View Full Version : Edwards Reilly and Doughty are in

Jars458
28 Aug 2003, 19:18
No Hart
No Bassett

Very confusing.

Could be an unchanged side if Edwards doesn't get up.

footychick
28 Aug 2003, 19:26
I know! Im a bit confused myself! I have no idea why they would keep Basset out of the side, Hart is more understandable, he might need a bit more time off..... I was shocked when I found out that Basset was dropped for the Kangaroo's game but I never thought that he would miss the Port game aswell!:mad: :(

DaveW
28 Aug 2003, 19:30
Second week in a row Bassett isn't in the 25. He definitely isn't injured?

Unbelievable! :mad:

Blues_Girl
28 Aug 2003, 19:32
Originally posted by DaveW
Second week in a row Bassett isn't in the 25. He definitely isn't injured?

Unbelievable! :mad:

Definitely not injuried. Massive arguement with the coach apparently :mad:

lozstar
28 Aug 2003, 19:34
:mad: that's just plain stupid not putting bassett in..
disciplin is all good and all if he'd done something wrong.. but bassett is needed atm.. it seems quite stupid, just put him in the side and give him a massive fine!
that makes more sense.

ant
28 Aug 2003, 19:37
Looks like they are going to persist with Stevens in the backline.

We're going to make this the "most physical Showdown ever" according to Robbie Popplestone's wise words. I bet the Power are worried.

In better news, Wakelin hasn't come up for Port, and while they still have plenty of options down back, nevertheless it's a bonus.

Stiffy_18
28 Aug 2003, 20:04
I know I am not the sharpest tool in the shed but fair dinkum why isn't Bassett in the side. :confused: It looks like we expect Stevo to play a major part in our defence but I reckon he is nowhere fit enough. He'll get creamed by either Tredrea or Cornes.

I expect it to be a close game but just looking at the selection decisions I doubt we will get up. I know that our best is capable of beating anyone but I am not that convinced that we will win.

lozstar
28 Aug 2003, 20:05
Originally posted by ant
In better news, Wakelin hasn't come up for Port, and while they still have plenty of options down back, nevertheless it's a bonus. On Channel 9 news, they said Wakes was fine to play.. hope they had just got it wrong though.

DaveW
28 Aug 2003, 20:06
PORT ADELAIDE v ADELAIDE
Sunday, 12:40pm ACST, AAMI Stadium

PORT ADELAIDE
B: Paxman, Bishop, Hardwick
HB: Wilson, Wakelin, Montgomery
C: Wanganeen, Carr, James
HF: C.Cornes, Tredrea, Pickett
F: Dew, S.Burgoyne, Schofield
FOLL: Brogan, P.Burgoyne, Stevens
I/C (from): Cochrane, K.Cornes, Cockatoo-Collins, Guerra, Kingsley, Lade, Thurstans
IN: Brogan, James, Kingsley, Wakelin
OUT: Poulton

ADELAIDE
B: Massie, Smart, Torney
HB: Johncock, McGregor, Edwards
C: Burton, Ricciuto, Stenglein
HF: Goodwin, Carey, Ladhams
F: Welsh, Perrie, Bode
FOLL: Clarke, Bickley, McLeod
I/C (from): Begley, Biglands, Burns, Doughty, Reilly, Shirley, Stevens
IN: Edwards, Doughty, Reilly
OUT: -

ant
28 Aug 2003, 20:09
Originally posted by lozstar
On Channel 9 news, they said Wakes was fine to play.. hope they had just got it wrong though.

Well, it looks like Channel 10 got something wrong. :confused:

That's not like them at all.

I'm hearing the death march as we speak.......

Jerome
28 Aug 2003, 20:20
According to Roo, ben Hart is doing everything he can to play. He just can't kick properly atm.

No Bass...that's unreal! He is signed up is'nt he?

Where is Radar? her boy gets named and she is as quiet as a mouse?

noddy
28 Aug 2003, 20:24
Originally posted by ant
Well, it looks like Channel 10 got something wrong. :confused:

That's not like them at all.

I'm hearing the death march as we speak.......

Just hold off with that organ ant,

Definitely not looking good for Basset as the guy is one of our most reliable defenders,

So is there more going on than we are lead to believe ? & if so have we seen the last of the hound in Crows colours ??

ant
28 Aug 2003, 20:32
Originally posted by noddy
Just hold off with that organ ant,

I'll try Nods....it'd be amazing if we went in unchanged after last week's performance.

Some people in high places have a LOT of faith.

I read with interest Mick Malthouse's comments at the Bombers/Pies press conference today.

“When you are second on the ladder, you don’t give it up easily.”

Geez, that's a thought.

Jerome
28 Aug 2003, 21:01
Originally posted by ant
I'll try Nods....it'd be amazing if we went in unchanged after last week's performance.

Quite right. Im waiting for the SANFL teams to see who is really in or out.

Kane McGoodwin
28 Aug 2003, 21:15
Bassett must have really ****ed off Ayres big time to be dropped for 2 games. I can understand disciplining him for a game, but we are really shooting ourselves in the foot by not playing him in the showdown. Should have atleast made the squad & kept Port Adelaide thinking with the line up.

I just hope that the Crows don't play any players who still have lingering affects of the flu.

noddy
28 Aug 2003, 21:28
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Bassett must have really ****ed off Ayres big time to be dropped for 2 games. I can understand disciplining him for a game, but we are really shooting ourselves in the foot by not playing him in the showdown. Should have atleast made the squad & kept Port Adelaide thinking with the line up.

I just hope that the Crows don't play any players who still have lingering affects of the flu.

Kane i'm just about out of the "remaining positive pills" & still no Basset or Hart & the unlikely return of Edwards just makes it all the much clearer to hear ants impending death march,:( :(

Kane McGoodwin
28 Aug 2003, 21:35
Defence
Kenny must get Tredders, unlike most time in the past when he has cut us up.

C Cornes really worries me as Bassett was his best matchup IMO. Hope he doesn't play like the Hound & Hart who would have been another option. Smart struggled to keep up on him last time. Stevo struggled to keep up with Rocca, so he has buckleys of keeping up with Chad, even if he has a bung ankle. Perhaps we need to try Massie?

As I mentioned earlier in the week, I would play Goodwin on S Burgoyne. Goody plays tall & would have the agility to go with JnrB & wouldn't have to handle the ball much.

JT from memory did a good job on blanketing Byron last time, so you stick with what works.

Midfield
Shirley is a good match up for James, who always give Port plenty of drive against us. He must be closely watched.

Stinger (if fit) should play on Stevens. If he isn't fit then we play an attacking player on him & hope he does more damage.

I imagine Carr will line up on Roo, so they can discuss Xmas presents for each other.

Now Macca has signed his contract, he must be play mostly in the centre square. I expect K Cornes will get him like last time.

If Edwards is over his injury, I would like to see him as part of the midfield rotation.

Attack
We must keep pressure on the Power backmen running the ball out of defence.

Time for Welshy to step up. If Bishop is not fit, Port will probably choose either Monty or Paxman. Could depend on how tall we start & whether Wakelin comes up.

Wakelin if fit will get Carey. You feel the Duck is primed for the big game. I just hope his knee is 100% If Wakelin drops out of the team I expect Paxman will get the job.

Reckon Thurstans may start on Sarge, who is also due for a big one..

Not sure what the weather is, but if it is fine, we should attack & play Stevo up forward (particularly if Wakelin is out).

Port01
28 Aug 2003, 22:18
Stunned that Bassett isn't back in.

I thought you missed him terribly last week.

Especially without Hart, really is a bemusing decision.

His (Bassets) going off in the last showdown really upset your ability to cover our key forwards, and I don't think Stevens is the answer just yet.

Stiffy_18
28 Aug 2003, 22:39
I don't think Edwards will play. If he has done a proper Quad its a 2-4 week injury.

From Ports perspective I am not entirely convinced that Wakelin and Chad will come up. James might also miss. (I hope anyway:( )

lozstar
29 Aug 2003, 12:13
In the paper this morning, it has Doughty back to South.. Begley back to Sturt, and Reilly out of the Sturt side.

AngelEyes
29 Aug 2003, 13:01
In the paper this morning, it has Doughty back to South.. Begley back to Sturt, and Reilly out of the Sturt side.
Yep, Dogga and Begley are definetly playing Emergency this match.
I've heard rumours that either Edwards or Stevens will drop out. Edwards due to his calf, Stevo due to his.....form.
The fact that Bassett is not in makes me think, is he the only one not to sleep with Ayres? Maybe he should have asked Mattner for that Gold Card. We need him!!!!! I can't believe the Adelaide Selectors for this decision!
To anyone that went to training this week: Was Bassett there? Did he train well? Was he in the "squad" group, during the match?

bluecrow
29 Aug 2003, 15:25

I really can't see the logic in bringing Reilly into the side a week before the finals. Why not try to settle the team down and give games to the experienced players?

But then again, I can't see the logic in keeping Bassett out for another week, either. :confused: :mad:

tige19
29 Aug 2003, 15:40
Great to see Reils get a game, you guys havent seen him at his best yet.
He will be a champion for your side if you can keep him from coming home!!!

ant
29 Aug 2003, 15:50
Yep, looks like a simple swap, Begley for Reilly, assuming Edwards doesn't come up as we all expect. I'm not unhappy with this, Begley does nothing for me and we might as well give one of our younger, running players a game. And Reilly has shown he can handle a big situation reasonably well.

I still think Bassett should be in but considering he can't get a matchup against the Power and with Hart yet to resume, I struggle to see how he'll get another game this year, barring injury. Hopefully the Hound will keep his mouth shut next time.

Kane McGoodwin
29 Aug 2003, 16:11
Originally posted by ant
Yep, looks like a simple swap, Begley for Reilly, assuming Edwards doesn't come up as we all expect. I'm not unhappy with this, Begley does nothing for me and we might as well give one of our younger, running players a game. And Reilly has shown he can handle a big situation reasonably well.

I still think Bassett should be in but considering he can't get a matchup against the Power and with Hart yet to resume, I struggle to see how he'll get another game this year, barring injury. Hopefully the Hound will keep his mouth shut next time.
Yeah, we only gain from swapping the classy Reilly for Begley (even though there are more deserving players to get dropped MB).

I don't believe it was so much the Hound's mouth but his hands which got him into trouble (ie. shoving the coach is not a great career move).

Jars458
29 Aug 2003, 16:34
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Yeah, we only gain from swapping the classy Reilly for Begley (even though there are more deserving players to get dropped MB).

I don't believe it was so much the Hound's mouth but his hands which got him into trouble (ie. shoving the coach is not a great career move).

Just been informed by a very reliable source at the Club that there is no problem between Nathan and the Coach and that he is to be considered very unlucky

His form has been a concern since the Fremantle game and he had 3 goals kicked on him in a quarter by Passador on the weekend.

A good game this week for Norwood should see him return is my interpreation of that.

ant
29 Aug 2003, 19:03
Just heard Stevens and Begley are out, Reilly and Edwards in.

Not a bad move with rain forecast.

DaveW
29 Aug 2003, 19:08
So Smart and McGregor are the extent of our tall backs?

Great. :(

topjars
29 Aug 2003, 19:10
Ayresys not sandbagging our last game is he?
I know he claimed on 5aa the other night it is not on to contrive a result but you gotta wonder.

Basset just doesnt lose form over night:eek:

ant
29 Aug 2003, 19:20
Big tip is Biglands will get a job, or will be an option to cover Tredrea.

Let's hope for buckets of rain.

topjars
29 Aug 2003, 19:28
or buckets of blood.

noddy
29 Aug 2003, 19:31
Can't work it out, drop Begley & Stevens & still no Basset,

What do they expect the paps to rest all their talls ???

It's getting harder & harder to remain even moderately positive about the rest of the year let alone the bloody showdown,

ant
29 Aug 2003, 19:34

It's getting harder & harder to remain even moderately positive about the rest of the year let alone the bloody showdown,

Forget this being positive thing nods, I think that tune being played on the organ has stepped up a decibel or two......

Macca19
29 Aug 2003, 19:35
So Smart and McGregor are the extent of all tall backs?

Great. :(

Perrie could be considered a defensive option for your mob i guess.

Gotta wonder why Stevens would be dropped considering he would add something at either end of the ground. :confused:

A strange move i must say.

DaveW
29 Aug 2003, 19:38
Originally posted by Macca19
Perrie could be considered a defensive option for your mob i guess. Yeah but that's robbing Peter to pay Paul...

Only four KP talls in any case. I hope none of them go down...

bluecrow
29 Aug 2003, 20:09
Can't believe Stevo was dropped! You'd think if he was going to see any finals action he would have had to play this week. Very strange move, that one. :confused:

Gary had this to say about Bassett on afc.com.au:
"On defender Nathan Bassett’s surprise non-inclusion again, Ayres said: “It comes down to what I believe is an issue with form and match-ups, so that’s how we’ve looked at it from Nathan’s point of view.

“I think since the suspension for his little act on (Des) Headland, he probably hasn’t come back and played as sharply as he would like. So it’s really as simple as that.

“He’s got a big future at the footy club. He’s a 197-centimetre defender. They just don’t fall off trees, of course. But his form just hasn’t been where I’d like it to be over the last month.”"

The forecast for Sunday is showers with winds easing. This the only possible explanation I can come up with for not having a decent backline! Our defence was like a rock before - why tamper with it NOW??? :mad:

Also, it might be raining and suit smaller forwards on Sunday, but Gary seems to be contradicting himself with the inclusion of some players and not others. Why include some players if they have been playing like sh*t lately (Bode, Burns, etc) whilst drop others who haven't set the world on fire, but haven't been AS sh*t? Bode really should have been dropped, considering Bassett was for supposed 'poor form.'

Out of curiosity, is Ayres contracted for next season? If we do lose this weekend, and then happen to lose in an elimination final in the first week of the finals, I think we might see a lot of supporter's frustrations directed at him...

DaveW
29 Aug 2003, 20:11
Originally posted by bluecrow
“He’s got a big future at the footy club. He’s a 197-centimetre defender. They just don’t fall off trees, of course. But his form just hasn’t been where I’d like it to be over the last month.”"
Where did Nathan find those extra 7 centimetres!

At that height, he could pinch hit in the ruck! :p

Stiffy_18
29 Aug 2003, 20:13
Originally posted by ant
Big tip is Biglands will get a job, or will be an option to cover Tredrea.

Let's hope for buckets of rain. If Biglands gets Tredrea then AFC are really doing everything possible to throw the game.

DaveW
29 Aug 2003, 20:15
Out of curiosity, is Ayres contracted for next season? If we do lose this weekend, and then happen to lose in an elimination final in the first week of the finals, I think we might see a lot of supporter's frustrations directed at him... He signed a two year contract towards the end of last year.

Despite my criticism of him this week (which is probably the first time I've bagged him in about two years!), I'm happy for him to get at least another year. Hopefully we can still get a premiership with him and this group of players (maybe still this year!).

The end of 2004 may be the time to start looking at a new coach and rebuilding the list.

Stiffy_18
29 Aug 2003, 20:16
Out of curiosity, is Ayres contracted for next season? If we do lose this weekend, and then happen to lose in an elimination final in the first week of the finals, I think we might see a lot of supporter's frustrations directed at him... At the end of last year he signed a 3 year deal that concludes at the end of the 2005 season.

DaveW
29 Aug 2003, 20:17
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
At the end of last year he signed a 3 year deal that concludes at the end of the 2005 season. Are you sure about that? I could've sworn it was a two year deal.

Stiffy_18
29 Aug 2003, 20:18
He signed a two year contract towards the end of last year. I thought it was a 3 year deal.:confused:

noddy
29 Aug 2003, 20:24
He signed a two year contract towards the end of last year.

Despite my criticism of him this week (which is probably the first time I've bagged him in about two years!), I'm happy for him to get at least another year. Hopefully we can still get a premiership with him and this group of players (maybe still this year!).

The end of 2004 may be the time to start looking at a new coach and rebuilding the list.

All the signs/signals that are coming out of the club in the last 2 weeks definitely point to an unsettled playing group & whether it's discipline or egos that are the root cause they have left it rather late to make a stand,

Gary Ayers has his faults but i'm still in the belief that he knows what he's doing (is it to late to turn to religion) & that the year is not done with yet.

ant
29 Aug 2003, 20:31
Hmmmm......Terry Wallace is still available....maybe not for much longer though......

Kane McGoodwin
30 Aug 2003, 19:25
Keep the faith noddy, as things can really turn around for us if we win tomorrow. We are a real chance for the flag if we win the showdown. However, if lose I think I'll join you, as we can kiss our season goodbye. I'm confident that the players will come out all guns blazing after the (deserved) pasting they have been given this week.

Kane McGoodwin
30 Aug 2003, 19:26
Originally posted by ant
Hmmmm......Terry Wallace is still available....maybe not for much longer though......
Is he going to the Saints... ;)

RaDaR ReiLLy
30 Aug 2003, 21:46
Originally posted by Jerome

Where is Radar? her boy gets named and she is as quiet as a mouse?
hahaha!
Ive been unable to use the internet for 2 weeks cos some dumb s**t f***er thought it would be good to put a virus in someones computer :mad: :mad:

Good luck to Brent. hope he proves all his critics wrong.

macca23
30 Aug 2003, 22:07
Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy
hahaha!
Ive been unable to use the internet for 2 weeks cos some dumb s**t f***er thought it would be good to put a virus in someones computer :mad: :mad:

Good luck to Brent. hope he proves all his critics wrong.

Good to see you back Radar.

I thought you were out booking a few motorists!! ;)

RaDaR ReiLLy
30 Aug 2003, 22:18
Originally posted by macca23
Good to see you back Radar.

I thought you were out booking a few motorists!! ;)
Nah not really my scene...I'm usually the one BEING booked! :D