View Full Version : Crows fans to support Collingwood?
Should Collingwood lose to Essendon tomorrow and the Crows beat Port, the most likely outcome will be the Crows playing Brisbane at the Gabba. I don't really see Brisbane losing to the Bulldogs. And if Collingwood and the Crows lose then the Crows could finish as low as seventh. So will Adelaide fans support Collingwood tomorrow so they have a better chance of getting a home final?
macca23
28 Aug 2003, 21:55
Originally posted by mic59
Should Collingwood lose to Essendon tomorrow and the Crows beat Port, the most likely outcome will be the Crows playing Brisbane at the Gabba. I don't really see Brisbane losing to the Bulldogs. And if Collingwood and the Crows lose then the Crows could finish as low as seventh. So will Adelaide fans support Collingwood tomorrow so they have a better chance of getting a home final?
I hate Collingwood more than any other team in the comp - but yes, I will want the mongrels to win on Friday night!!
Blues_Girl
28 Aug 2003, 21:56
I hate Essendon. Enough Said.
lozstar
28 Aug 2003, 21:58
I hate them both as much as each other.
go collingwood :(
Stiffy_18
28 Aug 2003, 22:09
We can only control what we do. If we are good enough we will win anywhere, if we are not then we don't deserve to progress further. Simple.
I hate both Collingwood and Essendon so I will not be supporting either one. If you are asking for my tip, I get the feeling that Essendon will win.
Kane McGoodwin
28 Aug 2003, 22:09
I hate the Pies (more than Port), so I can't see myself supporting them. So I'm hoping the Dees upset Sydney & we finally win a showdown & everything will be OK again. :cool:
Yes.
Originally posted by DaveW
Look at that closely... It looks like we should hoping Collingwood win on Friday night if we want a home final in the first week (so long as Brisbane win as expected).
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&postid=1287928#post1287928
It would be a dark day in Hell before I ever barracked for Collingwood.
I despise Collingwood just as much as Port (well close to it) but for this game i might have to dig out my old North Whyalla jumper & just pretend,
Jars458
29 Aug 2003, 10:34
Barracking or not will make no difference
I will be hoping the team I chose in the tips will win.
The BigFooty tips are so close I can reveal nothing.:)
CrowBoi
29 Aug 2003, 15:43
I refuse to "barrack" for them.... but if they win, I'll be happy...
If they lose, I hope the hell the bulldogs dish out a surprise to the Lions, as we could then re-snare second! :O
maccas_no1
29 Aug 2003, 17:17
Dont lower your colour's Noddy and bring out the black and white stripes of North Whyalla:rolleyes: Could of played for a decent side like Roopena:D :D
I am like Stiffy we have mad eour own destany,we have lost games this year we should have won,so what happen's HAPPENS:cool:
All I want is to put those Powder Puffs away by 3:15pm on Sunday arvo...................Just look for the Gamer Over sign:D ;) :D
beckybiglands
29 Aug 2003, 17:22
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
I hate the Pies (more than Port), so I can't see myself supporting them. So I'm hoping the Dees upset Sydney & we finally win a showdown & everything will be OK again. :cool:
i like your thinking ;)
Given the result just completed - worst case scenario is now 6th place and a home final in the first week but would mean in the second week either going to Brisbane or Melbourne. We have to win Sunday to get fourth.
GoalsFrom50Out
29 Aug 2003, 23:18
Hell. No.
Stiffy_18
29 Aug 2003, 23:23
Well Collingwood has done its job and won tonight. Could we possibly come up with a miracle and win on Sunday??????:(
I am really not sure how to take this. If we win we would play Port in the first week (A lot tougher than a lot of people are predicting). If Essendon won then Port wouldn't have gained much if they lost the Showdown, now all of a sudden they have a lot to gain. I am positive that they wouldn't like to play us in the 1st week of the final because all that home ground advantage goes out the window.
I just hope and pray that its pissing down with rain during the game.:(
Now that's how you defend second spot.
And forget about the permutations, the only match we have to look at now is the WC v Freo game.
WC win, they probably take 4th, we'll be 6th and play Essendon at home in week 1 of the finals. Freo win and we finish 6th or 7th, depending on how bad Port beat us relative to WC's losing margin. Only 3 percent difference between us and them, but theirs should be a close game. So we might have to travel to WA in that case (if WC overtake us) or we'll host them at Footy Park.
Good old Collingwood forever...
we know how to play the game...
Oops, got a bit caught up in the whole going for Collingwood thing. ;)
Great result. We're now assured of a top six spot and almost certainly a final at Footy Park in the first week.
You beauty!
Originally posted by ant
Freo win and we finish 6th or 7th, depending on how bad Port beat us relative to WC's losing margin. Only 3 percent difference between us and them, but theirs should be a close game. So we might have to travel to WA in that case (if WC overtake us) or we'll host them at Footy Park. OK, I've heard of pessimism, but this takes the cake.
You reckon West Coast could lose and STILL make up the 3.7 percent they trail us by?!?!
Fat ****ing chance, I say!
OK, I've heard of pessimism, but this takes the cake.
You reckon West Coast could lose and STILL make up the 3.7 percent they trail us by?!?!
Fat ****ing chance, I say!
Just watch Dave, they lose by less than a goal, we lose by 48-60 for instance, they'd overtake us wouldn't they? How much would we have to lose by you think approx.?
I'd say it's a fair chance, though I'm not great at calculating percentages.
macca23
30 Aug 2003, 01:04
The good thing about Collingwood winning is that we are virtually guaranteed of a home final now whether we win or lose, unless Brisbane lose and we win (most unlikely) - then we'd have to play the Pies at the MCG.
Our options now are limited to 3rd, 4th, 5th or 6th.
3rd if we win and Brisbane loses
4th if we win and Brisbane wins
5th if we lose and Sydney loses
6th if we lose and both Sydney and Brisbane win
AngelEyes
30 Aug 2003, 01:05
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I am really not sure how to take this. If we win we would play Port in the first week (A lot tougher than a lot of people are predicting). If Essendon won then Port wouldn't have gained much if they lost the Showdown, now all of a sudden they have a lot to gain. I am positive that they wouldn't like to play us in the 1st week of the final because all that home ground advantage goes out the window.
I wouldn't be so sure. Port would love to play the Crows first week of the final. As much as it kills to say it: Just how many matches have we won against them? They would be pumped and confident, and I get the feeling that come the finals, Port will Fire. I would not want to see the crows in the firing line to that! :( I'd rather play a Western Australian, Sydney side.;)
Originally posted by ant
Just watch Dave, they lose by less than a goal, we lose by 48-60 for instance, they'd overtake us wouldn't they? How much would we have to lose by you think approx.?
I'd say it's a fair chance, though I'm not great at calculating percentages. Showdowns are generally close. I wouldn't be worried.
Either Fremantle will lose tomorrow (and we're no chance of dropping below them) or West Coast will lose and fall at least some 4-5 percentage points behind us.
Either way, we should finish in the top six.
You're being amazingly pessimistic.
You think?
I've watched our past 2 games of footy. I've seen the selection changes. No Bass or Stevo and only Kenny and Smarty as our talls (and I suppose you could count Biglands for a laugh) to cover the best tall forward pairing in the league. I've seen the inepitude shown by 95% of our players, as well as the complete lack of footy smarts the majority of our side has. I don't even need to mention who our coach is.
Trust me, this could get ugly, Port are due for a big win against us. 7th spot isn't out of the equation by any stretch, if a 8-12 goal loss on our behalf would be enough.
macca23
30 Aug 2003, 01:16
Can't agree ant. I'm sure we will come out all guns blazing in this game whether we win or lose. The flu and it's after effects played a big role in our last 2 disappointments. Smarty said that between 12 and 20 of the players had the flu, and that they are definitely all over it now.
I'm expecting a very good showing and a close game, whoever wins.
There's now barely any way the Crows can drop any further than 6th. There are 2 possibilities and both depend on Adelaide losing and Sydney winning. That is if WC and Freo draw, or Freo only just beat WC and Port beat Adelaide by around 60 points. i've done a calculation based on Freo winning 100-95 and to drop below WC on percentage Adelaide would have to lose by a score of 124-64. Not very likely considering the recent history of close Showdowns.
Originally posted by macca23
Can't agree ant. I'm sure we will come out all guns blazing in this game whether we win or lose. The flu and it's after effects played a big role in our last 2 disappointments. Smarty said that between 12 and 20 of the players had the flu, and that they are definitely all over it now.
I'm expecting a very good showing and a close game, whoever wins.
Well, we'll have to wait and see. I think we will come out strong, and for the first half we'll battle manfully, however I can see us fading out, once Port get a bit of a run on. Class and system will win through in the end, and I still maintain there is a chance of a big loss. It could happen and as such ruling out 7th spot is premature.
Originally posted by ant
Well, we'll have to wait and see. I think we will come out strong, and for the first half we'll battle manfully, however I can see us fading out, once Port get a bit of a run on. Class and system will win through in the end, and I still maintain there is a chance of a big loss. It could happen and as such ruling out 7th spot is premature.
As much as i admire your posts ant this time i really hope you make an ass of your self & end up with a couple of runny eggs on your face, :)
If what you predict comes to fruition then never again shall i doubt your words of wisdom,