View Full Version : Our board's showdown side

Pages : [1] 2

Leigh Roy
26 Aug 2003, 00:16
Who'd be in your AFC board line-up and in what positions using members from here?

I've put this on the Port board too so they can make up one themselves.

You can post your own line-up of course - and if there's enough posts maybe collaborate and get together a definitive squad, this is an afterthought I've just put in now.

You have until Sundee.

Stiffy_18
26 Aug 2003, 00:20
This bloke will command a spot at CHF;) :p
http://afc.com.au/cp2/c2/webi/article/115407bt.jpg

DaveW
26 Aug 2003, 00:30
maccas_no1 is a no-brainer for the ruckman spot

napsyd is pretty tall as well, he could probably play CHF

I've heard only bad things about Jars458's fitness, he might need to be played off the bench or kept close to goal

Leigh Roy
26 Aug 2003, 00:37
Using Dave's picks so far, maybe do it like this:

B: blank; blank; blank
HB: blank; blank; blank
C: blank; blank; blank
HF: blank; napsyd; blank
F: blank; blank; blank
R: maccas_no1; blank; blank

INT (from): Jars458; blank; blank; blank; blank; blank blankety blank blank

dyertribe
26 Aug 2003, 00:37
I'm 6'1 1/2" and 76kgs...

I can't play football though - could be a problem.

I reckon if I could I wouldn't look out of place at Hawthorn with my tacky blonde rinse though ;)

Leigh Roy
26 Aug 2003, 00:40
Originally posted by dyertribe

Look here - http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?daysprune=&forumid=28

Hardly a problem.

ant
26 Aug 2003, 00:42
Originally posted by dyertribe

You'd fit right in at the Crows atm.....heck, we could probably use you.

Stiffy_18
26 Aug 2003, 01:03
6ft 86 kg.

Could play across half forward with VERY occasional run on the ball.:p

Can we recruit Sultan as our ruckman or a FF. He would be good at 7'11 and 155kg.:eek:

beckybiglands
26 Aug 2003, 01:20
im no use.... twisted ankle and 18 stiches in my wrist...

ant
26 Aug 2003, 01:29
Originally posted by beckybiglands
im no use.... twisted ankle and 18 stiches in my wrist...

I know I was depressed by the loss Sunday and the end of our realistic shot at a flag, but slitting your wrists was taking it too far Becky.

Football is just a game after all (despite protestations to the contrary) and you should try to remember that. And don't forget, there's always next year :)

PainKiller
26 Aug 2003, 01:34
Well if you need a tagger, I'm happy to assist. My fondest school footy memory was having a guy try to punch me coz I refused to stand more than a foot away from him - even when he ran across to the other wing, 90 metres away from the ball. He didnt get a touch all day. Neither did I, but that's not the point :D Come to think of it, the Crows could have used me last Saturday! :p

napsyd
26 Aug 2003, 09:58
Originally posted by DaveW
maccas_no1 is a no-brainer for the ruckman spot

napsyd is pretty tall as well, he could probably play CHF

I've heard only bad things about Jars458's fitness, he might need to be played off the bench or kept close to goal

:eek: OK, I'll go off and put on 20kg of muscle by the weekend then! Oh, and learn to kick accurately further than 30m.

BTW selectors, I reckon DaveW might just have the Roos number. ;)

macca23
26 Aug 2003, 10:10
Forward pocket for me - goals guaranteed!!;)

PS Not that I'm greedy but they say I used to make Richmond's "hungry" Bartlett look like a team player. :D

Leaping Lindner
26 Aug 2003, 10:28
A passionate love affair with Mr Dunhill for the past 25 years makes fitness an issue for me. However I'll line up on Dreamkillers if you like. That way whenever the ball isn't down our end we can chat about music!:D

beckybiglands
26 Aug 2003, 11:47
Originally posted by ant
I know I was depressed by the loss Sunday and the end of our realistic shot at a flag, but slitting your wrists was taking it too far Becky.

suicide... er, i wish... i had dr liptak and friends stick some pins, screws, and all that fun stuff....

only 4 weeks till the cast is off! with a week of full on physio i'll be alright for the Grand Final ;)

noddy
26 Aug 2003, 11:55
5' 11" 85 k of hard muscle who still thinks & acts like a 20 yr old & can go like the "wind" when prodded,

so put me on the ball & just eat my dust. :cool:

sapaul
26 Aug 2003, 12:21
6'1" 98kgish, 32 year old hasbeen, I'll take 1 spot on the bench or if struggling for numbers, wack me in a back pocket.;)

Jars458
26 Aug 2003, 12:33

Spot on - I will be non playing coach. I am good at telling people what to do.

lozstar
26 Aug 2003, 12:35
Originally posted by beckybiglands
suicide... er, i wish... i had dr liptak and friends stick some pins, screws, and all that fun stuff....

only 4 weeks till the cast is off! with a week of full on physio i'll be alright for the Grand Final ;)
that's the best thing about getting hurt, going to see dr liptak :)

lozstar
26 Aug 2003, 13:27
Cant play football to save my life, but whenever I've played a sport it's always been in defence, so chuck me there! :)

Kane McGoodwin
26 Aug 2003, 13:54
Give me a guernsey on a wing, though I'm not going to take any orders from Jars & will probably spray the ball everywhere in the traditions of Tregenza & Connell. :eek:

maccas_no1
26 Aug 2003, 14:37
Yeah I will take the ruck or CHF at 6ft 5ins tall and 94 kgs should do okay:D ;) :D

Dont ask Blues_girl or Lozsatr about my kicking though:eek:

lozstar
26 Aug 2003, 15:09
Originally posted by maccas_no1
Dont ask Blues_girl or Lozsatr about my kicking though:eek: you're worst than i am, and thats saying something :D :p

maccas_no1
26 Aug 2003, 15:11
That is a bit of an exageration Loz:rolleyes: ;)

lozstar
26 Aug 2003, 15:14
That is a bit of an exageration Loz:rolleyes: ;) haha yes true :p

maccas_no1
26 Aug 2003, 15:21
Me and Kane will be spraying the ball everywhere,maybe we could spray the ball to each other:rolleyes:

Blues_Girl
26 Aug 2003, 20:08
That is a bit of an exageration Loz:rolleyes: ;)

No I do beleive she was spot on!

Blues_Girl
26 Aug 2003, 20:09
I wanna play full back, so I can bug the **** out of the forwards.

DaveW
26 Aug 2003, 20:33
Originally posted by Blues_Girl
I wanna play full back, so I can bug the **** out of the forwards. Fill us in on your tactics. :p

maccas_no1
26 Aug 2003, 20:51
Standing next the Blues_girl is enough to annoy the **** out of anyone:eek: :eek: :D :D

Love Ya Anne;)

maccas_no1
26 Aug 2003, 20:53
My Kicking was spot thanks Blues_girl:D :D :D

Blues_Girl
26 Aug 2003, 21:21
Fill us in on your tactics. :p

Nope....us full backs have to keep our secrets!

Blues_Girl
26 Aug 2003, 21:21
Standing next the Blues_girl is enough to annoy the **** out of anyone:eek: :eek: :D :D

Love Ya Anne;)

Your lucky i'm not going this weekend boy...or else!

Kidding!

We love ya too Marty!

Blues_Girl
26 Aug 2003, 21:22
My Kicking was spot thanks Blues_girl:D :D :D

If your blind! :D

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
26 Aug 2003, 21:29
oohh can I play too? :D

I kind of view myself as an Andrew McLeod type! :D lol - I want to rotate from the half forward line through the centre. lol :D So put me down for crumbing at Marty's feet!

k
xx

GoalsFrom50Out
26 Aug 2003, 21:53
I'm 6'0/75kg at age 16. When I played, I played at Half Back :)

ches_a_legend
26 Aug 2003, 23:11
he he ur so not gonna win have u seen our port side god were good!
lmao 1/2 of us prob cant kick but still its ours we have other tactics planned ;)
so u betta watch out!
ill b the short 5ft blonde at hf ha ha so we dont have a hope in hell!

Jerome
26 Aug 2003, 23:23
Back Pocket. Not a good kick though.

Leigh Roy
26 Aug 2003, 23:34
Jars, if you're the coach that means you're the selection committee.

Chop chop!

Stiffy_18
27 Aug 2003, 00:47
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
6ft 86 kg.

Could play across half forward with VERY occasional run on the ball.:p

Can we recruit Sultan as our ruckman or a FF. He would be good at 7'11 and 155kg.:eek: OK I changed my mind. I am lining up on the wing against _espoir.:D She might be fitter but I am a very good tackler:p

PainKiller
27 Aug 2003, 01:37
She might be fiter but I am a very good tackler

I'm sure she'll be most impressed by your tackle :p

DaveW
27 Aug 2003, 01:39
Originally posted by PainKiller
I'm sure she'll be most impressed by your tackle :p Well his username isn't Stiffy just because his favourite player is Johncock. ;)

noddy
27 Aug 2003, 10:27
I'm sure she'll be most impressed by your tackle :p

Classic, :D

noddy
27 Aug 2003, 10:29
Well his username isn't Stiffy just because his favourite player is Johncock. ;)

A double classic, :D :D

Stiffy_18
27 Aug 2003, 12:24
Bugger off boys.!!!!!!:p

Jars458
27 Aug 2003, 12:29
Originally posted by Leigh
Jars, if you're the coach that means you're the selection committee.

Chop chop!

Team will be named tomorrow night with full explanations for positioning.

Ok Crows can be our football opeations Manager. The King of Political Spin.

Kane McGoodwin
27 Aug 2003, 14:26
Originally posted by Jars458
Ok Crows can be our football opeations Manager. The King of Political Spin.
Jars, I would prefer OKcrows as the only umpire. There would be no chance of us losing then! :D

Leigh Roy
27 Aug 2003, 16:52
This is the story so far, and of course the line-ups and therefore who you'd stand aren't set in stone.

US:

B: lozstar; Blues_Girl; Jerome
HB: ????; GoalsFrom50Out; sapaul
C: Stiffy_18; MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl; ????
HF: ????; napsyd; Kane McGoodwin
F: Leaping Lindner; Leigh; macca23

R: maccas_no1; noddy; PainKiller

INT (from): Jars458; blank; blank; blank; blank; blank blankety blank blank

THEM:

B: dreamkillers, Pred, ThePowerFromPort
HB: Porthos, kaysee, Andre
C: _espoir, Macca19, koulagirl22
HF: ches_a_legend, Tredders#16, sog35
F: Eago77, Asgardian, Beffery
R: Guey_34, Kid Dynamite!, Scott
Int: rubberman, Grave Danger, Zombie, ????

Coach: mic59
Captain: Macca19
Vice Captains: Eago77, Porthos, Kid Dynamite!
Dietician: footballphantom
Medic: gbear
Cheersquad: koulagirl22

Double-checking at the minute if every's sure they're okay with the roles they've put up their hands for yet - if Coach Jars says tomorrow night's the end of it you'd better get in soon.

EDIT: Ohhhhhhh I'll have the full forward position thanks very much!

Jars458
27 Aug 2003, 16:57
Leigh - stick to playing son. I will pick the side.

Some get their preferences others don't. I have drafted some people in as we need to win this one.

Here is a first draft of the team. Comments welcome, I will of course provide explanations when the side is offically revealed on Thursday at 6pm CST.

F: Napysd Dave W Macca23

HF: MarksGirl- kbcrowgirl Leaping Linder Goalsfrom50Out

C: Stiffy KaneMcGoodwin Jerome

HB: Leigh Dyertribe GoSouth

FB: Blues_Girl Ok Crows Lozstar

R: Maccas No 1 Noddy Ant

Interchange from SaPaul TopJars Djarman IceMan21 QT Dezmo Marvin Crow54 Crowboi

Coach – Jars458

DaveW
27 Aug 2003, 16:58
I'll take the vacant spot on the half forward flank.

I certainly don't have the fitness to play on the wing. And I can't be bothered with the accountability required of a half back flanker.

edit: Now I see Jars has put a team up and I'm at FF! Sweet... I get to be the glory hog :D

DaveW
27 Aug 2003, 17:00

HF: Goalsfrom50Out
How appropriate :)

Leigh Roy
27 Aug 2003, 17:02
Leigh - stick to playing son. I will pick the side.

Some get their preferences others don't. I have drafted some people in as we need to win this one.

Here is a first draft of the team. Comments welcome, I will of course provide explanations when the side is offically revealed on Thursday at 6pm CST.

Coach – Jars458

I said I wasn't picking it, just putting names to places so far as our coach hadn't done it yet......

I am getting them to come to this thread on this board to post in here and so you can do the same, might want to see when they want to officially declare their side too.

Kid Dynamite! wants this to be a showdown-ly affair, how about it?

I have one other idea up my sleeve for both line-ups too but I'll keep it under my hat for now.

footballphantom
27 Aug 2003, 17:08
Thanks for the invite to post here as well Leigh, I was leaving this one for the Crows BUT I do not think that we need two lots for the food. After 40 years I know the quantities in my sleep.

The only thing is when us ladies get behind the tea table we always give the men hell and have a good laugh.

Oh yeah I have been known to doctor the tea (naughty me)

Leigh Roy
27 Aug 2003, 17:12
Hey it's up to whoever wants to be the dietician, not me!

Jars458
27 Aug 2003, 17:15
How appropriate :)

Just was I was thinking!!:)

Jars458
27 Aug 2003, 17:21
I have asked the Fantasy Footy League Moderatros to see whether they could put our line ups into their program and come up wiht an actual simulated game for us.

Will let you know if we can do so.

Leigh Roy
27 Aug 2003, 17:23
What the devil is that?

Jars458
27 Aug 2003, 17:39
Originally posted by Leigh
What the devil is that?

They have a comp where teams are made up of Bigfooty users

Tehy plug them into a program and it produces a play by play description of a game using the usernames in each teams

There is an on-going league. I am in the team calld the Razors

Go and check out the Fantasy Footy League board for a look

It will all depend whether any of the Mods have the time or inclination to do it for us

You also get stats for every player, time spent on the ground etc etc.

ant
27 Aug 2003, 17:51

You truly are the supercoach.

How did you know that's where I play every week (interchanging in the forward pocket/half forward)?

Jars458
27 Aug 2003, 17:57
Originally posted by ant
You truly are the supercoach.

How did you know that's where I play every week (interchanging in the forward pocket/half forward)?

I have vast experience in coaching, all be it in soccer.

As they say, those that can't play, - coach.

Plus I am a great judge of character.:) ;)

ant
27 Aug 2003, 18:15
I can see a bit of Bill Shankley in you Jars ;)

Leigh Roy
27 Aug 2003, 18:31
They have a comp where teams are made up of Bigfooty users

Tehy plug them into a program and it produces a play by play description of a game using the usernames in each teams

There is an on-going league. I am in the team calld the Razors

Go and check out the Fantasy Footy League board for a look

It will all depend whether any of the Mods have the time or inclination to do it for us

You also get stats for every player, time spent on the ground etc etc.

Damn, I was just going to start a thread on the AFL board over the weekend and leave the 40-odd Adelaide/Port supporters to 'play a match'. Would have been a laugh.

This sounds good though, very technical as well.

Jars458
27 Aug 2003, 18:37
Originally posted by ant
I can see a bit of Bill Shankley in you Jars ;)

Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, I am very disappointed with that attitude. I can assure you it is much, much more important than that."

"If Everton were playing at the bottom of the garden, I'd pull the curtains."

"The trouble with referees is that they know the rules, but they don't know the game."

_espoir
27 Aug 2003, 19:17
OK I chnged my mind. I am lining up on the wing against _espoir.:D She might be fitter but I am a very good tackler:p

?! you think you can take me? ;) we'll see! and leave everything in the shorts thanks :P

Bresh
27 Aug 2003, 19:22
Maccas No. 1: you will be number 2 on Sunday, my friend...

Blues_Girl
27 Aug 2003, 19:32
I wanna wear number 17!

PainKiller
27 Aug 2003, 19:34

Coach – Jars458

Damn, still on the rookie list. Maybe I should change my name to Aidan Parker, so various forum members will scream for my inclusion :p

Blues_Girl
27 Aug 2003, 19:38
Damn, still on the rookie list. Maybe I should change my name to Aidan Parker, so various forum members will scream for my inclusion :p

If you were Aidan i'd do more than scream for your inclusion! ;)

lozstar
27 Aug 2003, 19:42
can i wear #36? :)

PainKiller
27 Aug 2003, 20:02
If you were Aidan i'd do more than scream for your inclusion! ;)

Interesting ;):p

Blues_Girl
27 Aug 2003, 20:25
Interesting ;):p

If only you knew how interesting :p

GoalsFrom50Out
27 Aug 2003, 20:52
< #14, :)

Blues_Girl
27 Aug 2003, 21:00
Originally posted by lozstar
can i wear #36? :)

Yes yes you can :)

Stiffy_18
27 Aug 2003, 21:02
Originally posted by _espoir
?! you think you can take me? ;) we'll see! and leave everything in the shorts thanks :P Yeah I reckon I could take you on. ;) Now now, I can't keep my mouthguard in my shorts can I??????:p I know that you lot like to hassle behind the play.:p

lozstar
27 Aug 2003, 21:08
Yes yes you can :) yay! :)

Stiffy_18
27 Aug 2003, 21:09

Coach – Jars458

I usually wear #9 but #18 is fine by me. It does add up to 9 after all.

OK here is how it goes.

Umpire bounces the ball to start the first quarter. The ruckman go at it, maccas_no1 wins the tap, Kane McGoodwin reads off the hands superbly and handpasses out to Stiffy_18. Stiffy_18 breaks the tackle, takes one bounce and kicks it long to FF. DaveW makes a contest, macca23 does the crumbing beautifully and snaps over his left shoulder for the first goal of the game.

Adelaide moves to 1 straight goal 6, Post Adelaide yet to score.:D

PainKiller
27 Aug 2003, 21:19
If only you knew how interesting :p

I'm sure Mr. Parker could fill me in :D

Blues_Girl
27 Aug 2003, 21:24

;) :D

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
27 Aug 2003, 21:37

LOL - I was there 2! - but he needed my help dressing himself!!! LOL. After sitting on his lap, I am sure he could fill us all in!!! :P

I am wearing 19 :D I am going to go clean my white boots for the occassion! Is this an away game for us? Do I need to bring the white shorts?

k
xx

Kane McGoodwin
27 Aug 2003, 22:23
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
can i wear #36?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yes yes you can :)

Hmmm, so what number am I meant to wear, given Macca23 gets 23? If sugar was still at AFC it wouldn't be a problem, but I have no alligience to Begley!

GoalsFrom50Out
27 Aug 2003, 22:26
You can wear 82, 32 or 63 if you like :P

DaveW
27 Aug 2003, 22:30
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
quote:
can i wear #36?

Hmmm, so what number am I meant to wear, given Macca23 gets 23? If sugar was still at AFC it wouldn't be a problem, but I have no alligience to Begley!
Why not 16? K McG's number :)

Kane McGoodwin
27 Aug 2003, 22:37
Why not 16? K McG's number :)
Dave you know I'm built like a midfielder & not a KPP! ;)

noddy
27 Aug 2003, 22:37
Could i please have no 32 or if that's not available no 26,

It"s probably odds on that i will be sent off or at least reported so i apoligize in advance,

lozstar
27 Aug 2003, 22:38
quote:
can i wear #36?

you can have #36! i'll take #2 instead :)

Blues_Girl
27 Aug 2003, 22:42
quote:
can i wear #36?

Oh shut up and take number 28!

A number of girls on here find number 28 attractive ;) :p

Kane McGoodwin
27 Aug 2003, 22:44
Oh shut up and take number 28!

A number of girls on here find number 28 attractive ;) :p
Well you take no. 28 then! :p

Go South
27 Aug 2003, 22:47
I'm #11 of course.

Blues_Girl
27 Aug 2003, 22:50
Originally posted by Go South
I'm #11 of course.

Of course!! :D

Blues_Girl
27 Aug 2003, 22:51
Well you take no. 28 then! :p

Eeeerm let me think....no! :p

mic59
27 Aug 2003, 22:55
Originally posted by noddy
Could i please have no 32 or if that's not available no 26,

It"s probably odds on that i will be sent off or at least reported so i apoligize in advance,

OK, no 32 or 26, crappy spelling and punctuation, that's 3 weeks for you.

:D :D

Jerome
27 Aug 2003, 22:57
I'll take # 34.

Macca19
27 Aug 2003, 22:58
As Ports captain for this match i just thought id come here and say:

DOWN DOWN DOWN.....CROWS BOARDS GOING DOWN

:D

Blues_Girl
27 Aug 2003, 22:59
Originally posted by Macca19
As Ports captain for this match i just thought id come here and say:

:D

Shut up, ya mouthy little bitch!

Kid Dynamite!
27 Aug 2003, 23:09
Shut up, ya mouthy little bitch!

Nah, you've got it all wrong. I'm the female version of Josh Carr, the one who gets in a punch up with your captain outside the Ramsgate? Remember? ;)

Blues_Girl
27 Aug 2003, 23:16
Originally posted by Kid Dynamite!
Nah, you've got it all wrong. I'm the female version of Josh Carr, the one who gets in a punch up with your captain outside the Ramsgate? Remember? ;)

Which leads me to the question.....who is our captain?! :confused:

lozstar
27 Aug 2003, 23:23
Which leads me to the question.....who is our captain?! :confused: i vote for you!
lead us out there to do some damage ;)

Blues_Girl
27 Aug 2003, 23:25
i vote for you!
lead us out there to do some damage ;)

Ahhhh leading into what I do best :)

GoalsFrom50Out
27 Aug 2003, 23:29
DaveW should~!

macca23
28 Aug 2003, 01:00
With Dave W at FF being a real handful for Pred I should be good to crumb at least 5 big ones for the game from the pocket.

Might have to take the odd burst on the wing if _espoir is too much for Stiffy to handle!! ;)