View Full Version : Great Roys goals!
Any goals which come to mind as being amongst the greats kicked by a Roys player?
One of the better goals I remember came in '95, from Jeremy Guard. It was in that St.Kilda game, where we won by a couple of kicks for our first win of the season.
The ball had been rushed through for a point to St.Kilda, someone (Zanotti perhaps), kicked out to half back, where Guard took the mark. He gave it off to someone else, who then gave the one-two back. Guard ran it through the centre and handballed over to Boyd who was moving out towards the win/flank area. Boyd stalled for a while, gave it back to the passing Guard, who ran down the wing, with two bounces, and slotted a FLAMING RIPPER from outside 50m.
FLAMING BRILLIANT GOAL!!!
CARN THE ROYS!!!
Mr Ripper
8 Mar 2001, 14:26
Any 10 of Micky Conlan's! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif
Mobbenfuhrer
8 Mar 2001, 15:41
Manson's at Adelaide.
Roos '92 v Pies.
Harding in 89' magoo GF.
Ossie jumping Sean White to goal in Rd 18,1989.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer:
Manson's at Adelaide.
Roos '92 v Pies.
Harding in 89' magoo GF.
Ossie jumping Sean White to goal in Rd 18,1989.
Remember the first two, and the last one (which was a ripper), but can't recall Harding's effort in '89???? You'll need to elaborate on that one Kev!
Fat Pizza
9 Mar 2001, 10:24
Conlan even made kicking points exciting.
Wheildon's mid-air snap from the boundary in Tassie was the best.
Mobbenfuhrer
9 Mar 2001, 14:52
Deano Harding's goal was one of the winning burst. Approximately third last, maybe fourth last goal. (I think the last two were Thornton's and Woodsy's).
He snapped it round the corner from out in front. TV zoomed in on him afterwards, he was till facing the wrong way, on one knee, with a fist clenched and a smile at his teammmates.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Mr Ripper
9 Mar 2001, 15:14
Kev, I can't even recall Deano playing in that game. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/confused.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/confused.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/confused.gif
------------------
Olmy knows best
Mobbenfuhrer
9 Mar 2001, 15:18
He did. Let me check the tape ...
(Suffer, I've got a tape of it) http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif
Back with an answer in ten minutes http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Mobbenfuhrer
9 Mar 2001, 15:38
Okay he wasn't there ... at least not kicking one of those last goals, anyway.
The last three goals seemed to be (fast forwarding) : Marcou, Thornton, Woods.
Wheildon had either the fourth-last, or one of the last three.
Wonder where I saw Harding, he wasn't in Rd 18,89, was he?
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Mobbenfuhrer
9 Mar 2001, 15:45
But he did it somewhere ...
In hindsight, I'm sure it wasn't Rd 18,89.
Might have been the 1991 comeback against West Coast, now that I think of it.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Mr Ripper
9 Mar 2001, 15:54
I think you could be on the money there, Kev. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
That was the day Drew (coodabeen someone else) called Paul Broderick 'Matthew Broderick'! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/redface.gif Been watching to many brat pack movies, I reckon! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif