View Full Version : Could the hounddog go?
SAbella
28 Aug 2003, 23:20
Just a question: Is there any chance Nathan Bassett could go to another team next year? Does he have a contract with the Crows and how fullproof is it?
Seems as though Ayres and him have had quite a falling out and it would not be surprising if he starts to feel disheartened at the club and maybe could lose his passion for the team-Ayres needs to becareful about the psychological impact he is having on his players, motivation is a key factor in winning games, I don't think suspending good players from games is a very effective way of winning games.
What a disgraceful episode this will end up being if a loyal team man like Nathan Bassett is given his marching orders at the end of the season.
Leigh Roy
29 Aug 2003, 01:02
I bloody hope not, it's been common knowledge now for a while Stevo's only got a little bit left - he can't be our fullback, only Bassett can.
dyertribe
29 Aug 2003, 03:21
Well to be brutally honest...
He ain't never caught a rabbit, he ain't no friend of mine.
Maybe Ayresy is being unduly influenced by his Elvis records...
Jars458
29 Aug 2003, 10:36
It will be a cold day in hell before the AFC get rid of Nathan Bassett
If they do - I will be making a strong protest at the members meeting.
Can anyone tell me did he do something wrong it surely wasn't form or is it a fall out with the coach . What the hell happened !!!
AngelEyes
29 Aug 2003, 13:13
Originally posted by Jars458
I'll join that protest!:)
Poor ole Blighty got the **** bagged out of him last week for daring to make such a suggestion on this board. Perhaps that was because he thought it was a good idea, but still, the odds have certainly shortened that way with Bassett's non selection this week.
beckybiglands
29 Aug 2003, 17:18
Originally posted by Jars458
It will be a cold day in hell before the AFC get rid of Nathan Bassett
Agreed!
maccas_no1
29 Aug 2003, 17:22
If they get rid of Nathan Bassett I WILL be joining Jars458 and Angle Eyes at the protest
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
29 Aug 2003, 22:39
settle petals!!!!!!!
Fred isn't going to be traded or delisted. Poor form is the key to Nathan's demise. He didn't play well for Norwood last week either.
I want him back too but I am not concerned about his future at all.
k
xx
Asgardian
30 Aug 2003, 03:21
Maybe Ayres has decided he wants to go with Aiden Parker and Ken McGregor as his key position defenders?
All I've heard about Bassett is that he's a bit "out there" with some of his beliefs. Doesn't change the fact he seems a good club-man to me. Could be he's rubbed Ayres up the wrong way?
If he is dumped by the Crows, I'd imagine several clubs will knock on his door
GoalsFrom50Out
30 Aug 2003, 03:47
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
He didn't play well for Norwood last week either.
He got absolutely pasted by Passador, more like it :)
And just to add insult to (my) injury, Bassett kicks an after the siren goal to win the match for Norwood against South this afternoon.
He played at CHF apparently. Not too sure how his match was.
Kane McGoodwin
30 Aug 2003, 18:37
Crows would be crazy to trade the Hound. McGregor is doing OK, but Smart is not going to be around for too much longer & Rutten / Parker are unlikely to develop into AFL footballers overnight.
Still Crowing
30 Aug 2003, 23:48
Originally posted by maccas_no1
If they get rid of Nathan Bassett I WILL be joining Jars458 and Angle Eyes at the protest
We might have to find some WMD's for use on whoever makes that decision :( This club will go down the sh|tter if it starts treating good club men like the Hound like they do at StKilda or one of the other basketcase Victorian clubs. Hope this is just a nasty rumour.
Asgardian
31 Aug 2003, 00:55
Originally posted by Still Crowing
We might have to find some WMD's for use on whoever makes that decision :( This club will go down the sh|tter if it starts treating good club men like the Hound like they do at StKilda or one of the other basketcase Victorian clubs. Hope this is just a nasty rumour.
Tony Modra
Tony McGuinness
Chris McDermott
Rodney Maynard
anymore anyone?
Originally posted by Asgardian
Tony McGuinness
Chris McDermott
Rodney Maynard Bassett is far from past his use-by-date as those three were.
Asgardian
31 Aug 2003, 01:21
hummmmmm
I agree with you about Maynard and McDermott, Dave, but I reckon Tony McGuinness had some good AFL footy left in him.
Modra is the one that the Crows stuffed up royally on, at least that's what my "red hot Crow supporting" wife says, I agree with her.
Originally posted by Asgardian
I agree with you about Maynard and McDermott, Dave, but I reckon Tony McGuinness had some good AFL footy left in him. Yeah I thought the same at the time. Andrew Jarman too, although he was a recalcitrant.
But 1997 was rebuilding year (and what a rebuilding year! ;)), so pensioning McGuiness off was fair enough.
Modra is the one that the Crows stuffed up royally on, at least that's what my "red hot Crow supporting" wife says, I agree with her. Yeah it's a shame he had to go, but his form had tapered off and by the sounds of things he might've had a destabilising influence.
We traded him for Stenglein (and Beinke), so with hindsight I'm not unhappy about that deal.
Asgardian
31 Aug 2003, 01:35
Andrew Jarman burnt every bridge on the planet when he refused to play in that game that Shaw called him up for.
Blight would be the last coach on earth who'd accept a temper tantrum like that
blighty
31 Aug 2003, 02:05
"Blight would be the last coach on earth who'd accept a temper tantrum like that"
Ayres was Blight's assistant at Geelong..... & would have seen first hand Blight's absolute iron hand discipline.
Ayres still acknowledges he speaks to Blight occasionally!
And don't underestimate Reid's role in this as it was Reidy who did the firing before Blight arrived in Adelaide.
Do you seriously think they'd put up with Bassett's petulant behavior given his poor form already acknowledged by the coach?
Ayres has already stated publicly he's told Fantasia he wants a key defender. If he was happy with Bassett do you really think he would have stated it so obviously?
Hawthorn are also looking for a key defender, with rumours Hay maybe available.He could be an obvious candidate.
I believe if a player is dropped in round 21 or 22 after being the prefered choice for many games previous it's signals the match committee have run out of patience with him.... & if you then add to that the coachs' criticisms of him about a month ago; you have a scenario where other clubs get the signal he may not be required as the first choice defender.......
He'll be one of the first put up in the trading period !
Stiffy_18
31 Aug 2003, 20:42
Steven Trigg was dead set serious on 5AA today when he said that if Adelaide didn't need Bassett and were looking to trade him that they wouldn't have signed him up for 3 years.
I think if Bassett doesn't play next week against WC the writing is on the wall as he had a pretty good game for Norwood yesterday.
macca23
31 Aug 2003, 20:54
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Steven Trigg was dead set serious on 5AA today when he said that if Adelaide didn't need Bassett and were looking to trade him that they wouldn't have signed him up for 3 years.
I think if Bassett doesn't play next week against WC the writing is on the wall as he had a pretty good game for Norwood yesterday.
I heard that Stiffy but did you really believe him?? Normally Triggy is smooth and calm, but he was very rattled and explosive on this issue. My immediate reaction was one along the lines of "methinks the lady doth protesteth too much".
You don't think for one moment that any well run footy club is going to confirm something like this?? In my mind the way that Triggy carried on only confirmed the rumours.
Hopefully they will call a truce this week and restore our back line to what it was when we were playing well.
Stiffy_18
31 Aug 2003, 21:09
Originally posted by macca23
I heard that Stiffy but did you really believe him?? Normally Triggy is smooth and calm, but he was very rattled and explosive on this issue. My immediate reaction was one along the lines of "methinks the lady doth protesteth too much".
You don't think for one moment that any well run footy club is going to confirm something like this?? In my mind the way that Triggy carried on only confirmed the rumours.
Hopefully they will call a truce this week and restore our back line to what it was when we were playing well. He was not a happy chap thats for sure. If Bassett does get traded then we better get one hell of a ruckman or a FB in the league of Scarlett or Mal Michael in return. I think Jonathan Hay would be handy too.
But I still think Bassett will be a crow next season.
But didn't Rowey give Bassett a bit of a spray. he said that he was disinterested and playing only for himself with Norwood yesterday. Apparently he was one angry man and went of at McIntosh in the huddle for playing him at FB.:(
Hmmm... it sounds as if Bassett's ego is getting the better of him.
But there's no doubt he's a level above SANFL. He should always be a permanent selection in our side. So he's obviously frustrated playing where he doesn't belong.
Ironic though as Bassett is normally a top team player. :(
Stiffy_18
31 Aug 2003, 22:13
Has anyone found out if that new rule where you cannot trade a playerunless he has served a first year of his contract is effective during this year's tading period??????
I am 90% that it was effective immidietly
Has anyone found out if that new rule where you cannot trade a playerunless he has served a first year of his contract is effective during this year's tading period?????? I've heard conflicting information.
*shrug* :(
I am 90% that it was effective immidietly Did Bassett sign this year?
macca23
31 Aug 2003, 22:15
Has anyone found out if that new rule where you cannot trade a playerunless he has served a first year of his contract is effective during this year's tading period??????
I am 90% that it was effective immidietly
I'm not sure Stiffy, but I don't think he'll be traded anyway.
Bass would be best served by saying a big sorry to the coach and eating humble pie, and he'd be straight back in IMO.
Stiffy_18
31 Aug 2003, 22:16
Originally posted by DaveW
Did Bassett sign this year? Yes for 3 years
SAbella
31 Aug 2003, 22:30
Yes for 3 years
He didn't sign last year?!
Stiffy_18
31 Aug 2003, 22:33
Originally posted by SAbella
He didn't sign last year?! No he just signed his new contract about a month ago at the same time Reilly and Perrie signed.
SAbella
31 Aug 2003, 22:35
No he just signed his new contract about a month ago at the same time Reilly and Perrie signed.
Ahhh ok cool. That means then that the rule you were talking about is irrelevant 'cos he hasn't played a year under his new contract yet?
Scottroo
31 Aug 2003, 22:35
How bout a swap....Basset for Corey Jones...;) a washed up hack Vs the AFL future champion?
Stiffy_18
31 Aug 2003, 22:39
Originally posted by SAbella
Ahhh ok cool. That means then that the rule you were talking about is irrelevant 'cos he hasn't played a year under his new contract yet? Under that new rule (if its effective immedietly) no player can be traded if they have not played out a first year of their contract at the club they signed it with.
Basically, if that rule is effective immedietly, Bassett, Perrie, Reilly, Biglands, McLeod, Goodwin, Hart and Ricciuto cannot be traded this coming trading period as they have not played out 1st year of their new contracts at the Crows.;)
Stiffy_18
31 Aug 2003, 22:40
Originally posted by Scottroo
Basset a washed up hack Vs the AFL future champion? Yeah the washed up hack that would be a walk up start for your side.;)
SAbella
31 Aug 2003, 22:44
Under that new rule (if its effective immedietly) no player can be traded if they have not played out a first year of their contract at the club they signed it with.
Basically, if that rule is effective immedietly, Bassett, Perrie, Reilly, Biglands, McLeod, Goodwin, Hart and Ricciuto cannot be traded this coming trading period as they have not played out 1st year of their new contracts at the Crows.;)
Maybe it is effective immediately and thats why he feels he can act like a diva-he feels he's invincible for the moment, you know his position at the club is safe so he feels secure to act like he wants
naughty monkey
1 Sep 2003, 15:21
Under that new rule (if its effective immedietly) no player can be traded if they have not played out a first year of their contract at the club they signed it with.
CURRENT CBA is in place until October 31, new one to take effect from November 1st. Trading period is before this, but can't find exact dates, anyone else?
Upshot is, we can trade players who have just signed contracts if we want to.
FYI AFLPA CBA (http://www.aflpa.com.au/CBA/default.asp?page=5)
Stiffy_18
2 Sep 2003, 00:45
Originally posted by naughty monkey
CURRENT CBA is in place until October 31, new one to take effect from November 1st. Trading period is before this, but can't find exact dates, anyone else?
Upshot is, we can trade players who have just signed contracts if we want to.
FYI AFLPA CBA (http://www.aflpa.com.au/CBA/default.asp?page=5) National AFL Draft Camp - Tuesday September 30 - Friday October 3
Exchange Period - Monday October 13 - Friday October 17
International Rules matches:
First Test, Australia v Ireland - Subiaco Oval, Friday October 24
Second Test, Australia v Ireland - MCG, Friday October 31
List 1 Lodgement - Friday October 31
Draft Nominations Close - Wednesday November 12
List 2 Lodgement - Friday November 14
Delisted Player Nomination Deadline - Wednesday November 19
National AFL Draft - Sunday November 23, 11am
Uncontracted Listed Player Nominations - Tuesday December 2
International Rookie Nominations - Friday December 5
List 3 Lodgement - Friday December 5
Delisted Player Nominations - Friday December 12
National AFL Pre-Season Draft - Tuesday December 16, 10am
Pre-list Sydney and Brisbane Lions rookie list players - Tuesday December 16, 10.15am
National AFL Rookie Draft - Tuesday December 16, 10.30am