View Full Version : So where are we going to finish?

Go South
24 Aug 2003, 04:29
Surely someone with brains has worked out the possible scenarios after today's (DISGUSTING) game?

Sorry... slightly drunk and very tired, want someone else to do the work for me.

Meanwhile, what the hell was that performance? Absolutely shocking from every facet of the club. Selection of the team was "questionable" at best, and the coaching and playing performance of the team today was confusing and at times bordering on ridiculous.

Why were so many talls selected in a game that we knew was going to be wet?

Why was Bassett dropped, particularly when Begley of all people ended up coming back into the side to replace Edwards? Why the hell was he first emergency ahead of Bassett?

Why whenever do we have a cherry ripe opportunity at our feet do we, without fail, manage to f*ck it up for ourselves?

Instead of having a dream run to the Grand Final with a home qualifying final, followed by a likely home prelim if we won... we are now faced with the prospect of either playing "THEM" 2 weeks in a row, or finishing in the bottom half and having to travel first week and risk being eliminated. (I think... jump in if I'm wrong)

We've spent the majority of the season in the top 4, and because of 2 sh*thouse weeks, we could end up as low as 8th and find ourselves booted in the first round.

So incredibly frustrating, particularly after suffering frostbite, pneumonia, etc etc, only to endure 2 1/2 hours of absolute SHIT today.

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRrrrrrrrrrr I'm going to bed.

*insert angry smilie with smoke pouring from ears here*

I guess at least South didn't lose this week.

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 04:46
Originally posted by Go South
Surely someone with brains has worked out the possible scenarios after today's (DISGUSTING) game?

Firstly assuming that:

* West Coast beat Melbourne today (irrelevant if Adelaide wins the showdown OR West Coast loses the derby)
* Sydney beat Melbourne next week (irrelevant if Adelaide wins the showdown)
* Brisbane beat Bulldogs next week

SCENARIO A:

* Coll d Ess
* WC/Freo irrelevant
* Adel d Port

FINISH: 4th.
PLAY: Port Adelaide @ Football Park

SCENARIO B:

* Coll d Ess
* WC d Freo
* Port d Adel

FINISH: 6th.
PLAY: Essendon @ Football Park

SCENARIO C:

* Coll d Ess
* Freo d WC
* Port d Adel

FINISH: 6th
PLAY: West Coast @ Football Park

SCENARIO D:

* Ess d Coll
* WC/Freo irrelevant
* Adel d Port

FINISH: 3rd
PLAY: Brisbane @ Gabba

SCENARIO E:

* Ess d Coll
* WC d Freo
* Port d Adel

FINISH: 7th
PLAY: Essendon @ MCG OR Sydney @ Homebush
(Syd/Ess 5th or 6th comes down to %, Swans is slightly better at the moment)

SCENARIO F:

* Ess d Coll
* Freo d WC
* Port d Adel

PLAY: Fremantle @ Subiaco

Look at that closely... It looks like we should hoping Collingwood win on Friday night if we want a home final in the first week (so long as Brisbane win as expected). (Mind you, scenario E doesn't look too bad for me if Essendon can get their % in front of Sydney's :D)

The showdown will almost certainly decide whether we get a second chance or not.

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 05:08
On further consideration, Sydney should thrash Melbourne. Which would put their percentage beyond reach of Essendon.

So I can't see Adelaide playing in Sydney in week one. :(

The Floodbuster
24 Aug 2003, 05:26
Originally posted by DaveW
SCENARIO E:

* Ess d Coll
* WC d Freo
* Port d Adel

If West Coast can pick up 12 goal on Adelaide in their next two games, scenario E will see the Crows finish 8th.
So if I was a Crows supporter I would be hoping Melbourne are quite competitiive tommorrow.
But saying that I think Port will not have the same hunger as the Crows in the Showdown as it is a dead rubber for us and there is so much at stake for the Crows, also the Crows have to finally beat us sometime.
In all honesty I think the Bombers, Brisbane and Collingwood are asserting themselves to Ports level which I don't see the other 4 top eight sides doing, anyway time will tell.

maccas_no1
24 Aug 2003, 11:16
I think we are up **** creek :mad: :mad:

For christ sake's wake up Crows:mad: :mad:

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
24 Aug 2003, 11:59
Firstly assuming that:

* West Coast beat Melbourne today (irrelevant if Adelaide wins the showdown OR West Coast loses the derby)

SCENARIO A:

* Coll d Ess
* WC/Freo irrelevant
* Adel d Port

SCENARIO B:

* Coll d Ess
* WC d Freo
* Port d Adel

SCENARIO C:

* Coll d Ess
* Freo d WC
* Port d Adel

SCENARIO D:

* Ess d Coll
* WC/Freo irrelevant
* Adel d Port

SCENARIO E:

* Ess d Coll
* WC d Freo
* Port d Adel

SCENARIO F:

* Ess d Coll
* Freo d WC
* Port d Adel

Look at that closely... It looks like we should hoping Collingwood win on Friday night if we want a home final in the first week (so long as Brisbane win as expected). (Mind you, scenario E doesn't look too bad for me if Essendon can get their % in front of Sydney's :D)

The showdown will almost certainly decide whether we get a second chance or not.

Ok, I am not as mad today as last night. I am still so very dissapointed but I guess its done now - there is no going back. It is no longer in our hands. It looks I will be "truning feral" for a night and hoping like hell that Collingwood win on friday night. Also if Melbourne could beat Sydney that would help. If we loose the Showdown - lets hope we end up 5th and get at least a home final - otherwise I think we are in big trouble.

k
xx

Go South
24 Aug 2003, 12:43
So in basic terms, we're probably f*cked?

Go Pies *choke*.

LionHeart20
24 Aug 2003, 12:53
I think you guys need to win next week against Port and hope that Collingwood, Brisbane and Sydney all drop their games for you guys to cement a Top 4 finish. I wouldn't go writing Adelaide off.

Go South
24 Aug 2003, 12:57
I'm not sure which scenario I'd prefer.

4th I guess is a "home" final with a double chance, but we would have to beat Port twice in a row when we haven't beaten them in 3 years.

kirky
24 Aug 2003, 13:00
Firstly assuming that:

SCENARIO A:

* Coll d Ess
* WC/Freo irrelevant
* Adel d Port

SCENARIO B:

* Coll d Ess
* WC d Freo
* Port d Adel

SCENARIO C:

* Coll d Ess
* Freo d WC
* Port d Adel

SCENARIO D:

* Ess d Coll
* WC/Freo irrelevant
* Adel d Port

SCENARIO E:

* Ess d Coll
* WC d Freo
* Port d Adel

SCENARIO F:

* Ess d Coll
* Freo d WC
* Port d Adel

Well done, Dave W impressive (perhaps you can forward this to Rucci so he can get it right). Obviously options A & D are preferred but if push comes to shove then B and C are better for us at least we get a home final in the first week. Can't believe I will barracking for Collingwood on Friday night (have to go to confessional on Saturday - and I'm not catholic!!!). Still struggling to get over yesterdays timid and soft performance.

We still control where we finish - we are in fourth place now and can remain there.

LionHeart20
24 Aug 2003, 13:08
I'm not sure which scenario I'd prefer.

4th I guess is a "home" final with a double chance, but we would have to beat Port twice in a row when we haven't beaten them in 3 years.
Finals football is a completely different ball game.
Who knows.. Adelaide have a much sharper record in finals footy than what Port do.

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 13:58
Originally posted by The Floodbuster
If West Coast can pick up 12 goal on Adelaide in their next two games, scenario E will see the Crows finish 8th. If West Coast beat Freo, Adelaide still finish ahead of Freo.

Still Crowing
24 Aug 2003, 14:12
So in basic terms, we're probably f*cked?

Go Pies *choke*.

Yep, that about sums it up I reckon. We were masters of our own destiny....now we're all over the shop like a 2 bit paint job.

I'm feeling very negative ATM. :(

blackdiamond
24 Aug 2003, 14:20
If West Coast beat Freo, Adelaide still finish ahead of Freo.

8th spot is still probable however most unrealistic, but then again the Kangaroos game was supposed to be a walk in the park. ;)

Scenario:

Round 21
West Coast thrash Melbourne

Round 22
Essendon beat Collingwood
Sydney beat Melbourne
Fremantle narrowly beat West Coast
Port thrash Adelaide

West Coast could finish above Adelaide in this scenario all depending on percentage, a couple of thrashing could just do the job.

At the end of the day 7th and 8th are more or less the same, same scenario just means you play a different side.

Second spot isn't out of the question either.

Scenario:

If Collingwood and Brisbane lose then hope like hell you can beat Port, probable but unrealistic once again.

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 15:13
prob·a·ble ( P ) Pronunciation Key (prb-bl)
adj.
Likely to happen or to be true: War seemed probable in 1938. The home team, far ahead, is the probable winner.

Scott, I think when you say probable you mean possible.
:)

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 15:15
I think its wishful thinking in the extreme to think Brisbane could lose next week.

As I've said, we want Essendon to lose. That way we stay above the Bombers and the derby loser. That gives us a top six spot regardless of how we fare in the showdown.

DJarman
24 Aug 2003, 16:04
Relax guys, it isn't that bad.

Round 21:
West Coast beat Melbourne

Round 22:
Collingwood beat Essendon
Sydney beat Melbourne
Brisbane beat Bulldogs
West Coast beat Fremantle
Port beat Adelaide

End of season ladder:

1.Port Adelaide
2.Collingwood
3.Brisbane
4.West Coast
5.Sydney
6.Adelaide
7.Essendon
8.Fremantle

We then host Essendon in the first week of the finals.

(please correct me if I'm wrong)

bluecrow
24 Aug 2003, 16:10
Originally posted by DJarman

End of season ladder:

1.Port Adelaide
2.Collingwood
3.Brisbane
4.West Coast
5.Sydney
6.Adelaide
7.Essendon
8.Fremantle

We then host Essendon in the first week of the finals.

(please correct me if I'm wrong)

But, assuming we win against Essendon, who would we play in the semi's? Say Collingwood and Port won, who out of Brisbane or West Coast would we play?

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 16:15
Originally posted by bluecrow
But, assuming we win against Essendon, who would we play in the semi's? The loser of Collingwood/Brisbane. On their patch.

GoalsFrom50Out
24 Aug 2003, 16:17
And that'd more than likely be Collingwood, sadly.

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 16:18
Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
And that'd more than likely be Collingwood, sadly. You'd rather play at the Gabba? :confused:

DJarman
24 Aug 2003, 16:26
The loser of Collingwood/Brisbane. On their patch.

Okay scrap that idea then.

Maybe this one:

Round 21
West Coast beat Melbourne

Round 22
Collingwood beat Essendon
Sydney beat Melbourne
Brisbane beat Bulldogs
Weat Coast beat Freo
Adelaide beat Port

End of season ladder

1.Port Adelaide
2.Collingwood
3.Brisbane
4.Adelaide
5.West Coast
6.Sydney
7.Essendon
8.Fremantle

We then play Port in week one of the finals, if we win we go to the prelim final(?) and if we lose we then play the winner of the West Coast v Freo game in Adelaide.

I like this one (if I am correct).

GoalsFrom50Out
24 Aug 2003, 16:31
You'd rather play at the Gabba? :confused:

Yes, I would. We're more of a chance to beat Brisbane than Collingwood.

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 16:32
Yes, I would. We're more of a chance to beat Brisbane than Collingwood. I couldn't disagree more.

You only need to look to last year's finals series to see which match we were closer to winning.

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 16:39
I think its wishful thinking in the extreme to think Brisbane could lose next week. Going by today's performance by the Dogs, that's an understatement.

GoalsFrom50Out
24 Aug 2003, 16:40
Well, we lost to Brisbane by only 18 with hardly a full squad, but lost by 37 to Collingwood in the same sort of situation. I feel more confident against them than Collingwood.

LionHeart20
24 Aug 2003, 16:45
Yes, I would. We're more of a chance to beat Brisbane than Collingwood.
well goodluck then.

Stiffy_18
24 Aug 2003, 17:06
Well, we lost to Brisbane by only 18 with hardly a full squad, but lost by 37 to Collingwood in the same sort of situation. I feel more confident against them than Collingwood. Here is a stat for you: Brisbane have never lost a final at the GABBA. And to be honest it will be a long time before they do.

Finals are a completely different ball game. Although we match up reasonably well against Brisbane I definetly wouldn't like to play them in the finals at the GABBA. Colligwood at the MCG is not that much better either.

Lets hope for a miracle that we go on a 4 game winning streak, by playing a fantastic brand of footy not the crap that has bee served up in the lat month especially in the last 2 weeks.

GoalsFrom50Out
24 Aug 2003, 17:12
I didn't know Brisbane have never lost at the Gabba in a Final. :)

blighty
24 Aug 2003, 17:22
"We then host Essendon in the first week of the finals "

Don't bet on it................

You'd reckon the Collingwood V Brisbane game would be at the MCG..... that leaves Telstra without a game in the first week of the finals....the AFL would not do the MCC favour without looking after the interests of there own !!!

I hate to cast a pall over scenarios but the AFL have form on these matters!

What's the bet we are forced to play at Telstra if we draw Essendon from 6th?

ant
24 Aug 2003, 17:30
This is all pointless blather people.....it's all over. The season is done and dusted. We are completely useless.....a team of tired/old/overpaid hacks, led by an umimaginative, tactically inept coach, who are more interested in getting some of that early September sun than actually competing in footy games.

They're all too busy styling their hair, oiling their biceps, appearing (covered in makeup) on tv shows or just generally admiring themselves to be concerned about making a contest and winning the footy, and as such, we will exit the finals race from whatever position in a fortnight's time without dignity, spirit, or grace.

And now I've finally come to terms with this.

Stiffy_18
24 Aug 2003, 17:36
Originally posted by blighty
"We then host Essendon in the first week of the finals "

Don't bet on it................

You'd reckon the Collingwood V Brisbane game would be at the MCG..... that leaves Telstra without a game in the first week of the finals....the AFL would not do the MCC favour without looking after the interests of there own !!!

I hate to cast a pall over scenarios but the AFL have form on these matters!

What's the bet we are forced to play at Telstra if we draw Essendon from 6th? Wrong.

Ian Collins and AFL have come to an agreement that Telstra Dome doesn't get any finals in the 1st week of the finals if its not earned by a victorian side.;)

Kane McGoodwin
24 Aug 2003, 17:44
Originally posted by ant
This is all pointless blather people.....it's all over. The season is done and dusted. We are completely useless.....a team of tired/old/overpaid hacks, led by an umimaginative, tactically inept coach, who are more interested in getting some of that early September sun than actually competing in footy games.

They're all too busy styling their hair, oiling their biceps, appearing (covered in makeup) on tv shows or just generally admiring themselves to be concerned about making a contest and winning the footy, and as such, we will exit the finals race from whatever position in a fortnight's time without dignity, spirit, or grace.

I agree, it doesn't matter where we finish as we are pretenders & won't win the flag. Though I haven't come to terms with it & still feeling like $h!t since yesterdays game since I have come to this realisation.

noddy
24 Aug 2003, 17:52
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
I agree, it doesn't matter where we finish as we are pretenders & won't win the flag. Though I haven't come to terms with it & still feeling like $h!t since yesterdays game since I have come to this realisation.

Yes i agree with both you guys, to old, to slow & a lack of delivery skills & endeavor & have resigned myself to a straight finals exit,

Well maybe until thursday, from whence i shall become a born again dreamer, ;)

Kane McGoodwin
24 Aug 2003, 17:56
Originally posted by noddy
[BWell maybe until thursday, from whence i shall become a born again dreamer, ;) [/B]
I can only hope we turn it around like the Pies did last year, but somehow I seriously doubt it. Talking of the Pies, if they play off against Port in the Grand Final, I reckon I will have to leave the country, as it would be a no win situation. :eek:

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 17:57
Originally posted by blighty
a) The old Telstra Dome agreement was that they get a final ONLY if two Victorian teams earnt home finals in the first week
b) That agreement has now been scrapped (allowing the AFL more flexibility with the MCC banking arrangment)

Check your facts next time.

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
24 Aug 2003, 18:06
I can only hope we turn it around like the Pies did last year, but somehow I seriously doubt it. Talking of the Pies, if they play off against Port in the Grand Final, I reckon I will have to leave the country, as it would be a no win situation. :eek:

Hey Kane, better book me a seat...........I am coming with you! :(

k
xx

noddy
24 Aug 2003, 18:13
I Talking of the Pies, if they play off against Port in the Grand Final, :eek:

Would be unbearable,

Nah wont happen Kane, even the good lord would disapprove of such an outcome as that,

In any event no way could i barrack for the Port Power & look at myself in mirror ever again,

DJarman
24 Aug 2003, 18:14
I am soo disapointed with yesterdays game but I just can't bring myself to say it is all over, where theres life theres hope.

Blind faith maybe?

The players have been playing some dumb football and now are copping it from the fans, I wonder how long it will take until the media starts to put the pressure on Ayres.

It can all change very quickly, IF we beat Port next week the confidence of the players would be sky high and who knows what could happen in the finals.

Jerome
24 Aug 2003, 18:30
Originally posted by DJarman

The players have been playing some dumb football and now are copping it from the fans, I wonder how long it will take until the media starts to put the pressure on Ayres.

I hope they do! This crap game plan has got to go!!

Leaping Lindner
24 Aug 2003, 18:49
Originally posted by ant

Oh thank God. I thought I was the only one thinking this.
We had a friend watching the game yesterday who knows little to nothing about football and even he said "They (adelaide) look like they don't want to get hurt".

And the coaching staff seem incapable of not only being imaginative and versatile but also incapable of learning from past mistakes. Sheedy, Malthouse and Matthews must be licking their lips at the thought of getting us in the finals.

At least I now have NO expectations of any further wins for the rest of the season so any win will be a bonus.

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 19:29
I can only hope we turn it around like the Pies did last year, but somehow I seriously doubt it. Talking of the Pies, if they play off against Port in the Grand Final, I reckon I will have to leave the country, as it would be a no win situation. :eek: I'd definately be a Collingwood fan for that day. Carn the Pies! :p

Stiffy_18
24 Aug 2003, 19:35
I'd definately be a Collingwood fan for that day. Carn the Pies! :p I couldn't possibly go for Collingwood. If it came down to it I would pick a marginally less of an evil in Port:eek:

Go Briisbane!!!!!!;)

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 19:38
Watching the last quarter of West Coast v Melbourne was unbearable. I thought the Eagles were going to finish with a massive % boost.

Thankfully Melbourne hung in there and kept the margin to under 10 goals.

We're still more than 3.5 % above West Coast. So if we finish on equal points with them we should still finish above them.

Go South
24 Aug 2003, 19:46
How quickly it changes...

2 weeks ago:
We were flying - second spot, looking forward to a huge finals campaign and a possible Grand Final and premiership.

Now:
2 pathetic losses - precariously in fourth, looking like missing the double chance altogether and staring at an away elimination final.

Here's hoping something dramatic happens during the week.

Stiffy_18
24 Aug 2003, 19:55
How quickly it changes...

2 weeks ago:
We were flying - second spot, looking forward to a huge finals campaign and a possible Grand Final and premiership.

Now:
2 pathetic losses - precariously in fourth, looking like missing the double chance altogether and staring at an away elimination final.

Here's hoping something dramatic happens during the week. A week is a long time in Football:(

DJarman
24 Aug 2003, 19:57
I just saw on the news that Hart and Edwards may not be fit for the showdown.

macca23
24 Aug 2003, 20:02
On our current form we couldn't beat an egg let alone Port. The only way we could is if Choco manufactured it that way to ensure that he had an easybeat team for the first week of the finals.

We have to hope that Collingwood can win so that we can have a home final from 6th spot and extend our finals lives for at least a week.

blackdiamond
24 Aug 2003, 20:13
Watching the last quarter of West Coast v Melbourne was unbearable. I thought the Eagles were going to finish with a massive % boost.

Thankfully Melbourne hung in there and kept the margin to under 10 goals.

We're still more than 3.5 % above West Coast. So if we finish on equal points with them we should still finish above them.

A Crows loss next week and a West Coast v Fremantle draw may make it possible ;) for Adelaide to finish 8th but now Im just clutching at straws.

The Floodbuster
24 Aug 2003, 21:09
It shall hurt you guys barracking for Collingwood next week with Eddie in full swing.

macca23
24 Aug 2003, 21:11
It shall hurt you guys barracking for Collingwood next week with Eddie in full swing.

It will hurt more than you think - but a man's gotta do what a man's gotta do!! ;)

DaveW
24 Aug 2003, 21:17
It shall hurt you guys barracking for Collingwood next week with Eddie in full swing. In all seriousness, I dislike Essendon more than I do Collingwood anyway.

Blues_Girl
24 Aug 2003, 21:20
In all seriousness, I dislike Essendon more than I do Collingwood anyway.

I must agree there.

Stiffy_18
24 Aug 2003, 21:56
Don't you just hate this type of season where all year you get an obstacle after obstacle and yet you compete well to say in the top 4. You get a few players back and everyone thinks its gonna happen on its own and you come out with 2 crappy games and the whole season is as good as dead. You are just making up the numbers and getting ordinary draft picks in the process. Wouldn't it better to screw up the whole year and get some decent draft picks and go on from there?:p

The Floodbuster
24 Aug 2003, 22:16
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Don't you just hate this type of season where all year you get an obstacle after obstacle and yet you compete well to say in the top 4. You get a few players back and everyone thinks its gonna happen on its own and you come out with 2 crappy games and the whole season is as good as dead. You are just making up the numbers and getting ordinary draft picks in the process. Wouldn't it better to screw up the whole year and get some decent draft picks and go on from there?:p

St Kilda board

Pred
25 Aug 2003, 00:31
Personally I don't think you are done for yet. I don't particularly want to play the Crows in the finals. I think we should beat you, and probably would, but I have a nasty feeling in the back of my mind that the tingles might pull something out of their collective @rses. A week is a long time in footy yada yada...", and finals are a different kettle of fish. How can you give up hope while you are still in the race for the flag. Never thought I would see that kind of attitude on this board. It's a losing mentality. Better hope the players aren't feeling the same.

The Floodbuster
25 Aug 2003, 00:39
Originally posted by Pred
Personally I don't think you are done for yet. I don't particularly want to play the Crows in the finals. I think we should beat you, and probably would, but I have a nasty feeling in the back of my mind that the tingles might pull something out of their collective @rses. A week is a long time in footy yada yada...", and finals are a different kettle of fish. How can you give up hope while you are still in the race for the flag. Never thought I would see that kind of attitude on this board. It's a losing mentality. Better hope the players aren't feeling the same.

Yes Pred it is a very worrying negativity surrounding the Adelaide boards at the moment. What can we do about it to inject some life and light back into the Adelaide board?
It is like a death has occured.

ant
25 Aug 2003, 00:58
How can you give up hope while you are still in the race for the flag?

It's very easy, just watch our past 2 games, particularly the last one.

You'll see, just like everyone else has, that we won't get close to, let alone win the GF this year. It's very sad indeed.

ant
25 Aug 2003, 01:01
Yes Pred it is a very worrying negativity surrounding the Adelaide boards at the moment. What can we do about it to inject some life and light back into the Adelaide board?
It is like a death has occured.

Yes, it is like someone has died....I think for all of us, a dream has died.

Pred
25 Aug 2003, 01:17
Originally posted by ant
It's very easy, just watch our past 2 games, particularly the last one.I did. And while I thought Saturday's effort was pretty insipid, especially considering the stakes, it happens to everyone from time to time.

Some things I noticed:

a) If Carey can't do any better than he has the last 2 weeks for you, he will be lucky to make it to the end of next season. Ditch him now and keep developing your younger players.

b) When McLeod and Goodwin are tagged out of a game, and Edwards is injured, you virtually have no midfield. Especially when the likes of Ricciuto, Bode and Bickley don't turn up to play.

c) McLeod is an absolute gun of an attacking player, but his defensive abilities are surprisingly poor. Look at his shocking attempt to spoil late in the game yesterday.

Some positives though....

Carey can't really get any worse.

Stevens, Welsh and Perrie are all good players who can improve.

McLeod and Goodwin won't play too many games as poor as yesterday.

Edwards will recover.

Bassett will kiss and make up with Ayrehead.

As much as I would love to, I am not prepared to write Adelaide off yet.

crowsfan
25 Aug 2003, 01:20
For crying out loud! Everyone, stop it.

This is quite unbelievable. Almost everyone seems to have given up. It seems quite ridiculous to just lose all hope and confidence that quickly. Sure the last two weeks have been crap, but that doesn't mean the team can't change the situation the next couple of weeks.

We are still in the finals for God's sake, at least we have a chance to win, unlike 8 other teams this year. We are not without a chance of still staying in the top 4. And even if we aren't so what? We are still in contention.

Of course, we could still lose this week, but if we do happen to win, and we certainly can, won't it be interesting to see what people here on this board think.

ant
25 Aug 2003, 01:24
I did. And while I thought Saturday's effort was pretty insipid, especially considering the stakes, it happens to everyone from time to time.

Some things I noticed:

a) If Carey can't do any better than he has the last 2 weeks for you, he will be lucky to make it to the end of next season. Ditch him now and keep developing your younger players.

b) When McLeod and Goodwin are tagged out of a game, and Edwards is injured, you virtually have no midfield. Especially when the likes of Ricciuto, Bode and Bickley don't turn up to play.

c) McLeod is an absolute gun of an attacking player, but his defensive abilities are surprisingly poor. Look at his shocking attempt to spoil late in the game yesterday.

Some positives though....

Carey can't really get any worse.

Stevens, Welsh and Perrie are all good players who can improve.

McLeod and Goodwin won't play too many games as poor as yesterday.

Edwards will recover.

Bassett will kiss and make up with Ayrehead.

As much as I would love to, I am not prepared to write Adelaide off yet.

Some pertinent points, but I fear you are an intelligent Power fan and as such, know that writing off any team other than your own (particularly one you are playing the following week) is foolish. We're finished, I know it, you know it, and so do most others here. Thanks for the kind words however.

P.S. I thought Carey was alright considering the conditions, the delivery and the opportunities. You're also very hard on Ricciuto, I thought he was the ONLY one that did deserve his match payment.

DaveW
25 Aug 2003, 01:24
a) If Carey can't do any better than he has the last 2 weeks for you, he will be lucky to make it to the end of next season. Ditch him now and keep developing your younger players. Firstly he can do better than he was in the last two weeks, and he's proven that this year. Secondly he was moving better on the weekend than he was the weekend before, once again its the delivery that's made him look bad.

b) When McLeod and Goodwin are tagged out of a game, and Edwards is injured, you virtually have no midfield. Especially when the likes of Ricciuto, Bode and Bickley don't turn up to play. Well gee funny that, if five of our midfielders have poor ones and one is injured our midfield has no impact. Rather tautologous I'd have thought.

c) McLeod is an absolute gun of an attacking player, but his defensive abilities are surprisingly poor. Look at his shocking attempt to spoil late in the game yesterday. I can't recall the incident you're referring to. But McLeod isn't too bad defensively, he's a great tackler.

The Floodbuster
25 Aug 2003, 01:37
Ricciuto has had a great year, another BOG on sat.
Your season may be over but one positive is Carey, a lot of people said he'd only last half a year and that no premeirship would just make Carey a waste but Carey has shown he is going to play more than one year with the Crows.
Perrie has been a positive as has Johncock.
Time to ship on, delist players like Bickley, Smart, Stevens, Marsh and Co and try and recruit a key defender and some toughness, Ricciuto can't do all the hard stuff himself every week.

Pred
25 Aug 2003, 01:41
DaveW, are you unwilling to accept any constructive criticism or positive comment from me? Feel free either way, of course.
Well gee funny that, if five of our midfielders have poor ones and one is injured our midfield has no impact. Rather tautologous I'd have thought.I was aware of the way that might sound. I was really making several points there. Adelaide's midfield is widely vaunted as the best or second-best going around. While they are very good, your own coach very sarcastically called them his "Star-studded midfield" yesterday. Perhaps they aren't quite the best going around.

It was far too easy to shut down BOTH McLeod and Goodwin.

The thing about top-class midfields is that when one or two players are shut-down, or simply down on form, the other two or three can step up and fill the breach. That certainly didn't happen yesterday. That was my main point. You'll be much more competitive next week though.

Pred
25 Aug 2003, 01:45
Your season may be over but one positive is Carey, a lot of people said he'd only last half a year and that no premeirship would just make Carey a waste but Carey has shown he is going to play more than one year with the Crows. Definitely don't think Carey hanging around is a long-term positive for Adelaide. Too old, too slow, too injury-prone, too-inconsistent. Robs younger players of valuable game time and opportunities. Also, how can you try to build some kind of stable forward line structure when you know he'll be leaving in a year or so anyway.

DaveW
25 Aug 2003, 01:46
Ricciuto has had a great year, another BOG on sat. Get on him for the Brownlow. :D
Your season may be over but one positive is Carey, a lot of people said he'd only last half a year and that no premeirship would just make Carey a waste but Carey has shown he is going to play more than one year with the Crows. How refreshing to see an opposition supporter praise the recruitment of Carey.
Perrie has been a positive as has Johncock. Agreed.
Time to ship on, delist players like Bickley, Smart, Stevens, Marsh and Co and try and recruit a key defender and some toughness, Ricciuto can't do all the hard stuff himself every week. Whoa, whoa, whoa... delist Bickley and Smart? Why when they're still commanding a spot in our best 22? And with the veterans list they aren't taking up the place of any youngster. Stevens? C'mon, he's been injured all year, have you forgotten how good he was last season? And Marsh, he's the extent of our ruck depth, he stays.

Quality key defenders don't grow on trees but Aidan Parker may fit that role by coming off the rookie list.

I don't think we lack toughness with the recruitment of Torney and Shirley's progress this year, and hopefully Skipworth and Schuback - and even Mattner - will come along. It'd be good to see Bode get back into some form and Massie stay fit.

CrowBoi
25 Aug 2003, 06:16
That's the spirit... and all this from a Port fan? :)

One thing, Ricciuto did play well yesterday...

noddy
25 Aug 2003, 11:57
Jeez !! how rough is this ? having to take a pick-me-up pill from a couple of papsies :( can life get any bloody worse than this?? :o

Even though both Pred & Flood have made some valid points (as well as making some obvious silly ones) i find i can't quite get stirred up enough for this weeks showdown & for the moment will have to sulk & look for (& expect) some major sympathy treatment from "her that knows better"

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
25 Aug 2003, 11:59
If we BEAT Port we will get a top 4 spot (probably 3rd). Off to the GABBA we go.

If we lose to Port then we will probably end up 6th - with a home Elimination Final.

If we do BEAT Port our confidence will be huge and I would back us to beat Brisbane @ the GABBA.

An Elimination Final @ AAMI probably v Essendon isn't the worse scenario. I would be confident about beating them, even if we had to play at the MCG I would be fairly confident.

k
xx

CrowBoi
25 Aug 2003, 12:11
I think it's likely that if we win this weekend, there'll be 2 showdowns in a row...

If both Brisbane (vs Bulldogs) and Collingwood (vs Bombers) both win, which is likely, we'll likely finish 4th... producing 2 showdowns in a row! :)

Go Crows!

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
25 Aug 2003, 12:16
Originally posted by CrowBoi
I think it's likely that if we win this weekend, there'll be 2 showdowns in a row...

If both Brisbane (vs Bulldogs) and Collingwood (vs Bombers) both win, which is likely, we'll likely finish 4th... producing 2 showdowns in a row! :)

Go Crows!

Your right. At the end of the day - all we have to do is win - then anything is possible.

k
xx

Stiffy_18
25 Aug 2003, 12:28
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
If we do BEAT Port our confidence will be huge and I would back us to beat Brisbane @ the GABBA.

k
xx There is one staggering stat that a lot of people are unaware of. Brisbane has never lost a final at the GABBA and to be honest that record is safe for at least another couple of years.:(

napsyd
25 Aug 2003, 12:36
OK, here's my take.

We have been insipid in the last two weeks and a little above insipid for the last month.

Our last decent game of footy was realistically against Essendon. Since then we have played largely crap footy and beaten only opposition that was not performing properly (St Kilda, West Coast) or who probably deserved the four points but just missed out (Sydney).

The current slump in form is very reminiscent of after the midseason break last year. It is also very similar to our insipid performance against Brisbane in our first final last year. We managed to turn that around to some extent in a week but we still weren't our best against Melbourne with a massive sleep period mid match.

IMO we have one chance. The club must turn attitudes around over the week and we must come out all guns blazing against the Power. We must come out 100%, no slackers, no fade outs.

Win this week, and we have a double chance and a big positive to work from. We will have a red hot crack.

Lose and we will make up the numbers, probably bundled out in the semis (if not week one).

It's simple.

DaveW
25 Aug 2003, 13:53
Pred,

Apart from the last two weeks, our midfield generally has performed. This dispite McLeod either being tagged or on a flank, and Goodwin being injured or not having much impact when he does play and Edwards playing down back.

Ricciuto has been maginificent and Burton, Shirley and Ladhams have all been solid contributors in the middle this year.

Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 14:55
Pred,

Apart from the last two weeks, our midfield generally has performed. This dispite McLeod either being tagged or on a flank, and Goodwin being injured or not having much impact when he does play and Edwards playing down back.

Ricciuto has been maginificent and Burton, Shirley and Ladhams have all been solid contributors in the middle this year.
Exactly Dave - Roo, Burton, Shirley, Ladhams & until the flu Bicks & Stinger have been solid contributors. Why would you bother tagging either Goodwin or Macca, as they are a shadow of their normal selves at the moment. Bode needs to have a good look at himself, as the likes of Reilly, Dogga, Shippy & Gags are more deserving of a game.

Pred
25 Aug 2003, 16:36
I'm certainly no expert on the Crows.

I watched the last game between drinks and a few other things, and I assumed McLeod and Goodwin had been tagged as they were both so quiet.

Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 16:44
I'm certainly no expert on the Crows.

I watched the last game between drinks and a few other things, and I assumed McLeod and Goodwin had been tagged as they were both so quiet.
McLeod was tagged by Rawlings, but the need not have bothered, as he was disinterested. Not sure with Goody, as I hardly noticed him apart from the fumbling.

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
25 Aug 2003, 16:58
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
There is one staggering stat that a lot of people are unaware of. Brisbane has never lost a final at the GABBA and to be honest that record is safe for at least another couple of years.:(

If it bleeds - we can kill it - not sure who said it (leigh matthews?) but I reckon it is true!

k
xx

naughty monkey
25 Aug 2003, 18:07
The real reason Adelaide won't go anywhere in the finals is because all the opposition need to do is flood the halfback line. We have not known how to beat this strategy for years.

Getting the midfield to work much harder off the ball is the easy bit. We have done that all year except for the last month, and the last 2 weeks in particular.

DaveW
25 Aug 2003, 18:17
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
If it bleeds - we can kill it - not sure who said it (leigh matthews?) but I reckon it is true!

k
xx Arnold Schwartzneger

Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 18:19
Arnold Schwartzneger
Could do with him the ruck at the moment to give a bit of aggression & give us a target around the ground.

Jars458
25 Aug 2003, 18:49
Could do with him the ruck at the moment to give a bit of aggression & give us a target around the ground.

Heard Arnie on the radio the other day saying

"Gary Ayres, is a genuis I think, Gary is fantastic"