View Full Version : Croad

Shwab
24 Aug 2003, 02:08
Trent Croad.

Saw his game against Essendon (awful)
What the hell is wrong with him over there?

He wasn't too bad when he was at the Hawks.

Question - Would you take him back and what would you give for him? Bateman? Johnson?

(Yes I know, unlikely, contracted, over paid etc, but does anyone want him back now? Not long ago Hawk fans were bleeding over his departure)

Grendel
24 Aug 2003, 03:42
Yea, I'd take him back. Never had anything against Trent and I would say the majority of Hawks fans would no doubt welcome him 'home'.

Saying that, I do think he would have to a) take a fair pay-cut. b) realise that he has deficiencies in his game he needs to work hard on to overcome and c) keep away from Dermott!

Actually Johnson and a draft pick (offer third but probably give 2nd) would be about right.

Adelaide Hawk
24 Aug 2003, 11:19
I believe in moving onward and upward. Taking Croad back would be a retrograde step. I wasn't one of those Hawk fans "bleeding" at his departure. Always considered him grossly over-rated, and probably always will. I ran out of patience for Croad years ago, and don' wish to suffer all his inconsistencies and errors all over again.

ImperialPurple
24 Aug 2003, 11:36
How about Croad for Mitchell???;)

Grendel
24 Aug 2003, 13:44
Your lot screwed us over Mcpharlin, you reckon we aren't enjoying Croads form (for Freo, if not for Trent)!

So in other words, no.

mattyc2422
24 Aug 2003, 13:47
No Croad. It's a step backwards.

jacqui9
24 Aug 2003, 14:04
Originally posted by Grendel
Yea, I'd take him back. Never had anything against Trent and I would say the majority of Hawks fans would no doubt welcome him 'home'.

Saying that, I do think he would have to a) take a fair pay-cut. b) realise that he has deficiencies in his game he needs to work hard on to overcome and c) keep away from Dermott!

Actually Johnson and a draft pick (offer third but probably give 2nd) would be about right.

I agree with Grendal I would welcome Trent back. I actually cried the night that I found out he had been traded, I was devastated. Play him at CHB, pay him less and make him shave his hair off.

Adelaide Hawk
24 Aug 2003, 14:32
Originally posted by jacqui9
I agree with Grendal I would welcome Trent back. I actually cried the night that I found out he had been traded, I was devastated. Play him at CHB, pay him less and make him shave his hair off.

You cried because we traded a player we didn't need? Can't understand that at all. And why shave the hair? Does that mean you think Joel Smith could be a lot better?

Hodge_is_God
24 Aug 2003, 14:42
Originally posted by Adelaide Hawk
You cried because we traded a player we didn't need? Can't understand that at all. And why shave the hair? Does that mean you think Joel Smith could be a lot better?

Nah, i think Jacqui's point about the hair thing would be a signal to the football world that he is taking his footy seriously (finally). A change in attitude, a move to CHB and he could be a handy player - just not for us.

jacqui9
24 Aug 2003, 14:58

Im passionate. I thought Jon Hay/Trent Croad combination was going to be great. Didnt like the way he was treated.

Ok so we got Hodge, and I love the kid, but I was still disappointed at losing Trent. I would welcome him back at the Hawks. He may smarten up his act.

I dont need to be understood. I had no qualms about Trent.

jacqui9
24 Aug 2003, 15:00
Originally posted by Hodge_is_God
Nah, i think Jacqui's point about the hair thing would be a signal to the football world that he is taking his footy seriously (finally).

Got it in one Hodgey.

Trent was a pretty boy with his head in the clouds. Crawf is a pretty boy with his head screwed on properly.

And Joel would be nice if you got a decent haircut lol :p

marcy8811
24 Aug 2003, 15:31
and the player freo most needs is a sam mitchell type. Every single game, regarless of whether we win or not, we always get flogged in the clearances, were winning at the taps but it always falls to the opposition player!! I remember mainwaring saying Haselby was the best in and under player he had seen, that was b4 he got drafted. Whatever happened to that?
In hindsight, we would love a mitchell for a croad! It will never happen though...i hope croady can pick up his act a bit and prove me wrong but at the moment he's useless

mattyc2422
24 Aug 2003, 17:13
Originally posted by marcy8811
and the player freo most needs is a sam mitchell type.
Can Schammer fufill that role?

superstar
24 Aug 2003, 17:48
Originally posted by mattyc2422
Can Schammer fufill that role?

Schammer seems more of a Crawford type to me.

vanders
24 Aug 2003, 18:39
No thanks, I think it would completely stupid if we took Croad back.

Adelaide Hawk
24 Aug 2003, 21:14
I also believe there were a number of Hawks players who were quite pleased to see Croad leave, and may not be all that happy to see him back.

tige19
25 Aug 2003, 13:38
I also believe there were a number of Hawks players who were quite pleased to see Croad leave, and may not be all that happy to see him back.

I wouldnt say that!!! i think that he was fairly liked at the club, he has a great personality and seems to be popular werever he is.
I wouldnt mind to see Croad back, he is more than capable of playing in any KPP and i think he will develop were he is comfortable.
You can see the Brown and Gold flowing through his blood streams, the guy is Hawthorn through and through.
We cant be any worst of getting Croad back we have Nic Stone for Gods sake :D

cheers

jj flash
25 Aug 2003, 14:13
Originally posted by tige19
I wouldnt say that!!! i think that he was fairly liked at the club, he has a great personality and seems to be popular werever he is.
I wouldnt mind to see Croad back, he is more than capable of playing in any KPP and i think he will develop were he is comfortable.
You can see the Brown and Gold flowing through his blood streams, the guy is Hawthorn through and through.
We cant be any worst of getting Croad back we have Nic Stone for Gods sake :D

cheers

Adelaide Hawk was correct.

mattyc2422
25 Aug 2003, 17:01
Originally posted by jj flash
*nods*

tige19
25 Aug 2003, 17:12
Originally posted by jj flash

Listen mate if you could stop replying to everything i post it would be well appreciated.
Your starting to become more like a shadow than anything else, it is getting a little annoying.

cheers

jj flash
25 Aug 2003, 18:08
Originally posted by tige19
Listen mate if you could stop replying to everything i post it would be well appreciated.
Your starting to become more like a shadow than anything else, it is getting a little annoying.

cheers

I'm a Hawk supporter posting on Hawthorn threads. My reply to what you said was a legitimate response. PM me if you want to talk about it further.