View Full Version : Rd 8, 1996 : Fitzroy 16.11.107 def Fremantle 11.10.76 @ E.J. Whitten Oval
Mobbenfuhrer
6 Mar 2001, 16:15
This is what I wrote back in 1996, about our last win, being against Freo. Bear with me, its long, and there's a heap of in-jokes :
FITZROY vs FREMANTLE
Up until that fateful weekend, I had toned down on the drinking,
and had only utilised Saturday nights for sessions. But last week
one friend (Carlton supporter) was on her way overseas, we had to
wish her well (and make sure she was, in all actuality, finally
p**sing off). So on Thursday I rolled up to Cha Chi's Mexican
restaurant in Nicholson Street. It wasn't really in Nicholson
Street it was on Nicholson Street. Or beside Nicholson Street.
There I reacquainted myself with an old buddy called Midouri
Marguerita, two jugs full, to be exact, my one and only cocktail
love (although Chris Mainwaring has offered on various occasions
to extend that genre of my social set). I also indulged in some
Mexican food - after purchasing a bar heater on Wednesday, I ate
a fajita on Thursday. Lots of chilli, two of some so big I was
expecting them to walk down the stairs in pyjamas.
After surri surrupt serrupt blatently stealing everybody's
serviette from the table, I managed to complete that meal, and
after a bit of idle banter I was back on my way home. Hopefully a
good night's sleep would see me fit for the next day.
It did, but the next day was a little more depraved than the
last. I met my sister Laurel (Collingwood supporter), and boarded
a train at Murrumbeena (ancient aboriginal phrase meaning 'place
where the Murrumbeenas are'). From there it was into the city
(the train, that is, not the Murrumbeena). We ignited at
Flinder's Street, and walked to Mother's Bar.
Downstairs, mates Rob (Footscray supporter) and John
(football-adverse person) were awaiting. Rob had already
repainted the toilet, and John being an employee at the bar, had
been paid two spirits (Casper & Zuul) to return it to it's
original state. Shortly after Davo the Hook (congratulations for
ruining your life, you idiot) arrived, and then Trev (Saint Kilda
supporter) made his appearance. We were so primed we could even drink
the beer that Bill (Essendon supporter) serves.
Other arrivals during the evening included Pete (support in
question), Cam, John, Bryan, Scotty (from Telecom Mobilenet),
Nicole, Jodie, Dermott (great fan of limericks), Alistair
(Hawthorn supporter), Bel and Tony (Adelaide supporter). I
seriously cannot remember whether we left early or if the pub
closed, but our next step was for a portion of us to juxtapose
our unworthy selves into the Carlton Club. Trev was unsuccessful
at gaining entry, and everybody had different views on why this
occurred. Some thought he may have appeared overly intoxicated.
Wrong. Some were of the opinion that he had a bad name from being
there before. Wronger. Others again argued the arguable argument
that he had said something silly on our arrival to the man who
had only had the hook in about a week. Wrongest.
The fact is, the Carlton Club does have a little bit of a
reputation for simple scuffles and worse kerfuffles. Trev being a
big boy, and looking as though he had once been through Hell and
not sent any postcards, well, I think the staff are a little
sizeist in sake of wariness. Seriously, the bouncers were a pack
of Murrumbeenas.
This time we were upstairs, and migrated (it was south) to the
pool room, where a stranger beat about five of us by very narrow
margins (at pool, that is). The juke box blared, two of Justin
Murphy's sisters (there's probably a few dozen of them) tried to
pick up John but were turned down for being post-pubescent. A
bloke called Bruce gave me about eight conflicting reasons why he
was skint, and we continued to enjoy ourselves.
I left around fiveish, ate Hungry Jack's, and caught a taxi home.
Bryan, also having had enough of the evening, came back and ran
straight for the couch, complaining about the cold and feeling
somewhat crookish. I retired unbeaten and was out shortly after.
Awoke about ten, looked outside, Bryan had done his usual runner
and left the couch strewn all over the carpet. Sensing the need
for haste, I bounced from my bed into a pair of jeans (which do
indeed now stand upright without help, I wish I could be that
erect that early in the morning) and applied rapidity in my rush
to get to the footy. Met Cam at Flinders Street, met Scotty and
John on the train. They advised us of Scotty's recent appointment
as the Repo Manager for Telstra. Suddenly, we are at West
Footscray.
All round good lead up, I reckon.
At the footy, we perused a seemingly underdone team of Juggers
show far too little application to do a deed on the Collingwood
twos. I indulged in a couple of cans of Elevator before dragging
out my first Melbourne Bitter for the day, the brand of which I
repeatedly pointed out to boundary rider (?) Neil Kerley.
Shouldn't he be at Pinnaroo or something?
A Collingwood player, poor little number 45, had about nine
billion runs around the boundary line, but still was not utilised
on the ground itself. We took this unfortunate type under our
wing immediately, and promised him we'd give him a run if he
crossed over and played for Adelaide-Brisbane-Carlton-Essendon-
Fitzroy-Footscray-Fremantle-Geelong-Hawthorn-Melbourne-North
Melbourne-Richmond-Saint Kilda-Sydney-West Coast Eagles. He did
get a run later on, and was the catalyst in Collingwood kicking
right away toward the end of the match.
A special segment of the MOB, of which I was most definitely not
a member, tended to pick on one of our blokes all through the
reserves. Unfortunately, said unfortunate managed to play right
into their hands, but I'm sure he'll be back to his best form in
coming weeks, although some even suggested that that was his best
form. But we did lose that match, and the seconds will have to
play well against North (or whoever their opponents will be this
week) to get four points, let's hope they improve. Fuzz was quite
clearly the best of our team.
Commendations to the Cheer Squad for the run-through, even if the
John McCarthy caricature did look a little like that bloke on the
front page of Mad magazines. On the other hand, Fremantle must
have left their condom at home, and ran out unhindered by any
Fire-in-the-Sky type enclosure. It was then that the party began.
Although we started off well, the Fremantle Gelatis broke back to
have an early lead at one stage during the first quarter. Joycey
strained himself again, attempting to get to TWO IDENTICAL KICKS
THAT WERE'NT ACCURATE ENOUGH FOR HIM TO GET TO WITHOUT STRAINING
HIMSELF. Murphy got attacked by a vampire, and came off to the
plasma pit. Then, right in front of our good selves, an unnamed
mann from Fremantle performed an act better suited to our
exhibition matches in London. Had Holmer been facing him, I'm
sure the fellow would have quit footy immediately and gone back
to belly dancing.
That made us rather p**sed. Not the MOB, the team. Generally,
beer and spirits make the MOB p**sed. But a couple of early
pieces of uncalled for S**tfish brutishness intoxicated Fitzroy
right off. And then we started to make our ire tell on the
scoreboard. Our ire ran to the teacher and said "The scoreboard's
being naughty". As a result, the scoreboard became ticked off,
and began to tower over the Motherdockers.
SCOREBOARD (To Gina G's "Ooh, ah, a little bit more")
Ooh, ah, look at the scoreboard,
Ooh, ah, look at that score.
What the **** are you here for.
Ooh, ah, look at that score.
Check that out you ****ing *****.
Our mozzie-size midfielders, some only a couple of games in to
what will surely become a set of illustrious careers on the
field, created havoc at centre bounces, while Speedy Molloy
fulfilled his role as Nana's right-hand man in defence, actually
defeating his two opponents by playing them from behind. It may
not have worked against that Welsh b**tard last week, but it was
a ploy into the hands of which played both Bandy & Oreoli. Sapple
did the sweeping magnificently in his new attire (looks better
now, you can see less of his face), and Frankie "No Comment"
Bizzotto put tears into the eyes of many F**knuckle forays
forward with his stout "get past me and I'll hunt yer down and
kill yer" defence. But Speedy was the most inspiring, at one
stage a wayward Fremantle Easel kick landed amongst a nest of
both teams' players on the fifty metre line, and the crowd had
already start to breathe "Jarrod", even though he was about ninth
from the jack two feet from the ditch. Yeah, he got it, the doubt
was about how the fans knew he'd be the one to clean up.
Our forward line was our weakest link. S**thouse Mellington will
have to start kicking some goals if we're to beat the better
performers, and last week wasn't good enough. I'm talking about
the poster. I'm talking about having to juggle marks. I'm talking
about having to rove off your own lead. I hope Cougah realises
there's more than a little sarcasm in this. It's alright, Cougs,
you might just scrape in for a vote from me. Other than Cougah,
Barks, Krusty and the Broady Boy were amongst a number of strong
contributors up forward. The latest rumour is that this year's
State of Origin match between Victoria and the Allies will be
played at the Calder Park Thunderdome.
It was hard to fault any of our players, except perhaps Darren
Holmes for not realising that Peter Mann is from North Melbourne
and is therefore undoubtedly a king-hitter. Efforts like Primus'
run and tap along the wing and Bamford's checkside pass to
teammate Mick Dwyer convinced us that we wouldn't lose this
match, with or without a Fremantlepiece attempt at a comeback in
the last quarter. Fellas, it's better than losing. Ain't it?
Votes :
9 - Murphy, Carter.
8 - Molloy, Mellington, Pike, Bamford, Dwyer, Johnson, McCarthy,
Bizzotto.
7 - Hawking, Barker, Cassidy, Primus, Dent, Paxman, Morton.
6 - Clayton.
3 - McGregor.
1 - Holmes, Boyd.
When the only blokes under 5 five votes scored at a rate of 2.5
votes per quarter (10 for the match, it's not a bad effort from
the team.
Pretty well every one of our ugly heads got on telly that night
(and a few cute heads, too), so we're happy. A kick ensued after
the match, where I was outplayed by three three-foot high
opponents and a complete stranger held the other end of the
session. We moved to the Gelati-car owned by Denis, and screamed
our way to the pub, having mid-flight conversations with
neighbouring vehicles, attempting to pick up young nubile
Richmond-supporter type girls on the way, and getting told off in
no uncertain terms by the skipper of the ship for asking him too
many times "Where the f**k are we?"
Arriving at the hotel, we knew what to expect, the place was
teeming with folk who I'm sure would not have been there had the
day been another disgrace for the FFC. Even the media were out in
full force, made it bloody hard to get to the bar. Because of the
likely crush, I stayed in the Public until the constitutional
vote-giving had concluded, then moved into the Social Club.
We put in a fair session, and left at about closing time. Fletch,
myself and John threw our weary frames into his little
Mortonmobile, and went to the Junction Oval. Just for a look
around, and to inhale the atmosphere.
For once, even that place seemed satisfied.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Love your work Kev.
I remember going to uni the Monday after wearing my Fitzroy scarf I've had since I was eight, and all these strangers going "carn the Roys!" and "the Roooooooys!" as I passed....
------------------
Life has meaning only in the struggle.
I used to wear my Roys scarf everywhere, but after that one win, yeah, people kept cheering me on, it was kinda weird, lol. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif That game is one I will never forget. I will never be able to write such a brilliant piece as Kev's http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif but who knows, maybe tomorrow I will give it a bash. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
------------------
*the one and only lioness*
Fat Pizza
7 Mar 2001, 09:21
That's what I call a big weekend.
Did you realise the win over Freo was almost 12 months to the day since our 2nd lst win - that absolute pearler over in Adelaide, when we kicked about 8 goals in the last 11 minutes?
Mobbenfuhrer
7 Mar 2001, 15:22
Originally posted by Fat Pizza:
Did you realise the win over Freo was almost 12 months to the day since our 2nd lst win
Yeah, the commentators for that match mentioned it a good dozen times http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Originally posted by Fat Pizza:
That's what I call a big weekend.
Did you realise the win over Freo was almost 12 months to the day since our 2nd lst win - that absolute pearler over in Adelaide, when we kicked about 8 goals in the last 11 minutes?
I remember that game against the Crows so vividly!!!!!!!! Dad was living in Adelaide at the time, and was listening on the radio, and the TV coverage was delayed half an hour (since it was being played at Footy Park). So he taped the last quarter, I still have it, it's just amazing stuff!!!!!!!! I do remember watching that game, watching the time slip away and getting all despondent, then sitting up and screaming my head off as the comeback began. They'd kicked probably 2 goals when I knew they were gonna get home. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif We were living in a unit, and the people next door started yellin at me to shut the hell up, I just yelled back 'The Roys are winning, keep it down in there!!!!!!!!' hehehehe. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif I barely slept that night, I was just so pumped!!!!!!! And I remember seeing that small circle of Roy fans, making sooooooo much noise as the Crow fans left in their droves, and smiling happily. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif Great memory. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
------------------
Mobbenfuhrer
22 Mar 2001, 02:47
By Christ it was hard to get to the bar of the Albion Charles that evening!
There was media everywhere. Poor Shadow couldn't even get to the pool table, and Billy's tales of his lawn bowls losses were upstaged.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Mobbenfuhrer
3 Jan 2003, 08:07
Western Oval v Freo. Mellington taking one-handers. Krusty Dwyer passing over his shoulder. Peter Mann everybody's favourite.
The video of the match shows me standing on one of the dugouts, flag in one hand, tinny in the other. Pure, unadulterated ecstacy.
Assuming you were at the match, where were you located? Did you get involved in the throng on the ground? Also, did you level any punches at the media in the public bar of the club hotel?
Mobbenfuhrer
3 Jan 2003, 08:11
( hoping to get EVERY attendee listed here, as there weren't that many :( )
Mobben
I was stuck in Sydney, and the level of AFL coverage at the time was crap.
I only found out we won the following day.
Mobbenfuhrer
3 Jan 2003, 10:50
Originally posted by rabs68
Mobben
I was stuck in Sydney, and the level of AFL coverage at the time was crap.
I only found out we won the following day.
Oh no! See the angst thread ... you deserve a chapter for yourself!
foreveralion
3 Jan 2003, 12:17
I was almost on the fence in front of the whitten stand only a few metres down from the infamous king hit. After screaming abuse at the dog abley supported by me ma, along bounds John Blackman down the stairs beside us, viens popping out his neck, every drop of blood pulsating to his head. The anger coming out his mouth and the look of a rabid dog (cujo) I was amazed he did not jump the fence to take revenge! I'm sure it passed his mind.
Ahhh true roys passion
Mobbenfuhrer
3 Jan 2003, 12:56
foreveralion, were you located in the patch of terrace north or south of the race?
I know where I was during the match but not sure of where I was at the end of the night. I know I spent some time at the social club though.
Also know of another 3 who attended but would post here in some family friends.
Mobbenfuhrer
3 Jan 2003, 15:07
FitzroyRamone, one of the Dutch Bros and myself could be seen wandering around Junction Oval at about 2am after the social club closed.
I was a young 13 year old boy that day, on the fence behind the goals at the scoreboard end. Anyone who has the tape look for me behind the goals on the fence with a fitzroy flag, i mainly star in the third quarter when morton and cassidy kicked big goals.
Kev I was actually sitiing a box i used all the time but when I was given the kyhber pass, a certain sheila who will remain nameless but starts with Fran sat there so I couldnt.
I was standing with the cheese and kisses and and some of the magoo players.
foreveralion
4 Jan 2003, 06:22
North. I often think of that day and it makes me smile. My work had kept me away from many a game in those years, and I just happened to be free. It was an amazing feeling, I couldn't believe my luck. I even ran into the folks by accident that day, I didn't know they'd be there. Ahhhhhhh I gotta put on the vid.
go roy boys
Mr Ripper
4 Jan 2003, 15:07
John Gent Stand, couple of bays from the wing, 'bout half way back.
I can't be precise as to where I was standing but I know I was out on the ground afterwards running around like a headless chook.
What a wonderful day it was. What a tragedy it was our last win.
Noel Mugavin
4 Jan 2003, 20:51
i was behind south goals (pocket) hurling non stop abuse at that dufus reilly. what a dud. he copped an earful from me all day. unfortunately holmseys kinghit was far from us, however reaction from social club told us it was a low blow. last quarter and we headed to north end to watch mello finish them off.
onto the ground and spewed out a bit of vitriol. (these days if you run on the ground, you'll be placed in the sleeper within 1 minute by a bunch of chimpanzees in black) too many fun police about.
a mate living in perth sent me the match on video as it was telecast live in full over there. peter mann is an absolute coward. our little team blessed with youth, had no craig kelly style enforcer to give that dog something worse later in the match.
a glorious day
Rooster Demon
6 Jan 2003, 05:51
Although I am a Melb supporter I was also a member of the Roys in their last season (trying to do my bit) I also lived close to the Whitten Oval (in Yarraville)so it was quite convinient to walk home when one was pi$$ed.
I was standing on the south pocket, outer side near the ambulance gate.
Now was anybody at the last game at Subiaco.
Mobbenfuhrer
6 Jan 2003, 05:54
I saw the last game at the Fitzroy Club Hotel. I never had, and probably never will have, the money to get myself over to Perth :(
Rooster Demon
6 Jan 2003, 08:59
Just out of sheer dumb luck I was in Perth for 3 weeks at the end of season 96. I had worked the first weekend, the middle weekend was when my missus was coming over for a romantic rondezvous(sp?), so what else was a bloke to do but take her to the footy.
I bought 2 dockers members tickets off some cat at the gate for next to nothing , all records were sold out, but my dilligent wife, whilst on a walk to get me a cold bevvy, asked a gatekeeper if he knew where any records were, and he gave up his.
It now sits as a favourite piece of footy memorabilia.
A very sad day in footy (i cant imagine losing the team i loved), I will be honest and say i was crying as well.
I then got lost walking back to the city!!
Mobbenfuhrer
6 Jan 2003, 09:05
Appreciate your sentiments, RD! A good account and almost sad to read.
I spent the last game as blind as a bat in the Social Club commiserating with other and looking mornfully at the bottom of the glass.
Mobbenfuhrer
6 Jan 2003, 14:41
I was in the public bar, were you there or in the social club part? I'm pretty sure you would have been in the bar with us, eh?
Minding my own business in my chair in the Whitten stand. Who would have guessed that that game was to be our last win in league football. There were only 5,300 of us or thereabouts. I remember walking out to the car park kicking drink cans totally ****ed off. Here we were fighting to keep the Club in the AFL and only 5,300 bother to turn up! What hope did we have? Meanwhile back at Brunswick Street,(where this home game should have been held) Uni Reds (now FITZROY Reds) were playing Old Caulfield Grammarians and their goal umpire was desperate to get across to Whitten Oval to see the great result.
At least the Fitzroy name is back at Brunswick Street where it belongs .
Mobbenfuhrer
7 Jan 2003, 05:52
It was true the crowd was tiny ... I think it was 5100.
You could tell that all the fair weather fans had gone, because almost NOBODY was serene and calm that day, the 5000 Roys fans were almost to a person riotously celebrating ... normally that would just be a fair percentage.
Too right about the Reds, too! Hope you're still going to their matches this year, could be a big one!
Originally posted by Rooster Demon
Now was anybody at the last game at Subiaco.
Yep.
Up behind the goals - where it was standing room.
Bittersweet memories.
Will never forget it. :(
Rooster Demon
7 Jan 2003, 17:33
Originally posted by Denno
Yep.
Up behind the goals - where it was standing room.
Bittersweet memories.
Will never forget it. :(
How good is the beer situation there? I dont know if it is the same now, but in 96 you could buy a take away jug. Only bad thing is their beer.
yeah went to the last game in Perth, bloody beer was only light, and stood with Shirley Hardy-Rix, Brian Rix, Jean Chaundy, Jan Wright, Alan and Galia Hardy etc oh and my missus.
As being sacked by Brisbane form my job at Fitzroy had been organising through Ian McCulloch to have a bash there, not knowing it was going to be our wake.
Had done it earlier in the year, and spoken to various former FFC players, as to their availability, and Laurie Richards came over from Perth for the Centenary Celebs' and was lucky enough to sit with him at the AFL Legends dinner that year and Jack Collins, Kezza O'Keefe, Billy Sykes.
I suppose I was lucky that year got to travel the country side getting signatures from The Baron, The Flea, Superboot, Perty Roosy and Ossie for the Auction, and for my personal collection.
But the best was when The Baron gave me photos (copies) from his album and autographed them, the man is a legend.
But nothing prepared me (or any others) what was about to unfold, but spending time at Fleas farm with him and his missus was a highlight I won't forget.
And being involved with the AFL as Fitzroy rep' on the Centenary Committee, and helping to organise that year was a buzz, the tears come back
Walking form Perth City to the Brisbane Hotel with a lot of Fitzroy, and cannot rememebr the geeza with the FFC flag just said 'This is a sign' and getting all the players then and there to sign my jumper, then back to the hotel and a few bevies the sign on the door of the pub said no football, working or swimming gear allowed but the bouncer said for Fitzroy anything he even cried later, but we didn't buy a beer every one shouted us.
Then the tears flowed again as I did 2 radio interviews form the restaurant, and then in walked Bernie, all after that is a blurr.
Was on the members' side walking between the two stands. Saw Blackman's performance. Thought he'd gone mad, but then I think I understood.
Almost hollow feeling to the win. Fremantle really were atrocious. Still, any win, and all that.
Took my car home to Elsternwick after the game and caught the train and tram over to the Club Hotel. Got suitably p*ssed with Chis Johnson's mom and dad and with John Rombotis's dad, in a little bar area out the back of the pub.
Watched all the news crews from TV turn up. The 5,000 of us were the biggest sports story in Melb. that night. By this time, I'd decided I was pretty excited. Could have been the booze though.
Was talking intermittently to this Scottish bloke and this very attractive twenty-five-year-old woman. Scottish bloke was witty and interesting. He had no interest in Aussie Rules at all. He had just happened upon the most ecstatic celebration he'd ever seen. He did however realise the day's importance to us Fizzroy supporters. I ran into him in the toilet, during one of my many visits.
He asked, "How does it feel to have won?"
I said, "Mate, it's better than sex."
He said, "I think I may be about to find out about that".
"What do you mean?" I said.
"See that bird I'm talking to?" (This is the attractive twenty-fiver)
"Yeh, what about her?"
"I was here a couple of weeks ago, and she apparently provided oral relief for ten blokes, in the carpark, after the pub closed."
"No need to ask why you're talking to her then." said I. Seems he hadn't just happened on the place.
Sad to report that I never checked how he got on. Personally, I couldn't have even roused an interest in Claudia Karvan by this stage.
Spent the next three hours or so talking to a Sergeant in the Major Fraud Squad. Very unnerving, but interesting, for him.
Left the pub about midnight and ended up walking all the way down Brunswick St, to the city, in a vain search for somewhere decent to eat. Caught a cab home, went to bed, and played the game all over again in my mind, the footy that is.
Mobbenfuhrer
11 Jan 2003, 05:41
Originally posted by skilts
Took my car home to Elsternwick after the game and caught the train and tram over to the Club Hotel. Got suitably p*ssed with Chis Johnson's mom and dad and with John Rombotis's dad, in a little bar area out the back of the pub.
You mean where they'd cordoned off the driveway to the bottleshop? Did you see a bloke or bird throw up there? That was right beside me.
Spent the next three hours or so talking to a Sergeant in the Major Fraud Squad. Very unnerving, but interesting, for him.
I wonder if that was Brian Rix.[/B]
Mobs, the memory is a bit sketchy , for above-mentioned reasons. Tend to think it wasn't near the bottle shop, but rather inside the pub proper. Don't recall anyone having an oral dump.
Re: Brian Rix, no it wasn't him. I am however, VERY interested in speaking very seriously to anyone who knows this bloke. ATM, I believe he's the head of the Homicide Squad. If the reason you ask this question is because you know Brian, please PM me. I need an 'in' with this bloke because he holds the key to some research I'm doing. Up to this point, I've found the Homicide Squad to be less than cooperative, so I'd appreciate any help.
Mobbenfuhrer
11 Jan 2003, 08:35
Just met him cause of the footy, didn;t know him properly.
Levo knows him better!
Ta, anyway, Mobs. Hopefully, Levo may reply.
Mobbenfuhrer
11 Jan 2003, 08:55
Nah he won't reply, he hates name-dropping. :D
Mobbenfuhrer
13 Jun 2003, 15:25
Anyone remember Clive Waterhouse's thirty odd unforced errors in the final AFL football victory?
It started when he ran out in his stupid long white hair, as though he was Jesus and Fitzroy wasn't.
Immediately the massing throng of 5000 ( or thereabouts :) ) Roys fans took to him like a colony of ants takes to a fly that you've torn the wings off and dropped onto the ground near its patch entrance. There may not have been a record crowd there, but there was certainly a record number of concerted effort contributors.
Needless to say, not too long into the match, the normally funcitonal Clive finally got out onto his own which was the only way he was going to achieve possessiondom.
Standing freely and unhindered for the mark, he cleanly spilt the pill and then chased it around for a minute at ground level, to the cheerful derision of the Roys throng who found a special glee in eating Clives to make them dead.
Now subject to even louder and more coherent attention from the crowd, Clive continued on to perform an assortment of royal stuff-ups, now at the complete mercy of the chanting warriors in the stands.
Cliiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiive .... they would say ... Cliiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiive .... and he didn't let us down ... by ensuring he let himself, and his team, and his team's supporters, down. He would have better served humanity by digging himself a hole and burying himself in it. But he wasn't serving humanity, he was serving Fitzroy, and what a pleasant, trooublefree thrall he made.
It was a pleasure to be a part of the swarm that made Clive cry.
Justifiable infliction of trauma. It's faaaaantastic.
Mobbenfuhrer
16 Jun 2003, 15:51
I have a feeling everybody else on this board just says they're Fitzroy supporters ... :D
Clliiiiiiiiiiiiiivvve! Show us your stuff Cliiiiiiiiiiiiiive.
Where's the surfboard, Cliiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiive.
Almost as bad as Saverrrrrrriiiiiiiiiiioooo!
Fitzroys last win...how many of the 5,200 odd 'die-hards' in this group were actually at this game....???
I know I was there with my old man and sister. 25 metres to the right of the Fitzroy race.
Mobbenfuhrer
27 Jul 2003, 03:43
Straight up the steps from the main gate. Celebrating birthday.
Other discussion re this match can be found here :
1996 - Round 08 v Fremantle (Western Oval) : here (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=71689) and here (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=56047)
With Mobben celebrating merrily until some ungodly hour of the morning drunk somewhere. Started the day in the Royal Oak too I think.
Mr Ripper
28 Jul 2003, 20:56
I was there. Finished the day elated that we won, yet deflated by the fact that only 5,000 showed up.
It didn't augur well as they say in the classics.
Mobbenfuhrer
28 Jul 2003, 23:22
Originally posted by Slax
With Mobben celebrating merrily until some ungodly hour of the morning drunk somewhere. Started the day in the Royal Oak too I think.
Remember we were at Mothers Bar and then Carlton Club on the Friday night beforehand. STuffed if I remember where we were on Saturday night!
Yippyio
29 Jul 2003, 00:09
Was behind the goals at the Scoreboard end for the first 3 quarters, before i moved to the City end in the last quarter with a few 100 other Fitzroy supporters.
Fat Pizza
29 Jul 2003, 09:12
I was standing a few metres to the left of Mobbenfuhrer & the gang.
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
Remember we were at Mothers Bar and then Carlton Club on the Friday night beforehand. STuffed if I remember where we were on Saturday night!
Memory gets me back to the social club after that I'm stuffed. From memory I think that was the game I tried to jump the fence at the station only to end up on my arse (twice), then face first in the grass.
I'd like to add that I was also in attendance, with my then boyfriend who is now deceased so I thought I'd add him because if he was alive he'd be posting here too. :D
It was funny, I can't remember where I was meant to be but I had somewhere else to be that day, and I put my foot down and went to the footy instead. And I am very bloody glad I did. :)
Tim the Toolman
17 Sep 2005, 11:44
There's no place for "on the ground in the south-eastern pocket!" :cool:
Tim the Toolman
17 Sep 2005, 11:45
Did you know lil Hitler Nunan didn't allow the players to sing the theme song after this win? :mad:
Love it... I was at this game and playing on the Sunday... when I got to the ground to play I was told I had been dropped to the 2's because I was on the piss the night before.. Unfortunately some twat from the Age had snapped a pic of me cheering a goal with a green can raised in the air and published it right in the middle of the paper...
Fat Pizza
5 Sep 2007, 09:14
Love it... I was at this game and playing on the Sunday... when I got to the ground to play I was told I had been dropped to the 2's because I was on the piss the night before.. Unfortunately some twat from the Age had snapped a pic of me cheering a goal with a green can raised in the air and published it right in the middle of the paper...
In that same paper is a photo of my father & a few other blokes congratulating Mick Nunan on the win. If you know where to look, you can even see a glimpse of me in the background.
ReluctantLion
12 Sep 2007, 03:23
I remember that game against the Crows so vividly!!!!!!!! Dad was living in Adelaide at the time, and was listening on the radio, and the TV coverage was delayed half an hour (since it was being played at Footy Park). So he taped the last quarter, I still have it, it's just amazing stuff!!!!!!!! I do remember watching that game, watching the time slip away and getting all despondent, then sitting up and screaming my head off as the comeback began. They'd kicked probably 2 goals when I knew they were gonna get home. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif We were living in a unit, and the people next door started yellin at me to shut the hell up, I just yelled back 'The Roys are winning, keep it down in there!!!!!!!!' hehehehe. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif I barely slept that night, I was just so pumped!!!!!!! And I remember seeing that small circle of Roy fans, making sooooooo much noise as the Crow fans left in their droves, and smiling happily. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif Great memory. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
------------------
Was brilliant. I was living in Adelaide at the time and had interstate membership and was the last game I saw Fitzroy play live.
Will never forget it. Went to the before game dinner and Bernie Quinlan in a speech stated how confident he was of a victory. Don't reckon many shared his optimism.
Walking into the ground wearing my Fitzroy guernsey was an experience. Some feral kids in Adelaide:eek:
Noticed other Roys who obviously knew the deal put their scarves on once seated so I guess I had it coming.
Got roped into helping put the banner up as there were that few Roys there. Was useless as a tits on bulls after the obligatory ales I'd already consumed :cool:
Then to win was brilliant and have the players come over and acknowledge us.
We must have gotten a bit of footage during the last quarter as quite a few of the boys from work seen me during the coverage in my Fitzroy guernsey going nuts :D
dannitori
14 Sep 2007, 21:30
Good post Mobbs, reminds me of those mob netters! I remember standing there with all the mentioned! Ahh the good days...
Mobbenfuhrer
25 Oct 2009, 12:47
Hurry and get these before they are removed :D
#1 U13YWZkyWns
#2 nlEUSe4Y7As
#3 ausWOf1rCGA
#4 IYWFVsGx9M8
#5 Xf4FJTXwJOc
#6 VQfL5D8Xixs
#7 WX8_X-KRjl4
#8 QphWKKOKerM
#9 JFPFEhaX9QE
#10 k2NdpAPdZ84
#11 dQHv6VHGGjU
#12 QlenJjR7sKA
#13 KIf5VtExbKQ
Wonaeamirri33
25 Oct 2009, 16:17
YES! Excellent post mate... am about to start the process of downloading them too ;)
Mobbenfuhrer
25 Oct 2009, 16:25
took me about 12 hrs on windows movie maker ... simple yet effective ...
Mr Ripper
25 Oct 2009, 17:07
I really need to get a thingy that can suck up my videos and position them on the internet.
Mobbenfuhrer
25 Oct 2009, 17:15
what's the closest thing to a thingy that you have at the moment?
vhs?
i have a VHS->DVD thingy (also works as VHS->computer thingy) that I can't use at the moment, if you want to borrow ... we are in the same city
Mr Ripper
25 Oct 2009, 17:18
Yeah, pretty much everything VHS (most of it was originally Beta! :o)
Last of the Roys
9 Feb 2012, 23:34
Sorry but I had to bump this old thread.
I just watched Fitzroy's last victory of the first time in years.
I was there that day with my mum and my sisters as we always were in those last few years. I sat in the old Whitten stand for the first half, then went up to the scoreboard end to stand for the 3rd and helped start a (small) wave of supporters moving to the northern end to stand up behind the goals for the last quarter.
I think it was our lowest crowd in the modern era, 5083 (except for that match against West Coast at the Whitten Oval in 1995 when it poured with rain all day - they claimed 5,344 turned up but there was no way there was much more than 3,000 there that day).
However on the T.V. coverage the crowd sounds enormous. It seriously sounded like there was 15,000 there - it was just that every one of the 5,000 were acting like fanatics.
The win was fantastic at the time, although we were under no illusions we were dying, it was bloody sweet. Ran on to the ground at the final siren with about 1,000 others - the mood was utter defiance. It was a great night back at our hotel celebrating the win.
What surprised me from the video was how good and how much potential so many of our players showed that day. The following link has the stats from that game, and I followed the links on the website to look at the careers of each of the Fitzroy players from that day:
http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/games/1996/060819960518.html
- Nick Carter 31 disposals - I think he basically won his Brisbane contract on the back of this game. Showed potential but never really lived up to it. Played a total of 25 games.
- Pike 26 disposals - Brisbane should have picked him straight away but at least we got him in the end. A surprise packet in that he made the most of his potential with 247 games, and won 4 premierships.
- Johnny Barker 25 disposals, 7 marks, 1 goal - he just had so much potential, it was a shame it ended so soon at Brisbane and that he only really had two good years at the Hawks, with 168 games in total.
- Dent - 25 disposals - probably got the most he could out of himself playing in the backline at the Roys and Bulldogs with 118 games.
- Chrisy Johnson 24 disposals, 3 goals and was great that day, including spending time winning centre clearances - one of the few players that surprisingly got the most out of himself, when it could have gone the other way with some shit coaching early in his career at Brisbane. Played 264 games - the most from this Fitzroy team, and won 3 premierships with the Lions. A great career for my favourite player at the time.
- Dwyer 23 disposals and 1 goal - was really good that day in what was his final year.
- Molloy was awesome at full back with 22 disposals. He would be awesome in patches at Brisbane, then Collingwood, but injuries meant he never really fulfilled his potential. Managed 169 games. God I loved Molly and his antics - it was sad he left the Lions.
- Simon Hawking 22 disposals - on his day he was just as good as Molly, Johnno and Barker - it was a tragedy that injuries meant he never played again after 1996.
- Bamford 20 disposals - was good for the Roys in 1996 and ended up with 59 games in total.
- Primus 19 disposals, 14 hit outs - was a great first year player, but his career was cut short by injuries - only got to 157 games.
- Rombotis 18 disposals and 2 goals - had potential but never really came on. Played 48 games.
- McCarthy - 18 disposals in his 150th match - played well when he came to Fitzroy in 1993, but struggled in his last few years along with the team.
- Mellington - 14 disposals, 8 marks, 6 goals - pretty much best on ground showing enormous potential but never really made it. Ended up playing 44 games.
- Danny Morton - 12 disposals, 1 goal - he did alright chalking up 50 games with Fitzroy and Port
- Clayton 12 disposals - ended up a pretty reasonable career of 117 games, mostly with North
- Cassidy - 11 disposals and 2 goals - could hardly remember him but he was good that day. Played 16 games, including 2 at Collingwood in 1997.
- Franky Bizzotto 10 disposals - always put in, I liked him but he spent many games playing in the reserves. Didn't play again after 1996.
- Paxman only 8 disposals - definitely got the most out of himself as solid backman at Fitzroy and Port. 240 games
- McGregor 4 disposals - I don't remember him really, 1996 was his last year.
- Holmes - 3 disposals - again I don't really remember him, 1996 was his final year.
- Boyd 3 disposals - played injured against Freo and came off early. He played injured most of 1996 I think - which didn't help him through the hell of the next few years. If it wasn't for his injuries he was genuinely a potential Brownlow medalist - I remember one of his few games for Brisbane in 1999 he picked up 30 possessions and kicked 4 goals. All in all he only managed 85 games due to his horrendous back / hamstring injuries.
Mobbenfuhrer
10 Feb 2012, 00:14
tRv_wd0hB5I
I doubt this would ever happen or be able to be verified, but it would be interesting to see a list of the 5083 people (and where they were) from the game.
How many of the 5083 would have been Fitzroy supporters? I can't remember if the Freo cheer squad was there and does that figure include staff from the teams? How many of that number would still be with us? I'm sure a few have been taken away from this place in the past 16 years.
If this was the US, ESPN would probably have some docco about the last Fitzroy team that won and with such a small number in the crowd, maybe something about us too ;).
Soul1986
10 Feb 2012, 21:01
I doubt this would ever happen or be able to be verified, but it would be interesting to see a list of the 5083 people (and where they were) from the game.
How many of the 5083 would have been Fitzroy supporters? I can't remember if the Freo cheer squad was there and does that figure include staff from the teams? How many of that number would still be with us? I'm sure a few have been taken away from this place in the past 16 years.
If this was the US, ESPN would probably have some docco about the last Fitzroy team that won and with such a small number in the crowd, maybe something about us too ;).
I would say 95% would have been Fitzroy supporters. Sure, neutral people could have attended, but this is no different to any other game.
There were a handful of Freo cheer squad members located in the outer on the Doug Hawkins wing. For those who remember, the away cheer squad was situated on the outer wing with a very small section of wooden seats which were fenced off from the outer.
It makes me sick remembering that ground, with mostly gravel rocks located behind ond set of goals and the rest of the ground not much better.
Crowd figures only include people who pay on the day or are members.
Team staff, club officials etc are not included. They are provided with their own special club passes/tickets, which are provided by the AFL.
Catsmaninamerica
11 Feb 2012, 20:50
I was there that day with my mum and my sisters as we always were in those last few years. I sat in the old Whitten stand for the first half, then went up to the scoreboard end to stand for the 3rd and helped start a (small) wave of supporters moving to the northern end to stand up behind the goals for the last quarter.
I think it was our lowest crowd in the modern era, 5083 (except for that match against West Coast at the Whitten Oval in 1995 when it poured with rain all day - they claimed 5,344 turned up but there was no way there was much more than 3,000 there that day).
However on the T.V. coverage the crowd sounds enormous. It seriously sounded like there was 15,000 there - it was just that every one of the 5,000 were acting like fanatics.
The win was fantastic at the time, although we were under no illusions we were dying, it was bloody sweet. Ran on to the ground at the final siren with about 1,000 others - the mood was utter defiance. It was a great night back at our hotel celebrating the win.
What surprised me from the video was how good and how much potential so many of our players showed that day. The following link has the stats from that game, and I followed the links on the website to look at the careers of each of the Fitzroy players from that day:
- Nick Carter 31 disposals - I think he basically won his Brisbane contract on the back of this game. Showed potential but never really lived up to it. Played a total of 25 games.
- Pike 26 disposals - Brisbane should have picked him straight away but at least we got him in the end. A surprise packet in that he made the most of his potential with 247 games, and won 4 premierships.
- Johnny Barker 25 disposals, 7 marks, 1 goal - he just had so much potential, it was a shame it ended so soon at Brisbane and that he only really had two good years at the Hawks, with 168 games in total.
- Dent - 25 disposals - probably got the most he could out of himself playing in the backline at the Roys and Bulldogs with 118 games.
- Chrisy Johnson 24 disposals, 3 goals and was great that day, including spending time winning centre clearances - one of the few players that surprisingly got the most out of himself, when it could have gone the other way with some shit coaching early in his career at Brisbane. Played 264 games - the most from this Fitzroy team, and won 3 premierships with the Lions. A great career for my favourite player at the time.
- Dwyer 23 disposals and 1 goal - was really good that day in what was his final year.
- Molloy was awesome at full back with 22 disposals. He would be awesome in patches at Brisbane, then Collingwood, but injuries meant he never really fulfilled his potential. Managed 169 games. God I loved Molly and his antics - it was sad he left the Lions.
- Simon Hawking 22 disposals - on his day he was just as good as Molly, Johnno and Barker - it was a tragedy that injuries meant he never played again after 1996.
- Bamford 20 disposals - was good for the Roys in 1996 and ended up with 59 games in total.
- Primus 19 disposals, 14 hit outs - was a great first year player, but his career was cut short by injuries - only got to 157 games.
- Rombotis 18 disposals and 2 goals - had potential but never really came on. Played 48 games.
- McCarthy - 18 disposals in his 150th match - played well when he came to Fitzroy in 1993, but struggled in his last few years along with the team.
- Mellington - 14 disposals, 8 marks, 6 goals - pretty much best on ground showing enormous potential but never really made it. Ended up playing 44 games.
- Danny Morton - 12 disposals, 1 goal - he did alright chalking up 50 games with Fitzroy and Port
- Clayton 12 disposals - ended up a pretty reasonable career of 117 games, mostly with North
- Cassidy - 11 disposals and 2 goals - could hardly remember him but he was good that day. Played 16 games, including 2 at Collingwood in 1997.
- Franky Bizzotto 10 disposals - always put in, I liked him but he spent many games playing in the reserves. Didn't play again after 1996.
- Paxman only 8 disposals - definitely got the most out of himself as solid backman at Fitzroy and Port. 240 games
- Holmes - 3 disposals - again I don't really remember him, 1996 was his final year.
- Boyd 3 disposals - played injured against Freo and came off early. He played injured most of 1996 I think - which didn't help him through the hell of the next few years. If it wasn't for his injuries he was genuinely a potential Brownlow medalist - I remember one of his few games for Brisbane in 1999 he picked up 30 possessions and kicked 4 goals. All in all he only managed 85 games due to his horrendous back / hamstring injuries.
imo, better player than Barker and Molloy. Was a genuine jet. Saw him keep Dunstall goalless. Saw hm shut Ablett out and goalless (in fact ran up the ground and kicked one on him at Optus) until he did a hammy just on half time. Had a beautiful long left foot and could take hang. Injuries crippled him.
Freomaniac
16 Mar 2012, 23:53
Looking at the that team that beat Fremantle on that day... Its a shame that Fitzroy are not in the AFL anymore.
Some of those guys that Left Fitzroy in 1996 did manage to have a decent career with other clubs. 3 of those guys that played in that win managed to Play in Ports Original Squad in 1997.
I would of loved to have found out what would of Happened had Fitzroy had the chance to develop that list for another 4 years, even as little as 2 years. They would of easily of been competitive.
Yet on the other hand the swans in the Early 1990s were in similar situation yet were given the time to get back on their feet again.
Looking at the Current day AFL with its equalisation rules, draft system, salary cap and Player development, You can recruit 5-9 teenagers in one draft year. Then put 2-3 years and 40-60 games under their belt and improve the team dramatically.
Looking at that List : Molloy, Barker, Pike, Paxman, Primus, Chris Johnson etc. You could of built a team with some of these Fitzroy guys.
3KZ is Football
23 Mar 2012, 20:10
I didn't make it to this one, but I do remember where I was when I heard the result though. I was living in Warrnambool at the time and snapper fishing on a mates boat when the final score came over the radio he had on board.
The win capped off a great day's fishing.
I was 15, my Dad took us to whitten oval every time we played there, my mate and I got the ball a total of 7 times behind the north goals. Unheard of in modern footy. We often talk about it, absolute great memories.
Roy Fitzlion
26 Mar 2012, 20:15
Will never ever forget this game. Last AFL game I went to until Round 19 2007 and the very last game me and my dad went to.
I know that some of the Roys there that day are no longer with us but at the time the 5000 or so in attendance (mostly Roys) went nuts. I remember two drunk roys in the toilets singing the Roys song at the top of their voices.........at half time!
No one wanted to leave that god forsaken ground at the end of the game......just too happy........and there was a feeling that we had to make the most of it......it was the last stand.......the end was inevitable.
tassielions
22 Apr 2012, 20:46
Unfortunately I was at Uni in Hobart at the uni college I was living at listening to the footy all day. I was so pumped that day wore my jumper all week to dinner around Uni played the Fitzroy song full blast after the game people were knocking on my door as I locked myself in my room. I know it sounds silly but I wanted to have the moment to myself. As I could only go to the games during the semester break I saw went to the Melbourne game and then the Geelong game when we were basically told we had to merge or die. I remember everybody after the game chanting Fitzroy in front of the John Gent Stand for about fifteen minutes and then the last game I ever went to was the Essendon game where everybody just walked around as if their hearts had been taken out and thrown in acid. It was one of the saddest days of my life knowing I would never be able to see the roys again. I have the fremantle game on tape thanks to Seven two and the last game in Melbourne and the Fremantle Game in Perth. I managed to get a footy record from that game.
Was at the game with some friends, initially sat in front of the social club stand, then moved and stood in front of the Whitten Stand near the end of the game.
Everyone went nuts when we won, amazing noise. Remember the boys with arms around each other sang the theme song on the ground in front of the majority of supporters in front of the Whitten Stand. Supporters standing of the terrace crying, singing... Can remember feeling that my heart would break but happy and so proud of the win.
Lots of us stood around till we got kicked off the oval after the game...finally caught the train home and wandering the streets home with my scarf on and getting tooted!. Wore my scarf for the whole of the following day even while I went out to get some groceries...got cheered by some people in the queue at Safeway!