View Full Version : Wanted: Adelaide Board Moderator.
Appleyard
24 Aug 2003, 12:38
Now is the time to nominate a Crows supporter to moderate this board. Danni does a good job but obviously we prefer that each team board have moderators that actually support that team.
E-mail your nominations to adrian AT bigfooty.com.
dyertribe
24 Aug 2003, 12:45
This is a chance to bring the knives out people! ;)
Stiffy_18
24 Aug 2003, 16:33
Could we have 2 moderators just in case on is unable to attend for a while.
macca23 has pulled his name out of the hat.
DaveW and Kane McGoodwin would be good choices.;)
Appleyard
24 Aug 2003, 18:21
We've got Kane, Dave and Stiffy so far.
And the fewer times my e-mail address appears un-encoded the less spam I get. The "E-mail Bigfooty" link is encoded using javascript to hide it from harvesters. I get plenty of spam already, I don't need more.
GoalsFrom50Out
24 Aug 2003, 18:46
I guess this is a thread to do it in. Who do we send complaints about a user to?
dyertribe
24 Aug 2003, 19:55
In all seriousness anyone here would do a great job - it's not exactly a difficult job, although we do have the odd troll.
I'd be happy with anyone who eventually got the job.
Just bumping this one back up folks. C'mon 5 or 6 replies? you can do better than that!!
And just so you don't miss my presence I'll let you in on a secret.....when your new mod wants to ban someone from this board they'll have to come to me anyway (Well me or Adrian)!! So I won't be deserting you altogether!
You are a pretty cohesive group here, and by all accounts one of the best behaved boards on Bigfooty, so I'm sure whoever gets the job will be a good choice.
Cheers
Danni
Blues_Girl
25 Aug 2003, 15:09
I'm with Dyertribe on this one...any of us would please me!
lozstar
25 Aug 2003, 15:10
Originally posted by Blues_Girl
I'm with Dyertribe on this one...any of us would please me! same same.
Originally posted by Danni
Just bumping this one back up folks. C'mon 5 or 6 replies? you can do better than that!! Adrian said in his initial post to contact him by email. That's what I did. FWIW, I nominated Kane McG.
And just so you don't miss my presence I'll let you in on a secret.....when your new mod wants to ban someone from this board they'll have to come to me anyway (Well me or Adrian)!! So I won't be deserting you altogether! What? They don't get unrestricted power? What a gyp! :p
Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 15:13
Originally posted by Danni
Just bumping this one back up folks. C'mon 5 or 6 replies? you can do better than that!!
Danni, this thread probably would have got a better response a couple of weeks ago, as most of us are feeling a bit down after our performance against the Roos.
We have numerous regular posters who would do a good job, but I reckon the key is that 2 people get the gig (as you can't be around all the time).
You may want to pull out the old thread from earlier in the season when there were calls for an a Crows person to moderate this board, as I reckon it will answer most of your's / Adrian's questions.
Jars458
25 Aug 2003, 15:16
I reckon it should be Kane for sure and the other person could be either Leaping Linder Jerome or maybe Dave W
Stiffy needs to control his smiley level before being considered.
Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 15:18
Originally posted by Jars458
IStiffy needs to control his smiley level before being considered.
Your a bit rough on Stiffy Jars, as imagine all those Stiffy stickies & smilies! :D
Here's a couple of old threads on this issue...
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=58331
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=72122
Blues_Girl
25 Aug 2003, 15:21
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Your a bit rough on Stiffy Jars, as imagine all those Stiffy stickies & smilies! :D
I vote Stiffy :D
Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
I guess this is a thread to do it in. Who do we send complaints about a user to?
For now GoalsFrom50Out, I'm the one you send them to.
And yes I know he did ask for emails, by crikey you lot must be the only ones on bigfooty who actually follow direction as well!:)
p.s. try not to take the loss too hard. Can you imagine what it has been like being a Bears/Lions supporter - more ups and downs than a bloody rollercoaster over the last 17 seasons!! Finally achieve success only to find we become the most loathed team in the land, and get ourselves smashed into the ground by opposition supporters when ever they have the chance.
You may have lost on the weekend - BUT - unlike 8 other teams you are still in there with a ripper of a chance, and just for the record, I am hoping you lot win this coming weekend. The thought of experiencing the atmosphere of a 'showdown' is actually about the only thing that would ever get me back to AAMI stadium, and you never know, one day I just might do it!
Jars458
25 Aug 2003, 15:43
I vote Stiffy :D
Your support of a "stiffy" does not surprise me in the least:D
Blues_Girl
25 Aug 2003, 15:45
Your support of a "stiffy" does not surprise me in the least:D
:eek: :p
What can I say! I'm easily pleased!
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
25 Aug 2003, 16:34
:eek: :p
What can I say! I'm easily pleased!
how did the Sturt dinner go? Did you reaquaint yourself with James? :D ;) Did the little girlfriend gets jelous.................I hope she did!
k
xx
AngelEyes
25 Aug 2003, 18:42
I reckon it should be Kane for sure
Dito.
Blues_Girl
25 Aug 2003, 20:20
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
how did the Sturt dinner go? Did you reaquaint yourself with James? :D ;) Did the little girlfriend gets jelous.................I hope she did!
k
xx
Yeh it was fab! Couldn't get close enough to him for the bitchhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh girlfriend. He was very drunk and had she not been there...well who knows ;)
Stiffy_18
25 Aug 2003, 20:38
Bugger it. This thread has turned into another Stiffy likes stickies and smilies.:p
FWIW, I agree with Kane that we need 2 moderators in case one goes on a holiday or has a few things on and cannot be around as often.
*smiley just for Jars458*:) :p
macca23
25 Aug 2003, 20:41
Definitely 2 moderators for this board with Kane McGoodwin definitely as one of them.
Dave W or his Stiffness for the other one.
I would be happy with anyone of the regular Crow posters as moderators, but if we are having 2 then i would opt for Kane & macca23 with maybe Jars or Kb & Stiffy as a replacement if macca declines,
macca23
25 Aug 2003, 21:03
Originally posted by noddy
I would be happy with anyone of the regular Crow posters as moderators, but if we are having 2 then i would opt for Kane & macca23 with maybe Jars or Kb & Stiffy as a replacement if macca declines,
Thanks noddy, but I'm a non-starter.
Still Crowing
26 Aug 2003, 16:54
The guys mentioned so far (Kane/Dave/Stiffy) would all be good choices....any others (Leaping Lindner 'springs' to mind ;) )
Also, 2 seems to be the go.....it just makes sense.
Oh, looking forward to it, it's just like leaving the nest for the first time! ;)
Kasey
dyertribe
26 Aug 2003, 17:01
I'm perplexed as to why I can't gain a nomination...
Is my face too new?
Is it because I was born a Vic?
Is it because I'm a Port Magpies man?
:D
Kane McGoodwin
26 Aug 2003, 17:03
Originally posted by dyertribe
Is my face too new?
No, it's because it is not suitable for the leader of an orgy! :p
lozstar
26 Aug 2003, 19:27
Is my face too new?
:D i vote for dyertribe :p
Blues_Girl
26 Aug 2003, 20:13
Is my face too new?
That pretty much does it!
You don't have the knack for stickys and smilies!
A more pertinent question would be: Why do we even let you on this board? :p
Asgardian
28 Aug 2003, 16:41
How about a Port Adelaide supporter???????????????:D
Kane McGoodwin
28 Aug 2003, 16:57
Originally posted by Asgardian
How about a Port Adelaide supporter???????????????:D
Sure, if PrideofSA can moderate the Port Board. ;)
Stiffy_18
28 Aug 2003, 20:08
Sure, if PrideofSA can moderate the Port Board. ;) Or better yet, Noddy!!!!!!:D
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Or better yet, Noddy!!!!!!:D
I'll have you know Stiffy that i am a very reasonable & easy to get on with person & i only react to severe provocation from others (who i shall refuse to name) on the odd occasion or 2.
Stiffy_18
28 Aug 2003, 20:59
I'll have you know Stiffy that i am a very reasonable & easy to get on with person & i only react to severe provocation from others (who i shall refuse to name) on the odd occasion or 2. Wasn't having a go at you noddy it just would have seemed a bit interesting that a bloke who they banned from their board for "not being constructive" gets to be their moderator ;)
Wasn't having a go at you noddy it just would have seemed a bit interesting that a bloke who they banned from their board for "not being constructive" gets to be their moderator ;)
Yes i know you wasn't,
actually when they was calling for names to the Port board my name did come up, i think it was a toss up between porthos & myself & i lost on a count-back,
needless to say it wasn't long after that when i eventually felt the wrath of porthos & co,:)
Appleyard
8 Sep 2003, 11:53
I'll indoctrinate, er, introduce the new Adelaide mod at some time this week.
Stiffy_18
8 Sep 2003, 15:05
Originally posted by Appleyard
I'll indoctrinate, er, introduce the new Adelaide mod at some time this week. Do we get 2?????:)
Originally posted by sapaul
Dave W, come on down.... :D
I think you're the sole member of my support club.
Blues_Girl
8 Sep 2003, 19:44
Originally posted by DaveW
I think you're the sole member of my support club.
Nahhhhhhhh i'll join your support club, purely cause I feel sorry for ya :p
The suspense is playing havoc on my hernia, :eek:
odds,
macca23 a late scratching by order of the stewards, (espoir)
Kane, even money,
Stiffy, 2-1
Dave, 35-10
Jars, 5-1, (blown out from 3-1)
KB, 10-1 (& firming)
napsyd, 12-1
ant, 20-1
You can write your own ticket on the rest of the field,
The suspense is playing havoc on my hernia, :eek:
odds,
macca23 a late scratching by order of the stewards, (espoir)
Kane, even money,
Stiffy, 2-1
Dave, 35-10
Jars, 5-1, (blown out from 3-1)
KB, 10-1 (& firming)
napsyd, 12-1
ant, 20-1
You can write your own ticket on the rest of the field,
Yep, I was ordered by _espoir to withdraw!! ;)
My market with form guide
Kane, 1-2 (that's 2's on for the non punters - the standout on form))
Stiffy, Dave W, 25/10 (the real dangers, solid performers)
Jars 7-1 (and still drifting :))
ant 10-1 (he'll ban anybody who says we'll win games :D )
KB 12-1 (a bit of money for this filly)
napsyd 14-1 (steady in the market)
dyertribe 20-1 (the smokey of the field)
topjars 25-1 (not in favour with officialdom since he told them to get f*cked)
others 33-1 to 100-1
noddy 500-1 (they don't forget past indiscretions noddy ;))
maccas_no 1 10,000-1 (see comments for noddy)
Kane a certainty with Stiffy and Dave W to fight out a potential second spot.
Carmelo Anthony
8 Sep 2003, 23:08
VOTE 1 CARMELO ANTHONY
- TROUBLED PAST. AN INSPIRING COMEBACK TO BIGFOOTY SOCIETY
- THE LOVE AND SUPPORT OF THE BASKETBALL BOARD AFTER PUTTING UP LINKS TO NBA RADIO STATIONS
- SUPPORTS NCAA MENS BASKETBALL CHAMPS SYRACUSE
- MEMBER AND SUPPORTER OF THE MIGHTY CROWS
- THINKS THE CROWS SHOULD REBUILD
- THINKS GRAHAM JOHNCOCK SHOULD BE AA
Well there I put my statement down...vote carmelo anthony as moderator and instantly see the advantages.
Stiffy_18
8 Sep 2003, 23:25
It has become very obvious that a few bottles of wine have been consumed today but a few well respected poster. I have come to this conclusion after reading their predictions that I am a chance to become a moderator :p
Guys I have no chance in hell. Kane and DaveW have it in the bag and there are no better choices on this board (apart from one who has pulled out of the race with a concussion after getting a pat on the arse from _espoir:p)
I am sure that whoever is chosen will do a great job
dyertribe
9 Sep 2003, 00:01
I'd still like to know what I've done to not recieve some support ;)
A chunky post count... well-liked and respected by my mother... have a wealth of experience on other boards as a forum/community manager...
It's because I'm frosted isn't it. Discriminatory mongrels :D
Originally posted by macca23
Hey dyertribe. I've done the best I could for you mate. Noddy the #$@%$# so and so, didn't even put you in his market!! :D
dyertribe
9 Sep 2003, 00:17
Hey dyertribe. I've done the best I could for you mate. Noddy the #$@%$# so and so, didn't even put you in his market!! :D
Yeah I just noticed that... cheers mate ;)
All I'll say is my trials have been impressive (insufficient evidence) and my country form is superb (10 pints once in Strathalbyn) :p
AngelEyes
9 Sep 2003, 00:24
I'd still like to know what I've done to not recieve some support ;)
A chunky post count... well-liked and respected by my mother... have a wealth of experience on other boards as a forum/community manager...
Not to mention an Orgy Participator ;) :p
Originally posted by AngelEyes
Not to mention an Orgy Participator ;) :p
Quite right. A definite plus!!
I've just turned his odds into 12/1 :D
Kane McGoodwin
9 Sep 2003, 00:41
Quite right. A definite plus!!
I've just turned his odds into 12/1 :D
Certainly should dominate the female vote. ;)
AdelaideFC97
9 Sep 2003, 02:05
And I'll vote for dyer for the Newcastle angle...
dyertribe
9 Sep 2003, 02:26
Into 8/1...
The coatpullers are out and about and the stewards are nervous...
(apart from one who has pulled out of the race with a concussion after getting a pat on the arse from _espoir:p)
it was in the spirt of the game! :p ;) :)
goaldrush
9 Sep 2003, 09:55
Blues_Girl
AngelEyes
9 Sep 2003, 10:47
Into 8/1...
All you other boys need to lift your game now! ;)
Kane McGoodwin
9 Sep 2003, 10:57
Originally posted by AngelEyes
All you other boys need to lift your game now! ;)
Why? ;)
Can I just categorically say that I am not in the race.
Want to spend more time with my family.
If Stiffy gets the job he will sell us all out for one sniff of espoir's pant........
Better not say that.
*Jars runs for cover*
There is a very good reason why you can write your own ticket on dyertribe & that is in the past he has shown a distinct weakness when dealing with members of the opposite sex (female species) & has been very prone to give out certain favours when the price that is offered is within his capabilities,
& if you can work that out then your a better man (or women) than i Gunga-Din,
Dasher39
9 Sep 2003, 12:36
maccas_no1 would like to be a moderator, that way I cant boot or suspend myself:D :D :D
Stiffy_18
9 Sep 2003, 14:00
Can I just categorically say that I am not in the race.
Want to spend more time with my family.
If Stiffy gets the job he will sell us all out for one sniff of espoir's pant........
Better not say that.
*Jars runs for cover* :eek: Nice bait but no fish this time ;)
Stiffy_18
9 Sep 2003, 14:01
Originally posted by Dasher39
maccas_no1 would like to be a moderator, that way I cant boot or suspend myself:D :D :D U r smarter than I gave u credit for :D:D:D
my name keeps poping up.... :confused:
Kane McGoodwin
9 Sep 2003, 14:34
Originally posted by _espoir
my name keeps poping up.... :confused:
Just like Stiffy's keeps popping up. :eek:
Stiffy_18
9 Sep 2003, 16:53
my name keeps poping up.... :confused: It would appear that Jars458 cannot get enough of you!!!!!!:eek: :p
*Stiffy runs for cover*
dyertribe
9 Sep 2003, 17:01
There is a very good reason why you can write your own ticket on dyertribe & that is in the past he has shown a distinct weakness when dealing with members of the opposite sex (female species) & has been very prone to give out certain favours when the price that is offered is within his capabilities,
I don't see anything negative in that lot!
Into sixes... :D
i'm starting to get a little worried :p
It would appear that Jars458 cannot get enough of you!!!!!!:eek: :p
*Stiffy runs for cover*
In my younger days would have considered giving her the pleasure.
I am old and married now, so have no interest.;)
dyertribe
9 Sep 2003, 17:39
i'm starting to get a little worried :p
So are the bookies...
The boy and girl from Queen Street are looking good for the quinella! :)
*slaps everyone*
shhhhhhhuuushhhh
:(
*ever so embarrassed*
Stiffy_18
9 Sep 2003, 17:57
*slaps everyone*
shhhhhhhuuushhhh
:(
*ever so embarrassed* ROFL :p
ROFL :p
stop being mean :p
you know i can ...... no wait i better not say anything saying the word stiffy and down in the same sentence gets me into trouble ;)
Stiffy_18
9 Sep 2003, 18:05
stop being mean :p
you know i can ...... no wait i better not say anything saying the word stiffy and down in the same sentence gets me into trouble ;) Not being mean I just found it very funny. In fact I am still laughing :p
I think that was a very wise decision :p
saying the word stiffy and down in the same sentence gets me into trouble ;)
...... and me excited!! ;)
Stiffy_18
9 Sep 2003, 20:34
...... and me excited!! ;) :eek:
goaldrush
10 Sep 2003, 10:16
Just like Stiffy's keeps popping up. :eek: LOL!
That is a classic
beckybiglands
10 Sep 2003, 11:55
Congrats Kane.. my money was on you the whole time :p
macca23
11 Sep 2003, 23:05
Kane, 1-2 (that's 2's on for the non punters - the standout on form))
Stiffy, Dave W, 25/10 (the real dangers, solid performers)
Jars 7-1 (and still drifting :))
ant 10-1 (he'll ban anybody who says we'll win games :D )
KB 12-1 (a bit of money for this filly)
napsyd 14-1 (steady in the market)
topjars 25-1 (not in favour with officialdom since he told them to get f*cked)
others 33-1 to 100-1
noddy 500-1 (they don't forget past indiscretions noddy ;))
maccas_no 1 10,000-1 (see comments for noddy)
Kane a certainty with Stiffy and Dave W to fight out a potential second spot.
Now that the Moderator Cup has been run and won, it's time for a quick review of the race.
Kane - Class did prevail in the end and the short priced favourite romped in
Dave W - nice race and ready to win should they run a second Moderator's Cup
Stiffy - for obvious reasons, the human tripod would be much better suited by a 3 legged race
Jars - a late withdrawal - didn't pass the pre-race swab
ant - negativity took over and he ran in the wrong direction.
KB - this filly's mind was obviously elsewhere (I would suggest perhaps the coming orgy??)
napsyd - honest trier but no match for the flashy chestnut Kane
dyertribe - sensationally backed from 20-1 into 4-1. Later found out it was his money!!
Topjars - couldn't give a flying f*ck and was more interested in an after race drink.
noddy - honest old gelding who couldn't match it with the stallions
macca's_no 1 - better suited as a hack, very untractable.
One to follow - dyertribe, all the way to the coming orgy!!! ;)
Now that the Moderator Cup has been run and won, it's time for a quick review of the race.
noddy - honest old gelding who couldn't match it with the stallions
"GELDING" !!!!!
I'll have you know i still have one of the crown jewels in full working order & a full book of fillys to choose from, ;)
Kane McGoodwin
12 Sep 2003, 12:34
Kane - Class did prevail in the end and the short priced favourite romped in
Macca, probably only prevailed because you scratched yourself from the cup field. ;)
macca23
12 Sep 2003, 13:30
Macca, probably only prevailed because you scratched yourself from the cup field. ;)
That's very kind of you Kane, but after the extreme concussion I suffered (from the draining of blood from the head to elsewhere) when _espoir patted my bum in the Bigfooty showdown, it had to be the spelling paddock for me!!! ;)
As I said above with your well-earned victory - class prevailed.
However, if it had been a 3 legged race, I would have had Stiffy at 1-5 favourite due to his physical advantages. ;)