan 2011, 18:33
Have you seen his stand-up on religion?

O_sfSDCV9Jo

I was in tears watching it.

"I need some planets" :D

I loved that, seen it before but still funny.

"He could've said let there be man, there would've been man definitely"

sDeJEtHZ-KU

I don't know why but I always laugh so hard at the Toucan part.

Korn
21 Jan 2011, 00:50

Does she really think this is gonna make her look better than just laughing along politely with whatever he said?

She is exactly why Hollywood needs to have people like Gervais rip on them. People like her truly believe they are above being made fun of because they've released such jewels to our society as "Gigli" and "Jenny from the Block".

I think she was just playing along.

ju3P0_uI3VE

Plugger35
21 Jan 2011, 01:58
Ricky needs to bring Karl along next time as co-host.

Karl: "That Jennifer Lopez, what's her problem? She needs to get a good hold of herself she does".

DeadlyAkkuret
21 Jan 2011, 02:01

Congratulations on jumping the gun mate :rolleyes: I'm not sold on Lopez's acting ability, but her attitude is quality.

HahnPremium
21 Jan 2011, 02:18
I find his scripted comedies hilarious.
Like all comedians. Scripted.
I like "karl" in his scripted comedies. A careful construct to "third person' some more, perhaps not pc, material. Gervais fans will deny but hey- just my opinion.
But does it matter?
I dont think so.
Its funny.
Having said that, I would still back Ricky in any kind of true comedy consortium that would dare challenge each other live and on their wits. A live Algonquin table if you will.
I dont presently see many challengers in that regard.
Tim Allen excepted of course.:p

Vecto
21 Jan 2011, 13:09
Like all comedians. Scripted.
I like "karl" in his scripted comedies. A careful construct to "third person' some more, perhaps not pc, material. Gervais fans will deny but hey- just my opinion.
But does it matter?
I dont think so.
Its funny.
Having said that, I would still back Ricky in any kind of true comedy consortium that would dare challenge each other live and on their wits. A live Algonquin table if you will.
I dont presently see many challengers in that regard.
Tim Allen excepted of course.:p

What on earth are you on about?

If your saying Pilkington is scripted, then thats a huge call, based on nothing at all.

Kong
21 Jan 2011, 13:14
I can never make my mind up on Karl.

He seems too layered to be a scripted creation, but you could say the same about Gareth Keenan. In fact both have similarly bizarre theories of the world and the important things in it.

That first series of The Ricky Gervais show (the itunes version) is still some of the funniest stuff I've ever seen/heard. Not far behind The Office, in terms of laughs provided.

If only my comptuer didn't crash, and if only Ricky didn't make you buy it now. :(

docker_champ29
21 Jan 2011, 14:08
I just watched Season 1 of the Ricky Gervais show and I don't think I remember Karl laughing once throughout. I think he's for real although he may put it on a little bit for the show. And I'm about 95% sure Karl knows that most of his monkey news is absolute bullshit.

Pessimistic
21 Jan 2011, 14:48
http://www.nydailynews.com/entertainment/tv/2011/01/19/2011-01-19_jennifer_lopez_i_threatened_to_kill_ricky_gervais_at_the_ golden_globes_host_than.html?r=entertainment

Jennifer Lopez threatened to kill Ricky apparently.

By sitting on his face ?

mds00
21 Jan 2011, 15:10
I just watched Season 1 of the Ricky Gervais show and I don't think I remember Karl laughing once throughout. I think he's for real although he may put it on a little bit for the show. And I'm about 95% sure Karl knows that most of his monkey news is absolute bullshit.

You should have a listen to their XFM radio show when they 1st 'discovered' Karl. He does laugh a bit at his own theories and Ricky and Steve making fun of him. As the series goes on its great to hear them realise how bizarre he is.

flight23
21 Jan 2011, 15:37
Didn't mind the Downey Jr comeback, I thought it was pretty good.

Bruce Willis' was horrible, even worse considering he screwed it up as well.

Downey knew what was going on, coming out and blasting gervais would look even worse

Willis, well im not even sure what the gag meant

depp had hunter s thompson as one of his best mates for life, im pretty sure you'd have to have a decent sense of humor to even hang out with hunter

karl puts it on a bit, but its all gold
monkey business is just flat out hilarious, anyone who doesn't laugh at ricky going off at karl, or the little jokes between gervais and merchant as the story builds, (little fella was he?, paid in bananas and that sort of stuff) will never get gervais

Swans120
21 Jan 2011, 15:58

He is mostly for real IMO but he definitely can take the attitude that Ricky and Steve have towards him (that he is out of his mind) and use it to his advantage when he delivers certain lines. Definitely has some sort of comedic mind as well as being somewhat crazy at the same time. But most of it is just him being the weirdest bloke in the room. Ricky and Steve work with it well too.

Vecto
21 Jan 2011, 18:11
He is mostly for real IMO but he definitely can take the attitude that Ricky and Steve have towards him (that he is out of his mind) and use it to his advantage when he delivers certain lines. Definitely has some sort of comedic mind as well as being somewhat crazy at the same time. But most of it is just him being the weirdest bloke in the room. Ricky and Steve work with it well too.

Yeh i tend to think that he is genuinely real, with snippets 'improvised comedy'. If he wasn't real then he'd be the greatest comedian of all time.

DeadlyAkkuret
21 Jan 2011, 19:42
By sitting on his face ?

I could think of so many worse ways to go.

AG
21 Jan 2011, 21:05
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/tv/3362720/Ricky-Gervais-to-return-as-David-Brent.html

Might be oldish news.