View Full Version : Now Next Week Is Important!!!

adelcrows
23 Aug 2003, 17:59
How could this have happened, losing to the Kangas, Top Two, Seeya later and now we need to win next week to maintain a top four spot. I CANT BELEIVE IT!!!!!!

FAAAAAAARRRRRKKKKKEEEENNNNN HELLLL.
:( :( :( :( :(

Jason

beckybiglands
23 Aug 2003, 18:11
yeah.. not kosher is it.. :(

Nige_Bix
23 Aug 2003, 19:18
Its what happens when you can't match your opponents commitment and desperation - as well better decision making and execution [apart from goal kicking].

I'd say afer a good start, heads got too big for boots!! - perhaps some of them fancied the afternoon inside by the fire once hte rain set in!

Stiffy_18
23 Aug 2003, 20:10
We are crap!!!!!! With that sort of effert and performance the only thing we are capable of winning is the wooden spoon. How dumb can we get.

Coaching staff have to take a good hard look at themselves. Bringing in 3 underdone players for such an important game. Stevens was absolutely crap today and didn't give a yelp. Welsh was the same. Massie did OK but neither of those 3 could run out the full game. This is notr the time to muck around with your structure or line up. Only one of those should have played and the other 2 would have been better off having a run in the SANFL.

Unless we forget about this crappy style of going wide to the flanks and going wide into the forward line, we will be creamed by Port and will get kicked out of the finals in the forst week. For fucks sake its a wet weather footy. Kick it long and direct none of this chip around the flanks bullshit that we do whenever we are under pressure.

This game was the one that would shape our season yet we playes like a bunch of pussies that were not prepared to do the hard yards. As a result you can kiss out premiership hopes alive. The last couple of weeks have well and truely shown us that we are not good enough.

:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad::mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

AngelEyes
23 Aug 2003, 20:45
Originally posted by Stiffy_18

Coaching staff have to take a good hard look at themselves. Bringing in 3 underdone players for such an important game. Stevens was absolutely crap today and didn't give a yelp. Welsh was the same. Massie did OK but neither of those 3 could run out the full game. This is notr the time to muck around with your structure or line up. Only one of those should have played and the other 2 would have been better off having a run in the SANFL.

Stiffy, with the players that we had out, not to mention Edwards that was a late withdraw, who would you have placed in these two spots besides these guys? They are considered starting 22 players, and Stevo had plenty of time in the SANFL...and still didnt show his wealth today. Rocca killed him.

Stiffy_18
23 Aug 2003, 20:59
Originally posted by AngelEyes
Stiffy, with the players that we had out, not to mention Edwards that was a late withdraw, who would you have placed in these two spots besides these guys? They are considered starting 22 players, and Stevo had plenty of time in the SANFL...and still didnt show his wealth today. Rocca killed him. For Starters Bassett should never have been dropped. If Bassett played, Stevo wouldn't have. He was so underdone its not funny. I think we have to forget about Stevo for this year. he just desn't have enough footy. Fit and firing he is in our best 22 no question. But Stevens that rocked up today doesn't even make the emergency list.

Welsh was way too underdone as well. It would have been much better if we played the likes of Gallagher, Reilly, Schuback etc to give them a bit more run. At least they would have been fit enough to compete.

Massie was another one that was under done but at least he had a decent crack at it which is more than I can say for the other 2.

EDIT: Stevens only had 2 weeks in the SANFL. If thats enough for a bloke that has missed some 14 weeks of footy, then I am the greatest footballer of all time.

Jerome
23 Aug 2003, 21:01

Unless we forget about this crappy style of going wide to the flanks and going wide into the forward line, we will be creamed

I have been saying this all year. Everyone has worked us out! We are too rigid - we stick to our crappy, ineffeciant, stop/start game plan no matter what!!

Hart, Edwards and Basset out of our defence really hurt us. We had no leadership coming out of defence. We missed the polish of Hart and Edwards.

Our use of the ball coming out of defence was disgraceful!! No passion, no run, no smart decisions - just dumb, gutless, lazy football all day!!

I agree with everything else you've said stiffy!

Thank God for Roo and Carey.

Jerome
23 Aug 2003, 21:11
For Starters Bassett should never have been dropped. If Bassett played, Stevo wouldn't have. He was so underdone its not funny. I think we have to forget about Stevo for this year. he just desn't have enough footy. Fit and firing he is in our best 22 no question. But Stevens that rocked up today doesn't even make the emergency list.

If we don't stick with Stevo - and one of our talls gets injured, who do we play? Our best SANFL talls are Rutten and Parker.

I think we will stick with Stevo. Goodwin and Burns also deserve a run in the SANFL but will avoid the axe.

We still have the same weaknesses as last year - lack of dominant big blokes. we need ruckmen who can take marks and a big strong defender that can provide some run.

If anything, we seemed to have gone backwards. last year we worked really hard to keep the ball in the forward 50. Tackling was a strong point of our game and its out the window atm.

I'm expecting the Crows to play a scratch match at training this week. Has anyone been to training lately? Could a reason for our poor form be due to an increased workload on the track? in 97/98 we didnt finish off the H&A very well as we werepreparing for finals.

macca23
23 Aug 2003, 21:14

Unless we forget about this crappy style of going wide to the flanks and going wide into the forward line, we will be creamed by Port and will get kicked out of the finals in the forst week. For fucks sake its a wet weather footy. Kick it long and direct none of this chip around the flanks bullshit that we do whenever we are under pressure.

This game was the one that would shape our season yet we playes like a bunch of pussies that were not prepared to do the hard yards. As a result you can kiss out premiership hopes alive. The last couple of weeks have well and truely shown us that we are not good enough.

I think Cornesy summed it up well on 5AA when he said our game plan is flawed. We over-possess the ball for no result by playing wide around the flanks and rely on high intensity from all players as a result. When it doesn't come we go down in a screaming heap.

Sadly I think the way the selectors messed around with the team selection, and the match committee messed around with the game plan and field placements will prove fatal.

I can't see us beating Port in a mad fit next week as they play that 3 or 4 forward line set-up that the Roos did today and we couldn't get warm against a much lesser team than Port today.

If that proves to be correct, then in technical terms, we are f*cked, and can kiss any chance of winning the flag goodbye.

Stiffy_18
23 Aug 2003, 21:34
For the life of me I cannot figure out our fasination with short chipping style of footy.:confused: That sort of crap never gets you far in finals football. I think its fair to say that our last month of footy has not been up to scratch. We were well beaten by Sydney yet were lucky enough to win the game. Then we went on to beat a very undermanned West Coast who actually beat us in the midfield and then get slaughtered by Collingwood and Kangaroos. This is the owrst time to get into a form slump.

We have not been winning enough of the ball in the last month and our delivery has been pathetic to say the least. These days we get spanked in the clearences and contested possesions which just indicated we are not having a crack.

Today will be remebered for shooting ourselves in the foot. It will take a miracle for us to beat Port.:mad: :(

macca23
23 Aug 2003, 21:40

We have not been winning enough of the ball in the last month and our delivery has been pathetic to say the least. These days we get spanked in the clearences and contested possesions which just indicated we are not having a crack.

Spot on with these comments. Apart from Ricciuto, our midfield has been totally thrashed in the last month, whereas previously it was the #1 in the comp for clearances. Whether this is related to lack of effort or a change in structure I'm not sure, but it certainly is why we are struggling.

Compound this with our fascination by playing along the boundary at all costs, and the reasons for our crap form become obvious.

VictoryPark
23 Aug 2003, 23:48
BAD LUCK MACCA 23

Danni
23 Aug 2003, 23:54
VictoryPark bad luck to yourself as well. Have a nice holiday from the Adelaide board.

macca23
24 Aug 2003, 00:11
Originally posted by Danni
VictoryPark bad luck to yourself as well. Have a nice holiday from the Adelaide board.

Thanks Danni

Stiffy_18
24 Aug 2003, 00:14
Originally posted by Danni
VictoryPark bad luck to yourself as well. Have a nice holiday from the Adelaide board. Thanks Danni:)

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
24 Aug 2003, 00:38
I think I yelled "stop ****ing around and kick it long" about 100 times today :rolleyes: I was getting soooo frustrated. What the hell were they playing at? Dumb Footy is what I would call it. Carey, Roo, Burton & Shirley are the only ones who can hold there heads high this evening. The others are not in my good books.

My ins/outs for showdown.

In: Hart, Edwards, Bassett

OUt: Burns, Begley, Ladhams (inj)

Run Stevo & Welshy off the bench in the forward line - this is where they need to find form and fitness if we want them for the finals.

Tell you what, based on todays performance, I am praying for a miracle in the showdown.

k
xx
xx

noddy
24 Aug 2003, 10:56
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
I think I yelled "stop ****ing around and kick it long" about 100 times today :rolleyes: I was getting soooo frustrated. What the hell were they playing at? Dumb Footy is what I would call it. Carey, Roo, Burton & Shirley are the only ones who can hold there heads high this evening. The others are not in my good books.

My ins/outs for showdown.

In: Hart, Edwards, Bassett

OUt: Burns, Begley, Ladhams (inj)

Run Stevo & Welshy off the bench in the forward line - this is where they need to find form and fitness if we want them for the finals.

Tell you what, based on todays performance, I am praying for a miracle in the showdown.

k
xx
xx

DROP Begley !!! at least he had a go & put in & you can forget about a miracle next week the paps could put their 2nd 18 on the park & we would still get a lesson in foot skills & endeavor,

Out, = Burns, Bode, & take your pick for the next couple to have a rest

maccas_no1
24 Aug 2003, 11:20
Absoulte crap footy yesterday, we were way outplayed by a more determinded Kangaroos side:mad: Fix it quick time to end this bull**** footy we are playing:mad: :mad:

Stop playing down the wings ,go the quick road to home down the the middle...................would you like me to draw you a map:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

For ****s sake wake up Crows you were pathetic yesterday:mad: :mad:

Jerome
24 Aug 2003, 13:25
Provided Hart and Edwards are fit:

B Hart, Bassett, Goodwin
HB Smart, McGregor, McLeod
C Stenglien, Ricciuto, Burton
HF Johncock, Carey, Edwards
F Welsh, Perrie, Ladhams or Burns

R Clarke, Bickley, Shirley

INT Biglands, Torney, Massie, Stevens

Burns has had a shocking 2 weeks, but I'm still tempted to hold on to him. I don't know how badly Ladhams is injured, but if Lads doesnt come up, Ronnie stays.

Massie should stay - he can play a variety of roles as he showed last year in the finals series.

McLeod and Goodwin should start in defence. We need some run and leadership in this area and they should provide that. Some time in the backlines might give them the kick up the bum they need and get them into form.

Still Crowing
24 Aug 2003, 13:58
I left coming here for a day to attempt to calm down before posting.....didn't work. We were the worst kind of sh.it yesterday, it looked as though the players didn't care, and didn't know what they were doing (team system wise) This is inexcusable a week out of the finals.

We were Poo!

If Kris Massie ever plays again for the AFC, he had want to improve a gazillion percentage points. He was probably our worst player yesterday, competition from Burns. And Stevens at FB...WTF? Who's brains trust idea was that?

OUT: Burns Massie
IN: Edwards Bassett

If we do not improve in every position (bar the skipper), if we play twice as good as we did yesterday next week, we WILL get pumped and dumped. Time for a miracle. Also time for a wakeup call. We are not good enough to win the Flag.

I am so angry and dissapointed in my football club at the moment.

Kasey

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 14:00
Originally posted by noddy
DROP Begley !!! at least he had a go & put in He makes too many wrong decisions. Get rid of him.

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 14:01
Originally posted by Still Crowing
If Kris Massie ever plays again for the AFC, he had want to improve a gazillion percentage points. He was probably our worst player yesterday, competition from Burns. Gee I thought Massie was quite handy. Possibly our best player in the last quarter.

Still Crowing
24 Aug 2003, 14:02
For Starters Bassett should never have been dropped. If Bassett played, Stevo wouldn't have. He was so underdone its not funny. I think we have to forget about Stevo for this year. he just desn't have enough footy. Fit and firing he is in our best 22 no question. But Stevens that rocked up today doesn't even make the emergency list.

<snipped>

I heard that Hound was dropped for letting fly at Ayres on the interchange phone after being dragged last week. Any truth to this?

Co-incidently, after Burns was felled by a round house leg sweep and pinged for HTB, he was dragged, and the boundary rider on FoxFooty mentioned that Ronnie gave a massive spray to everyone on the bench, the coaches box and the other players.

Not good news.

Kasey

Still Crowing
24 Aug 2003, 14:05
Originally posted by DaveW
Gee I thought Massie was quite handy. Possibly our best player in the last quarter.

I sat there and watched him turn over the ball so many times yesterday, by either going to ground too early, or by poor disposal, or by poor choices. Maybe my mate and I have formed a little "We hate Massie" club, and this clouds our judgement, but IMO, Burns and Massie were by far the worst offenders yesterday.

Sezza_20
24 Aug 2003, 14:18
I actually thought Massie played quite well for his first game back yesterday. He showed great desperation and should not be dropped! He did tire towards the end though.

Stevo wasn't that bad. He shouldn't have played full back. That was crap. The worst decision was swapping Stevo and Perrie as Perrie is the only one capable of taking a mark and kicking a goal in the forward line!

Begley also played OK towards the end and wasn't our worst player. He probably won't stay in the team though

Stinga spent most of the game on the bench????

Bassett being dropped was a joke. The defence was lost.

I thought our midfield was supposed to be one of the best in the competition. In the past few weeks it has been thrashed!!! We are not winning the ball out of the centre!

Ronnie Burns has lost the plot

How disappointing were Stiffy and Mcleod.

Bickley was terrible, especially his s*** passes into the forward line in the last 5 minutes!!!

Only players that did OK: Roo, Shirley, Burton, Carey, Perrie

That was CRAP!!!!

macca23
24 Aug 2003, 14:29
Originally posted by Sezza_20

Only players that did OK: Roo, Shirley, Burton, Carey, Perrie

That was CRAP!!!!

Agree with everything else you said as well as the above. Mcgregor's game was good and he was one of the few to win his position.

bluecrow
24 Aug 2003, 15:01
I sat there and watched him turn over the ball so many times yesterday, by either going to ground too early, or by poor disposal, or by poor choices. Maybe my mate and I have formed a little "We hate Massie" club, and this clouds our judgement, but IMO, Burns and Massie were by far the worst offenders yesterday. ]

Completely agree!!! I thought I was the only who was so frustrated I could barely watch whenever he went near the ball. I don't think I've seen a Crow play that badly all year (perhaps Mattner). He overran the ball (yes it was wet, but others players didn't - at least not all the time), and his kicking was SHOCKING. There was situation where a crows player we free in our forward line, and a little further over there were 3 North players. Massie had the ball just outside 50 and kicked straight to the 3 North players! Arghhh!:mad: If he gets a game next week, it will rival Bassett being dropped as the most **** decision of the season! :mad:

DJarman
24 Aug 2003, 15:43
I heard that Hound was dropped for letting fly at Ayres on the interchange phone after being dragged last week. Any truth to this?

Co-incidently, after Burns was felled by a round house leg sweep and pinged for HTB, he was dragged, and the boundary rider on FoxFooty mentioned that Ronnie gave a massive spray to everyone on the bench, the coaches box and the other players.

Not good news.

Kasey

I don't agree with Bassett being dropped because he may of gave Ayres a spray, Nathan is a very emotional player and is one of our best and important defenders, surely if this is the reason why he was dropped he could have just apologised and that would have been the end of it.

If Burns did do that he should be dropped, it may sound a bit like double standards but to give everyone on the bench a spray is just not right.

You can understand why Nathan would have a go at Ayres but I can not understand why Burns would have a go at his team mates.

topjars
24 Aug 2003, 15:51
Co-incidently, after Burns was felled by a round house leg sweep and pinged for HTB.

Kasey

That was a disgraceful decision. Goldspink carved us up yesterday not only for the decisions he gave but for those he didnt give.

And before you all jump in...

Im not blaming the umpiring for our pitiful effort, it was just an observation on a incompetent wiggle

topjars
24 Aug 2003, 15:54
Originally posted by Sezza_20

Bickley was terrible, especially his s*** passes into the forward line in the last 5 minutes!!!

Go back over this year and you'll see HEAPS of stray passes from Bickley. His general kicking has improved over the years but gee he turns the ball over a lot:mad:

Kane McGoodwin
24 Aug 2003, 17:42
You cannot under-estimate the consequences of yesterday's pathetic performance. We are pretenders not contenders. The most fustrating thing is that I walked away from the game thinking we will not win the flag. This is the first time I have thought that this year. We are now just making up the numbers.

Our losing margins have flattered our last couple of performances. We were burnt last week by playing unfit players, so what do we do this week, play more unfit players along with 3 underdone players. STUPID, STUPID, STUPID!!! We have fit players lining up in the SANFL.

Then we proceed to play dumb footy in the wet & have way too many passengers. We got smashed in the clearances & the use of the ball was abmismal.

Let's have a look at our midfield:
Ricciuto - Playing really well, but lacks support.
Burton - Providing us plenty of drive from the wing.
Shirley - Giving 100%, but not a gun player.
McLeod - Looks disintersted at shaking his tag. Is he worried about his contract?
Goodwin - A shadow of his former-self since returning from injury. Close to being dropped.
Ladhams - Badly need him back fit.
Bode - His form reflects his choice in hairstyles. Been very average.
Bickley - Struggling with the flu.
Stenglein - Struggling with the flu.

With players sick or out of form why not play the likes of Reilly. Playing the likes of sick Stinger does no one any favours.

Arrrrrrrrrhhhhhh!
:mad: :mad: :mad:

End of rant.

kirky
24 Aug 2003, 17:53
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

McLeod - Looks disintersted at shaking his tag. Is he worried about his contract?
Goodwin - A shadow of his former-self since returning from injury. Close to being dropped.
Bode - His form reflects his choice in hairstyles. Been very average.

Three players who are not getting the footy or not doing anything with it when they get it.

McLeod - greatest concern of all. If it is the contract then deal with it - solve the problem. Has been playing one good quarter recently (generally the first) and then missing for the rest. As he gets tagged then put him up back (like 1997 and 1998)

Goodwin - not sure if he has confidence in his hand. But is a matchwinner.

Bode - better off having a number 1 cut then you can concentrate on your footy. His positioning has been disgraceful.

noddy
24 Aug 2003, 18:05
He makes too many wrong decisions. Get rid of him.

A bit harsh on Begley Dave, still think he was in our top 5 or 6,

also the negative comments on Massie were a bit off line, he was no worse than most & i think he, Stevens & Welsh can only improve from yesterdays debacle, he was very good across half back before he got injured,

What we need is a solid & dependable back-line again & that would include Basset, Hart & Edwards plus a starting on-ball brigade of Ricciuto, McLeod & Goodwin,

Jerome
24 Aug 2003, 18:07
Originally posted by kirky

McLeod - greatest concern of all. If it is the contract then deal with it - solve the problem. Has been playing one good quarter recently (generally the first) and then missing for the rest. As he gets tagged then put him up back (like 1997 and 1998)

If McLeod and his management are holding out for more than $500K they're nuts. I don't think there is a club in the league who could afford to pay that amount to any player right now. Port, Brisbane, Essendon and ourselves already have big name players taking pay cuts due to cap constraints.

Perhaps he is holding out until after the finals. Maybe his management learned from the Mods situation that the best chance of securing a good deal is after some good performances in finals. However on our current form - and his - this might not be much of a factor.

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 19:34
A bit harsh on Begley Dave, still think he was in our top 5 or 6, He was FRUSTRATING yesterday.

Why take a mark in the back line. Hold things up, go all the way back behind the goal line. And then just kick the ball to a contest where the Kangaroos have more numbers?

Another time he takes a mark down at full back, he handpasses BACKWARDS to Torney, leaving Torney to do some quick thinking, forcing him to kick to space.

Both times the ball ended up with the Kangaroos again.

Sheesh! I've really gone off Begley.

Stiffy_18
24 Aug 2003, 19:39
He was FRUSTRATING yesterday.

Why take a mark in the back line. Hold things up, go all the way back behind the goal line. And then just kick the ball to a contest where the Kangaroos have more numbers?

Another time he takes a mark down at full back, he handpasses BACKWARDS to Torney, leaving Torney to do some quick thinking, forcing him to kick to space.

Sheesh! I've really gone off Begley. Massie wasn't much better. Most of his disposals were turnovers and he could not keep his feet to save his life. What about that blunder that gifted Motlop a goal. He lost his feet with no one within 5 meters of him.

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 19:46
Massie wasn't much better. Most of his disposals were turnovers and he could not keep his feet to save his life. What about that blunder that gifted Motlop a goal. He lost his feet with no one within 5 meters of him. Massie at least seemed a bit more honest in his efforts. Begley on the other hand forgot to bring his brain with him yesterday.

bluecrow
24 Aug 2003, 19:48

Sheesh! I've really gone off Begley.

Were we watching the same game? You had Massie in your best players, yet bag Begley for making poor decisions. At least Begley HAD the ball to make decisions, Massie just overran it & stood at the back of packs waiting for it to come to him! So many times Begley was in and under the packs, trying to get the ball out, or wrapping up North players to try and stop the rot - Begley had 7 tackles, Massie 1.

Oh and maybe that time he went back to take his time for the kick, that went to a contest, there was nobody to kick it to? EVERY single kick out from full back (not that his was, but near enough) went to a contest - we had no players free.

Incidently, clangers: Begley 0, Massie 2. I'm not sure how Massie managed only 2...

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 19:53
Originally posted by bluecrow
Incidently, clangers: Begley 0, Massie 2. I'm not sure how Massie managed only 2... Lies, damn lies...

Putting your teammates under pressure and kicking to opposition dominated contests may not count as clangers but they sure are **** ups.

Blues_Girl
24 Aug 2003, 19:56

And the others weren't?!

I wouldn't say he was our best but he was no where near our worst.

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 19:58
Originally posted by Blues_Girl
And the others weren't?!

I wouldn't say he was our best but he was no where near our worst. I agree with that last remark. But he was frustrating because of his use of the ball.

Watching on TV, I don't take much notice of the players who don't get into the game. So they don't frustrate me as much. ;)

Blues_Girl
24 Aug 2003, 19:59
I agree with that last remark. But he was frustrating because of his use of the ball.

Watching on TV, I don't take much notice of the players who don't get into the game. So they don't frustrate me as much. ;)

Well there you go!

At least he was trying, unlike some of the others.

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 20:01
someone like Massie who sits back and waits for it to come to him? Now that's just rubbish.

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 20:03
Begley was consistently bad even though he usually had time to think about what he was doing.

Sure there were mistakes everywhere, but his were just the most unforgivable.

bluecrow
24 Aug 2003, 20:03
Now that's just rubbish.

He did yesterday...

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 20:05
He did yesterday... Massie went in and got the ball plenty of times.

lozstar
24 Aug 2003, 20:05
No matter what Begley ever does it's never good for anyone! He didn't exactly have his best game but he tried and did okay. Massie just stood there trying to look pretty, yet we haven't heard one "drop Massie", yet once again we're hearing about how many mistakes Begley made.

dyertribe
24 Aug 2003, 20:07
Let's face facts.

We lack the all-round squad strength of Brisbane.
We lack the 'anywhere, anytime' professionalism of Collingwood.
We lack the guts and determination of North.
We lack the ruthless killer instinct of Port Adelaide.

The invisible cancer that has afflicted the Adelaide Crows since our inception has struck again. We're our own worst enemy.

macca23
24 Aug 2003, 20:08
Let's get real here. Neither Begley or Massie were anywhere near our worst players for the day. I could name at least 12 players who played worse games than these 2.

As far as either of these 2 using the ball, or anyone in the side for that matter, that was an impossibility. You had to be at the ground to appreciate the total lack of run by our players. 90% of the time we were kicking to stationary players up ahead. When there was the rare movement it was pathetic little leads to the boundary.

Blues_Girl
24 Aug 2003, 20:08
Originally posted by lozstar
No matter what Begley ever does it's never good for anyone! He didn't exactly have his best game but he tried and did okay. Massie just stood there trying to look pretty, yet we haven't heard one "drop Massie", yet once again we're hearing about how many mistakes Begley made.

Must be something to do with the water down at Sturt because they say the same thing about Mattner.

macca23
24 Aug 2003, 20:11
Originally posted by dyertribe
Let's face facts.

The invisible cancer that has afflicted the Adelaide Crows since our inception has struck again. We're our own worst enemy.

Sums it up well. We have a talented squad of underperformers, for all of the above reasons. We lose to teams that good sides just don't lose to.

Stiffy_18
24 Aug 2003, 20:20
Originally posted by dyertribe
Let's face facts.

The invisible cancer that has afflicted the Adelaide Crows since our inception has struck again. We're our own worst enemy. Couldn't have said it better myself. Everything you said is spot on.

We have a very good half a dozen players that are backbone of our team. Then we have about a dozen talented but underachieving player. Followed by half a dozen capable reserves and the rest are overrated project players.

Macca19
25 Aug 2003, 20:40
Chin up fellas!! You had a poor game...youll learn...and youll come out firing this week.

Dont lose faith in your team because theyve had a down week or two.

I have no doubt the Crows will cause havoc when it matters.

ant
25 Aug 2003, 20:45
I find it amusing how all the Port supporters are being so nice and complimentary, trying to lift the spirits and erase the doom and gloom. And they probably are just as humoured by the majority of Crow fans' reactions to Saturday's game.

Unfortunately, it hasn't worked guys, I'm still depressed, disconsolate and dejected. It's over.

noddy
25 Aug 2003, 21:09
Originally posted by ant
I find it amusing how all the Port supporters are being so nice and complimentary, trying to lift the spirits and erase the doom and gloom. And they probably are just as humoured by the majority of Crow fans' reactions to Saturday's game.

Unfortunately, it hasn't worked guys, I'm still depressed, disconsolate and dejected. It's over.

That's what makes it bloody worse having them come out with all their little quirps & knowing they are laughing their bloody heads off, :(

I'm just waiting for Macca19 to come out & predict a Crows win in regard to this weeks showdown, (as per usual)

Stiffy_18
25 Aug 2003, 21:20
That's what makes it bloody worse having them come out with all their little quirps & knowing they are laughing their bloody heads off, :(

I'm just waiting for Macca19 to come out & predict a Crows win in regard to this weeks showdown, (as per usual) You are right noddy. The knife is stuck in the back and now they are just twisting it bit by bit.:(

I respect Macca19's view on a lot of things but thois reverse phsychology has worked way to well in the past for me to buy into it.

macca23
25 Aug 2003, 21:27

I'm just waiting for Macca19 to come out & predict a Crows win in regard to this weeks showdown, (as per usual)

Hey, I hope he does. He's gotta be right sooner or later!!

Macca19
25 Aug 2003, 22:13
You are right noddy. The knife is stuck in the back and now they are just twisting it bit by bit.:(

Yes and No. Crows supporters have given us Port fans a lot of stick about your two premierships. Fair enough too. If Port do win the flag (im hoping) then it will be good to be on the other end giving the stick.

But in this case, i just dont see the point in everyone claiming the season is over, everyone is a hack, so and so should never play again, Ayres has no clue etc etc. just because of a shock loss. Sure it wasnt the best choice of week to have a brainfade in but if your thinking us Port fans will be thinking you guys are now easybeats then your dead wrong.

If you do lose the Showdown and end up not getting a second chance, youll probably still end up with a home final in the first week - which youll most likely win....im not too knowledgable on the finals layout and if you'd get a 2nd home final the week later, but if you did then id say youd still win that one as well.

You guys have a good team. I dont praise the Crows to dig a knife in....i do it because despite my utter dislike (some would call it hatred) for the Crows, i respect the team, respect your achievements and Im not like most people where im not so blinded by my faith of one side that i cant find a single word of praise for our biggest rivals. Sure i dislike the Crows but i can still admit to them having a good squad with some elite players and skillful youngsters and can play some bloody good footy. when on song they are one of the best 2-3 teams in the league and youve shown that over the last two years. You dont lose that just because of one shock loss you shouldnt have had and you guys shouldnt lose your faith in them because of that.

I respect Macca19's view on a lot of things but thois reverse phsychology has worked way to well in the past for me to buy into it.

I only pick the Crows against us because most of the time over the last 2 years ive seen more reasons for the Crows getting up than Port. I think everyone tipped Adelaide earlier this year.

This week depends on how Port decide to play.
1) Do we go in for the kill on the Crows, play to the utmost best of our ability and put the Crows down to sudden death territory.....or

2) Do Port do what we did this week....do we rest Cornes who has a niggly ankle, do we play some fringe players to see who makes the bench in the first finals week, do we experiment and hope that we are still good enough to come away with the win anyway??

Id say if we do 1....then Port will win...if we do 2...then the Crows will want it more and will get up.

Unlike every other showdown, there is actually something riding on the result of this for one of the sides. Our only other Round 22 game was when we were both crap and in the bottom 4 or 5. This time the Crows have everything to play for and will want this result more than Port does. If the Crows want a double chance then they'll win. Its a simple equation.

DaveW
25 Aug 2003, 22:16
Originally posted by Macca19
im not too knowledgable on the finals layout and if you'd get a 2nd home final the week later, but if you did then id say youd still win that one as well.
You proved your first point. The winners from bottom four play away in the second week...

unless we finished 5th, won and Port lost :D

napsyd
26 Aug 2003, 13:33
It's time for chins up!

Our club is built on success against the tide.

In 97 we were gone in the preliminary, yet we did not give up and proved our determination.

In 98 we were gone after the loss to Melbourne, yet we proved that a team outside of the top four could win a flag and could do so travelling for 5 straight weeks.

In 02 we were gone after the pathetic display against Brisbane only to bounce back remarkably against the Dees in our "home" final. We were dealt a cruel blow by the Pies, but we were far from disgraced.

I believe we have the history and the desire to turn things around. Whether we win this week or not, I will not give up on our lads until someone manages to deliver the killer blow. And I have faith that if that killer blow comes it will not come easily and without a fight.

Its time for us to stand behind our club and its proud history. It is important for the players to feel our derision but also our belief that they can achieve the ultimate once again. This is a public forum and the best footy forum in the country, it is not beyond reason to suppose that some of what we say is read by the players and officials. I have given them what for in some of my comments here, now its time to say I support our lads to the end.

GO CROWS!!

noddy
26 Aug 2003, 13:50
Originally posted by napsyd
It's time for chins up!

Our club is built on success against the tide.

In 97 we were gone in the preliminary, yet we did not give up and proved our determination.

In 98 we were gone after the loss to Melbourne, yet we proved that a team outside of the top four could win a flag and could do so travelling for 5 straight weeks.

In 02 we were gone after the pathetic display against Brisbane only to bounce back remarkably against the Dees in our "home" final. We were dealt a cruel blow by the Pies, but we were far from disgraced.

I believe we have the history and the desire to turn things around. Whether we win this week or not, I will not give up on our lads until someone manages to deliver the killer blow. And I have faith that if that killer blow comes it will not come easily and without a fight.

Its time for us to stand behind our club and its proud history. It is important for the players to feel our derision but also our belief that they can achieve the ultimate once again. This is a public forum and the best footy forum in the country, it is not beyond reason to suppose that some of what we say is read by the players and officials. I have given them what for in some of my comments here, now its time to say I support our lads to the end.

GO CROWS!!

Ah napsyd your words bring joy to my heart & i echo those sentiments of yours 110%,

Bring on those Papsies & let us deliver the first of two killer blows this week in showdown (whatever number it is) & centre our thoughts on bringing back home our 3rd AFL premiership cup,

GO YOU CROWS!!!!

maccas_no1
26 Aug 2003, 14:47
Maybe we are getting our **** footy out of the way now which could be a good thing, I like the thought of taking the Powder Puffs to the cleaners two weeks in a row also a home Preliminary Final and I get the w/e of so I can go the Melbourne 500:D :D :D

Go Crows!!!!!!!!!!!