View Full Version : Roystock 2001
Mobbenfuhrer
5th March 2001, 04:17
FitzroyRamone and I are taking a lead given both yonks ago in the Brisbane official forum, and then more recently in the Brisbane board here on BigFooty. We'll be grabbing a couple of mates and dragging them to Brunswick Street Oval for the Labour Day holiday, and just having a general get-together and drinks.
Weather permitting, a barbecue and a kick-to-kick will probably also be implemented.
Perhaps I can cart along a small portable barbie to set up under cover, even if it's rainin'.
The idea would be just to gather together Roys fans for a pleasant day of togetherness. Sing a couple of songs, kick the leather, just have a good time.
Anyone else interested? Probably an early start, 11am or such, but no need to turn up on time.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
lioness
5th March 2001, 05:26
Yep, I'm pretty sure I can be there. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif
------------------
*the one and only lioness*
Mobbenfuhrer
5th March 2001, 05:36
Great to hear!
There'll be no commitment, if someone says they can make it, but something comes up and they have to be somewhere else, we're not going to be shirty with them.
No pressure http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Olmy
5th March 2001, 14:27
Unfortunately Melb. Uni don't honour Labour Day (what is that? some type of protest against the working class? http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/rolleyes.gif ) . . . so . . . I'll be able to make it up until about 1.30, or so! (Before having to go back to uni, pissed off my nut, wearing a Roys jumper, and telling everyone all about it!!).
Carn the Roys!!!
[This message has been edited by Olmy (edited 05 March 2001).]
Fat Pizza
6th March 2001, 06:01
I'm going away that weekend, but it sounds like fun.
Enjoy it.
Olmy
6th March 2001, 06:42
Yep, I'm pretty sure I'll be there now. I'll have to come from uni, and then go back later, but that shouldn't pose a problem.
I'll bring a footy, and six of the best!
Is it also acceptable to bring a South Melbourne supporter along? He's pretty good on the Fitzroy knowledge, likes a BBQ and a drink, and also played with the Fitzroy U-15's squad back a few years ago (when they used to have the U-19's and all that).
He (Glenn) actually trained on Brunswick St. Oval in his time with the Roys U-15's. Brett Chandler was also doing the rounds with the Roys junior development sqauds at the time.
Yep, so I'll be there! (Possibly with a South Melbourne supporter - if no-one has any objections http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif ).
This one's post #500, btw. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
------------------
http://members.tripod.com/bartron/afl/lgsmile-FITZ.gif Carn the Roys!!!
Olmy
6th March 2001, 06:48
Is anyone bringing any food (ie: of Biblical proportions), or is it every man for himself?
Phil Doyle
6th March 2001, 11:44
to quote the Australian poet Kenneth Slessor...
"wouldn't I?
wouldn't I what!"
See ya with bells on!
PS - Some dirty bastard's pinched the ancient sherrin we pinched from Ainslie Footy Club. Bloody thieves! Bring a footy!
FitzroyRamone
6th March 2001, 11:54
I'll be there for sure. I might even get my hair permed for the occasion and shave it down the middle for that authentic Lee Murnane look (just no Fitzroy jumper with a 41 om the back). As for the food, it's strictly BYO cow carcass, or perhaps some salmon for thsoe pescetarians amongst you.
Hopefully the weather will be nice, functions at Brunswick Street are always fun. Perhaps during kick-to-kick, we can pretend we're Fitzroy players who actually played at the ground. If so, I'm going to be Wally Clark!
Cheers,
FitzroyRamone
Mobbenfuhrer
6th March 2001, 14:49
Bring your mate, Olmy http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
Of course all are welcome.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
lioness
6th March 2001, 15:18
Congrats on that 500th post Olmy. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
------------------
Olmy
7th March 2001, 05:47
Yep. Glenn will be in. He's a South Melbourne supporter. I'm also bringing this guy 'Riley' along. He's a Carlton supporter. I'm not sure why - he doesn't have much in common with any Carlton supporters I know - in fact, he's from the bush, originally.
Levo
8th March 2001, 23:43
G'day Mobbenfuhrer, hey still on for that piss up in September I'll maybe try and raise the pounds, also I NEED A BLOODY FOOTY mine got nicked by some pommy convict thief.
Levo
Mobbenfuhrer
9th March 2001, 01:30
Fair enough Levo.
You were right about the Freake, too, eh.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Mobbenfuhrer
10th March 2001, 01:14
FitzroyReamone http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif :
Slax and Ned Grump are lobbing on Monday. Grump's gonna look around for his footy.
As a reminder to all. Bring some snags or whatever you eat (is there such a thing as facon beetroot?) if you want, cause we're gonna see if the barbie there still works, assuming its not a miserable day.
And if someone has a footy, please bring it, cause apart from Grump, none of us folks over here bloody have one.
BYO drinks, too, though there's a pub basically across the road.
I'll endeavour to get there by 11am, in case of early arrivals.
Olmy
10th March 2001, 12:42
Might be there before 11. I'll bring a footy, and a mate (not the Sth Melb. one), will be coming along too.
Mobbenfuhrer
10th March 2001, 21:42
See you around 11am ... all are welcome
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Mobbenfuhrer
12th March 2001, 04:49
Just getting this back up to the top, so's I can remind everybody.
Plenty of folks have signalled that they'll be lobbing ... for those familiar with the old Lynch Mob, I've got yeas from Travis, Gav, the Rosanna mob, possibly Higgsomatic, and the Boundys.
Should be a good outing.
Don't forget to BYO tucker, there's a grog shop nearby.
Couple of folks are bringing a footy so that's all square.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Mobbenfuhrer
13th March 2001, 02:27
I'm pumped.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Mobbenfuhrer
16th March 2001, 02:04
Well, I and three others arrived at 11.15am, beaten to the punch by Olmy, who was already out there having a kick.
Others to make an appearance were Bundy, 2 x Boundy, FitzroyRamone, and a number of others, I think all in all we only had a total of 11 present, and the BBQ was no longer there which made things difficult, but it was still a great day.
Maybe we'll prepare it better next time.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
lioness
16th March 2001, 05:25
Sounds like it was alright!!!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif I am sorry I couldn't attend, there were quite a few of you I was really looking forward to meeting. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif BUT for me, I spent half my Monday morning (the very early hours) on the phone to America (no guesses why http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif lol) and yeah, crashed not long after. Can we have another of these get-togethers though, coz I would really love another chance to meet everyone. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
------------------
Mobbenfuhrer
19th March 2001, 04:11
No wuckas lioness.
How about a wake anniversary on September 1, starting at 4.45pm?
Especially seeing as it will be the 5th anniversary this year.
(I mean this year will be the 5th anniversary, we haven't alread had four anniversaries this year.)
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
UK Roy
19th March 2001, 04:48
And 57 years since we last won the flag!.
Sounds like a good excuse for a party.
lioness
19th March 2001, 05:03
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer:
No wuckas lioness.
How about a wake anniversary on September 1, starting at 4.45pm?
Especially seeing as it will be the 5th anniversary this year.
(I mean this year will be the 5th anniversary, we haven't alread had four anniversaries this year.)
Sounds great, count me in. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
------------------
lioness
22nd March 2001, 05:30
There is a very strong chance I will be going to America, not sure for how long, but I won't be here in September now. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/frown.gif GRRRRRRRRRRRRR.
------------------