View Full Version : 2nds Paul Johnson commits to Box Hill...
On Box Hill's twitter feed...
Ex-Demon ruckman and Liston Medalist Paul Johnson has committed to the Box Hill Hawks for 2011 if he isn't selected for the HFC rookie spot
Henry Jr
18 Feb 2011, 14:50
No real surprise there.
Either way, he will end up at Box Hill
Should I assume that Ahmat-Watkins is in the same boat if we end up choosing Tuck as the last rookie?
Henry Jr
18 Feb 2011, 15:25
Should I assume that Ahmat-Watkins is in the same boat if we end up choosing Tuck as the last rookie?
Would say that all three will end up at Box Hill.
Which one will be the rookie, well, thats another issue. :D
moginie
18 Feb 2011, 15:26
No. I've heard that he may come back to West Adelaide.
Rudi Gilham
18 Feb 2011, 16:14
I wonder if having Paul Johnson & Adam Pattison playing for BH will impact on Grimley & Lowden getting time in the ruck?
savagelunchbox
19 Feb 2011, 14:52
haha i was ridiculed for saying the 'unnamed' ruckman would obviously be Paul Johnson to see it actually be Patto. But hey i guess i foresaw something that wasn't happening at BHH when i said it.
But anyone could have made that call. Good news for the club. Grimley, you'd imagine, will play in the BHH 2nds for 2011 as he's a long term prospect for Hawthorn so there's no rush to get him game time in the 1sts. Lowden will be the interesting one. Where will he play????????? :confused:
Splodge15
19 Feb 2011, 18:45
Great news. Not easy to add a Liston Medallist to your list.
Grimley is miles off, so I'd be playing him every game in the BH 2's.
I think they can realistically play PJ, Lowden and Pattison in the same side. Both Patto and Johnson are capable in the forward line and I think the it's much easier to carry 3 ruckmen in the VFL than AFL.
Rudi Gilham
19 Feb 2011, 20:04
Just off-thread for a moment, it was interesting to see former Box Hill player, Marcus Crook doing so well in the NAB cup for GWS tonight. I always believed he could play.
Don't know if this is news Im thrilled about. Im sure that Box Hill will win more games because of it. However, I would be thinking the only ruckman Hawthorn consider for senior selection this season will be Renouf/Hale/Bailey. The other two ruckman should be the BHH ruckman, Lowden being the No.1 in the ressies. and Grimley playing back up to him. Lisle at FF. This leaves one position up forward for Pattison or Johnson IMO. Now that we have both, we will probably, as people suggested, play Grimley all season in the 2's which isn't what I'd prefer at all.
Lowden/Pattison/P. Johnson/Lisle.... that is some great tall ruckman/forward options at VFL level however.
The Messenger
20 Feb 2011, 09:20
I think Pattison will be penciled in to play at CHF. Hawthorn don't really have a CHF in waiting, Lisle will play deeper forward, Menagola as a hit up half forward, Schoe will play back, so we don't have a stay at home CHF.
Johnson, Renouf/Bailey and Lowden will share the ruck. One of them may need to play ressies from time to time but with ruckmen it is quite common to have one or more injured at a time.
Hawthorn really do need to target a quality tall forward in next years draft and maybe a project tall forward also late or rookie draft.
HAWKS HEROES
20 Feb 2011, 10:49
i reckon will be a good year this year can not wait
dermott
20 Feb 2011, 13:02
I think Pattison will be penciled in to play at CHF. Hawthorn don't really have a CHF in waiting, Lisle will play deeper forward, Menagola as a hit up half forward, Schoe will play back, so we don't have a stay at home CHF.
Johnson, Renouf/Bailey and Lowden will share the ruck. One of them may need to play ressies from time to time but with ruckmen it is quite common to have one or more injured at a time.
Hawthorn really do need to target a quality tall forward in next years draft and maybe a project tall forward also late or rookie draft.
I seem to recall Pattison played more KPP than ruck in his TAC Cup days and was not super tall (circa 197cm), but a good contested mark so it is certainly likely that he could play KPF at Box Hill. I have no doubt Lowden will be given some time in the ruck and Johnson can also change up forward and can kick the odd goal.
From my observations Grimley still looks too skinny to ruck at VFL level and may be better to play ruck with the development squad or KPD with the Box Hill firsts. They have some big strong ruckmen in the VFL such as Orren Stephenson and AFL listed guys who would outweigh Grimley by 20 kgs. Wait till he gets another year and preseason under his belt.
hawksome
21 Feb 2011, 09:28
Don't know if this is news Im thrilled about. Im sure that Box Hill will win more games because of it. However, I would be thinking the only ruckman Hawthorn consider for senior selection this season will be Renouf/Hale/Bailey. The other two ruckman should be the BHH ruckman, Lowden being the No.1 in the ressies. and Grimley playing back up to him. Lisle at FF. This leaves one position up forward for Pattison or Johnson IMO. Now that we have both, we will probably, as people suggested, play Grimley all season in the 2's which isn't what I'd prefer at all.
Lowden/Pattison/P. Johnson/Lisle.... that is some great tall ruckman/forward options at VFL level however.
Where's Andrew Renton gone, not mentioned/deleted in the updated Box Hill playing list page?
Anyone know? He would have struggled to get a game if Renouf, Lowden, Grimely, Johnson and Pattison were all available. Looking at that list, I'd doubt the ruck will be the weak link at Box Hill this season.
hawksome
21 Feb 2011, 09:36
Haha, I'll answer my own question after a bit of googling. Gone to East Ringwood FC in the Eastern Football League.
Never realised that Tom Murphy's little brother is now playing for BHH - Xavier Murphy.
HAWKS HEROES
21 Feb 2011, 19:46
cool..
houdinihuddo
22 Feb 2011, 09:25
East Ringwood have recruited well with 2009 and 2010 Development Team premiership players Andrew Renton, Andrew McGuinness and Gary Conyers plus Julien Moussi.
Xavier Murphy impressed me in a scratch match against Hawthorn and is a very good prospect. He reads the play well and has good ball handling skills and footy smarts. He has shown signs of being a bit of a ball magnet.
savagelunchbox
22 Feb 2011, 09:47
I see BHH have also signed a young Ben Monkhurst, who i'm guess is related to Damien? Has no where near his height standing at only 189cm.
BHH have also signed former NMFC NSW Scholarship holder, James Wilsen. A 195cm, 99kg KPP. Former Elite rugby player.
The Convert
22 Feb 2011, 12:49
BHH have also signed former NMFC NSW Scholarship holder, James Wilsen. A 195cm, 99kg KPP. Former Elite rugby player.[/quote]
Played for St George in Sydney before that.
HAWKS HEROES
22 Feb 2011, 14:59
I see BHH have also signed a young Ben Monkhurst, who i'm guess is related to Damien? Has no where near his height standing at only 189cm.
His son and yes saw him last monday and had a chat as i went to school with his dad and chatted to Ben when he was a little kid he is starting to grow so i am told he will catch up soon enough i am sure
BHH have also signed former NMFC NSW Scholarship holder, James Wilsen. A 195cm, 99kg KPP. Former Elite rugby player.
interesting the difference in body shape to the others will be interesting seeing how he goes hope he does well
savagelunchbox
25 Feb 2011, 22:29
I notice Paul Johnson's name is already on the BHH players list despite still being on the Hawthorn train-on list. Could this be a sign that he WON'T get the last rookie spot with Hawthorn?
Will be a pretty safe bet that PJ will not get the spot. The club is on record (I think) in saying that he is a backup if a ruckman goes down, we do not need another backup unless we get a preseason injury. Renouf / Bailey / Hale and Lowden could all play if required. And we may only play one depending on set up. PJ will play at Box Hill.
Roger Rogerson
28 Feb 2011, 17:29
Will be a pretty safe bet that PJ will not get the spot. The club is on record (I think) in saying that he is a backup if a ruckman goes down, we do not need another backup unless we get a preseason injury. Renouf / Bailey / Hale and Lowden could all play if required. And we may only play one depending on set up. PJ will play at Box Hill.
You class Bailey as ready to play bards? I would have him in the injured category at this stage from all reports so I would think PJ has to be under consideration.