Casey Scorpions v Box Hill Hawks

Date: Saturday March 5
Venue: Toomuc Reserve - Princes Highway Pakenham
Seniors: Start 1.30pm
Development Squad: Start 11am

Head down to the game to support the Box Hill Hawks
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/news-read.aspx?NewsId=722
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
All discussion of this weeks game v Casey in here please.

Who is heading to the game?

Roddy27
3 Mar 2011, 20:00
Rdh- will they announce the squads prior? Keen to see how many listed players have a game.

rdhopkins2
3 Mar 2011, 20:25
Haven't received word of any squads. Perhaps email the club and see if they release one?

bjlucas
5 Mar 2011, 16:45
Does anybody know how the box hill teams went in the practice match today?

Buddy Guy
5 Mar 2011, 17:01
Does anybody know how the box hill teams went in the practice match today?

Box Hill lost by 10 points to Casey.
72 - 82 is all I could find.

Development squad won by 20.
Stay tuned for the update/report from Russ.

Goldhawk
5 Mar 2011, 17:04
From memory the Development squad won by 20 pts or so.

The Seniors went down by 8 pts in an evenly contested match,but Box Hill wasted several opportunities .

Senior Hawthorn players that played were Guerra, Lewis,Gilham.

T.Schneider and Ryan Schoenmakers were rested apparantly.

There's a lot to like about Box Hill this season,when a full strenght side becomes available.

But disturbing to see Max Bailey with a pressure band on his right knee was on the sidelines watching the game

TheFourPillars
5 Mar 2011, 17:19
Saturday 5 March 2011 Casey Vs Box Hill at Toomuc Reserve Pakenham
Final Score: Casey 12.9.81 to Box Hill 10.11.71.
I got to the game about 10 minutes late and this after planning to get there at 11:00am the previous night. Good thing that was the plan or else I might not have made it at all. The game was free flowing and both teams looked impressive Casey will be a very good team again this year. Their ability to the move the ball quickly through the corridor is something to behold and they have some serious leg speed.

Jordan Lewis: Played and as expected got a lot of the ball and congested situations he is coming along nicely in his pre season preparation and should be ripe for round one.

Brent Guerra: I find it amazing that a lot of people criticise this guy for his performance last year. One of our very important players in the back line showed why today hard, tough and great defensively. He will IMO play round 1.

Stephen Gilham: Played on the full forward for Casey. He got caught a couple of times on the lead but a most serviceable game. Played in front of his man at times and cut out many attacks. Was also a lot more offensive creating the play. Round 1 starter

Riley Milne: Got a lot of the ball but to me he still lacks strength in his core to be able to hold his ground against a tackler and dispose of the ball cleanly. He skill by hand and foot need to improve especially under pressure (whether that is perceived or actual). I don’t think he will get many opportunities this year.

Derick Wangeneen: I must say the boy looked all right out there either in defence or attack. Throws his body around not afraid to lay a tackle and could be a player of the future. Watch this space.

Jack Mahoney: The kid looks a footballer still learning and will be player. Played well in patches was on and off the ground a lot.

Mitch Hallahan: Love the way he goes about hard and tough and good tackler. Has great disposal and knows where to go to get the pill. He only played a half today. Limited game time due to his preparation I imagine but I must say I am impressed.

Grimley: The guy is just physically too immature to play this year. He gets pushed out of ruck contests far too easily. He is great around the ground and has a decent pair of hands. Not the best kick on the run or having a set shot for goal.

Taylor Duryea: Interesting game by him because at stages you thought he could kick 4 or 5 today. Got a lot of it in the forward line but lead to wide and ended up having shots from the boundary line quite often. There is definitely something to work with here.

Travis Tuck: Played in the engine room typical tucky was in and under got a lot of clearances but looks slow out there. Don’t get me wrong he is fit and does run all day but just looked slow especially when Casey had the ball.

Nathan Ahmat Watkins: He did a few nice things today laid a couple of tackles but largely ineffective day.

Box Hill Players I had a close look at.

Beau Muston: Started very well and then went missing for patches of the game. Tries hard and provided run and kicked a great goal from the boundary in the opening quarter. But just to give you an indication of where Beau is at he missed an absolute sitter in the last to put us in front and to make matters worse Casey ran the length of the field from that behind and kicked a goal.

Sam Gibson: Oh captain my captain was great on field led by example and did some inspirational things. Look forward to a big year from Sammy this year.

Michael Thompson: Watch out for this kid. Was great today good leg speed great tackler and natural defender. Had a great game in defense.

Ryan Schoenmakers: Didn’t play is he injured? What’s going on with the kid could have used his height out there today against Casey.

Jarryd Morton: On the injury list so didn’t take the field
Sam Menegola: Injured.

Tom Schneider: Didn’t play, being rested or the club has him focusing on something else.

Will Langford: Didn’t play, being rested or the club has him focusing on something else.

Luke Breust: Didn’t play, being rested or the club has him focusing on something else.

Paul Johnson: Injured

Spoke to the big Monky today. He was there watching his boy play for Box Hill. By the way he looks a likely type. Onto the main reason I walked over, our ruckmen

He said he was pretty happy with the way Renouf and Hale handled themselves in the ruck against Richmond. Hale was a lot better this week I added and he said yes naturally the guy has had very little training since the break needed the run. He should improve with more game time.

Bailey is a week to week proposition. Said that Lowden had ramped up his training and should play some game time for Box Hill next week (good news). Also said that he wasn’t expecting him to play any senior footy this year but you never know. Similar story with Grimley he won’t be seeing any senior footy this year but I think everyone knows that.

We will be playing Coburg down at Craigieburn come along and support the boys.

The Convert
5 Mar 2011, 18:14
Good commentary. Does anyone have similar or a match report on the development squad?

The BIG X
5 Mar 2011, 18:46
Good commentary. Does anyone have similar or a match report on the development squad?

Question to you - What does Convert mean:confused:

Buddy Guy
5 Mar 2011, 19:02
Saturday 5 March 2011 Casey Vs Box Hill at Toomuc Reserve Pakenham
Final Score: Casey 12.9.81 to Box Hill 10.11.71.
I got to the game about 10 minutes late and this after planning to get there at 11:00am the previous night. Good thing that was the plan or else I might not have made it at all. The game was free flowing and both teams looked impressive Casey will be a very good team again this year. Their ability to the move the ball quickly through the corridor is something to behold and they have some serious leg speed.

Jordan Lewis: Played and as expected got a lot of the ball and congested situations he is coming along nicely in his pre season preparation and should be ripe for round one.

Brent Guerra: I find it amazing that a lot of people criticise this guy for his performance last year. One of our very important players in the back line showed why today hard, tough and great defensively. He will IMO play round 1.

Stephen Gilham: Played on the full forward for Casey. He got caught a couple of times on the lead but a most serviceable game. Played in front of his man at times and cut out many attacks. Was also a lot more offensive creating the play. Round 1 starter

Riley Milne: Got a lot of the ball but to me he still lacks strength in his core to be able to hold his ground against a tackler and dispose of the ball cleanly. He skill by hand and foot need to improve especially under pressure (whether that is perceived or actual). I don’t think he will get many opportunities this year.

Derick Wangeneen: I must say the boy looked all right out there either in defence or attack. Throws his body around not afraid to lay a tackle and could be a player of the future. Watch this space.

Jack Mahoney: The kid looks a footballer still learning and will be player. Played well in patches was on and off the ground a lot.

Mitch Hallahan: Love the way he goes about hard and tough and good tackler. Has great disposal and knows where to go to get the pill. He only played a half today. Limited game time due to his preparation I imagine but I must say I am impressed.

Grimley: The guy is just physically too immature to play this year. He gets pushed out of ruck contests far too easily. He is great around the ground and has a decent pair of hands. Not the best kick on the run or having a set shot for goal.

Taylor Duryea: Interesting game by him because at stages you thought he could kick 4 or 5 today. Got a lot of it in the forward line but lead to wide and ended up having shots from the boundary line quite often. There is definitely something to work with here.

Travis Tuck: Played in the engine room typical tucky was in and under got a lot of clearances but looks slow out there. Don’t get me wrong he is fit and does run all day but just looked slow especially when Casey had the ball.

Nathan Ahmat Watkins: He did a few nice things today laid a couple of tackles but largely ineffective day.

Box Hill Players I had a close look at.

Beau Muston: Started very well and then went missing for patches of the game. Tries hard and provided run and kicked a great goal from the boundary in the opening quarter. But just to give you an indication of where Beau is at he missed an absolute sitter in the last to put us in front and to make matters worse Casey ran the length of the field from that behind and kicked a goal.

Sam Gibson: Oh captain my captain was great on field led by example and did some inspirational things. Look forward to a big year from Sammy this year.

Michael Thompson: Watch out for this kid. Was great today good leg speed great tackler and natural defender. Had a great game in defense.

Ryan Schoenmakers: Didn’t play is he injured? What’s going on with the kid could have used his height out there today against Casey.

Jarryd Morton: On the injury list so didn’t take the field
Sam Menegola: Injured.

Tom Schneider: Didn’t play, being rested or the club has him focusing on something else.

Will Langford: Didn’t play, being rested or the club has him focusing on something else.

Luke Breust: Didn’t play, being rested or the club has him focusing on something else.

Paul Johnson: Injured

Spoke to the big Monky today. He was there watching his boy play for Box Hill. By the way he looks a likely type. Onto the main reason I walked over, our ruckmen

He said he was pretty happy with the way Renouf and Hale handled themselves in the ruck against Richmond. Hale was a lot better this week I added and he said yes naturally the guy has had very little training since the break needed the run. He should improve with more game time.

Bailey is a week to week proposition. Said that Lowden had ramped up his training and should play some game time for Box Hill next week (good news). Also said that he wasn’t expecting him to play any senior footy this year but you never know. Similar story with Grimley he won’t be seeing any senior footy this year but I think everyone knows that.

We will be playing Coburg down at Craigieburn come along and support the boys.

Great report TFP, thanks mate.
Super excited about Mitch Hallahan & Wanganeen.

Also starting to question exactly where Schoey is at just at the moment, I have my concerns, I hope I am completely wrong about him.
He must be injured otherwise he would played last week and either last night or today?

The Convert
5 Mar 2011, 19:08
Question to you - What does Convert mean:confused:

Same as everyone else. It means something to me but not necessarily to others. In my case as you will have noticed my location is Sydney and I was a dyed in the wool League supporter. For several reasons I converted to AFL support and thought that was a good enough moniker.

By the way what does Big X mean?

The BIG X
5 Mar 2011, 19:34
Same as everyone else. It means something to me but not necessarily to others. In my case as you will have noticed my location is Sydney and I was a dyed in the wool League supporter. For several reasons I converted to AFL support and thought that was a good enough moniker.

By the way what does Big X mean?

According to Henry Junior - I check the shaddows

IBleedBrownNGold
5 Mar 2011, 19:43
According to Henry Junior - I check the shaddows
Double D in the shadows, X? ;)

Cheers for the report 4P. Awesome job.

TheFourPillars
5 Mar 2011, 21:00
No Probs guys you should try get down to some of the games it promises to be an exciting year. I think Box hill has the talent run deep into the season. Yes we will miss curnow and pederson but i think we have recruited well and are really set for a big year.

Buddy Guy
5 Mar 2011, 21:33
No Probs guys you should try get down to some of the games it promises to be an exciting year. I think Box hill has the talent run deep into the season. Yes we will miss curnow and pederson but i think we have recruited well and are really set for a big year.

I will definitely be at Craigieburn on Saturday.
Any idea what time at this stage TFP?

TheFourPillars
5 Mar 2011, 22:22
I will definitely be at Craigieburn on Saturday.
Any idea what time at this stage TFP?
I would assume the same time but to be honest i don't know. I am sure some one will fill us in HH perhaps

its game on
6 Mar 2011, 08:35
No Johnson, Bailey, Lowden rucking.

Grimley played did Patto ruck?

Milestone
6 Mar 2011, 08:38
Can someone tell me why a few of our stars played for Box Hill and not in Shepp?

Simon_Nesbit
6 Mar 2011, 09:17
we've been rotating 6-8 spots through each week. Pretty much everyone has had two games to show something, whilst the senior players are providing support in periphery positions.

It's a nice change to anyone who's even remotely fit (or just not at risk of further injury) playing.

TheFourPillars
6 Mar 2011, 10:00
No Johnson, Bailey, Lowden rucking.

Grimley played did Patto ruck?

Yes pattison played in the first half. Didn't appear after half time. We then had the astonishing moments of having Riley milne in the ruck for 5 or so minutes

Juzza79
6 Mar 2011, 10:15
Four Pillars - based on your commentary on the ruck situations sounds like we will be relying on Renouf and Hale all season (unless Big Max comes good)?

Also, I have not got down there for a while, so question for you is do you think that Grimley will ever make it? Something about him reminds me of Zac Dawson....

burner1
6 Mar 2011, 10:44
Great report TFP.

Quick question on Mitch hallahan - what's his movement like? We don't have a lot of room for another inside mid at afl level (esp if they are slow) but does on first glance look like he could add something different to the table?

its game on
6 Mar 2011, 11:34
Yes pattison played in the first half. Didn't appear after half time. We then had the astonishing moments of having Riley milne in the ruck for 5 or so minutes

Thanks TFP. Sorry should have mentioned before great write up.

TheFourPillars
6 Mar 2011, 13:19
Four Pillars - based on your commentary on the ruck situations sounds like we will be relying on Renouf and Hale all season (unless Big Max comes good)?

Also, I have not got down there for a while, so question for you is do you think that Grimley will ever make it? Something about him reminds me of Zac Dawson....

Lowden will hopefully play this week against coburg. He isn't counted out but highly unlikely but you never know... Grimley won't play not ready. As far as him being another zac dawson i don't know if i want to answer the question making that comparison. Suffice to say that Grimley is a project player and his development is being tracked he has a good pair of hands and has plenty of mobility and speed. I look forward to seeing him develop down at box hill.

TheFourPillars
6 Mar 2011, 13:21
Great report TFP.

Quick question on Mitch hallahan - what's his movement like? We don't have a lot of room for another inside mid at afl level (esp if they are slow) but does on first glance look like he could add something different to the table?

Certainly isn't slow but i can't really make any comparisons about his speed because he only played a half and played in spurts but got plenty of the ball when he was on. As i watch him through the year i will have a better understanding of his speed comparing him to his opponents. BTW he is a great tackler

TheFourPillars
6 Mar 2011, 13:22
Thanks TFP. Sorry should have mentioned before great write up.

No probs mate :thumbsu: happy to help

master bate
6 Mar 2011, 16:07
Nice report. You guys are looking pretty healthy for the start of the season. I don't think next Fridays game in Launceston will be pretty for dees supporters.

Any info on Melbourne players for Casey - Blease & Gawn played I believe would be appreciated.

TheFourPillars
6 Mar 2011, 20:23
Nice report. You guys are looking pretty healthy for the start of the season. I don't think next Fridays game in Launceston will be pretty for dees supporters.

Any info on Melbourne players for Casey - Blease & Gawn played I believe would be appreciated.

Sorry mate i know Blease was playing and i heard he played well but to be honest it was hard enough keeping up with HFC and Box Hill listed players there was no footy guide and so no numbers to players.

master bate
6 Mar 2011, 20:31
Sorry mate i know Blease was playing and i heard he played well but to be honest it was hard enough keeping up with HFC and Box Hill listed players there was no footy guide and so no numbers to players.No worries. Any idea if big Max Gawn actually played? It seems both clubs have big rucks called Max with knee injuries who we really want right.

houdinihuddo
6 Mar 2011, 20:32
Thanks for the very good summary TFP. The quarter by quarter scores were as follows:
Seniors - BHH 5.4.34 6.7.43 9.9.63 10.12.72
CS 1.0.6 6.5.41 8.8.56 12.10.82
I thought Adam Pattison was very good in the first half with some strong work in the ruck and marking in the forward line. He was rested in the second half and will be a key player in 2011. For mine Michael Thompson was the standout player with his determined attack on the ball and courageous body work. An encouraging aspect was the skill and composure shown by Sam Cust and Tim Northe which saw them kick a couple of very good goals. Corey Cassidy who only played in the second half read the game well and showed good ball handling and use.

For Dee master bate Max Gawn won in the Ruck however at 208 cms to Grimley 199 cms and Pattison 198 cms that is hardly surprising. Around the ground I can only recall one strong mark and a shocking kick for goal from around 40 metres. Sam Blease did a few good things and had one good multiple bounce dashing run from the back line to around centre half forward however the ball was neutralised. I didn't see him in the second half so he was probably rested. Both players are good prospects but need to build up their strength and increase their game time.

DT - BHH 4.3.27 7.10.52 9.15.69 12.20.92
CS 0.3.0 3.3.21 5.5.35 9.6.60
The 32 to 15 scoring shots was a better indication of the difference between the sides than the 32 points margin. The most pleasing aspect was every player contributed to the win. Brent Wallace had a very good first half before being rested, Ben Kennedy played a solid game at half back often showing courage going back with the flight of the ball and Ben Fagan was a good target up forward. In the absence of a ruckman Josh Ralph [191cms] contested strongly in the ruck contests and was supported by Tim Goldsmith [190 cms] and Ben Fagan [192 cms]. Ryan Jackson worked hard and won a lot of possessions.

I'll post the info about this week's games when the details are confirmed.

TheFourPillars
6 Mar 2011, 21:00
Thanks for the very good summary TFP. The quarter by quarter scores were as follows:
Seniors - BHH 5.4.34 6.7.43 9.9.63 10.12.72
CS 1.0.6 6.5.41 8.8.56 12.10.82
I thought Adam Pattison was very good in the first half with some strong work in the ruck and marking in the forward line. He was rested in the second half and will be a key player in 2011. For mine Michael Thompson was the standout player with his determined attack on the ball and courageous body work. An encouraging aspect was the skill and composure shown by Sam Cust and Tim Northe which saw them kick a couple of very good goals. Corey Cassidy who only played in the second half read the game well and showed good ball handling and use.

For Dee master bate Max Gawn won in the Ruck however at 208 cms to Grimley 199 cms and Pattison 198 cms that is hardly surprising. Around the ground I can only recall one strong mark and a shocking kick for goal from around 40 metres. Sam Blease did a few good things and had one good multiple bounce dashing run from the back line to around centre half forward however the ball was neutralised. I didn't see him in the second half so he was probably rested. Both players are good prospects but need to build up their strength and increase their game time.

DT - BHH 4.3.27 7.10.52 9.15.69 12.20.92
CS 0.3.0 3.3.21 5.5.35 9.6.60
The 32 to 15 scoring shots was a better indication of the difference between the sides than the 32 points margin. The most pleasing aspect was every player contributed to the win. Brent Wallace had a very good first half before being rested, Ben Kennedy played a solid game at half back often showing courage going back with the flight of the ball and Ben Fagan was a good target up forward. In the absence of a ruckman Josh Ralph [191cms] contested strongly in the ruck contests and was supported by Tim Goldsmith [190 cms] and Ben Fagan [192 cms]. Ryan Jackson worked hard and won a lot of possessions.

I'll post the info about this week's games when the details are confirmed.

Thompson was a revelation will keep an eye on him in the future

rdhopkins2
7 Mar 2011, 18:05
Well done guys on the reports. I was out all day yesterday at the Avalon Airshow and at work today. Great stuff!