View Full Version : Come on Stiffy, fire up & post your team fot the showdown

Pages : [1] 2

noddy
25 Aug 2003, 12:42
Some where below, :)

Stiffy_18
25 Aug 2003, 12:47
It will take another couple of days at least to get over the weekend.:(

If I was to post my team up in current state of mind you would fins that the likes of Ben Nelson, Michael Doughty, Matthew Smith, Hayden Skipworth, Ben Rutten, Brent Reilly, Jacob Schuback, Ben Marsh, Nathan Bock, Trent Hentschel and Luke Jericho would be in my team.:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Give me a couple of days to get over it and I'll get back to you;)

Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 14:43
Definite Out: Bode - Needs a kick up the arse, so back to Glenelg.
Probable Outs: Stenglein, Bickley (both in early stages of the flu - unlikely to be near 100%).
Probably Stay In: Johncock (should be over the flu), Goodwin (only because Hart likely to be unavailable - but play in defence, away from the midfield).

I'm hoping Edwards comes up & we should play him in the middle to give much needed support Roo, Birdman & Laverne. As we will then need a pacy defender to give us run out of defence, I would give Macca this role (reckon he needs a change of scenery & throw the K Cornes tag).

B: Smart, Bassett, Goodwin
F: Lade, C Cornes, S Burgoyne

HB: Torney, McGregor, McLeod
HF: Pickett, Tredrea, James

C: Burton, Ricciuto, Begley
C: Stevens, Cochrane, Schofield

HF: Johncock, Carey, Ladhams
HB: Montgomery, Wakelin, Wilson

F: Burns, Perrie, Welsh
B: Wanganeen, Paxman, Bishop

R: Biglands, Edwards, Shirley
R: Brogan, P Burgoyne, Carr

I (from): Clarke, Stevens, Massie, Reilly, Doughty, Gallagher, Schuback
I (from): Thurstans, K Cornes, Poulton, Dew, Hardwick, Cockatoo-Collins, Cassisi

_espoir
25 Aug 2003, 15:58
question?- hasnt smart played well on tredrea? i cant remember if its smart or hart that does a better job... (cant believe i'm writing it.... but hey)

hopefully tredders can shake them

dyertribe
25 Aug 2003, 16:02
Tredders and Magic Mountain always carve us up because we don't have any natural matchups for either............

Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 16:06
Originally posted by _espoir
question?- hasnt smart played well on tredrea? i cant remember if its smart or hart that does a better job... (cant believe i'm writing it.... but hey)

hopefully tredders can shake them
Tredders usually thrashes us. Kenny has not been given the job on Tredrea since he has become our regular CHB. As I said before the last showdown, we need to play our strongest defender on Tredrea & that is Kenny.

_espoir
25 Aug 2003, 16:08
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Tredders usually thrashes us. Kenny has not been given the job on Tredrea since she has become our regular CHB. As I said before the last showdown, we need to play our strongest defender on Tredrea & that is Kenny.

is kenny ready to run around? has the fitness for it?

**p.s since she? quickly fix the typo for the others see that ;) **

Bresh
25 Aug 2003, 16:21
I can't see a typo.

_espoir
25 Aug 2003, 16:23
Originally posted by Guey_34
I can't see a typo.
:p :p

Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 16:25

I have faith in Kenny being the best matchup for Tredders. He is one of the fitest at club aerobic-wise & our only defender who has the strength to match.

PS Thanks for pointing out the typo.

Bresh
25 Aug 2003, 16:28
Too bad, Kane McG... the "typo" is frozen throughout eternity in espoir's quote. :D

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
25 Aug 2003, 16:30
Kenny is the ideal matchup for Tredrea. I would bring back Bassett and put him on Cornes.

k
xx

Jars458
25 Aug 2003, 16:33
Back Hart Bassett Goodwin
HB Smart McGregor Torney
Centre Burton Ricciuto Ladhams
HF Johncock Stevens McLeod
F Perrie Carey Welsh

R Clarke Shirley Edwards

IC - Biglands Begley Stenglein Massie

In Hart Bassett Edwards
Out Bickley Bode Burns

_espoir
25 Aug 2003, 16:38
Too bad, Kane McG... the "typo" is frozen throughout eternity in espoir's quote. :D

shhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 16:42
shhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
If you were a nice person, you would change (my quote in) your post. ;)

macca23
25 Aug 2003, 16:49

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tredders usually thrashes us. Kenny has not been given the job on Tredrea since SHE has become our regular CHB. As I said before the last showdown, we need to play our strongest defender on Tredrea & that is Kenny.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for that _espoir. First decent laugh I've had since our miserable performance on Saturday. :)

Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 16:53
Originally posted by Jars458
Back Hart Bassett Goodwin
HB Smart McGregor Torney
Centre Burton Ricciuto Ladhams
HF Johncock Stevens McLeod
F Perrie Carey Welsh

R Clarke Shirley Edwards

IC - Biglands Begley Stenglein Massie

In Hart Bassett Edwards
Out Bickley Bode Burns
From what the club are saying, Hart's injury is worst than first thought, as he having problems kicking. I don't think we can count on him playing.

If you saw Stenglein playing on the weekend, there is no way in hell he should be picked this week. He was clearly in the early stages of the flu bug & would have only got a few possessions (& played most of the game!) Better off playing a fit youngster IMO than a someone who is unlikely to be fit.

napsyd
25 Aug 2003, 17:00
In order to try and pick our best team this week, I thought it might be useful to assess each likely selection's current form. I'll need some help from those with more SANFL knowledge.

Here goes! Numbers are subjective things so go easy on me.

Bassett - 3 - Has slumped significantly since suspension but a must start this week to gain confidence back.

Begley - 6 - Consistency is an issue but has shown enough lately to hold his place.

Bickley - 5 - Form has tapered significantly but his hard work is required.

Biglands - 5 - Form slipped, used as a bits and pieces man lately to cover holes which has not helped him.

Bode - 2 - In the worst form of his time at AFC. Should not be perservered with at this stage.

Burns - 3 - Confidence down, would be on the verge of a SANFL run. Attitude may be an issue also.

Burton - 7 - Has tapered slightly but still a key to our success.

Carey - 6 - Knee has been a nightmare but shows some signs of returning to Sydney/West Coast games form.

Clarke - 7 - In good consistent form.

Doughty - ? - Did not show enough against the Pies.

Edwards - 7 - In good form prior to quad strain, clangers need to be controlled.

Gallagher - ? - Probably a fair way back in the selection queue.

Goodwin - 4 - Has shown flashes but is still a long way from his best.

Hart - 4 - Was not in good form prior to injury but is a required player. We have been shown up terribly defensively without him.

Hentschel - ? - Would not come into consideration at this time IMO.

Johncock - 7 - Was flying prior to the flu but does have consistency issues also.

Ladhams - 6 - Was looking good prior to the flu and should be kept in.

Massie - 4 - Did OK in his first game back given conditioning and weather.

Mattner - ? - Behind Benny and Hound to come in.

McGregor - 7 - Solid contributor week in week out.

McLeod - 5 - Not at his best. Needs the mental and physical shackles removed.

Nelson - ? - Ripping SANFL form, but we all know about his AFL ability.

Perrie - 7 - The surprise packet has been consitent ray of light for us.

Reilly - ? - Hot and cold by all reports, but may be time for a recall? Has the talent to be a finals surprise packet.

Ricciuto - 9 - Virtually faultless season from the Roo.

Rutten - ? - Unlikely to have any further impact on 2003.

Schuback - ? - Impressive debut against the Pies, and could be a smokey In for Burns?

Shirley - 8 - Has not let us down once this year. Had his colours lowered partially by Bucks, which is no disgrace.

Skipworth - 5 - Played well in his limited opportunities and cannot be ruled out from a call up.

Smart - 5 - :confused: Hard to know what will turn up from one week to the next.

Stenglein - 6 - Form has dropped off somewhat, but certainly an important part of our 2003 campaign.

Stevens - 4 - Another dark horse but appears a long way from his best at this time.

Torney - 6 - Consistent but a step down from his early season form.

Welsh - 4 - Does not appear near his form against the Bombers, another unknown.

Thoughts???

dyertribe
25 Aug 2003, 17:11
Originally posted by napsyd
Thoughts???

I want Subway.

_espoir
25 Aug 2003, 17:37
Originally posted by macca23
Thanks for that _espoir. First decent laugh I've had since our miserable performance on Saturday. :)

:D

_espoir
25 Aug 2003, 17:38
If you were a nice person, you would change (my quote in) your post. ;)

if i did that.... might mean i like crow supporters ;)

Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 17:53
if i did that.... might mean i like crow supporters ;)
Well that would be your first step to cross-over from the dark-side. ;)

_espoir
25 Aug 2003, 17:55
Well that would be your first step to cross-over from the dark-side. ;)

stiffy and macca keep trying ... my feet are stayin with the port mob :)

:p

Bresh
25 Aug 2003, 17:57
Napsyd, I was at the game on Saturday, and I must say Begley was ****ing ****house... giving out so many hospital handpasses, you'd think it was an insurance scam. I don't know if you can go into negative integers with your rankings, but surely he wouldn't be in the black.

Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 18:00

Macca & I thought the Stiffy trade was more than fair. Perhaps we could throw in Jars too. ;) :eek: :D

[Ducks for cover]

Bresh
25 Aug 2003, 18:02
Gentlemen, I think you'll have to talk with the Freo ppl about a three-way trade involving FreoFan. You've gotta give quality to get quality.

Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 18:04
Gentlemen, I think you'll have to talk with the Freo ppl about a three-way trade involving FreoFan. You've gotta give quality to get quality.
But Guey, I think your forgetting we have dyertribe & his orgy of the century as a bargaining point. :D

PS Perhaps we could send Suzie O from the Hawks to you in return! :p

napsyd
25 Aug 2003, 18:06
Napsyd, I was at the game on Saturday, and I must say Begley was ****ing ****house... giving out so many hospital handpasses, you'd think it was an insurance scam. I don't know if you can go into negative integers with your rankings, but surely he wouldn't be in the black.

I've thought he has been OK lately. Although he wasn't flash on Saturday, he was not alone.

In retrospect I'd probably bring him down a notch.

Bresh
25 Aug 2003, 18:07
FreoFan, Dyertribe (back to where he belongs), Stiffy_18 + Yugoslavian basketball jersey concession picks...

DaveW
25 Aug 2003, 18:28
Napsyd, I was at the game on Saturday, and I must say Begley was ****ing ****house... giving out so many hospital handpasses, you'd think it was an insurance scam. I don't know if you can go into negative integers with your rankings, but surely he wouldn't be in the black. As I've said on other threads, I was a fan of his... prior to last Saturday.

GoalsFrom50Out
25 Aug 2003, 18:30
This is what my friends and I came up with during our supposed Australian Studies lesson today at the end of the day.

B: Hart | Smart | Basett
HB: Edwards | McGregor | Torney
C: Burton | Ricciuto | Stenglein
HF: Stevens | Carey | Ladhams
F: Welsh | Perrie | Johncock
R: Biglands | McLeod | Goodwin

Int: Clarke | Shirley | Begley | Bode

That's from memory, and a couple of spots could be the wrong way 'round. But, yeah.

DaveW
25 Aug 2003, 18:38
Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
This is what my friends and I came up with during our supposed Australian Studies lesson today at the end of the day.

B: Hart | Smart | Basett
HB: Edwads | McGregor | Torney
C: Burton | Riccuto | Stenglein
HF: Stevens | Carey | Ladhams
F: Welsh | Perrie | Johncock
R: Biglands | McLeod | Goodwinn

Int: Clarke | Shirley | Begley | Bode
Begley instead of Bickley? Yeesh.

Some of the above will probably be injured though.

BTW, spelling... it's Bassett, Edwards, Ricciuto, Goodwin.

GoalsFrom50Out
25 Aug 2003, 18:41
Will fix ... we got rid of Bickley since he's obviously not well.

_espoir
25 Aug 2003, 18:44
FreoFan, Dyertribe (back to where he belongs), Stiffy_18 + Yugoslavian basketball jersey concession picks...

how did this thread turn to trading?

macca23
25 Aug 2003, 18:59

Fair enough.

Leave your feet (unwashed preferably) with the Port mob, and bring the rest of you across to our side. ;)

Bresh
25 Aug 2003, 19:09
how did this thread turn to trading?

I saw an opportunity to get Stiffy's Yugoslavian basketball jerseys... ;)

macca23
25 Aug 2003, 20:45
I saw an opportunity to get Stiffy's Yugoslavian basketball jerseys... ;)

You have to admire such opportunism!! :D

noddy
25 Aug 2003, 20:53
Fair enough.

Leave your feet (unwashed preferably) with the Port mob, and bring the rest of you across to our side. ;)

Have i missed something or what :confused:

but what is so appealing about this _espoir character that you would want to trade in young Stiffy for ???

ant
25 Aug 2003, 20:55
Originally posted by noddy

but what is so appealing about this _espoir character that you would want to trade in young Stiffy for ???

I take it you haven't been to the Bigfooty Photos page? Or are secretly homosexual? Or are happily, happily married?

_espoir
25 Aug 2003, 21:04

i keep thinking the same thing. I just keep seeing my name poping up around here...so i add my 2 cents

macca23
25 Aug 2003, 21:11

As ant says, take a look at the photo of _espoir on the Bigfooty Photos page.

The recruiting team have decided that she is the #1 target in the coming trading/ draft period.

Currently the poor misguided (but very pretty) young lass is attached to the dark side of footy.

Don't relax for a moment noddy, because we may have to throw you in as a sweetener for the trade.

I can just see you now in your teal, black and white guernsey!! :D

DaveW
25 Aug 2003, 21:20
Originally posted by ant
Or are happily, happily married? I thought that was the case for macca23. But just quietly I'm a bit concerned with his recent behaviour and all. ;)

Kid Dynamite!
25 Aug 2003, 21:24

The recruiting team have decided that she is the #1 target in the coming trading/ draft period.

As _espoir's manager, I can quite safely say that she is not up for trade come the end of this season. Just signed a four year contract with the Port Adelaide board.

You may tell me that just because she has signed doesnt mean she cant be traded. But the trade will only work if the poster agrees to it. Hence, _espoir will not be going anywhere.

;)

macca23
25 Aug 2003, 21:25
Originally posted by DaveW
I thought that was the case for macca23. But just quietly I'm a bit concerned with his recent behaviour and all. ;)

It's totally selfless of course Dave. I'm just doing the recruiting for the other lads here. ;)

Stiffy_18
25 Aug 2003, 21:32

**p.s since she? quickly fix the typo for the others see that ;) ** I lot of people might be surprised byt this (I know I was) but Ken McGregor is aerobic freak for a bloke his size. He is in the top 5 players overall at the club as far as aerobic capacity is concerned. I couldn't believe it when I heard it.

No one would have picked than

ant
25 Aug 2003, 21:32
I thought that was the case for macca23. But just quietly I'm a bit concerned with his recent behaviour and all. ;)

The man is only human after all. I don't blame him for getting a bit toey and his efforts are well appreciated by all.

But if Dyertribe can't make the deal, we have no hope......kinda like our footy team too.....ohhh this season just gets from bad to worse......

noddy
25 Aug 2003, 21:34
Originally posted by ant
I take it you haven't been to the Bigfooty Photos page? Or are secretly homosexual? Or are happily, happily married?

Just had a quick bo-peep at both the Crows & Ports Photo site & to be honest ant your looking pretty good yourself,;)

NO, no no,no, just joking mate :D i'm a happily married heterosexual & have been for 27 years, phew!!!

Stiffy_18
25 Aug 2003, 21:39
my feet are stayin with the port mob :)

:p They are not firmly planted in the ground. We will move them eventually!!!!!!:p

macca23
25 Aug 2003, 21:40
Just had a quick bo-peep at both the Crows & Ports Photo site & to be honest ant your looking pretty good yourself,;)

You were just about traded to the Melbourne Board when I read this noddy.

Thank god you added the last paragraph!! ;)

Stiffy_18
25 Aug 2003, 21:46
FreoFan, Dyertribe (back to where he belongs), Stiffy_18 + Yugoslavian basketball jersey concession picks... Guey_34 RE: jerseys, I have a friend that is currently in Yugoslavia. She could look around for a jersey if you want (I'll ask her for th eprice as well). I doubt she will find the one from WC2002 from Indianapolis but she might get her hands on the one for the up and coming European Championships. They would be pretty similar except you would have SCG instead of Yugoslavia at the from since they changed the mane of the bloody country.

Who's would jersey would you want: Stojakovic :D, Jaric, Vujanic, Gurovic etc...?????

DaveW
25 Aug 2003, 21:49
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Guey_34 RE: jerseys, I have a friend that is currently in Yugoslavia. She could look around for a jersey if you want (I'll ask her for th eprice as well). I doubt she will find the one from WC2002 from Indianapolis but she might get her hands on the one for the up and coming European Championships. They would be pretty similar except you would have SCG instead of Yugoslavia at the from since they changed the mane of the bloody country.
How do you get SCG out of Serbia-Montenegro? :confused:

noddy
25 Aug 2003, 21:49

Currently the poor misguided (but very pretty) young lass is attached to the dark side of footy.

Don't relax for a moment noddy, because we may have to throw you in as a sweetener for the trade.

I can just see you now in your teal, black and white guernsey!! :D

Yes macca i can see now just how much of our salary cap the young person in question would cost us,

Forget about using me as a sweetener as if you had a look on the port photos & noticed Asgardian & Dreamkillers efforts well i'm afraid i would have to put my hand up to make it a splendid threesome,:eek:

But to be honest there are plenty of good looking people on our own board but if you insist on trading for _espoir ( & who am i to argue) maybe we could throw in ant, topjars & Jars along with Stiffy & see if that offer tempts their taste buds,
;)

Stiffy_18
25 Aug 2003, 21:55
How do you get SCG out of Serbia-Montenegro? :confused: Montenegro means black mountain in Italian I think. If you translate that into serbian you get Crna = black, Gora = mountain. Therefore Serbian & Montenegro = SCG;)

Stiffy_18
25 Aug 2003, 21:58
But to be honest there are plenty of good looking people on our own board but if you insist on trading for _espoir ( & who am i to argue) maybe we could throw in ant, topjars & Jars along with Stiffy & see if that offer tempts their taste buds,
;) Can someone please expalin to me why would Stiffy_18 go to Port's board if _espoir is not around??????:confused: I sure the hell wouldn't go for Asguardian and Porthos thats for sure.:eek:

ant
25 Aug 2003, 22:00
You were just about traded to the Melbourne Board when I read this noddy.

Thank god you added the last paragraph!! ;)

Hey, the man can recognise good looks when he sees it, regardless of gender.....

Edit: I've just seen he wants to use me as a sweetener.

Trade him Macca23 :o

noddy
25 Aug 2003, 22:03
Can someone please expalin to me why would Stiffy_18 go to Port's board if _espoir is not around??????:confused: I sure the hell wouldn't go because of Asguardian and Porthos thats fro sure.:eek:

I'm afraid you have no choice in the matter Stiffy:( it has been decided that you are surplus to requiement,

in other words "trade-able" :D

DaveW
25 Aug 2003, 22:06
You were just about traded to the Melbourne Board when I read this noddy. Originally posted by ant
Trade him Macca23 :o I don't think grey haired old farts have much trade value. :p

ant
25 Aug 2003, 22:10
I don't think grey haired old farts have much trade value. :p

Maybe not, but surely someone would appreciate his 'wisdom'?

And, possibly, he has aged gracefully, ala Sean Connery?

macca23
25 Aug 2003, 22:11
Ahhhhh!! A bit of humour. I'm starting to feel better already. Perhaps we might beat Port after all.

One thing's for certain, we won't beat Port unless everyone of the chosen 22 is 100% fit and totally committed.

Not sure about Edwards, Hart and Ladhams, but assuming they are all fit, then my line-up would be

F: Welsh Perrie Burns

HF: Johnc ock Carey Ladhams

C: Burton Ricciuto Shirley

HB: Torney McGregor Smart

B: Edwards Bassett Hart

R: Biglands Goodwin McLeod

Int: Clarke, Stevens, Massie, Begley

Out: Bode (form), Bickley & Stenglein (Health)

In : Bassett, Hart, Edwards

noddy
25 Aug 2003, 22:17
Ahhhhh!! A bit of humour. I'm starting to feel better already. Perhaps we might beat Port after all.

One thing's for certain, we won't beat Port unless everyone of the chosen 22 is 100% fit and totally committed.

Not sure about Edwards, Hart and Ladhams, but assuming they are all fit, then my line-up would be

F: Welsh Perrie Burns

HF: Johnc ock Carey Ladhams

HB: Torney McGregor Smart

B: Edwards Bassett Hart

R: Biglands Goodwin McLeod

Int: Clarke, Stevens, Massie, Begley

Out: Bode (form), Bickley & Stenglein (Health)

In : Bassett, Hart, Edwards

Like your line-up macca especially the on-ballers but would swap Burns for Bickley, after last weeks spit i would have a Bickley in bandages before a Burns without his dummy,

Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 23:02
Heard tonight on Ch10 I think that Hart & Edwards are an 80% chance to play. However, have my concerns with Hart, as Craig was saying on the WE that he was having problems kicking with his quad strain (his movement though is not an issue).

On Goody, I watched him closely on the WE & he struggling to handle the ball properly. I reckon he is still struggling with his wrist. For this reason, if we are going to play him, I would place him in the midfield. IMO he is better suited to a defensive role until he gets back the confidence in his wrist.

DaveW
25 Aug 2003, 23:03
Heard tonight on Ch10 I think that Hart & Edwards are an 80% chance to play. I like those odds! :D

topjars
25 Aug 2003, 23:05
Poor Ronny.
Get off his back.
I havent seen him kick the ball to the opposition yet- I like a man who plays with passion.

Kane McGoodwin
25 Aug 2003, 23:09
Originally posted by topjars
Poor Ronny.
Get off his back.
I havent seen him kick the ball to the opposition yet- I like a man who plays with passion.
TJ, I would like to see Ronnie kept & played deeper in our forward line ... but he has had a couple of shocking turnovers that have cost us goals (the worst one was in the Sydney game I think).

DaveW
25 Aug 2003, 23:12
TJ, I would like to see Ronnie kept & played deeper in our forward line ... but he has had a couple of shocking turnovers that have cost us goals (the worst one was in the Sydney game I think). Yeah Burns kicked short sideways from the wing and Schneider came out of nowhere to make it a contest, Schneider either grabbed it or picked it up after the ball spilt to ground. End result Sydney goal.

I was filthy with him at the time.

macca23
25 Aug 2003, 23:13
TJ, I would like to see Ronnie kept & played deeper in our forward line

So would I Kane.

Furter to that I'd like to see our key forwards leading up the ground from deep in the goalsquare to force our players to go down the centre of the ground and not to the sides. That would give the crumbers like Ronny a much greater chance to do their job.

PAfolwr
25 Aug 2003, 23:14
I enjoy reading Stiffy's revues SANFL summaries etc, BUT unless he turns out to look extremely different from what we all think, then having just had a look at the photos, the answer is no, no and not a chance. :D

macca23
25 Aug 2003, 23:20
Originally posted by PAfolwr
I enjoy reading Stiffy's revues SANFL summaries etc, BUT unless he turns out to look extremely different from what we all think, then having just had a look at the photos, the answer is no, no and not a chance. :D

Why, if he was good looking, would you fancy him then PAfolwr??

I didn't know you were that way inclined!! :D

(Another one for trading to the Melbourne board)

topjars
25 Aug 2003, 23:27
Yeah Burns kicked short sideways from the wing and Schneider came out of nowhere to make it a contest, Schneider either grabbed it or picked it up after the ball spilt to ground. End result Sydney goal.

I was filthy with him at the time.

Yep I DO remember that now that you mention it.
I watched the Roos replay tonite and just thought he had good reason to be dirtier ( on the umpire) but wasnt; he got on with the game and tried his guts out before coming off.

I know the coaching staff shouldnt cop the undisciplined stuff; but I hope Ronny doesnt get dropped because of it. We need his Ralphy Sewer magic.

PAfolwr
25 Aug 2003, 23:29
Why, if he was good looking, would you fancy him then PAfolwr??

I didn't know you were that way inclined!! :D

(Another one for trading to the Melbourne board)
Actually the he bit is the problem.
And no, don't even think about suggesting surgery. :D

Anyway, we have already finished this trade, you got Diatribe we got _espoir.
Ranks up there with the Eagleton trade.

macca23
25 Aug 2003, 23:33
Actually the he bit is the problem.
And no, don't even think about suggesting surgery. :D

Stiffy will be relieved in more ways than one!! :)

Ah well, might as well put the scalpel back then. ;)

DaveW
25 Aug 2003, 23:43
Ranks up there with the Eagleton trade. Funny you should say that. Dyertribe would probably take the Eagleton comparison as a compliment! :p

Stiffy_18
25 Aug 2003, 23:43
Bloody hell. While I was rotting away at uni, my name was thrown around as a trade bait. Now that I have come out and said that I am not going anywhere is espoir is coming our way, PAfolwr and macca23 are talking about cutting up the crown jewels.

Fair Dinkum can I win today??????:( :p ;)

PAfolwr
25 Aug 2003, 23:54
Bloody hell. While I was rotting away at uni, my name was thrown around as a trade bait. Now that I have come out and said that I am not going anywhere is espoir is coming our way, PAfolwr and macca23 are talking about cutting up the crown jewels.

Fair Dinkum can I win today??????:( :p ;)
:D

PAfolwr
25 Aug 2003, 23:59
Funny you should say that. Dyertribe would probably take the Eagleton comparison as a compliment! :p
From his point of view it would be a better trade.
Not sure Eagleton would have ended up with a harem. :D

Stiffy_18
26 Aug 2003, 00:04
:D Thats it!!!!!! A bloke can sense when he is not wanted. _espoir, any chance you would accept me to the dark side?!?!?!:(

*I can't believe I said that*:(

Kid Dynamite!
26 Aug 2003, 00:08
Thats it!!!!!! A bloke can sense when he is not wanted. _espoir, any chance you would accept me to the dark side?!?!?!:(

*I can't believe I said that*:(

There's a little something called the pre-season draft, my friend. That way we wouldnt have to give up anything for you. And that doesnt mean you're not worth anything. Just means everything [or everyone, as the case may be] is too valuable to us.

dyertribe
26 Aug 2003, 00:21
Ranks up there with the Eagleton trade.

I don't know whether I've been smacked or complimented here...

I won't agree to any trades from here on-in. In fact, I'll nominate for the draft ;)

Hopefully I go top 10 :confused: :cool:

Leigh Roy
26 Aug 2003, 00:31
OUT: Bode, Burns, Ladhams

IN: Reilly/Who's been good in the SANFL?, Bassett, Edwards

B: Edwards Bassett Smart
HB: Massie McGregor Torney
HF: Stevens Carey Johncock
F McLeod Perrie Welsh
R: Clarke Goodwin Stenglein

INT: Biglands, Begley, Bickley, Reilly/Who's been good in the SANFL?

Stiffy_18
27 Aug 2003, 00:13
Originally posted by Kid Dynamite!
There's a little something called the pre-season draft, my friend. That way we wouldnt have to give up anything for you. And that doesnt mean you're not worth anything. Just means everything [or everyone, as the case may be] is too valuable to us.

:p So you are telling me that you are willing to give up lozstar for free. Because we didn't trade anyone to get her to these boards.:p

Can we PLEASE trade for _espoir?!?!?!:)

lozstar
27 Aug 2003, 00:18
So you are telling me that you are willing to give up lozstar for free. Because we didn't trade anyone to get her to these boards.:p

Can we PLEASE trade for _espoir?!?!?!:) :eek: forget it Stiffy! :) 'cause lozstar ain't going back :p

_espoir will be a regular here soon enough anyway ;)

Stiffy_18
27 Aug 2003, 00:20
OK Stiffy is fired up again after figuring our how to create a recursive parser:D although I still think we'll get creamed.:(

F: ..... Welsh ..... Perrie ..... Johncock
HF: ...... Ladhams ..... Carey ..... Edwards
C: ..... Shirley ..... Ricciuto ..... Burton
HB: ..... Torney ..... McGregor ..... Goodwin
B: ..... Smart ..... Bassett ..... Hart
1R: ..... Clarke ..... Bickley ..... McLeod

Int: ..... Biglands ..... Stenglein ..... Massie ..... Stevens

OUT: Burns, Bode, Begley
IN: Hart, Edwards, Bassett.

If teh weather is wet then I would consider dropping one tall. Possibly Stevens as he is FAR from match fit.

I'll do the match ups later in the week.

Port by 1-39:(

Stiffy_18
27 Aug 2003, 00:22
Originally posted by lozstar
_espoir will be a regular here soon enough anyway ;) Thats music to my ears!!!!!!:D :D :D :D :D :D

DaveW
27 Aug 2003, 00:22
OK Stiffy is fired up again after figuring our how to create a recursive parser:D Yeah I did something like that in first year.

Stiffy_18
27 Aug 2003, 00:25
Yeah I did something like that in first year. Bugger that. That was the easy one {I have done it earlier in my studies]. This son of a bitch is the one for 3rd year students. Is a big mother f*cker. 50 lines of BNF.:eek:

lozstar
27 Aug 2003, 00:26
Thats music to my ears!!!!!!:D :D :D :D :D :D
haha. just keep talking about her, and she'll be here ;)
(you shouldn't have any trouble with that :p)

DaveW
27 Aug 2003, 00:31
Bugger that. That was the easy one {I have done it earlier in my studies]. This son of a bitch is the one for 3rd year students. Is a big mother f*cker. 50 lines of BNF.:eek: Have fun. :D

Stiffy_18
27 Aug 2003, 00:35
Have fun. :D I was pulling my hair out before but I think I got the hang of it. I am about 70% done and the most pleasing thing is that compiler is not coming up with any errors.:D Then agian that could mean that the program is written correctly but might do nothing that its supposed to do.:eek: :(

Pred
27 Aug 2003, 02:57
I was pulling my hair out before but I think I got the hang of it. I am about 70% done and the most pleasing thing is that compiler is not coming up with any errors.:D Then agian that could mean that the program is written correctly but might do nothing that its supposed to do.:eek: :( I've written a few of those suckers. Worked in IT for about 7 years. Never knew you and Dave were computer geeks :D

Kid Dynamite!
27 Aug 2003, 10:49
_espoir wont be converting. You're living in a fairyland if you think she will be.

Stiffy_18
27 Aug 2003, 12:22
Originally posted by Pred
I've written a few of those suckers. Worked in IT for about 7 years. Never knew you and Dave were computer geeks :D Not really a comp geek but I am always up for a good challenge.:D

Stiffy_18
28 Aug 2003, 21:51
OK Stiffy is fired up again and was feeling a bit more confident before he go to see the line ups. Why in hell is Bassett overlooked once again.:confused: I am still not convinced that Edwards will play so here is how I think they will line up.

HF: ..... Ladhams ..... Carey ..... McLeod
C: ..... Stenglein ..... Ricciuto ..... Burton
HB: ..... Massie ..... McGregor ..... Goodwin
B: ..... Smart ..... Stevens ..... Torney
FOLL: ..... Clarke ..... Bickley ..... Shirley
I/C: ..... Biglands ..... Burns ..... Reilly ..... Bode

IN: Reilly
OUT: Begley

Key Match Ups

Tyson Stenglein Vs Nick Stevens
Stevens is probably Port's most damaging midfielder and as a result will warrant our best tagger. Stenglein has played on him in the past and has done a very good job. I would be very surprised if he didn't get a first crack at Stevens

Robert Shirley Vs Roger James
James is one of the most underrated players in the AFL and always seems to play well against us. There is still some doubt as to whether or not he will play this week. I fhe does don't be surprised if Shirley get this job. Come to think of it Shirley might be given a job of negating Peter Burgoyne who is another one that has a tendency to play a blinder against us.

Ken McGregor Vs Warren Tredrea
I am still not sold on this match up. I think there is no player in the AFL that can succesfully negate Tredrea. He is a super player and McGregor will have to play the game of his life to break even with Tredders. Smart has stood Tredrea before but I think that Nigel will be needed for Shaun Burgoyne. If Stevens get the job on Tredrea then the match commitee is flirting with danger.

Jason Torney Vs Byron Pickett
Choppy has been in superb form lately. I reckon Torney is a good match up. Both are physical types and this could really turn out to be match up of the game. Expect some tough stuff here.

Simon Goodwin Vs Stuart Dew
I am still not convinced that Goody is ready enough to play onball and half back looks like a logical spot for him now. Dew is a danger especially with those long bombs. Goody is the man for this assignment.

any others??????

macca23
28 Aug 2003, 22:45

HF: ..... Ladhams ..... Carey ..... McLeod
C: ..... Stenglein ..... Ricciuto ..... Burton
HB: ..... Massie ..... McGregor ..... Goodwin
B: ..... Smart ..... Stevens ..... Torney
FOLL: ..... Clarke ..... Bickley ..... Shirley
I/C: ..... Biglands ..... Burns ..... Reilly ..... Bode

Key Match Ups

I am still not sold on this match up. I think there is no player in the AFL that can succesfully negate Tredrea. He is a super player and McGregor will have to play the game of his life to break even with Tredders. Smart has stood Tredrea before but I think that Nigel will be needed for Shaun Burgoyne. If Stevens get the job on Tredrea then the match commitee is flirting with danger.

Gee that defence looks flimsy without Hart, Edwards and Bassett. If we play Stevens at FB I can see Chocko putting in a small forward line to create a mismatch.

The way Nige was talking, he seemed to be thinking that he'd be playing on Chad Cornes, so you will probably be right with the match-up of McGregor on Tredrea - a big test, but I think he can restrict Tredrea to a reasonable game (you can never chop him out altogether)

The key to us winning has to be a dominant mid-field - which hasn't been the case for a few weeks now. They have to all lift not just leave it to Roo.

Stiffy_18
28 Aug 2003, 22:51
Am I the only one that thinks that Chad Cornes will not play??????:confused: :eek:

Stiffy_18
28 Aug 2003, 22:53
If we play Stevens at FB I can see Chocko putting in a small forward line to create a mismatch. Then we just throw Stevo into the forward line to create a mismatch, if its not a wet day.;)

lozstar
28 Aug 2003, 22:53
Am I the only one that thinks that Chad Cornes will not play??????:confused: :eek: I don't think he will. He didn't look right last week.

Kane McGoodwin
28 Aug 2003, 23:06

[/FONT]

Key Match Ups

Tyson Stenglein Vs Nick Stevens

Robert Shirley Vs Roger James

Smart has stood Tredrea before but I think that Nigel will be needed for Shaun Burgoyne. If Stevens get the job on Tredrea then the match commitee is flirting with danger.

Jason Torney Vs Byron Pickett

Simon Goodwin Vs Stuart Dew

any others??????
Hey Stiffy I agree with most of what you say after pinching my matchups from the other thread. ;) Only difference was that I had Goodwin playing on S Burgoyne, as we need someone who can play tall on JnrB. I would save Smart (given Hart/Bassett aren't playing) to play on the Tall/medium changes that Choco will do with Lade/Dew, etc

I really hope Reilly plays, but doubt the selectors will pick him.

Kane McGoodwin
28 Aug 2003, 23:08
Am I the only one that thinks that Chad Cornes will not play??????:confused: :eek:
I hope he doesn't as neither Stevo or Smart will be quick enough & neither Hound/Benny are playing. If Chad does play I would play Massie on him.

DaveW
28 Aug 2003, 23:09
I hope he doesn't as neither Stevo or Smart will be quick enough & neither Hound/Benny are playing. If Chad does play I would play Massie on him. Surely Smart is quicker than Massie??

Kane McGoodwin
28 Aug 2003, 23:19
Surely Smart is quicker than Massie??
Smart was led a merry dance by Chad in the last showdown, so we need to try someone different. Unfortunately, Bassett is the best matchup. :(