View Full Version : Great Roys marks.
Out of the great marks by Roys players that I remember, the two best would have come from Chris Johnson in '96. First round, against Hawthorn, and later in the centenary match against Carlton.
I've also got a highlights video of stuff from the 80's with a few Roys, including Perty, Osborne, Roos and Rosco Lyon taking a few screamers. I remember Roosy pulling down a ripper against WCE in late in '88 (we won by 80 odd points that night).
Doc Wheildon almost pulled down mark of the century against the Saints back in 94. That was the day McCarthy kicked a goal with his heal, facing away from goal in the goalsquare (!). I reckon he might have had the helmet on a bit too tight that day . . .
Molloy was another who took a few big ones in '96.
Gary Pert was generally up to attempting the big grab. When he started , Roos use to ALWAYS go for mark of the year until they shifted him to the wing and further back. Chris J. was always tempted ( still is ). Lynch took a classic V North at the G - pack surfing.
The best one I saw was Ozzie at Pie Park V Bombers in 86. He was on fire and stood on Foulds' (?) temple for a real one grabber - and slotted the goal.
Yeah, forgot that Lynch one. Won mark of the year in '89, it did.
Mr Ripper
8 Mar 2001, 14:29
Anyone who arrived in time to see the reserves matches back in 1984 were usually treated one or two Kevin Taylor 'specials'.
------------------
Olmy knows best
Mobbenfuhrer
8 Mar 2001, 16:08
Tom Kavanagh in the magoos at Western Oval (a different venue to wherever the seniors played that round).
Wasn't there, but mates who were would not stop going on about it. Then saw a photo of it in a paper. Corker!
Hawking took a good one while playing at full back once.
Cougah Mellington's one hander at Western Oval v Freo.
Baldwin in the air turning into the mark encompassed in tackle over at, I think, Perth.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
I'm pretty sure I remember seeing that pic in the paper of Kavanagh's mark.
Mellington's one hander was pretty special, as was Billy McCormack's one hander (whilst diving away from an opponent, who was holding on!) against Adelaide in the pre-season semi in '92.
Osborne also took a few good one hander's.
I remember seeing Hawking take a number of strong marks in packs - he had a pretty good pair of hands. Shame about his kicking though!
I think that Baldwin grab was in '93, when we pumped the WCE's, with Lynch kicking 6 or so.
My old man used to reckon Tony Ongarello was the best mark in the game, but couldn't kick to save his life. Oldlion, is this correct?
Tony as I recall was in many ways similar to Charlie Manson - not THAT bad a kick but in those days scoring was very hard so any set shot was critical. He had what would be described todays as the yips. He got so bad that he even attempted the place kick occasionally. He may have had a brother who played as well.
Tony's other claim was that he was ( an still is I suspect ) a bit of a dasher around town - buckets of charm and bonhomie. He affected the pipe to add gravitas to his deliberations and spent many years on the ABC Footy panel with Chicken, Roy Wright and the gang. A touch of the wing commander, complete with blazer.
Amazingly I actually bought my house from him ( as the easy going estate agent ) and we waxed on about the GOD ( good old days ).
All in all, a lovely chap.
Fat Pizza
9 Mar 2001, 09:23
Paul Roos, over Hawthorn's John Kennedy in the 1983 Qualifying Final - an absolute classic.
Pert took a few rippers. One over Michael Tuck & others. One over Simon Madden.
Lynchy's mark over North was sensational. The photos don't do it justice.
Michael Reeves also took a fantastic mark at Windy Hill. He would have just about beaten Jai Taurima in the long jump as well. Of course Jai was only 4 years old at the time. No seriously, he jumped from a very long way back & sailed over the pack to take a great mark.
Kevin Taylor took 2 absolute screamers in the 2nds against Collingwood.
Others, who regularly took great marks, when I was a kid, were Laurie Richards & Alex Ruscuklic.
Roos was the best.
Thanks Oldlion, thats the Onga legend I grew up with. My old man knew used to drink,err..discuss business with him in the late 50's-early 60's.
Mobbenfuhrer
22 Mar 2001, 02:55
I'd forgotten that Billy Mac one-hander, it was near goals in a preseason match, right? The same match where a commentator spoke of him 'ohhr, isn't he smart.'
Did we mention the Trent Cummings mark, which was taken, I think, in the 'old-guernsey' match against Carlton at Princes Park? Same day Chris Johnson took a big grab?
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Yeah, I remember a pretty decent Cummings mark in 96. Thought it was against Essendon though????
Yeah, the McCormack mark was in 92, against Adelaide at Waverly, in the pre-season semi final. Same game as that Cometti commentary "oh, he's a smart player, isn't he?!".
Yippyio
22 Mar 2001, 09:03
If you talk big marks then straight away i think of Doc Wheildon who took a heap of high flying marks.
Remember one game vs St.Kilda at Waverley he got up so far if he had held the mark it wouldve been talked about for years!!
Dale Fleming used to take a heap of high flying marks in the reserves in 93 i think it was!!
Originally posted by Yippyio:
If you talk big marks then straight away i think of Doc Wheildon who took a heap of high flying marks.
Remember one game vs St.Kilda at Waverley he got up so far if he had held the mark it wouldve been talked about for years!!
Yep, gave it a mention before!
Originally posted by myself:
Doc Wheildon almost pulled down mark of the century against the Saints back in 94. That was the day McCarthy kicked a goal with his heal, facing away from goal in the goalsquare (!). I reckon he might have had the helmet on a bit too tight that day . . .
It was a ripper of an attempt!