View Full Version : My last Fitzroy Memory
Firstly enjoy your board Fitzroy supporters. My last memory of Fitzroy was when I attended Fitzroy's last game in Melbourne at the MCG. It was one of the most one sided games I have seen but I have never been to such an emotional day. From when they ran out on to the ground till when they did the lap of honour at the end. I had tears in my eyes by the end and I barrack for Melbourne! I would be interested to hear your memories of that day.
I was standing in the sports department of Myer Melbourne watching the final moments on TV. It was a Sunday afternoon. The game was against Freo Dockers.
The siren went, Drew Morphett yelled "Goodbye Fitzroy" and I collapsed to the floor. My feet went from under me.
My mate who was a Richmond supporter was standing beside me and he laughed as I lay on the ground motionless. I think he thought I did it on purpose, but I didn't..it just happened.
Then I got up and I saw some guy with a Fitzroy flag running a lap of the ground. I will never forget that day. I felt a piece of me was missing, that the AFL had taken away something that belonged to me...I still do to an extent.
Anyway, ghost is meant to be on a long holiday, I'm outta here.
The last game against Freo. I just sat there, in all my gear, in front of the TV, I cheered my head off for them for most of the game, then as I realised it was coming to an end, that it really was the last few minutes of our team, I spent a few quiet minutes silently praying for that game to keep going, just for a little while longer. I was amazingly proud that we outscored them in the last quarter, one last act of defiance. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif I was in tears well before the final siren. Very emotional day.
The week before was probably more emotional, being at the MCG for the Roys last game in Melbourne. I dreaded that game, the whole morning I had spent trying to convince myself it was better not to go. But it didn't work, I just had to be there. I went alone - usually I could rely on folks to come along to the games, but not for that game. I understand why I guess, besides, I don't think anyone could have fully shared that moment with me. I had a few laughs, but it was mostly tears, and LOTS of them. (First time I ever went to the footy with a box of Kleenex, LOL) I have never watched that game again, I would like to, but haven't really wanted to yet.
------------------
*the one and only lioness*
I know I haven't finished that post yet, got as far as I could before I got all down. Never fear, I'll go back and finish it later. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
------------------
*the one and only lioness*
Roys last game ever against freo at Subi. I was sitting behind the goals wearing a Lions scarf I had just bought.
Went to the wake after at the Brissie hotel, there were hundreds there & not a dry eye in the house. Not being a Roys supporter I didn't expect to be that upset, but I kept crying everytime some one talked to me.
I never want any supporter to have to go through what the Fitroy people went through that day.
------------------
mantis
Fat Pizza
10 Mar 2001, 11:37
The Richmond game was a shocker.
I went to the Freo game as well & it was a much better send-off. I think Ron Alexander might have had some influence there. Even the black bombers were decent blokes.
I saw some friends straight after the game & went up to say hello, but none of us could speak. It was an incredibly emotional time.
Then I walked over to Ian McCulloch's pub, ironically named the Brisbane Hotel. By the time I got there, the place was packed & Kevin Murray MBE was reliving his 1969 Brownlow speech. It was a really good night, like a wake should be. We celebrated the culmination of 113 years of Fitzroy.
OldLion
10 Mar 2001, 13:15
FP,
If Kev was repeating his 69 Brownlow speech, it's a miracle that you were able to leave the joint before Y2K. What a rave - talk about free association.
My mum was particularly taken by Kev's saluatory tale concerning teenage tatooing. "See", she said, " don't EVER let that happen to you. You'll never get on." I must say that , until that time , I hadn't thought of 'getting ink done' ( hip ! ), but if it meant getting a Brownlow, it was worth considering. I think he also discussed dental surgery and traversed the whole oral hygiene catastrophe ( amongst othert things), with Mum nodding vigorously. I wonder if the full text of that speech exists - it put Johnny Platten's to shame !
I can still see The Mighty Lion seated in the school bus with what could only be described as a 'square' haircut ( kind of pre sharpie look ), singing along with Tuddy, the Little Chimp and Capt'n Blood - "... Oh what a lovely pie, me lads.. ". Hasn't endorsement come a long way - well, there was that Hardware ad. last year with dorky blue jumpers , so maybe not.
We watched the last match against Freo.
We all had a little cry. We were Bears supporters. It was very sad.
I thought what Fremantle did that day was absolutely terrific. Thats why they are now our second team. They were very sensitive.
I would hate for any supporter to go through what all Roys and Bears went through in 1996.
Mobbenfuhrer
11 Mar 2001, 15:06
I agree that Fitzroy were very well looked after by Freo on that day.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Fat Pizza
14 Mar 2001, 10:35
Kevin Murray tells the tale of being winded, while playing one of his 1st matches for East Perth & losing his chewy in the mud. Syd Jackson took the chewy from his own mouth, broke it in 2 & gave half to Murray. Murray accepted the chewy & reckons this helped him be accepted into his new club.
Kevin was obviously a sensational footballer, but I wouldn't ask him for advce on oral hygiene.
Fat Pizza
14 Mar 2001, 10:43
Kevin Murray tells the tale of being winded, while playing one of his 1st matches for East Perth & losing his chewy in the mud. Syd Jackson took the chewy from his own mouth, broke it in 2 & gave half to Murray. Murray accepted the chewy & reckons this helped him be accepted into his new club.
Kevin was obviously a sensational footballer, but I wouldn't ask him for advce on oral hygiene.
My recollections of the last game are very vague but, having a beer with Duckworth and McCulloch the day before at Ians pub and running through history, was up there.
Watching the final parts of the game through tear drenched eyes, next to the ledgendary Jeannie Chaundy, plus others.
Down to the Brisbane and getting every player to sign my Fitzroy jumper (Peter Satori's) inc Alan Mc Connell (sic), who was brilliant in coping with adversity at Fitzroy.
And to make it better I got Zanotts last jumper and autographed,but s**t the WA beer is crap at the footy Swan Gold never again.
i was at the fateful last game v fremantle at the subi oval. ensconced behind the goal in the terraces at the city end, we managed to land a few verbal blows despite the score. i was pleased with the quality of the banter, but even more pleasing was the blank stares of the freo supporters when confronted with sledges such as the one directed at andrew wills - "willsy, you've really gone downhill since your starring role playing the banjo in 'deliverance' ". now anyone worth their salt remembers the dodgy looking 12 year old country kid sitting on the porch playing "duelling banjos", apparently not in perth.....what a waste.
anyone who has the video of the last roys game, see if you can pick up our melodic rendition of "ross oakley takes it up the arse doo dah doo dah" as some moose of an opera singer sings in a token afl gesture after the game.
Mobbenfuhrer
9 Jun 2001, 08:33
I was at the Fitzroy Club Hotel for the last match, and was close to the action in the public bar when for Auld Lang Syne was sung. Was anyone else witness to the liverpool kiss discussion of the appropriateness of that song?
Originally posted by Fat Pizza
Do you know the story of how he got the name "Bulldog"?:p
Captain Sensible
11 Jun 2001, 13:01
8-ace I love it are you named after that guy in Viz? (Let me in-I want to see my bairns) What a funny character.
Didn't Freo refuse a request to swap the games though? I mean to have the last round game in melbourne and the mid-year game in Peerth so that the Fitzroy people could say good-bye to their footy team?
Fat Pizza
11 Jun 2001, 18:47
Originally posted by killer
Do you know the story of how he got the name "Bulldog"?:p
No, how did he get the name "Bulldog"?
Fat Pizza
11 Jun 2001, 18:52
Originally posted by localyokel
Didn't Freo refuse a request to swap the games though? I mean to have the last round game in melbourne and the mid-year game in Peerth so that the Fitzroy people could say good-bye to their footy team?
No, when Fitzroy played (& defeated) Freo in May, it hadn't been confirmed that 1996 would be Fitzroy's last year in the AFL.
Originally posted by Fat Pizza
No, how did he get the name "Bulldog"?
From "Mongrels I have Met" by Mal Brown 1995:
"Guess how he got his tag of Bulldog?
Back in his pre sophistication days
and before he became a gentleman
and an icon He had a great trick at
all-male smoke nights.
He woulds get on the stage naked
with a full frontal view and say 'man'.
He would then spin around tucking
away some relevant parts and turn
back and say 'woman'. Finally,he
would turn around and bend over
and growl- 'Bulldog'......"
:eek: :eek: :eek:
Fat Pizza
12 Jun 2001, 22:04
:eek:
What a class act!
He should get a part in Puppetry of the Penis.
:D
i believe you are correct - there was a request to move the last game to melbourne (it may have been halfway through the year once it had become clear that the roys were to be shafted by year end) and freo refused to move it cos it might have upset their bid to leap from 13th to 14th place on the ladder and hence they were understandably reluctant to give up home ground advantage for this crucial game from their perspective.
8 ace
wot's that smell?
it's nowt luv, j-juss a bit of spew.....
that's not spew yer lyin bastod, it's creosote! yer've been sleepin' in anotheh wummin's shed!
Hilly72
18 Aug 2003, 15:22
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
I was at the Fitzroy Club Hotel for the last match, and was close to the action in the public bar when for Auld Lang Syne was sung. Was anyone else witness to the liverpool kiss discussion of the appropriateness of that song?
Yes, the Liverpool kiss, I was in the middle of that, a mate of mine (who follows Geelong) had a dig at the guys ragging the Roys, the guy came over, I was sitting and was holding the guys away from my mate, then came the Headbutt... The guy was a fool, gving the Roys a hard time in our last game...
Mobbenfuhrer
18 Aug 2003, 15:34
Yeah there was a woman in our group so I sort of positioned myself between the goings on and her, which was I suppose my good deed for the arvo. He was a fool.
adey115
18 Aug 2003, 16:05
i thought freo thought it was a good idea to transfer as well but the AFL denied it due to scheduling issues. Freo weren't going to lose a lot of money or cred by moving it hence they thought it was ok to play it here, but Oakley and co said no.
And while I've got your attention:
Round 21 vs Richmond - took my Mum to the game. Her first Roys match since we used to go weekly in the 80s with the whole family when I was a kid. I'm a bloke, but I'll admit I cried all afternoon. I couldn't sing the song - I couldn't do it. Couldn't get it out. There was an old bloke in his 70s sitting in front of me who was in full Roys gear with a flag, waving and singing, tears streaming down his cheeks. All I could think was this poor old bugger had probably been watching the Roys since the 1930s, probably down at Brunnie St watching the likes of Bunton through Ruthven through Murray, probably then through the years at the Junction and Wilson and Roos, then through the nomadic years.... he'd seen this beautiful part of his life that he'd known since he was a kid taken away from him basically due to money (not enough of it). Seeing it all end in front of him an old man. That made it worse. I'd been thorugh thick and thin for 24 yrs at that stage and it was tough, but imagine seeing it taken away after 70 years. It was gut wrenching. There was humour there as well though. Being 25 goals down and then finally kicking a goal, with Roys supporters yelling "percentage Lions!". But mostly there was gut wrenching pain.
Round 22 vs Freo - watched it at home, cos couldn't face the pain of watching it in front of other people or making the trek across the country to see something die - the same decision that people make when some one near and dear to them is dying a horrible death due to illness - do you go and see them in hospital, or choose to remember them when they were in their prime? I sat at home and watched it on TV. The pain on the faces of the players at the end - a mixture of pain and relief. They may have been 'ordinary' compared to other team's players but gee they represented the jumper well that day. And that feeling when the final siren sounded. You wanted that last quarter to go on forever, but you also almost wanted it to be over as well. I sobbed relentlessly at the end. I remember distinctly that an ex girlfriend rang me 5 minutes after the game. She knew how important the Roys were and wanted to know I was alright! An ex! Nice girl though, no animosity, but thought it was funny that an ex watching the game and watching the Roys last hurrah felt strongly enough to ring the only Roy fan she knew. Couldn't speak to her though. Couldn't speak at all.
By the way. Is this an old post thats been moved to the top, or a newie??
Mobbenfuhrer
18 Aug 2003, 16:09
Originally posted by adey115
By the way. Is this an old post thats been moved to the top, or a newie??
Old post moved to the top, I think Hilly might have found it by looking through the links in the quickfind list.
eagleskickass
19 Aug 2003, 03:01
wow, i dont remember that last game VERY well, just that it was a day i knew meant a lot to a lot of people. Reading over the responses to this thread is almost enough to make someone cry, yet alone when it actually happened. I dont think anyone but a fitzroy fan can fully understand the feeling of losing their side though.
Mobbenfuhrer
19 Aug 2003, 07:29
In a way I think those folks who, after generations, can no longer meet payments and have their financier's foreclose on their farm ... they might have a bit of an idea.
Glad this thread has been picked up again - thanks to all.
Was living in Perth at the time of the last game, some old mates came over from Melb for the event (Veally, Doosk, Mick. Nige were you there? Can't remember). All very sad, Marty Warry played well (4 goals I think) shame they hadn't given him more ground time previously, he looked promising.
Enjoyed the heritage round on the weekend, great to see so many Roys supporters at the G wearing the old colours. Saw some leper outside the ground wearing the old moroon Brisbane Bears jumper carrying a huge banner which read "Brisbane Is Not Fitzroy". Well mate, should be so ****in' lucky......
Hilly72
20 Aug 2003, 21:17
Yes, I picked it up in the quick find list, was reading through it and saw the peice about the "Liverpool Kiss".
I had lived in Darwin until 1990 and hadn't ever been to a AFL/VFL game, so was stoked to see the Roys live finally, went to as many games as possible with mates and then my father in law to be. I went back to playing in 95, but once the news broke in 96 i was shattered, luckily the side I played with was rubbish and was able to go to the G for the Richmond game.... I mate and I went, both Roy Boys and 24, and we were shattered, couldnt get on the G quick enough and didn't want to leave....
The trip to the FFC hotel was a tough one, my wife (to be) was driving, we played the theme song all the way there, while taking on some anaesthetic, the Dockers did a great job as did the pub, watching the old games after, singing the song with so many others will live with me forever.
I will say now that because of this, when an old club (small country town) asked me back because they were struggling for numbers, I left a premiership team that had lost 4 games in 3 years because I knew how the people of the town would feel...
And now I am sitting in my office in Taiwan as depressed as hell knowing the next game I get to see will be the GF...
GO YOU MIGHTY LIONS the Roys and Brissie....
Mobbenfuhrer
20 Aug 2003, 23:28
Originally posted by Hilly72
I will say now that because of this, when an old club (small country town) asked me back because they were struggling for numbers, I left a premiership team that had lost 4 games in 3 years because I knew how the people of the town would feel...
Whereabouts?
Hilly72
21 Aug 2003, 20:49
Birregurra, on the Cape Otway Rd, in between Colac and Lorne. In the old Fitzroy Zone....played footy against Timmy Pekin's brother, and a few other Fitzroy names.
Mobbenfuhrer
21 Aug 2003, 23:30
Birregurra, on the Cape Otway Rd, in between Colac and Lorne. In the old Fitzroy Zone....played footy against Timmy Pekin's brother, and a few other Fitzroy names.
AHhh ... ex-brother in law played for South Colac.
I have written elsewhere on these boards about my appreciation of how proudly Freo. did us on that last day. We played ****, but at least we were consistent. That sheila who sang 'Auld Lang's Syne' reduces me to tears to this day. Once again, thanks to Freo. Thank Christ it was a real football club, rather than some odious, artificial concoction from the West.
The game against Richmond was, to me, a farce and so unreal. It wasn't our last game, and I found the crocodile tears to be a bit previous. At the end of the game the Collingwood and the Carlton supporter with whom I attended started bawling their eyes out. I couldn't believe it.
I said, "Let's go." They said, "We want to pay tribute to Fitzroy." I said, "For ****'s sake, it's another 150 point loss. How much pain do you want me to go through?"
During the 1996 finals series, I barracked for Brisbane, as I have since.
Sentimentality and lack of reality killed Fitzroy, from about 1962 onwards.
Mobbenfuhrer
22 Aug 2003, 07:15
Originally posted by skilts
I have written elsewhere on these boards about my appreciation of how proudly Freo. did us on that last day. We played ****, but at least we were consistent. That sheila who sang 'Auld Lang's Syne' reduces me to tears to this day. Once again, thanks to Freo. Thank Christ it was a real football club, rather than some odious, artificial concoction from the West.
The game against Richmond was, to me, a farce and so unreal. It wasn't our last game, and I found the crocodile tears to be a bit previous. At the end of the game the Collingwood and the Carlton supporter with whom I attended started bawling their eyes out. I couldn't believe it.
I said, "Let's go." They said, "We want to pay tribute to Fitzroy." I said, "For ****'s sake, it's another 150 point loss. How much pain do you want me to go through?"
Sentimentality and lack of reality killed Fitzroy, from about 1962 onwards.
This is a really interesting reaction, especially the bit I coloured. Firstly, it clashes with the average temperament of most Roys fans, or at least most that speak up. It certainly clashes with mine.
But upon reading and re-rereading it, I can't help but think that skilts may have been more on the money than most, including myself. Its got me asking myself : why did I want to subject myself to that.
I stood there all day and sang the song, cheered, cried, unbelievably and memorably got abused when the song-singing died at one stage by a couple of (rare) Richmond fans who were crying and then angry at us for quieting at one stage!.
I never thought "my God, do I have to do this to myself, too?
Mind you, the reserves win was gleeful!
Originally posted by skilts
I'm in the same boat as Skilts on this. What made it worse was that it was against Richmond, who had an administration which had torn the guts out of Fitzroy for the previous 3 or 4 years. And the last thing I wanted was Richmond supporters feeling sorry for me and my fellow Ftizroy supporters.
I also started supporting the Bears from the '96 finals series onwards.
Mobbenfuhrer
22 Aug 2003, 13:43
Originally posted by Paul D
And the last thing I wanted was Richmond supporters feeling sorry for me and my fellow Ftizroy supporters.
That's why it was so interesting to get that reaction from these couple of Tigers fans. They weren't sympathetic, they were actually angry at us, and upset that we had shown signs of fading as supporters.
Weird, impossible to know how to take it.
Although my memories of the last few rounds are blurry (not sure if alcohol then or effects it has had now) the feeling is not the same with Brisbane. This maybe the sanitisation of the game by the AFL, no more tinnies, can't stand in the outer properly, no local grounds and no swearing but AFL is losing it's luster for me.
Fitzroy was traditional footy for me. Standing in the outer no matter what watching your team with mates and enjoying it. Winning wasn't what it was about (couldn't of been anyway) it was being there having fun and being a bit of a yobbo.
Hilly72
22 Aug 2003, 21:39
AHhh ... ex-brother in law played for South Colac.
How long ago? Who?
Mobbenfuhrer
23 Aug 2003, 00:44
How long ago? Who?
Ah, about late 1980s, at a guess, surname Milbourne, worked at Preston Motors and also doing the odd laundry run to Apollo Bay/Lorne for Egans.
lioness
23 Aug 2003, 11:11
Originally posted by Slax
Although my memories of the last few rounds are blurry (not sure if alcohol then or effects it has had now) the feeling is not the same with Brisbane. This maybe the sanitisation of the game by the AFL, no more tinnies, can't stand in the outer properly, no local grounds and no swearing but AFL is losing it's luster for me.
Fitzroy was traditional footy for me. Standing in the outer no matter what watching your team with mates and enjoying it. Winning wasn't what it was about (couldn't of been anyway) it was being there having fun and being a bit of a yobbo.
Well for me, I wasn't so much of a yobbo ;) (or maybe I was and just didn't know it) but I fully understand what you're saying.
For me, winning never mattered either. Even if my Roys got absolutely flogged on the weekend it didn't matter, I still wore my scarf with just as much pride and passion as if we'd won a premiership!!!!!! I loved the club, I loved the players and most of all, I loved the supporters. Fitzroy supporters are the best lot of fans I have ever had the pleasure to be surrounded by. Absolutely no crap about them, and I remember even from the very first match I attended, I had heaps of people who just wandered up for a chat and made sure i was ok, I come from an Essendon-supporting family and most of my friends just flatly refused to come to Fitzroy matches :rolleyes: so I would mostly go along alone. It's something that always made me really bloody proud to be part of it, and the fact that week after week, we'd be outnumbered badly by the opposition fans, yet make just as much noise!!!!!!! The results never bothered me, I never felt ashamed in those last few years of the clubs' existence, not once.
All I know is it will NEVER make sense to me why the AFL had to do what they did to us. They can try and justify it any way they want to, but nothing will ever change the fact that football changed forever the minute they announced the merger, and it will never ever be the same. There IS no more tradition. There's no heart and soul. You can't just take something away that's been there for over a century and expect things to be the same.
I'm not one for living in the past, and I have moved on to a certain extent with the Brisbane Lions, but all you have to do is show me the old jumper and I am probably 200 times more passionate. I think the thing that makes me saddest of all though is that future generations will probably know of Fitzroy, but they'll never be able to fully understand anymore just how grand our little club was. They'll look at the results and never really know how we could be bloody proud of our boys anyways. My children will see the Reds, and any other team the FFC may have in the future, in any division. It's not what I imagined for them, but it's all I can do. And that's a bitter pill as well really.
Apologies for rambling a bit too much. :)
Hilly72
24 Aug 2003, 15:16
Ah, about late 1980s, at a guess, surname Milbourne, worked at Preston Motors and also doing the odd laundry run to Apollo Bay/Lorne for Egans.
OK, a couple of years before I got down there.
Hollypig
26 Aug 2003, 17:49
I watched the game out of curiosity, not being a VFL supporter, just out of a morbid interest I s`pose.
Was 36 years old at the time, & bawled my eyes out, saddest thing I`d near seen. My then 4yo (now a Fitzroy player) asked the wife ' why`s Dad crying' She could`nt work out why, funny, neither could I.
Now strangely enough, my team has won 1 game this year, was actually bankrupt for a couple of hours, & have lost a high court appeal. Barring a miracle, things look grim. I`m only hoping that, if we fall over, we get a chance to see a final game.
Loved your recollection of watching footy in the outer Slax, that`s how we watch the footy now.
KnaveyBlue
28 Aug 2003, 11:53
I miss Fitzroy :(
Mobbenfuhrer
28 Aug 2003, 11:55
Originally posted by KnaveyBlue
I miss Fitzroy :(
I, and I'm sure all Roys fans here, appreciate your sentiment, Knavey. But nevermind, all we have been has taken shelter in the hardiest minds, where we can cheekily smoulder. :)
But, on another note, fair enough you miss Fitzroy, but there was no need to go all out and assume our position on the ladder into the bargain! :D
flagfor05
22 Oct 2004, 20:57
I'm a crazy Geelong fan, and also a crazy about footy, so I can still remember a little of Fitzroys last game, although I was only 6 years old! I can remember seeing them walk off in tears and not really understanding how big a deal it would've been for the Roys faithful.
One of our school footy coaches played against Fitzroy in their last Melbourne game, for Richmond, and he was telling me how big it really was and how emotional it was. For footy once Matty Primus had a chat to us about what it was like in those final days at Fitzroy. Things like not even being able to train on a full ground were things they had to deal with.
fitzroy losing to freo. Despite my team winning, i couldn't help but feel sad for fitzroy