View Full Version : How many Roys supporters are out there?

Olmy
7 Mar 2001, 14:09
I'm interested to know of other Roys fans out there. Firstly, those on this board - whether you are interested in posting regularly here or not - could you give us a show of hands?

And then, how many Roys supporters do people (anyone) know of, amongst friends, family, work colleagues etc.??

It'd be interesting just to gauge (although, the internet might not be the most accurate device for this), the numbers of Fitzroy supporters still out there.

Coburg-Fitzroy Lions, and Brisbane Lions games gave/give a fairly good account of this, but there are still others who weren't involved with either of these two clubs.

Post away!

Mr Ripper
7 Mar 2001, 14:23
Originally posted by Olmy:
I'm interested to know of other Roys fans out there. Firstly, those on this board - whether you are interested in posting regularly here or not - could you give us a show of hands?

Yo! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

And then, how many Roys supporters do people (anyone) know of, amongst friends, family, work colleagues etc.??

Got one at work, but he hadn't followed the Roys since the pre-Junction days.

Several rellies on Dad's side of the family are Roys too, although I'm not sure if their loyalties have changed since one of their flesh and blood now plays at a (particularly evil) opposition club. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/eek.gif

------------------
Olmy knows best

Olmy
7 Mar 2001, 14:24
Not including people who I know, or have met from the internet (as some of them will most likely post for themselves!), I know of around about 8 other Fitzroy supporters (not including myself of course).

6 of them classify themselves as Brisbane Lions 'supporters' (some members, some non-members), while one other classifies himself as a 'follower' or 'interested on-looker' of the Brisbane Lions. One other is not interested in the club as of yet.

A number of them expressed interest in Coburg-Fitzroy last season, and one or two of them attended games with me (although, I also had a Hawks and Geelong supporter come along with me a couple of times too!).

Similarly, a number of them have also expressed interest in the Fitzroy Redz. More so this season, perhaps, because of the demise of Coburg-Fitzroy, and the lack of Brisbane Lions games in Melbourne.

I myself am a Brisbane Lions supporter/member. I am also a Fitzroy member (I am waiting to renew my membership for this season actually!). I attended a number of Coburg-Fitzroy games last season, as well as one Fitzroy Redz game. This season I hope to see a great deal more of the Redz home games at Brunswick St. Oval. I am also considering taking out Fitzroy Redz membership.

(Mind you, I didn't add that last para as a means of justifying my opinions - merely just for interests sake, and also for the sake of this topic!). http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Carn the Lions! Carn the Roys!

Olmy
7 Mar 2001, 14:26
I actually didn't include family members in that - just friends (some of whom are in the same family).

Mobbenfuhrer
7 Mar 2001, 16:23
Me.

Know of three fans at work. One is a Brissy Lion now, the other two are as I am.

Know heaps from the footy itself, many of which are Brisbane fans now. A few are just Roys, though.

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

lioness
7 Mar 2001, 19:22
OK well I am very much a Fitzroy supporter http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif and I know of 2 other Roy folk (I haven't seen either of them since school, which is a few years ago now, but both were committed Roys fanatics, one was considering going for the Brissy Lions at that stage, the other was giving up football).

As for me, I have been a Brissy Lions member for 3 years inc. this year - in 1997, I couldn't bring myself to get a membership, and last year I was flat broke for most of the year, so couldn't afford to renew. I am interested in FFC membership too. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif That's basically my football life in a nutshell. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

Easy-E
8 Mar 2001, 07:12
I'm a Fitzroy supporter (didnt we used to say 'barrack') and 4 of my mates up here in Bris Vegas are too. They didnt used to be but i helped them make up their minds.One was a South supporter but couldnt go with Geoff and Leanne let alone warwick. Another was a hawkies boy, but .... The boy (3) is a fitzroy supporter. (he's the one with the Lions cap that some of us bought through the other e-group) We all go to a few Fitzroy Bears games each year(such as the Freo one- so, so many goals) as the Gabba is 10 mins walk from my place and the hawkie boy is a member of the cricket club, so its free.
I will be looking at the board every day, but only posting when I can muster enough brain cells to make a decent reply. I find philby has much more eloquent epistles than I.(Olmy too).
Thanks too to Bluey for enabling the board.

buassa
8 Mar 2001, 17:35
I followed the roys from 6 years of age to 39 and have vowed that I would NEVER follow the bears, I now go to see the Roos play with my 2 sons. My 2 sons play for Beverley Hills and guess what jumpers they wear, yep Brisbane.....erghh!!!

Mr Ripper
8 Mar 2001, 17:49
Deep breaths

1...2...3...4...etc

------------------
Olmy knows best

sbagman
8 Mar 2001, 17:55
Take it easy there, Ripper....

Levo
9 Mar 2001, 00:27
Well here in pommy land (land of the unwashed)I've come across around 10, which includes the General Manager and the President of the BARFL (Brit Aussie Rules Footy League).
But F*** no Roy jumpers out there my team the London Gryphons was started in '99 by Zanotts yes he of the back line dash (we wear Carlton colours f*** ).
Levo

FitzroyRamone
9 Mar 2001, 03:39
I come from a long Fitzroy tradition (my grandpa was born in Fitzroy, barracked for the club and played cricket for Fitzroy, plus his cousin, Robert Fletcher, was a life member as a trainer), thus it's in my veins.
I tried following Brisbane before being seduced by the dark side and moving to another club. I now follow a certain club who I'd prefer not to name in fear of being lynched (pun intended) by those Roys who follow Brisbane. However, despite following another club in the business league, Fitzroy is always no. 1 in my heart.
I know of a few Roys who now follow the Lions (including my family, who take mre interest in Brisbane than what they did in the last few years of Fitzroy in the AFL) which I've no problem with. I just wish they'd take more interest in the current state of Fitzroy, instead of focusing solely on Brisbane. Oh well, I guess people mourn in different ways.

Cheers,
FitzroyRamone

[This message has been edited by FitzroyRamone (edited 08 March 2001).]

Olmy
9 Mar 2001, 07:22
Originally posted by FitzroyRamone:
However, despite following another club in the business league, Fitzroy is always no. 1 in my heart.
I know of a few Roys who now follow the Lions (including my family, who take mre interest in Brisbane than what they did in the last few years of Fitzroy in the AFL) which I've no problem with. I just wish they'd take more interest in the current state of Fitzroy, instead of focusing solely on Brisbane. Oh well, I guess people mourn in different ways.

I know where you're coming from with that one. I follow the Brisbane Lions, but as a Fitzroy supporter, I am still supporting the Roys in the ventures they are moving into these days. Whether that be moral, vocal, or financial support - it's all worth it.

Easy-E
9 Mar 2001, 09:42
Originally posted by buassa:
My 2 sons play for Beverley Hills and guess what jumpers they wear, yep Brisbane.....erghh!!![/B]

Dear Buassa, we were not gonna slag off the Bears, I mean Lions here, hence Rippers 1,2,3,4..

Fat Pizza
9 Mar 2001, 11:21
I used to have lots of Roys supporters I called friends, but have lost touch with them. The only time I saw most of them was at Fitzroy games, training, crisis meetings & other club functions. Some of them I didn't even know by name. I just knew them as the guy from the cheer squad, or the guy, who bought the golf clubs at the Fitzroy auction, etc.

There are a couple of Royboys at work. They're not fanatics, but both follow Brisbane.

There are only 2 others I keep in touch with regularly & 1 of them is my father.

OldLion
9 Mar 2001, 12:28
Apart from family ( extended ), I had about 10 chaps and chapesses who would meet under the scoreboard at PP and enjoy the freedom of a sparsely populated ground.

Easy to find esp. early in the season - the wafting aroma of African Woodbines during the breaks in play generally brought the people together. Where are they now - there was one guy who played lead guitar Hendrix style in a band called House of the Criminally Insane. Another guy called his young son Conlan ( before his time really - surname as first name , they're ALL doing it now ). Some old boys and girls who we, on occasion, hugged at the appropriate time - like when we knocked off the Pies in 92.