View Full Version : Teams for practice match v Bullants
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/news-read.aspx?NewsId=729
Seniors has Lisle, Lowden, Williams, Duryea, Siera, Ellis, Milne, Guerra, Smith, Hodge, Puopolo and Murph
Development squad has Grimley, Litherland, Schneider, Wanganeen, Bruest, Mahony, Hallahan and Bails.
This means Cheney's the travelling emergency with the HFC team to AAMI.
TheFourPillars
25 Mar 2011, 16:15
Seniors has Lisle, Lowden, Williams, Duryea, Siera, Ellis, Milne, Guerra, Smith, Hodge, Puopolo and Murph
Development squad has Grimley, Litherland, Schneider, Wanganeen, Bruest, Mahony, Hallahan and Bails.
WTF???? surely he plays in the seniors...
Interesting that Guerra has been named assumed he had an injury. If he plays he has been dropped and replaced by suckling... Clarko sticking to his word interesting times ahead. A healthy attitude to have IMO
TheFourPillars
25 Mar 2011, 16:18
Also schoey is still missing must be injured (the unofficial injury list ;))
WTF???? surely he plays in the seniors...
Don't disagree - We must be limited to having only 12 listed players in each line up, I can vaguely remember some rule along those lines...
moginie
25 Mar 2011, 18:30
So, no Gilchrist in either squad?
Is he injured?
Goldhawk
25 Mar 2011, 18:57
Don't disagree - We must be limited to having only 12 listed players in each line up, I can vaguely remember some rule along those lines...
I'm pretty sure that rule does not apply anymore for this season.
savagelunchbox
25 Mar 2011, 19:49
Why are the bolded players playing in the development squad? I don't get it. Bruest played most of last yr in the seniors; Litherland is worthy of a senior position; Schnieder has shown he could almost be in the Hawthorn side and therefore doesn't need to be in the development squad; and Bailey is a man mountain and too big for the development squad.
Teams are still being selected on 'load' requirements. So don't expect that it's simply play all our best players in Box Hill Seniors.
Last week Schneider looked to have some concern with the constant running of the game. Not to say he wasn't fit, but he was cramping early. Give him the required time in the development squad. Similar with Bailey.
TheFourPillars
25 Mar 2011, 22:17
Teams are still being selected on 'load' requirements. So don't expect that it's simply play all our best players in Box Hill Seniors.
Last week Schneider looked to have some concern with the constant running of the game. Not to say he wasn't fit, but he was cramping early. Give him the required time in the development squad. Similar with Bailey.
Yeah he did come of the ground last week and went straight for a rub down which sent a couple coaching staff into a frenzy as they came rushing down to the fence to see if it was something serious. Must remember to keep the excitement level for the kid to a pallatable level thanks for that Galon :D
The BIG X
25 Mar 2011, 22:39
I'm pretty sure that rule does not apply anymore for this season.
Correct:thumbsu:
spikers
26 Mar 2011, 10:11
Why are the bolded players playing in the development squad? I don't get it. Bruest played most of last yr in the seniors; Litherland is worthy of a senior position; Schnieder has shown he could almost be in the Hawthorn side and therefore doesn't need to be in the development squad; and Bailey is a man mountain and too big for the development squad.
I think the BHH coach would actually like to see some of the Box Hill players get a practice game in!
Any news on how the boys are going and in particular Hodge. Also Max who apparently played the early game.
Henry Jr
26 Mar 2011, 13:07
Half Time. BH. 6.6..42. Bull 3.5.23
Henry Jr
26 Mar 2011, 14:00
3/4 t. Bh 7.8.50 b 7.8.50
Henry Jr
26 Mar 2011, 14:32
15 point win for Box Hill.
Guerra and Ellis best of the Hfc players.
Max put the cue in the rack at 3/4 time.
Hodge played a full game kicking a goal.
Scores and info from GoldHawk :thumbsu:
Great news all round, sounds like.
Rioli magic
26 Mar 2011, 15:08
Only got down to see the 2nd half.
For the Hawthorn boys - Ellis was good in the guts especially the last 1/4. Interesting that Hodge played back in the last 1/4 and Guerra played forward, both were good. I thought Smith did some nice things late and was also impressed with Williams. Murphy was vocal and organised a lot in defense but didn't do much. Was great to see big Max out there!!
Hodgepodge
26 Mar 2011, 15:22
Great to hear Ellis doing well and hopefully he gets a recall Round 2 or 3.
I agree its good to hear Ellis do well but I'd also like that there would be no need for him to come in i.e the players in this week account for themselves very well ;)
mollyfud
26 Mar 2011, 15:37
I don't want to get too excited, but may have vision of the Hodge goal later! (lets say tomorrow).
stemline
26 Mar 2011, 15:51
Great to hear Bailey get through a 3rd week in a row.
FriarTuck
26 Mar 2011, 15:59
Back at City Oval and what a pleasant day for footy. The BBQ now offers a choice of snags. Dunno why people complicate things.
Maxxxx played three quarters. He does get out bodied but game time and experience will fix that. They are nursing him but he was moving well at the end.
I really like Lanky Luke Lowden. He participates in all facets of the game and took one genuine ruckman pack mark. It would not surprise if he plays ones later in the year. This guy has moves.
Hodgey ran out the game well. Played in the guts, off a wing and played the last quarter down back. He seemed to be moving smoothly but did not appear to be extending himself.
Goo, Murph and XL all looked to be moving freely. Goo played forward more than usual. X played on ball. All three seemed fit enough to play seniors if required. Goo’s hair up close looks real.
My boy Riley played on ball. In the crap ''blanket' football we will endure this year, Riley’s clean hands and that extra bit of height may come in handy.
Duryea, Williams and my other boy SIrra were OK without being startling.
Jordie Lisle has officially gained a yard. Played mainly as FF. Seemed to fade over the game but early he looked real dangerous, especially when the ball was in dispute.
Pup is genuinely quick and always looks to force the play. He is very short and played mainly on ball. Like the way he attacks the play.
Issy Smith covers a lot of land. Looks competent with the footy and will be an excellent link man.
Brent Wallace went well.
Saw a little bit of the development game.
Hard to gauge what is going on. They play that shit blanket game of footy so hard to see who is doing what.
Grimley is a player. GIVE HIM TIME, to get bulk and he will make it. Beautiful kicking action for a big bloke and took a nice pack mark from behind. He covers a heap of ground. I would like to see him trialled at CHB. The second ruck was Monkey’s lad who is about 5’10”. He has a dip.
Hallahan is a bit of a waddler. He uses his strength in close well, not sure that trick will survive against bigger blokes.
Schneider gets a heap of it. A bit lazy on a few of his kicks but this guy should never play another game in the twos.
go hawks!!!
26 Mar 2011, 16:22
Thanks for the summary friar, definitely shows the depth that we Have been sorely missing in previous years.
Look fwd to seeing hodge lead out the boys next week.
Lowden: well great to hear, remember he missed the majority of the preseason, huge potential with this kid
Dixie Flatline
26 Mar 2011, 16:31
Just got back from the seniors game (well, I've mowed the lawn since I got back). Had my two daughters with me, so I didn't get to see much of the game except until the last quarter, really.
I felt that Hodge looked a yard off the pace. Finished the game off half-back and sprayed a few of his kicks - simple kicks, too.
Ladson's place in the team hinges on his game tonight because I felt that Puopolo looks too good to be playing VFL for that long. Really impressed with Pup's ability and his fearlessness. Ellis played in the guts for most of the game and did a fairly good job rucking to Patto, Lowden and Bailey. On Bailey, he was named for the development squad but I don't know if he played for the development squad then backed up with the seniors - I doubt it. Nonetheless, he's got a fair bit of conditioning to get under his belt before he's ready for seniors. A five minute stint will see him huffing and puffing.
Lisle was impressive as a forward and knows where the sticks are.
Goo, I think, had licence to go forward as often as he liked. Stands out in the VFL with his skills and experience.
The Hawks ran out the game well. The Bullants had dominated the third quarter to tie the scores at the final change - 7.8.50 apiece, but the Hawks got the first few goals of the game and it was game over from then on. They should be challenging for the top eight in the VFL.
Now to watch qualifying and then the boys account for the Crows tonight! :)
SHAKESPEARE
26 Mar 2011, 18:22
Lisle, gets some senior experience, and then gains a yard!
proves that BH is a graveyard for developing players...but eh, we can't playem all
I thought Bailey dominated when he was in the ruck, swapping with Lowden from the bench for the first 3 quarters. It reminded me of how we used to rotate Campbell & Taylor, 6 minutes flat out in the ruck then off again. In the first 1/4 he smashed the poor Bullant bloke in a ruck contest, knee in the guts, Max got to run around by himself for 5 minutes whilst the fella recovered. He has really bulked up in the arms and shoulders and gets in good ruck positions very early, not afraid to push his strength about. Highlight for me was Max coaching Hodgey from the boundary near the end of the first 1/4! Max lays a lot of tackles for a big fella, had 4 tackles in the 3rd!
Took the strapping off his right knee at half time, no ice on the knees on the bench in the last.
Puopolo goes 100 miles an hour through a pack and had some very clean pick ups today, had Aaron Joseph follow him around a bit. Worked well in close, weavng through traffic, managed to get hands off whenever he was caught. Interestingly, in the 3rd Guerra and Pup were next to each other in the goal square, but Puopolo took the kick out from a behind!
Guerra was on the ventolin at 1/4 time, does look a cuit above this grade. Took some nice marks from opposition kicks when he was down back, but I really liked him in the forward line in the last. Never seemed rushed with the footy, created a couple of goals with his delivery by hand and foot. Layed a few crunching tackles in the forward 50, might find himself a new role down there.
Tom Murphy was good, obviously not match fit, but had a crack. Got his nose smashed in the first, played a fiar bit on Lachie Henderson who has added some bulk, and Murph was very neat but was out of puff late in the game.
Ellis was a highlight today. Played in the guts all day, got plenty of the pill and and laid tackles that had a few blokes eating dirt - dinkum! A few times they tried to rough him up but he didnt even react, eyes on the footy and kicked a couple of nice goals.
Hodge doesnt want to drive to Box Hill again. Heaps of strapping on his right ankle, but when he was in the play, you wouldnt know. Had a bunch of plays where he gave 3 or 4 efforts, a bump, a tackle, a smother and a handball. In the 3rd he had a 70m play down the wing, cleared the footy out of defence with a big kick, chased his own footy, laid a bump gave a big swooping handball - vintage Hodge. Across half back in the last, he was brilliant. Took a great one hander near the boundary, and made 2 huge spoils coming from a long way back to jump and punch the footy clear of the pack.
Isaac Smith dislocated a finger on his left hand in the 2nd, came back on to kick the behind of the match, dancing around a few blokes, turning the jets to full blast and blazing away for a point. Smith will really add to the fast spread we get from Bateman and Cyril, he took a casual mark in the back pocket in the 3rd and within 2 seconds he was upto the wing, great run and carry. Smith was running very hard to the end, ran to create an option, got the footy, hands off to an open man for a great team goal.
Lisle looked quick and agile against Watson (bloody big kid), turned him inside out on the boundary in the forward pocket in the first, but sprayed the snap. Moose crunched Pat McCarthy in a great fwd 50 tackle, took a great contested mark (3 on 1) near the end of the 3rd. Appeared to improve his recovery from last year, managed to get on his feet and to the next contest really quickly - looked switched on.
Sierakowski did some nice things, burst through the pack on the far wing to clear the footy in the 1st, kept his feet in a 2 on 1 on the wing, gaining 30m for the side by pushing and pressuring the Bullant players back by himself in 3rd.
Brent Wallace looked the best of the unlisted fellas, kicked a magic goal just before half time, 3 efforts to finally get the footy and convert his right foot snap. In the last, he had a very classy blind turn to avoid getting cleaned up by a gorilla coming off the bench then speared a 30m bullet down the line to Smith running forward. Put his nose over the footy to win a free kick late in the game when you would excuse a fella for backing off a few steps.
Hope we see lots of talent at Box Hill through the year, means the senior team is in pretty good shape.
Great reports, cheers to all for that. Good to hear that Bailey got through another game unscathed, if he can get some match fitness he could finally get back into the seniors. Great to hear about Lowden and Grimley too, we have some talented rucks coming through by the sounds of it.
mollyfud
27 Mar 2011, 00:47
Max did well in the ruck but my one concern was he went to ground way to often. Just saying.
spudmaster
27 Mar 2011, 02:00
Max did well in the ruck but my one concern was he went to ground way to often. Just saying.
You weren't the only one concerned by that, Molly, thanks for bringing it up too.
He and Lowden had been tag-teaming all match but Max seemed to spend considerably less time on the field at once than Lowden did.
I did enjoy Max laying a few good tackles however, but those skinny legs still scare me every time.
Very pleased with a few passages from Smith, has some decent speed on him and can kick sharp and long. Will no doubt work his way into the side in the near future.
A shoutout to whoever was running the BBQ too, $2.50 for a (choice of) sausage and a decent helping of onion beats hands down a frankfurt for half a years wage at the AFL.
Goldhawk
27 Mar 2011, 11:08
Scores and info from GoldHawk :thumbsu:
Quite funny about this,i was texting Hank who was in Adelaide providing the info about Box Hills game and he in return put the info on Big Footy.
Well done Hank :thumbsu:
Roger Rogerson
27 Mar 2011, 11:47
Great reports guys. Couldn't get there so great to read the analysis.
I think we will see Smith in the side very very soon which is great.
Would hope to see Lisle in the ones soon as well.
Would not surprise to see Sirra in the ones this year as well.
With regard to Puopolo - what is his kicking like - for mine it has to be the reason he wasnt in the AFL side for round 1. He has a punchy kicking action and can kick the regular floater - how was he by foot?
TheFourPillars
27 Mar 2011, 15:09
Great reports guys. Couldn't get there so great to read the analysis.
I think we will see Smith in the side very very soon which is great.
Would hope to see Lisle in the ones soon as well.
Would not surprise to see Sirra in the ones this year as well.
With regard to Puopolo - what is his kicking like - for mine it has to be the reason he wasnt in the AFL side for round 1. He has a punchy kicking action and can kick the regular floater - how was he by foot?
Our game plan is high risk and relies on high disposal efficiency. Pops is not reliable by foot as say some one like ladson or suckling hence he has sat out. I want guerra in the team next week
FairCall
27 Mar 2011, 16:29
[quote=FriarTuck;20494768]Grimley is a player. GIVE HIM TIME, to get bulk and he will make it. Beautiful kicking action for a big bloke and took a nice pack mark from behind. He covers a heap of ground. I would like to see him trialled at CHB.
I heard he kicked 4-5 goals as well so very solid game by the sounds of it.
Roger Rogerson
27 Mar 2011, 20:12
Our game plan is high risk and relies on high disposal efficiency. Pops is not reliable by foot as say some one like ladson or suckling hence he has sat out. I want guerra in the team next week
Thanks 4P. I was staggered Guerra missed - I initially assumed he was injured but if he has played at Box Hill that would suggest he wasn't - unless he had a niggle that they werent confident him getting through with.
If it is for form reasons then it is staggering he wasnt in the side as he had a great year last year.
On another note, what a big weekend for former Box Hill Hawks in the AFL. Markovic, Curnow and Pederson all debuting. All class players for Box Hill and earned a shot at the bigtime. Pederson absolutely killing them in Perth at the moment.
TheFourPillars
27 Mar 2011, 20:34
Thanks 4P. I was staggered Guerra missed - I initially assumed he was injured but if he has played at Box Hill that would suggest he wasn't - unless he had a niggle that they werent confident him getting through with.
If it is for form reasons then it is staggering he wasnt in the side as he had a great year last year.
On another note, what a big weekend for former Box Hill Hawks in the AFL. Markovic, Curnow and Pederson all debuting. All class players for Box Hill and earned a shot at the bigtime. Pederson absolutely killing them in Perth at the moment.
Yes glad to see curnow tear it up in the last quarter against Richmond this week and good to hear abour pederson the guy deserves everything he gets
Dixie Flatline
28 Mar 2011, 11:57
I'll admit that I like what I've seen of Puopolo to date, but on Saturday, he was very competitive and very courageous. He has more than a touch of the mongrel about him. I think we need that in Hawthorn's 22 because, from what I saw on Saturday night, I saw a team that shrank from the challenge and went back into their collective shells as soon as the Crows started their run.
I reckon Puopolo would be the type of player to say, "Bugger this, I'm going to run straight through them and hurt 'em hard."
TheFourPillars
28 Mar 2011, 12:21
I'll admit that I like what I've seen of Puopolo to date, but on Saturday, he was very competitive and very courageous. He has more than a touch of the mongrel about him. I think we need that in Hawthorn's 22 because, from what I saw on Saturday night, I saw a team that shrank from the challenge and went back into their collective shells as soon as the Crows started their run.
I reckon Puopolo would be the type of player to say, "Bugger this, I'm going to run straight through them and hurt 'em hard."
Don't disagree with you mate. This is the great thing about this year we will hopefully have players putting pressure on our best 22 and thats always a good thing. Pops will get his chance no doubt sooner rather than later i expect.
seems to be split views on how hodge played....
glad to hear that X-man was doing the right things, i think his endurance could have been used in Adelaide, cos we ran out of puff and clean hands.
would like to see guerra back in the seniors.... need his smarts in back half.
dermott
28 Mar 2011, 13:13
I agree wholeheartedly and have posted on the main board that I would include Puopolo and Smith in my team as they would add hardness and speed.
TheFourPillars
28 Mar 2011, 14:20
Here is the official write up of the game
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4742/newsid/110185/default.aspx
Pops best on ground could be due as a lot of people on here have suggested.
Hungry Hawk
28 Mar 2011, 15:31
From the wonderful write up it sounds like there are a number of players more than capable and deserving of a spot in the ones this week.
Selection committee has a few touch calls to make.