Box Hill Hawks
v
Port Melbourne

Saturday 2 April
@ Box Hill City Oval
Seniors at 2:00pm
Development Squad at 11:00am
Radio 94.1FM 3WBC

Welcome to the 2011 season for the Box Hill Hawks. Both teams have shown great promise in the preseason and as Big Footy Hawks (Hawthorn and Box Hill) we are certainly pumped for a successful year. Get on down to Box Hill City Oval to cheer on the boys this year and let's create a fortress like home ground advantage.

Come and see the emerging Hawthorn and AFL stars as they develop in what is certainly one of the best breeding grounds that AFL footy has produced in recent years.

Enjoy the family and friendly supporter atmosphere, make Box Hill a place to take your loved ones and mates in more relaxed surroundings or alternatively, join the President's Club lunch.

2011 Box Hill...your team, your club, your favourite place to be (when Hawthorn aren't playing).

Teams should be through on Thursday night.
Looking forward to seeing you all there!!
Go Box Hill Hawks!!

TheFourPillars
28 Mar 2011, 21:26
ROUND 1
Box Hill Hawks
v
Port Melbourne

Saturday 2 April
@ Box Hill City Oval
Seniors at 2:00pm
Development Squad at 11:00am
Radio 94.1FM 3WBC

Welcome to the 2011 season for the Box Hill Hawks. Both teams have shown great promise in the preseason and as Big Footy Hawks (Hawthorn and Box Hill) we are certainly pumped for a successful year. Get on down to Box Hill City Oval to cheer on the boys this year and let's create a fortress like home ground advantage.

Come and see the emerging Hawthorn and AFL stars as they develop in what is certainly one of the best breeding grounds that AFL footy has produced in recent years.

Enjoy the family and friendly supporter atmosphere, make Box Hill a place to take your loved ones and mates in more relaxed surroundings or alternatively, join the President's Club lunch.

2011 Box Hill...your team, your club, your favourite place to be (when Hawthorn aren't playing).

Teams should be through on Thursday night.
Looking forward to seeing you all there!!
Go Box Hill Hawks!!

I'm there

spudmaster
28 Mar 2011, 22:10
Will be there for the senior game. Those sausages have got me hooked :p

RD, since you're back in town were you going to take care of the quarterly score updates on the BH facebook page or did you want me to do it again? No hassles either way, not wanting to step on your turf that's all :thumbsu:(remembered you mentioning you'd be in Adelaide last weekend so figured I'd have a crack at it)

With the depth we've got this year, it will be good to see some senior listed faces most weeks.

rdhopkins2
29 Mar 2011, 19:20
Go for it spudmaster!! Thanks! In fact, the more we can get info out to Hawthorn and Box Hill fans, the better. I know from living overseas how great it is to get the updates through!!

rdhopkins2
30 Mar 2011, 20:15
Hi,
As luck would have it, I've been asked to become a Melbourne ambassador on Saturday and will have an international guest from Germany (to laugh at my bad German) and will be showing her around Melbourne which means I may struggle to attend the game now.

I'm not sure whether a 7am-1pm Melbourne tour will be acceptable to her so incase I don't manage a quick getaway, apologies.

Goldhawk
30 Mar 2011, 20:50
Hi,
As luck would have it, I've been asked to become a Melbourne ambassador on Saturday and will have an international guest from Germany (to laugh at my bad German) and will be showing her around Melbourne which means I may struggle to attend the game now.

I'm not sure whether a 7am-1pm Melbourne tour will be acceptable to her so incase I don't manage a quick getaway, apologies.

Give her a tour of the Box Hill footy ground :D

spudmaster
31 Mar 2011, 01:47
Sweet, will do mate :thumbsu:

GH, love it! I'm not convinced it's what you would fly down from Germany to see but hey, who knows? If Hodgey is playing another week at BH she'd get to see one of the best footballers :D

Mr Hopkins, you must ask her how to say Hawthorn and Box Hill Hawks in German, the rest of the questions can come later :p

CrowdedHouse
31 Mar 2011, 13:51
Of course guys the usual reminder....

Box Hill v Port Melbourne - LIVE on radio 3WBC Saturday from 1pm - 5pm

94.1 FM in Melbourne's Inner East

Streaming on the web at www.3wbc.org.au

... and possibly on hawthornfc.com.au

BACK FOR 2011 :)

P.S: I'm tipping Port to win by 10 goals :D

Pete - from 3WBC

Goldhawk
31 Mar 2011, 16:24
Of course guys the usual reminder....

Box Hill v Port Melbourne - LIVE on radio 3WBC Saturday from 1pm - 5pm

94.1 FM in Melbourne's Inner East

Streaming on the web at www.3wbc.org.au (http://www.3wbc.org.au)

... and possibly on hawthornfc.com.au

BACK FOR 2011 :)

P.S: I'm tipping Port to win by 10 goals :D

Pete - from 3WBC

I'm tipping Box Hill hawks by 5 gls :thumbsu:

The BIG X
31 Mar 2011, 16:57
Hi,

Give her a tour of the Box Hill footy ground :D

Yes a perfect opportunity to get another international supporter:thumbsu:

scout
31 Mar 2011, 18:27
Teams are in, although it does include some who'll play for Hawthorn. Good to see Max Bailey named again. He's moving along nicely.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=0-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=15294076&sectionID=60264

Rudi Gilham
31 Mar 2011, 19:14
Only Morton, Schoenmakers, Menegola, Johnson & Langford unavailable for selection from our full squad. Not a bad effort that.

Gilchrist, Pollard, Cass & Muston out, from the BH lads.

TheFourPillars
31 Mar 2011, 20:16
Box Hill have a very strong lineup in fact its been a while since the line up looked so strong. Looking for us to start this season against port with a win.

onthemoney
31 Mar 2011, 20:58
Teams are in, although it does include some who'll play for Hawthorn. Good to see Max Bailey named again. He's moving along nicely.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=0-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=15294076&sectionID=60264

Is that how the usual BH squad is named? 7 players named that are in the mix for Sunday yeah?

I might trek down to BHCO on Saturday actually. I'm on the wrong side of town but considering I'm heading to a friend's in Hawthorn Saturday night I might as well take a packed lunch and venture to that side of the river. :thumbsu:

tommyk72
1 Apr 2011, 09:16
Interesting that Lowden is named at FF. Do the VFL play by the new 3 bench and a sub rule too, or do you think they are just playing Bails and Lowden like that to get them ready for the AFL rules?

FriarTuck
1 Apr 2011, 11:21
Interesting that Lowden is named at FF. Do the VFL play by the new 3 bench and a sub rule too, or do you think they are just playing Bails and Lowden like that to get them ready for the AFL rules?

It appears to me that they run Lowden on the ruck then on the pine. Max goes FF, ruck then pine. Max will easily play as a forward target.

savagelunchbox
1 Apr 2011, 11:35
I wouldn't take much notice of where the players are lined up. They just place them anywhere and everywhere.

Anyone surprised that Bruest is named in the ressies?

scout
1 Apr 2011, 11:58
Breust is possibly coming back from injury and working his way into match fitness.

He only played 3 quarters in the reserves last week. Looked like a pre-planned thing.

Goady138
1 Apr 2011, 12:16
Round 1 set for thriller as Hawks, Boroughs line up

TO judge from their past three matches, Saturday's season-opener between Port Melbourne and Box Hill Hawks will be compelling and compulsory viewing.

In last year's semi-finals the Hawks won by six points in a contest that was nothing less than enthralling in the second half.

Twelve months earlier in another semi, Port got up by three points. It was so thrilling that it dominated talk at the JJ Liston Trophy the following day.

Last year's home-and-away clash at the City Oval sandwiched the finals, and was a cracker, too.

The Boroughs kicked six goals to one in the last quarter to pinch a three-point victory, headed by Dean Galea's haul of seven goals.

Saturday, then, holds the promise of a sterling match when the teams kick off the new season at the City Oval.

Port coach Gary Ayres said both clubs would be eyeing top-four finishes and would be desperate to start with a win.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/round-1-set-for-thriller-as-hawks-boroughs-line-up/story-fn53khop-1226031887477

Goldhawk
1 Apr 2011, 13:57
That's a strong looking side on paper,if all goes to plan we should smash them.

Rowie6
1 Apr 2011, 15:37
Breust is possibly coming back from injury and working his way into match fitness.

He only played 3 quarters in the reserves last week. Looked like a pre-planned thing.
That is good news,i just looked at the side and could not believe that Breusty was in the magoo's

Rudi Gilham
1 Apr 2011, 17:08
Strong Port side, but they're still missing Bonaddio, Sinclair, Pinwell, Baird & our old mate Wayde Skipper.

Dixie Flatline
1 Apr 2011, 20:07
Unfortunately can't make the game tomorrow. It's the wife's birthday and we have tickets to the Melbourne International Flower & Garden Show. :(

I'd appreciate it if a kind soul would post as to whether the Hawks bring back the jumping castle for the children. It was a big hit with my children last year and helped me to sell taking an arvo off from the house/garden chores to my wife.

savagelunchbox
1 Apr 2011, 20:33
Strong Port side, but they're still missing Bonaddio, Sinclair, Pinwell, Baird & our old mate Wayde Skipper.
Baird is named in the ressies team.

FairCall
1 Apr 2011, 22:52
The side that gets posted rarely means much (however I always find myself keen to have a look when its up!!) Lowden is a very capable forward whether he plays there or not is another point.

moginie
2 Apr 2011, 12:31
Anybody got a ressies score?

Henry Jr
2 Apr 2011, 13:31
BH 4.2.26
Port 2.2.14

Lisle with 2 goals.
Smith with 1 goal.
And I missed our other goal kicker.

Buddy Guy
2 Apr 2011, 14:12
BH 4.2.26
Port 2.2.14

Lisle with 2 goals.
Smith with 1 goal.
And I missed our other goal kicker.

Other goal kicker Siera I think HJ.

Messenger
2 Apr 2011, 14:14
Half time BH 5.4, Port 6.5

Buddy Guy
2 Apr 2011, 14:55
Im listening to the radio stream and it sounds like Bailey is in everything.

Buddy Guy
2 Apr 2011, 15:21
Inaccuracy costing Box Hill.

Hodgepodge
2 Apr 2011, 15:23
Who's the goalkickers homies?

Buddy Guy
2 Apr 2011, 15:31
What I know for sure:
Lisle 3
Gibson 1
Siera 1
Smith 1

FriarTuck
2 Apr 2011, 16:42
The game plan was unravelled yet again. Too often we were out numbered deep in defence and up forward. We changed our defence after half time and went a bit more one on one.

Lowden was good at the stoppages. Would like to see him take more marks but I thought he was far more effective than Max.

Milne played off a wing and seemed to get a heap of it up to the last quarter. His ball usage was not good.

I thought we got killed around the stoppages. X and WhiteX were beaten.

Sirra played of a HBF. He got better as the game progressed and showed some neat foot skills. He is coming along. Murph was playing on a bigger opponent and was consistenly out pointed.

Williams and Duryea are unremarkable. Bruest was running around in the twos and looking far more dangerous than either of those two.

Jordie Lisle was full time FF. Kicked a couple, did a couple of dumb things and on a few occasions did not go hard enough at half volleys. Nothing flash.

Pup and Smith flashed in and out. Both at least tried to use their pace to burn off opponents. Smith plays a wide outside role.

We lack strength. If we are going to persist with this rubbish rolling pack footy I reckon we will struggle. Having said that if we had kicked half decently we could have won.

randall boner
2 Apr 2011, 17:13
The game plan was unravelled yet again. Too often we were out numbered deep in defence and up forward. We changed our defence after half time and went a bit more one on one.

Lowden was good at the stoppages. Would like to see him take more marks but I thought he was far more effective than Max.

Milne played off a wing and seemed to get a heap of it up to the last quarter. His ball usage was not good.

Sirra played of a HBF. He got better as the game progressed and showed some neat foot skills. He is coming along. Murph was playing on a bigger opponent and was consistenly out pointed.

Williams and Duryea are unremarkable. Bruest was running around in the twos and looking far more dangerous than either of those two.

Jordie Lisle was full time FF. Kicked a couple, did a couple of dumb things and on a few occasions did not go hard enough at half volleys. Nothing flash.

Pup and Smith flashed in and out. Both at least tried to use their pace to burn off opponents. Smith plays a wide outside role.

We lack strength. If we are going to persist with this rubbish rolling pack footy I reckon we will struggle. Having said that if we had kicked half decently we could have won.
spot on the same game plan as hawthorn was exposed by port melb, gee cant they see it dont work. How williams and Duryea are on a afl list is remarkable both very ordinary to say the least.THe stupid game plan cost us today, not the talent on the field....CLARKO HAS A LOT TO ANSWER FOR.

Rev08
2 Apr 2011, 17:25
spot on the same game plan as hawthorn was exposed by port melb, gee cant they see it dont work. How williams and Duryea are on a afl list is remarkable both very ordinary to say the least.THe stupid game plan cost us today, not the talent on the field....CLARKO HAS A LOT TO ANSWER FOR.

Have I missed something? When did Clarko take over at Box Hill??

The BIG X
2 Apr 2011, 17:28
Have I missed something? When did Clarko take over at Box Hill??

Reckon it is common knowledge he has control over Box Hill

go hawks!!!
2 Apr 2011, 17:50

Thanks FT, honest and brutal as usual. Does not sound good.

Am I missing something, what was the final score?

Roger Rogerson
2 Apr 2011, 17:58

Who would be pushing for Hawthorn selection based on form?

Are Puopolo and Smith at AFL standard?

I reckon we might see Sirra debut at AFL level this year. He is going to be good.

markr
2 Apr 2011, 18:04
Am I missing something, what was the final score?I think everyone has been too busy complaining to tell us. By the tone of the reports I assume we went down by 10 or 12 goals...

Roddy27
2 Apr 2011, 18:10
I think everyone has been too busy complaining to tell us. By the tone of the reports I assume we went down by 10 or 12 goals...

Port won by 4 goals, but inaccuracy played a part:

PM: 15.7 97
BHH: 10.13 73

randall boner
2 Apr 2011, 18:16
Puopolo bog for box hill should be a starter at hawthorn next week.SMITH not ready yet.

Roger Rogerson
2 Apr 2011, 18:24
Puopolo bog for box hill should be a starter at hawthorn next week.SMITH not ready yet.

Good one Randall.

Just heard a good report on Puopolo and Siera from today. Puopolo went forward at one stage and kicked a slot.

Also heard Lowden was better than Bailey. Apparently Bailey was physically tested by Port which is good for his development but was told he needs more time in the driver's seat to get his body match hardened. Same with Smith who showed a bit but not strong enough yet.

Apparently Whitecross didn't get near it. Milne and Ellis were ok without being flash - same with Murphy.

Williams quiet, Duryea same. Lisle good early but we didn't look to use him enough as the game went on.

FriarTuck
2 Apr 2011, 18:26
I dont like our style of footy so if that frustration shines through so be it.

X should be ripping it up but did not get the time and room to show his wares. I dont like X as a midfielder as I reckon he is better off a HBF. The same coudl be said about Whitecross.

Inaccuracy at goals and general disposal cost us. Dunno why Bruest is running around in the early game. He can use the pill.

randall boner
2 Apr 2011, 18:52
Good one Randall.

Just heard a good report on Puopolo and Siera from today. Puopolo went forward at one stage and kicked a slot.

Also heard Lowden was better than Bailey. Apparently Bailey was physically tested by Port which is good for his development but was told he needs more time in the driver's seat to get his body match hardened. Same with Smith who showed a bit but not strong enough yet.

Apparently Whitecross didn't get near it. Milne and Ellis were ok without being flash - same with Murphy.

Williams quiet, Duryea same. Lisle good early but we didn't look to use him enough as the game went on.
spot on report there. Williams and Duryea will never be afl players.

TheFourPillars
2 Apr 2011, 18:55
It turned out to be a wonderful sunny start t the game. Box Hill and Sam Gibson started off the first quarter with the wind. It was interesting to see Lowden as first ruck and bailey sitting on the pine at the start of the game. Popuolo started like a house on fire. He had quite a few touches in the first. Milne got in the right positions and got a lot of the ball but his ball handling and decision making were iffy. Port were dominating the quarter but box hill took their chances in the first quarter with some long goals. Goals to lisle and smith put us in front at quarter time

Box Hill 4.2.28
Port Melbourne 2.4.16

In the ruck today i found that Lowden was playing better than Bailey who gave away some clumsy free kicks by just falling into smaller players backs. Port Melbourne came out with the breeze and gradually wore box hill's lead down. Yes the now familiar free man down forward caught Box Hill on the counter attack. Pops went a bit quiet in this quarter.

The last bit of play in this quarter was bailey going up in the ruck and getting a hard knock to the knees from the oppposition ruckman took him a while to get up of the ground as all the box hill supporters me included held their breath. We let out a collective sigh of relief as he jogged off at the end of the half Port had taken the lead. It was going to be a struggle.

Box Hill 5.4.34
Port Melbourne 6.5.41

The third quarter is where i felt Box hill lost this game in the space of 10 or so minutes where they made some silly decisions and some clangers both by hand and foot. Kicking with the breeze they found themselves 3 goals down. To box hill's credit they found another gear and lifted and within the next 10 minutes with goals hoegal and pops they were right back in it. it was going to be anyone's game in the last

Box Hill 8.8.56
Port Melbourne 9.6.60

The final quarter saw a real dour struggle and port seemed to be running out of legs. Box hill had all the play but continued to kick points. Two from less than 10 meters away. Port then caught us on the rebound and scored. In the end they were able to take their chances and put us to the sword in the last couple of minutes.

In summary it was an entertaining game. In the end the better team won. It was however closer than what the final score indicated and box hill had their chances.

Box Hill 10.13.73
Port Melbourne 15.7.97

It was really hard to pick out any outstanding players for box hill today
HFC Listed Players

Paul Popuolo: Had a good game with an outstanding first quarter kicked a goal from a 50 meter penalty.

Xavier Ellis: Did some nice things got the ball probably over 20 times but didn't really hurt the opposition.

Brendan Whitecross: Similar to ellis did some nice things set up a few attacks but again didn't really impose himself on the game.

Jordan Lisle: Kicked 3 out there today but i would say this was one of his laziest efforts for box hill. I have seen him play much better with far less goals. Got caught wanting the ball out the back a couple of times. First game of the season will definitely improve.
Will Sierakowsky: Improved as the game progressed and was excellent in the last quarter took some great marks down back coming along nicely

Riley Milne: Riley had a dissapointing day today i thought. He got a lot of the ball in the first half but burnt it by fumbling or poor kicking. He has had better days looked really nervous out there especially in the first quarter.

Tom Murphy was all right in patches and made some good plays but will probably be playing for box hill another week.

Taylor Duryea: Didn't have much of an impact on the game. Didn't see him much around the ground.

Max Bailey: Two words not ready. I think he needs a few more games to gain some match fitness and learn how to manage his body out on the field looked a bit clumsy at times out there today. Did some nice things but was clumsy

Luke Lowden: This guy looks more likely at this stage. He just needs to take a few more marks around the ground not great in the ruck but covers the ground well.

Jordan Williams: Didn't do a whole lot out there today. I dont think he got a lot of game time in the middle

I'm sorry if i missed anyone

moginie
2 Apr 2011, 19:18
Thanks for the report 4P. Great stuff.

How did the Development Squad go?

TheFourPillars
2 Apr 2011, 20:43
Sory mate didn't get there eary enough for that

GNCLongJack
3 Apr 2011, 10:19
What about Cheney? Any good ?

rdhopkins2
3 Apr 2011, 10:24
Thanks to those who managed to write reports. Great effort.

I managed to attend but had to run straight after the game to continue the sightseeing (read pub crawls....well she is German). Fortunately it was too wet and cloudy to warrant a trip to Phillip Island, the Dandys or elsewhere so she was happy to entertain herself for the afternoon in museums et al :)

Box Hill have the bye in round 2, so a good chance to get those little jobs you need to do around the house done, take the missus on a lunch date or take the kids on a day out elsewhere.

Box Hills next game is Sunday 17th April Williamstown Avalon Airport Oval 2:00 PM

The next Box Hill home game is Sunday 24th April v Coburg Tigers 2:00 PM so if people are interested in getting there and having a drink on the terrace around 1/2 time in the Development Squad and talking Box Hill/Hawthorn then I'll put up a post in the Rd 4 match thread along these lines.

Dixie Flatline
3 Apr 2011, 11:19
Thanks to those who managed to write reports. Great effort.

I managed to attend but had to run straight after the game to continue the sightseeing (read pub crawls....well she is German). Fortunately it was too wet and cloudy to warrant a trip to Phillip Island, the Dandys or elsewhere so she was happy to entertain herself for the afternoon in museums et al :)

Box Hill have the bye in round 2, so a good chance to get those little jobs you need to do around the house done, take the missus on a lunch date or take the kids on a day out elsewhere.

Box Hills next game is Sunday 17th April Williamstown Avalon Airport Oval 2:00 PM

The next Box Hill home game is Sunday 24th April v Coburg Tigers 2:00 PM so if people are interested in getting there and having a drink on the terrace around 1/2 time in the Development Squad and talking Box Hill/Hawthorn then I'll put up a post in the Rd 4 match thread along these lines.

How come Box Hill is playing Williamstown at Werribee's home ground? What's wrong with Burbank Oval?

Jane Doe
3 Apr 2011, 11:32
How come Box Hill is playing Williamstown at Werribee's home ground? What's wrong with Burbank Oval?

They are redeveloping Williamstowns ground.

FriarTuck
3 Apr 2011, 12:32
24 hours later the and the sun is shining.

Max played four quarters, he got belted a few times and though a bit wobbly got up and played on. Hard combative stuff is exactly what he needs. He even started to get a bit angry with his opponent.

Schneider and Hallahan could be the new proto type. Good hands and strong in close.

Goldhawk
3 Apr 2011, 12:54

Max played four quarters, he got belted a few times and though a bit wobbly got up and played on. Hard combative stuff is exactly what he needs. He even started to get a bit angry with his opponent.

Schneider and Hallahan could be the new proto type. Good hands and strong in close.

Even though Port Melbourne were physically bigger and stronger i still thought there was a lot of upside to Box Hill .

We where in a position to still win but our inaccuracy in front of goals eventually got the better of us another plus for us was that a few Box Hill players had very quite day , so we can only improve from that performance.

Roger Rogerson
3 Apr 2011, 14:23

Were Schneider and Hallahan in the ones or twos? Thought they played the early game?

TheFourPillars
3 Apr 2011, 15:09
Were Schneider and Hallahan in the ones or twos? Thought they played the early game?
The earlier game along with breust who i am sure will come in next week

FriarTuck
3 Apr 2011, 21:23

They played early but from the little I saw both looked good. Litherland also looked handy.

My take is you need clean hands and quick decisions. Schneider has both in spades, Hallahan has good hands and will end up being a beast.

Lethal44
3 Apr 2011, 21:29
Schneider and Bruest should never have been in the magoo's behind Duryea and Williams, good to hear Hallahan played well too.

hermit hawk
4 Apr 2011, 00:55
correct me if Im wrong but .....Williams and Duryea were both picked up in preference to Curnow who seems to be going well at Carlton

The BIG X
4 Apr 2011, 02:08
For anyone who was quering the Jumping Castle - YES it it confirmed the Castle will be in attendance every home game:thumbsu::thumbsu:

PS - I am tooooo old and tooooooo heavy to use it :eek:

and Yes it is a good meeting point for BF Posters

FriarTuck
4 Apr 2011, 07:26
correct me if Im wrong but .....Williams and Duryea were both picked up in preference to Curnow who seems to be going well at Carlton

Williams has good speed and Duryea is usually a good kick and he can take a grab. Neither find the footy enough. It gets down to if we can develop what they have got.

I would have had Curnow, Bruest, Tuck and Hoegal ahead of either but no one asked me.

Number 24
4 Apr 2011, 07:44
Williams has good speed and Duryea is usually a good kick and he can take a grab. Neither find the footy enough. It gets down to if we can develop what they have got.

I would have had Curnow, Bruest, Tuck and Hoegal ahead of either but no one asked me.

That you choose Tuck in your ins ahead of Williams and Duryea, debases your opinion, IMO.

Tuck brings very little to the table apart from an ability to dive on the ball. He lacks pace, is not a good disposer, not a good mark. He is really just an average one trick pony.

The other two, W & D, have more to work with. Pace disposal, footy intelligence. They are in the development phase and are part of succession planning. They are for "tomorrow"not for today (ie 2011). The will play "educational"games of footy. We will only really be able to monitor their progress if we know what they are being told to work on in their games.

We have to replace Laddo, Ozzie, as well as a few others. These boys are part of that succession planning.

powermax
4 Apr 2011, 08:33
That you choose Tuck in your ins ahead of Williams and Duryea, debases your opinion, IMO.

Tuck brings very little to the table apart from an ability to dive on the ball. He lacks pace, is not a good disposer, not a good mark. He is really just an average one trick pony.

The other two, W & D, have more to work with. Pace disposal, footy intelligence. They are in the development phase and are part of succession planning. They are for "tomorrow"not for today (ie 2011). The will play "educational"games of footy. We will only really be able to monitor their progress if we know what they are being told to work on in their games.

We have to replace Laddo, Ozzie, as well as a few others. These boys are part of that succession planning.
Probably the most intelligent post about theses two-Williams and Duryea.
Williams started on the bench most quarters and rotated with Smith,didn't get a lot of game time but his possesions were clean,you forget 1 month ago he was in best against Freo, and Duryea kicked 1 goal 3 or 4 from limited possesions, so doesn't need may chances to score.
Box Hills disposal was crap, and evey goal was a battle-Port shpuld have won by 10 goals.
They are 19 and developing, get off their backs!

go hawks!!!
4 Apr 2011, 10:03
Sorry guys, did Bruest play? report on his performance if he did pls

FriarTuck
4 Apr 2011, 11:55
Sorry guys, did Bruest play? report on his performance if he did pls

He played in the magoos. I only saw the last quarter and he had four shots on goal.

We have put two years of development into this kid. I cannot understand why he is not in the ones and being really tested against bigger bodies.

Roger Rogerson
4 Apr 2011, 13:24
He played in the magoos. I only saw the last quarter and he had four shots on goal.

We have put two years of development into this kid. I cannot understand why he is not in the ones and being really tested against bigger bodies.

I cannot believe he was not an automatic inclusion in the Box Hill ones.

No doubt there is a spot for him in the Hawthorn side up forward IMO. He is now relying on someone going on the LTI list to get a call up before mid season which is a lottery which is frustrating.

I just think about how much more dangerous we will be with him up forward alongside Burgoyne who will now be payed much closer attention which makes it even better for the other forwards. He will kick a goal a game at least. Quick and balanced and a natural goal kicker.

TheFourPillars
4 Apr 2011, 14:37
Breust has been injured pre season and they are working him back to fitness the only reason i would find that he would play reserves. Similar to schneider in that he is not match fit.