View Full Version : Fruit Tingles' best ever chance to win Showdown
Forgive the name-calling - couldn't resist.
People were saying last Showdown was the Crows' best ever chance to win, but somehow they conspired to lose.
Rnd 22 however, presents the perfect opportunity to stop the mighty Power making it 7 in a row. Port have nothing to play for, and on the contrary, will just be fine tuning players who haven't quite had enough game time. We certainly won't be wanting to risk injury or suspension. Adelaide on the other hand may be playing for second spot. We may still win, as we will have some players trying to galvanise themselves a spot, but I think your sad lot may actually get up this time.
Kane McGoodwin
19 Aug 2003, 14:18
Port deserve to start favourites Pred. It would be a fallacy given the run in to finals to think that you guys will take this game half-hearted. We will not be lulled into a false-sense of security. ;)
Win against the Kangas and we'll be playing for second spot.
Lose against the Kangas and we'll be playing for a top four spot.
Port have sealed the minor premiership and have nothing to play for.
So yes, I agree, we should win this one with so much more to play for. And win we shall, don't worry about that. :D
Kane McGoodwin
19 Aug 2003, 14:38
Originally posted by DaveW
So yes, I agree, we should win this one with so much more to play for. And win we shall, don't worry about that. :D
Dave until we actually win a damn showdown, we have no reason to be overly confident about beating the Power.
As Kane said Pred the Papsies (no apologies here old son) will & rightfully so start a red hot fav to win & no way would Mark Williams & his coaching staff would want their team to play the last h&a game before the finals half cocked, you might have won a couple of more showdowns than us but the next one is the most important one for us & if all things being equal i predict a Crows victory by at least 2 goals,
As if Port or the Crows would go into a showdown to go easy on each other,
still nice to know you already have an excuse lined up,;)
Kane McGoodwin
19 Aug 2003, 14:49
Pred, I may agree we are favourites if Choco rests about half a dozen players for the finals - preferably Brogan, Wanganeen, Stevens, James, Carr & Tredrea ... & throw in C Cornes for good measure. ;)
Noddy you great female-pleasuring-device - I'm not suggesting the Power will not try, but everything about our club this season suggests a total and absolute focus on finals. In that context, beating the Crows in a showdown doesn't even register a blip on the radar. It's all about getting the best team, in the best shape, into the first week of the finals. So I predict Port will play a hard game, but realistically, will only be going at about 70% or 80% of full throttle. And there will CERTAINLY be a few underdone players who are ripened up a bit in preparation for the following week. All in all though, if Port play at 80% and the Crows at 100%, the Crows will win.
Originally posted by Pred
Noddy you great female-pleasuring-device If that's meant to be an insult, it sure doesn't sound like one.
beating the Crows in a showdown doesn't even register a blip on the radar. So why this thread? 12 days out from the game?
if Port play at 80% and the Crows at 100%, the Crows will win. If we play at 100% it doesn't matter what Port go at. :D
And Kane, what sort of fan would I be if I wasn't wildly optimistic about every match? :p
Kane McGoodwin
19 Aug 2003, 15:09
So why this thread? 12 days out from the game?
Because Pred has a secret interest in the Crows. ;)
If we play at 100% it doesn't matter what Port go at. :D?
True, but we seem incapable of playing 100% against Port for some strange reason(s).
And Kane, what sort of fan would I be if I wasn't wildly optimistic about every match? :p
I'm a realist. Remember who picked the Pies last week & who thought we would win easily. ;)
Kane McGoodwin
19 Aug 2003, 15:10
Noddy you great female-pleasuring-device.
I think your getting confused with dyertribe. ;)
Bringing it up now because it just ocurred to me :)
maccas_no1
19 Aug 2003, 15:44
More like you are just bored ****less Pred
Yeah agree Noddy the 'excuse' I can hear it now
'Oh we were getting ready for the finals'
Hope we beat the Powder Puffs in Rnd and 22 and the Qualifying Final:D :D
What excuse will you have then MORON
macca23
19 Aug 2003, 15:50
Noddy you great female-pleasuring-device
He wishes Pred, he wishes!!;)
Originally posted by macca23
He wishes Pred, he wishes!!;)
Ahh, memories memories :) if only we could turn back time,;)
dyertribe
19 Aug 2003, 17:02
Originally posted by noddy
if only we could turn back time,;)
....if we could find a way........
Pred stradding a battleship gun in a body stocking seems eerily appropriate at this juncture.
Jars458
19 Aug 2003, 17:12
The usual Port adelaide stuff
If they lose, then they were expected to
If they win - best win the Club has ever had.:rolleyes:
They must have expeced to lose every Showdwon I reckon.
I'm going into this Showdown thinking we have no chance.
Originally posted by Jars458
The usual Port adelaide stuffCynical to the last Jars. Care to take issue with something specific rather than just waffle on?
Jars458
19 Aug 2003, 18:13
Cynical to the last Jars. Care to take issue with something specific rather than just waffle on?
Port will try to win the game and will give 100%
Surely?
If not, they should be ashamed.
And if so, why is this our best chance ever. I reckon we have our usual chance about 50-50.
topjars
19 Aug 2003, 18:35
Forgive the name-calling - couldn't resist.
People were saying last Showdown was the Crows' best ever chance to win, but somehow they conspired to lose.
Rnd 22 however, presents the perfect opportunity to stop the mighty Power making it 7 in a row. Port have nothing to play for, and on the contrary, will just be fine tuning players who haven't quite had enough game time. We certainly won't be wanting to risk injury or suspension. Adelaide on the other hand may be playing for second spot. We may still win, as we will have some players trying to galvanise themselves a spot, but I think your sad lot may actually get up this time.
Now Ive heard everything....
First you booed the sh/t out of your own mob of sheep with 4 minutes on the clock and now you're making excuses for a loss before the ball is bounced.
Must be the saki:rolleyes:
topjars
19 Aug 2003, 18:37
Win against the Kangas and we'll be playing for second spot.
Lose against the Kangas and we'll be playing for a top four spot.
Port have sealed the minor premiership and have nothing to play for.
Are you saying Dave we had nothing to play for the last time we met?
topjars
19 Aug 2003, 18:40
Noddy you great female-pleasuring-device - I'm not suggesting the Power will not try, but everything about our club this season suggests a total and absolute focus on finals. In that context, beating the Crows in a showdown doesn't even register a blip on the radar. It's all about getting the best team, in the best shape, into the first week of the finals. So I predict Port will play a hard game, but realistically, will only be going at about 70% or 80% of full throttle. And there will CERTAINLY be a few underdone players who are ripened up a bit in preparation for the following week. All in all though, if Port play at 80% and the Crows at 100%, the Crows will win.
You'll p:ss down me back and tell me its rainin next:rolleyes:
Originally posted by topjars
Are you saying Dave we had nothing to play for the last time we met? Of course not.
First you booed the sh/t out of your own mob
Must be the saki:rolleyes: Erm....there was booing, yes, but it certainly wasn't me. I just let out a large sigh and waited for the siren.
Certainly missing the saki though....and my fiance....:(
You'll p:ss down me back and tell me its rainin next:rolleyes: *ZIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIPPPP* "Oh TooopJaaaars!!..."
*ZIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIPPPP* "Oh TooopJaaaars!!..." Errr, he said piss, not um... yeah. ;)
dyertribe
19 Aug 2003, 18:45
Two weeks out from the game and it's already on!
Love it........................................
Port will try to win the game and will give 100% Please explain to me, O' Jars, how giving 100% to win either of the next 2 games will advantage Port? Imagine the Crows game becomes an epic battle like Port v Brisbane Rnd 22 2002. A totally absorbing and draining afair. The sort of effort which takes more than a week to recover from, the sort of effort which will quite likely leave you with an injury or two. Reeeeeal smart. :rolleyes:
Jars458
19 Aug 2003, 19:00
Please explain to me, O' Jars, how giving 100% to win either of the next 2 games will advantage Port? Imagine the Crows game becomes an epic battle like Port v Brisbane Rnd 22 2002. A totally absorbing and draining afair. The sort of effort which takes more than a week to recover from, the sort of effort which will quite likely leave you with an injury or two. Reeeeeal smart. :rolleyes:
Because Port are a proud football club who want to win every game esepecially against their biggest rivals.
You guys really are feeling the pressure of having to perform in the finals this year. It seeps out of your computer.
You guys really are feeling the pressure of having to perform in the finals this year. It seeps out of your computer. Having to, yes, but also wanting to.
Port Adelaide exist to win Premierships.
......not to beat the AFC (that's just a trivial side-pursuit ;))
Jars458
19 Aug 2003, 19:12
Having to, yes, but also wanting to.
Port Adelaide exist to win Premierships.
......not to beat the AFC (that's just a trivial side-pursuit ;))
Of course
But if we finish second we will stand in your way on the MCG in the grand final
If you make it that far.
To have come that far, just to fail at the last hurdle....poor Port.:D
crowsfan
19 Aug 2003, 21:39
I'm not suggesting the Power will not try, but everything about our club this season suggests a total and absolute focus on finals. In that context, beating the Crows in a showdown doesn't even register a blip on the radar. Even in that context, could you be inferring that Port wouldn't mind losing? I'm sure any team, no matter what sport, does mind losing, no matter what the circumstance. Has Port ever not mind losing to their cross-town rivals?
PAfolwr
19 Aug 2003, 22:28
Hey Pred.
I wouldn't bother to try and get a reasonable debate going on this board at the moment.
It's heading towards springtime, and like all good herds they are preoccupied with organising one bull to do all the work.
:D
topjars
19 Aug 2003, 23:10
At least we're not inbred.:p
Why is it that you pair of scumsuckers are chirpy anyway?
I thought you'd be like the rest of the ferals
(Guarded, not running off at the mouth and quiet ly confident)
Leigh Roy
20 Aug 2003, 01:08
I'm not going to bother reading all of this until next week.
I am wondering about an avatar change again though. Did I ever tell you that you are an absolute pansy?
Please explain to me, O' Jars, how giving 100% to win either of the next 2 games will advantage Port? Imagine the Crows game becomes an epic battle like Port v Brisbane Rnd 22 2002. A totally absorbing and draining afair. The sort of effort which takes more than a week to recover from, the sort of effort which will quite likely leave you with an injury or two. Reeeeeal smart. :rolleyes:
Funny that. I thought there were two teams that played in Round 22 last year. You know, that totally absorbing and draining affair that took more than a week to recover from?
Funny how that other team recovered easily within a week.
If you want to run around using lame excuses and ignoring the truth that's fine.
Play a sub par game against us if you will, but then you will have to find another excuse for why Port choke in their first final this year as well.
PAfolwr
20 Aug 2003, 19:37
At least we're not inbred.:p
Why is it that you pair of scumsuckers are chirpy anyway?
I thought you'd be like the rest of the ferals
(Guarded, not running off at the mouth and quiet ly confident)
Well if we win round 22 it's because you lot are useless/we have the wood on you/etc.etc.
If you win it will be because we weren't really trying etc. etc.
And the best part is that it will be hard to go against these arguments however real/false they may be.
Bit hard not to be chirpy when we have the mighty crows over the barrel for this one game. :D
Originally posted by napsyd
Funny that. I thought there were two teams that played in Round 22 last year. You know, that totally absorbing and draining affair that took more than a week to recover from? Yes, well there are many factors which may have contributed to that particular combination of results. The most significant one is that Brisbane played on the Saturday, and thus had an extra day to recover than Port, who played on the Frriday night.
The other major factor being that Port played against an eventual grand-finalist, while Brisbane played some second rate team of three-quarter players.
Perhaps you can think of other contributing factors yourself.
Adelaide may or may not win the Showdown. That's not Port's focus, nor mine. Either way Port will have the last laugh.
macca23
20 Aug 2003, 23:53
Apparently, 1 in 5 people in the world are Chinese. There are 5 people in my family, so it must be one of them. It's either my mum or my dad. Or my older brother Colin. Or my younger brother Ho-Cha-Chu. But I think it's Colin.
Colin is the logical suspect. ;)
Stiffy_18
21 Aug 2003, 00:06
Yes, well there are many factors which may have contributed to that particular combination of results. The most significant one is that Brisbane played on the Saturday, and thus had an extra day to recover than Port, who played on the Frriday night. Yes but you are forgeting one important thing. Brisbane had to travel to Footy Park to play your mob, so that extra days rest definetly is offset by the travel factor.
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Yes but you are forgeting one important thing. Brisbane had to travel to Footy Park to play your mob, so that extra days rest definetly is offset by the travel factor. I don't subscribe to that theory.
I don't subscribe to that theory.
Yes, it's easy to subscribe to theories that conveniently suit your argument and to ignore those that don't. Makes you right every time.
Here are some handy excuses you can roll out when Port bomb out of the finals:
* We were devastated by injuries to key players.
* The contrived AFL draw meant we played in a finals type atmosphere in Round 22, thus leaving us flat in the ensuing weeks.
* We were only allowed a five/six day break prior to our first final.
* "Insert team name" beat us but eventually went on to play in "insert highest point of named teams achievement".
* The lads mums forgot to tuck them into bed at the correct time prior to the big game.
Anything but the C word really.
Jars458
21 Aug 2003, 11:25
Adelaide may or may not win the Showdown. That's not Port's focus, nor mine. Either way Port will have the last laugh.
Any team that doesn't play their best in the last game of the season before a tough finals campaign are kidding themselves
If results go our way we could be guaranteed of second before the game. If we are we will still give 100%
Perhaps that's the difference between my club and yours. My combined SA team and your combined SA team.
You are very naive if you don't think the boys at Port will want this one as much as the next.
Malibu#27
21 Aug 2003, 11:46
Because Port are a proud football club who want to win every game esepecially against their biggest rivals.
You guys really are feeling the pressure of having to perform in the finals this year. It seeps out of your computer.
We beat our biggest rivals on the field a couple of weeks ago in Brisbane.
Jars458
21 Aug 2003, 12:01
Originally posted by Malibu#27
We beat our biggest rivals on the field a couple of weeks ago in Brisbane.
You keep telling yourself that.
Malibu#27
21 Aug 2003, 12:08
You keep telling yourself that.
We've played Brisbane 15 times for 6 wins 7 losses and 2 draws .... seems to be a fair rivalry there :)
We've only played Adelaide 13 times for 9 wins and 4 losses.
The showdown rivalry is predominantly because of off field reasons - if Adelaide or Port Adelaide were from another state the rivalry wouldnt be there. That is what I'm getting at.
Yes, it's easy to subscribe to theories that conveniently suit your argument and to ignore those that don't. It's also easy to trot out lame lines like this when someone disagrees with something which supports your argument. Pretty lame of you. I don't think flying from Brisbane to Adelaide equates with a full day's rest. But at least this line of argument has far more merit than your original ill-thought-out tripe.
Originally posted by PAfolwr
Hey Pred.
I wouldn't bother to try and get a reasonable debate going on this board at the moment.
It's heading towards springtime, and like all good herds they are preoccupied with organising one bull to do all the work.
:D
As someone once said to me on your board " repetitive posts like the above can be humorous to begin with but then become quite boring"
ps, but what a bull we have, plus a roo & not to mention a bunji or a stiffy, ;)
Originally posted by macca23
Colin is the logical suspect. ;)
Agree Colin would be the logical choice but i think i'll put my two bob on Pred,:)
Then you'd be wrong Noddy. I am not Chinese, but my better half is Japanese ;)
We've played Brisbane 15 times for 6 wins 7 losses and 2 draws .... seems to be a fair rivalry there :)
We've only played Adelaide 13 times for 9 wins and 4 losses.
The showdown rivalry is predominantly because of off field reasons - if Adelaide or Port Adelaide were from another state the rivalry wouldnt be there. That is what I'm getting at.
Granted you do have a fair rivalry developing with Brisbane but to discount games against the AFC as something minor i do find a little amusing & just put it down as a passing phrase you & other papsies seem to be going through at this time of the year,
It's also easy to trot out lame lines like this when someone disagrees with something which supports your argument. Pretty lame of you. I don't think flying from Brisbane to Adelaide equates with a full day's rest. But at least this line of argument has far more merit than your original ill-thought-out tripe.
I thought my original argument was well thought out tripe. :confused: In fact, my original argument was based completely on your ill thought out tripe. :confused: :confused:
Pred, you really better hope that the people who run your club are more realistic than you are, or another year will be wasted and all you'll have to cling to will be "lame lines".
If the Powers that be honestly believe that Port lost to Collingwood because Port had a big game the week before and were flat as a result, your mob are already gone this year.
What's his name?
It's also easy to trot out lame lines like this when someone disagrees with something which supports your argument. Pretty lame of you. I don't think flying from Brisbane to Adelaide equates with a full day's rest. But at least this line of argument has far more merit than your original ill-thought-out tripe.
Now let me get this straight Pred,
You have trotted out the reasons & excuses if by some chance you lose in rd 22,
Plus you have given out quite a few plausible??? excuses for last years bomb-out,
Just on the off chance that history could repeat itself for Port once again in this years final series i would be most interested if you have the reasons & excuses already on hand (especially if you do happen to meet the Pies in week 1,
damn !! wrong again, ;)
Malibu#27
21 Aug 2003, 13:53
Granted you do have a fair rivalry developing with Brisbane but to discount games against the AFC as something minor i do find a little amusing & just put it down as a passing phrase you & other papsies seem to be going through at this time of the year,
I was by no means discounting them - I look forward to them and always know they will be a great spectacle. What I was trying to get across was that the rivalry was born out of state club allegiances, whereas our Brisbane rivalry is developing due more to on field reasons.
That said - mny original post which started this was some friendly tongue in cheek showdown banter.
I think some of you Crows boys have a real chip on your shoulder over the Showdowns. My original post was simply something that had ocurred to me, that I thought Adelaide would probably win this one, and I thought that might have been of interest. Admittedly I posted it with a pretty superior tone, but would you expect any less? What has followed however has been an endless stream of posts claiming this is 'making excuses' before the fact. Simply not true. But please, carry on as you were. :rolleyes:
Jars458
21 Aug 2003, 14:04
I think some of you Crows boys have a real chip on your shoulder over the Showdowns. My original post was simply something that had ocurred to me, that I thought Adelaide would probably win this one, and I thought that might have been of interest. Admittedly I posted it with a pretty superior tone, but would you expect any less? What has followed however has been an endless stream of posts claiming this is 'making excuses' before the fact. Simply not true. But please, carry on as you were. :rolleyes:
And you call me condescending. Classic.
Its a good fun pre-Showdown punch up - just like always.
:) :cool:
Jars458
21 Aug 2003, 14:05
Of course
But if my aunty was my uncle.........................
Jars458
21 Aug 2003, 14:07
I If the Powers that be honestly believe that Port lost to Collingwood because Port had a big game the week before and were flat as a result, your mob are already gone this year.
Spot on
I couldn't believe people were using that as an excuse. How bloody lame.
Compare that with G Ayres always refusing to find excuses no matter what.
And you call me condescending. And you often are. Gonna dispute it?
Kane McGoodwin
21 Aug 2003, 14:20
I am not Chinese, but my better half is Japanese ;)
What the normal Power girls aren't your style. ;)
She must be good to sacrifice working away from Oz so you rarely get to see a game live & miss all Rucci's incisive analysis. :D
Kane McGoodwin
21 Aug 2003, 14:21
And you often are. Gonna dispute it?
Would you expect any less given your original post?
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
She must be good to sacrifice working away from Oz so you rarely get to see a game live & miss all Rucci's incisive analysis. :D She is mate, she's bloody awesome :)
Ah but yes, I do miss the Holy Trinity of morons: KG, Rucci and Steven Rowe.
Jars458
21 Aug 2003, 14:37
And you often are. Gonna dispute it?
I sometimes treat people's views with disdain if that's what you mean.
That comes from usually being right though!!;)
topjars
21 Aug 2003, 19:00
Well if we win round 22 it's because you lot are useless/we have the wood on you/etc.etc.
If you win it will be because we weren't really trying etc. etc.
And the best part is that it will be hard to go against these arguments however real/false they may be.
Bit hard not to be chirpy when we have the mighty crows over the barrel for this one game. :D
Yeah I agree.
Port are favourites to win the flag too. Thats got to be a factor on the "Chirpy" scale.
Trouble is we were rank underdogs and won 2 flags.
You are rank favourites and ..........well sh*t anything can happen; and probably will.
By the way,I liked your use above of the term "mighty"
PAfolwr
25 Aug 2003, 22:18
As someone once said to me on your board " repetitive posts like the above can be humorous to begin with but then become quite boring"
Gee you got a long memory.
I'll make sure I don't put it in my sig. ;)
Gee you got a long memory.
I'll make sure I don't put it in my sig. ;)
Took awhile :) but what the heck
Hello PAfolwr, ;)