View Full Version : Fat Pizza's Trivia Question #7
Fat Pizza
15 Mar 2001, 14:04
Which former Fitzroy player won 2 gold medals at the Rome Olympics in 1960 & in which sport?
Mr Ripper
15 Mar 2001, 14:11
Laurie Morgan -in equestrian!
------------------
Olmy knows best
Fat Pizza got oner for you what was Garry Wilson's last number at Fitzroy?
Mobbenfuhrer
16 Mar 2001, 03:01
'Up'.
Whenever a player is on their last few games, their number is 'Up'.
http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Fat Pizza
16 Mar 2001, 05:33
Ripper is correct. Laurie Morgan played 34 games for Fitzroy between 1937 & 1939, then won 2 gold medals for Australia in Equestrian events at the Rome Olympics.
I grew up wearing Garry Wilson's no. 29 on my back. Flea retired in 1984, but kept very fit & also coached the Magoos. He was almost coaxed out of retirement & was named as emergency for a game in Perth in about 1988. Ross Lyon had the no. 29 by then. I have a feeling Wilson was allocated no. 37.
Imagine if Wilson had actually been called up to play in '88!
Mr Ripper
16 Mar 2001, 08:17
Flea was allocated Big Bernie's number 5 in 1987.
------------------
Olmy knows best
Nearly right Mr Ripper he was assigned Number 5 in 1995 for a game in Perth as a favour to Bernie, when he was skills coach just in case we didn't have enough players.
Mr Ripper
16 Mar 2001, 13:40
Levo...I'm looking at it right now in the Footy Record.
------------------
Olmy knows best
Fat Pizza
16 Mar 2001, 15:19
Struth, I was a long way out!
At least I got the Perth bit right.