Jars458
29 Aug 2003, 15:34
Originally posted by understudy
why:confused:

Why not?

Beffery
29 Aug 2003, 15:35
Hate is such a strong word...

Perhaps you could say that you have an aversion to Port Adelaide?? Or that you dislike them immensely??

Jars458
29 Aug 2003, 15:37
Originally posted by Beffery

Perhaps you could say that you have an aversion to Port Adelaide?? Or that you dislike them immensely??

Naaahhhhhh.

The only thing that I have a similarly strong neagative feeling for is John Howard

CrowBoi
29 Aug 2003, 15:51
Originally posted by Jars458
Naaahhhhhh.

The only thing that I have a similarly strong neagative feeling for is John Howard

Here Here...

I've been a Norwood boy since the day I arrived, and no sooner had I started disliking anything black and white ;)

_espoir
29 Aug 2003, 15:54
Originally posted by CrowBoi
Here Here...

I've been a Norwood boy since the day I arrived, and no sooner had I started disliking anything black and white ;)

even zebras?

and the road crossings?

Jars458
29 Aug 2003, 16:03
Here Here...

I hate Norwood too.

Pretenders.

CrowBoi
29 Aug 2003, 16:06
Road crosssings suck too! ;)

....and no, Norwood are far from pretenders... :)

Kane McGoodwin
29 Aug 2003, 16:08
Just in case anyone was wondering:)
I'm glad you have clarified that for me Jars, as I wasn't too sure. ;)

I don't particularly like either Port Adelaide, Collingwood or John Howard for that matter. So my worst nightmare would be a Pies v Power grand final with little Johnny singing the national anthem & giving another why we have to invade Iraq speach! :eek: :eek: :eek:

napsyd
29 Aug 2003, 16:11
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
with little Johnny singing the national anthem & giving another why we have to invade Iraq speach! :eek: :eek: :eek:

What! Again!! :eek:

napsyd
29 Aug 2003, 16:14
Originally posted by _espoir
even zebras?

and the road crossings?

Zebras are indeed natures most unfortunate animals.

PrideOf
29 Aug 2003, 16:43
So my worst nightmare would be a Pies v Power grand final with little Johnny singing the national anthem & giving another why we have to invade Iraq speach!

Mine too. I have that nightmare, but then in my dream SARS breaks out at the MCG and I sleep better.

DaveW
29 Aug 2003, 16:55

Jars458
29 Aug 2003, 17:05
Originally posted by DaveW

...but nevertheless appropriate

Blues_Girl
29 Aug 2003, 17:43

So?

Sums up my feelings towards them perfectly!

dyertribe
29 Aug 2003, 18:00

I deg to biffer.

DaveW
29 Aug 2003, 18:22
Originally posted by Blues_Girl
So?

Sums up my feelings towards them perfectly! Well good.

Leigh Roy
29 Aug 2003, 18:45
My view of the rivalry is different to most of you AFC and PAFC supporters down south, I posted pretty much all of it in the thread about Cornsey's Heritage Round article on the Port board.

CrowBoi
29 Aug 2003, 19:57
Originally posted by dyertribe
I deg to biffer.
How so?

Norwood are a proud club, but what do they pretend about? Never do I hear the club brag about any number of premierships, or anything in the past. They do have a proud tradition, but prefer to look to the future, rather than gloat about the past. This year has been terrible for the 'legs, but they'll be back. :)

noddy
29 Aug 2003, 20:14
How so?

Norwood are a proud club, but what do they pretend about? Never do I hear the club brag about any number of premierships, or anything in the past. They do have a proud tradition, but prefer to look to the future, rather than gloat about the past. This year has been terrible for the 'legs, but they'll be back. :)

Been saying something along those lines for the last 5 or 6 years for the Bays, maybe next year.

Don't like the word hate & believe that word should be used only in the extreme,

Detest is what i would use when describing my feelings for the likes Port, Collingwood, Arsenal, Man City, Leeds & bloody Liverpool.

Docker_Brat
29 Aug 2003, 20:46

I must say I was concerned with your recent praising of Port. All is well again.

Blues_Girl
29 Aug 2003, 20:47
Originally posted by Docker_Brat
I must say I was concerned with your recent praising of Port. All is well again.

I'm upset! :(

I thought you'd be adding your views on Port, DB!

Docker_Brat
29 Aug 2003, 20:51
Originally posted by Blues_Girl
I'm upset! :(

I thought you'd be adding your views on Port, DB!

I beleive I have made my views very clear over the years. ;)

Blues_Girl
29 Aug 2003, 20:52
I beleive I have made my views very clear over the years. ;)

HAHAHAHAHA yes I am aware of this!

Always like a laugh though! :D

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
29 Aug 2003, 22:31
I hate both Port and Collingwood. But if it is a Port V Collingwood GF - "good old Collingwood forever, they know how to play the game" - I'll be singing with the toothless, ugg boot wearing, unemployed ferals of Collingwood - at least I could switch Eddie off, we would have to live with a Port premiership and that would be a nightmare! :rolleyes:

k
xx

GoalsFrom50Out
29 Aug 2003, 23:21
So do I.

Unfortunately my SANFL team traces its founding back to a bunch of breakaway players who formed the Port Natives, and then became West Torrens. Ugh.

Crow54
29 Aug 2003, 23:33

I can rest easy now that you've shared that ....

I hate 'em too, but I hate Eddie marginally more.

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
30 Aug 2003, 00:51
Originally posted by Crow54
I can rest easy now that you've shared that ....

I hate 'em too, but I hate Eddie marginally more.

the worst thing about Collingwood IS Eddie!

k
xx

DaveW
30 Aug 2003, 01:16
Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
So do I.

Unfortunately my SANFL team traces its founding back to a bunch of breakaway players who formed the Port Natives, and then became West Torrens. Ugh. Hehe, and they joined forces with them during WWII as well. ROFL! :D

Why do you and Jars hate them so much? ;)

CrowBoi
30 Aug 2003, 05:57
Originally posted by noddy
Been saying something along those lines for the last 5 or 6 years for the Bays, maybe next year.

Don't like the word hate & believe that word should be used only in the extreme,

Detest is what i would use when describing my feelings for the likes Port, Collingwood, Arsenal, Man City, Leeds & bloody Liverpool.

Yes, "detest" is a good word when it comes to Port :)

BTW, I'm a Man City fan too ;) Well, not greatly, but just came to hate Man U in the 90s... and yes, it's for a really bad reason too; I used to be a big oasis fan! :eek:

Paralowiepower
30 Aug 2003, 11:25
Only because you cant beat us! Oh and Collingwood and Essendon.................

maccas_no1
30 Aug 2003, 11:44
ParolowiePower SEE YOU AT THE BITTER END

GAME OVER

sapaul
30 Aug 2003, 11:57
Originally posted by Paralowiepower
Only because you cant beat us! Oh and Collingwood and Essendon.................

We've beaten Essendon the last 2 times we've played them...why do Pork fans hate Wayne Carey so much?Anything to do with North Melbourne beating Pork 10 times in a row or something like that?

Macca19
30 Aug 2003, 15:20
Originally posted by sapaul
We've beaten Essendon the last 2 times we've played them...why do Pork fans hate Wayne Carey so much?Anything to do with North Melbourne beating Pork 10 times in a row or something like that?

Why did Adelaide fans hate and despise Wayne Carey so much before he decided to come to Adelaide?

Leigh Roy
30 Aug 2003, 17:15
Don't put everybody in that category.

Paralowiepower
30 Aug 2003, 17:47
That's funny, did I mention Wayneking Carey?

DaveW
30 Aug 2003, 17:49
Yes, "detest" is a good word when it comes to Port :)

BTW, I'm a Man City fan too ;) Well, not greatly, but just came to hate Man U in the 90s... and yes, it's for a really bad reason too; I used to be a big oasis fan! :eek: I can't stand Man U either, *cough* bandwagoners *cough*

dyertribe
30 Aug 2003, 17:57
Originally posted by Macca19
Why did Adelaide fans hate and despise Wayne Carey so much before he decided to come to Adelaide?

I didn't... he was my favourite footballer outside of Adelaide along with Michael Voss.

sapaul
30 Aug 2003, 17:58
Originally posted by Paralowiepower
That's funny, did I mention Wayneking Carey?

I don't need a reason to ask you a question on the Adelaide board.

dyertribe
30 Aug 2003, 18:02
I can't stand Man U either, *cough* bandwagoners *cough*

Don't even start me on em.

GoalsFrom50Out
30 Aug 2003, 18:21
Why do you and Jars hate them so much? ;)

Because, it's Port Adelaide, everyone is meant to hate them. Just like Collingwood.

dyertribe
30 Aug 2003, 18:30
The thing about hating Port Adelaide is ridiculous and pointless.

If you spent the same time and effort hating your own clubs for being unprofessional, pointless and half as good as Port something might have been done about curbing the Magpie dominance over the decades.

The anti-Port collective's greatest shot was in the 80s when we had our Premiership 'drought'... and all North and Glenelg did was p1ss about amongst themselves before all the Tiger talent legged it to Victoria... with the great pretenders from the Parade content to wallow in its own mediocrity "but we've got Michael Aish! Michael Aish!!"

Not to worry - it only took two successive waves of Port's talent to disappear into the AFL and the club itself to move into that league for the Magpies dominance to slip... but judging by late season form the 4 pretenders above us are lucky it's not a final five anymore ;)

GoalsFrom50Out
30 Aug 2003, 18:35
LOL, I don't 'hate' Port Adelaide, I just dislike everyone else in the SANFL :p

Stiffy_18
30 Aug 2003, 20:02
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
the worst thing about Collingwood IS Eddie! ...and those mullets:eek: . Oh and don't forget the false teeth:eek:

maccas_no1
30 Aug 2003, 20:06
False Teeth????Collingwood suporters can afford false teeth???

Or are they giving them out in jail:D :D

CrowBoi
30 Aug 2003, 20:06
Originally posted by dyertribe
... with the great pretenders from the Parade content to wallow in its own mediocrity "but we've got Michael Aish! Michael Aish!!"

Seriously, that's one hell of an attitude. Michael Aish had talent. Sure he wasn't the greatest, or "best ever", but he was a damn good player, and a fair one at that!

I f*%^ing hate Port Adelaide, but I've always clapped when any of their champion players are playing well.

DaveW
30 Aug 2003, 20:19
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
the worst thing about Collingwood IS Eddie! Couldn't agree more.

Leigh Roy
30 Aug 2003, 21:59
They remind me of McDonalds. Two of them, and they are the same thing. This is probably only the beginning - over the next few years there will be a PAFC in every state and territory, probably every suburb too. You'll see signs on the highways, a big lightning bolt held by a clenched fist and under it '5kms'.

You can eat in, or drive through (sorry, thru) and every month there's a special little offer for the kids where you can get a toy or something they'll probably end up wanting to put down their throat. Popular to contrary belief, they do not operate a delivery service, it is best to be in there in person. Usually you will meet a clown whose sexual orientation cannot be determined, you will have a very good chance of seeing a burglar that is for sure. Also, there will be a fat bloke who's a bit dim around. There was a bird of some sort around somewhere but now that one seems to have been given the cold shoulder in favour of the new electrically charged marketing direction the franchise has taken.

Visit your nearest PAFC today! They are the same thing, really!

*cue annoying jingle/slogan for the week of the 25th of August to the 30th of August, 2003*

dyertribe
30 Aug 2003, 22:59
Seriously, that's one hell of an attitude. Michael Aish had talent. Sure he wasn't the greatest, or "best ever", but he was a damn good player, and a fair one at that!

Yes Aish was a talent, and you'll notice I wasn't bagging him but the Redleg cretins who worshipped him ;)

CrowBoi
30 Aug 2003, 23:37
We worship the likes of McLeod, Ricciuto, etc right? Any difference? :)

Still Crowing
31 Aug 2003, 00:01
How do I hate Port Adelaide, let me count the ways.....

I dont even say "I supPORT the Crows"....I barrack for the Crows!
If my child came out of the closet, or made a "non-traditional lifestyle choice", I would love them all the same. If he/she decided to barrack for the Pork, they could bloody well pack their bags and **** off.
If a Port fan was on fire, I wouldn't p|ss on them.
If a Port fan was drowning, I wouldn't take my foot off their head.

Their wan.ky little chip on the shoulder, "the world is agin us, look at how tough we are standing up to them" attitude is bollox.

Their "look at how many premierships we won in the SANFL, so respect us" routine is pure mirth.

The fact that they demand this respect, even though they've done two parts of fu.ck all in the AFL is pythonesque.

Hate.......no my friends, hate doesn't quite cover it. Surely there are more desciptive words available.

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
31 Aug 2003, 00:38
lol - that post by Still Crowing is great. sums it up beautifully for me!

k
xx

AdelaideFC97
31 Aug 2003, 10:52
It's impossible to forget the events of 1990 either.

yob
31 Aug 2003, 11:51
For most of the week prior i've been swamped with so much work that I didn't even have time to think about the Showdown. But now after a solid 2 days of getting fired up, all I can think about right now is how much I hate Port Adelaide.

Each time I have left the last 6 showdowns I have felt a part of me die inside. Especially the last one. Walking out of AAMI Stadium, with this red haired feral family of port supporters waving their flags around. *shudder* Can't wait to see their lives turned upside down in the finals.

yob
31 Aug 2003, 11:52
Originally posted by Still Crowing

If my child came out of the closet, or made a "non-traditional lifestyle choice", I would love them all the same. If he/she decided to barrack for the Pork, they could bloody well pack their bags and **** off.

Their wan.ky little chip on the shoulder, "the world is agin us, look at how tough we are standing up to them" attitude is bollox.

Their "look at how many premierships we won in the SANFL, so respect us" routine is pure mirth.

The fact that they demand this respect, even though they've done two parts of fu.ck all in the AFL is pythonesque.

Hate.......no my friends, hate doesn't quite cover it. Surely there are more desciptive words available.

Post of the year.

yob
31 Aug 2003, 11:56
Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
Because, it's Port Adelaide, everyone is meant to hate them. Just like Collingwood.

Bull****. South Australia is supposed to hate them, Victoria can mind it's own #$%^ing business.

noddy
31 Aug 2003, 12:20
I can't stand Man U either, *cough* bandwagoners *cough*

"Bandwagoners"!!!! i'll have you know i was born within a Bobby Charlton free kick of Old Trafford,

Gotta admit though they sure have attracted supporters from all over the world since i left the shores of England in 1959,

noddy
31 Aug 2003, 12:37

Bloody hell !! can't even go anywhere near to topping that,

I was the black sheep of my family (in the footy sense) as i spent my teenage years growing up in Taperoo among a one-eyed Port family & needless to say for a Bay supporter life was not a bed of roses,

Use to go to footy quite often with my brothers & i can honestly say i have never seen the Bays beat Port in any sanfl final, the one that i missed out on the most was the infamous Granger exhibition as i was layed up in the Whyalla hospital, anyway to cut a long story short i use to hate getting beat by Port more than any other club & grew to detest them at an early age but i will always admire there past champions & always respect the old Port Adelaide of the sanfl,

Now as for the Port Power well that's another story,;)

Malibu#27
31 Aug 2003, 13:02

Nice try - but looking at your profile - the real reason you hate port is they were your SANFL clubs arch rivals - and you hated their arrogance, and the fact that throguh the eighties and nineties, they enjoyed a period of domination and arrogance that Norwood can only dream of in the modern era.

As for the look at how many premierships we won in the SANFL so respect us - the amount of times I have heard that out of the mouth of Norwood supporters is just laughable - especially given the vast majority of those were in an era where the game was so different to what we see today.

No - you might want to think your reasons are valid - but the truth is - its all sour grapes pent up from your SANFL days.

Ray Nolan
31 Aug 2003, 18:38
Ah it's so funny to watch you fruit tingles wind yourself up into little fits of pique over the fact that you exist solely to be beaten & humiliated repeatedly by Port. If only your action on the field was as big as your gobs, you might then stand a chance! Keep the laughs coming!

10-4, Over & Out!:D :D :D

noddy
31 Aug 2003, 19:00
Originally posted by Ray Nolan
Ah it's so funny to watch you fruit tingles wind yourself up into little fits of pique over the fact that you exist solely to be beaten & humiliated repeatedly by Port. If only your action on the field was as big as your gobs, you might then stand a chance! Keep the laughs coming!

geez!! & this guys supposed to be one of their intelligent ones,:confused:

macca23
31 Aug 2003, 19:02

We'll keep a close eye on this post and Port Adelaide during the finals, won't we big gob??

yob
31 Aug 2003, 19:10

September.

Ray Nolan
31 Aug 2003, 19:16
I know that we haven't proven anything yet, the season for us has just begun. A new challenge awaits next week and I'm looking forward to seeing how we handle it.

Hang on, we did prove one thing this season. You are forever our bitches!:D :D :D

macca23
31 Aug 2003, 19:20
I know that we haven't proven anything yet, the season for us has just begun. A new challenge awaits next week and I'm looking forward to seeing how we handle it.

Hang on, we did prove one thing this season. You are forever our bitches!:D :D :D

Which means jack sh*t unless you win the flag.

Nice to see a gracious winner. :rolleyes:

Go masturbate elsewhere!!

sapaul
31 Aug 2003, 19:23
Originally posted by macca23

Nice to see a gracious winner. :rolleyes:

Yeah, he was probably mild compared to Pred though, Pred now reckons we have moved up to be their ****s, guess he'd know all about ****s.

Arabian Goggles
7 Sep 2003, 16:36
If you really hate Port, you're gonna want one of these!!!

http://www.cafeshops.com/porttossers

Enjoy ;)

DaveW
7 Sep 2003, 17:15
Originally posted by Arabian Goggles
If you really hate Port, you're gonna want one of these!!!

http://www.cafeshops.com/porttossers

Enjoy ;) Nice idea, but it doesn't work.

If you're wearing one of those things, you look like a Power supporter from any sort of distance.

Only up close can you see what the logo actually is and what it says.

maccas_no1
7 Sep 2003, 17:17
Port Are Choking :D :D :D Port Are Pretenders:D :D :D

Port Really Suck:D :D :D

What a bunch of Softie's:rolleyes:

You softie's can win all the minor premierships in the world, but who remembers that:rolleyes:

CrowBoi
7 Sep 2003, 18:03
Swans are 30 points up at the end of the 3rd term.... C'mon Sydney!

Cough*choke*couch*chokers*cough.....

maccas_no1
7 Sep 2003, 18:06
CARN THE SWANS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

sapaul
7 Sep 2003, 18:45
They got what they deserved today.

Arrogant pricks.

Still Crowing
7 Sep 2003, 20:00
Originally posted by yob
September.

Call.
Of.
The.
Decade!!!

:D:D:D

Docker_Brat
7 Sep 2003, 20:04
Nice idea, but it doesn't work.

If you're wearing one of those things, you look like a Power supporter from any sort of distance.

I dunno, it works for me, I have one on order. :D

You'd have to be pretty poor sighted not to see the W word emblazoned across it. :)

DaveW
7 Sep 2003, 20:14
I still think if you're walking around wearing that, that anyone who takes no more than lazy glance at you will just see the port logo/colours.

Which achieves the opposite effect.

yob
7 Sep 2003, 20:22

Port.

September's bitches since 1997.

_espoir
7 Sep 2003, 20:34
*sigh* :(

GoalsFrom50Out
7 Sep 2003, 20:36
It's gonna be a loooooooong week Espoir ;)

CrowBoi
7 Sep 2003, 20:39
Originally posted by _espoir
*sigh* :(

time to cross over while you've got the chance? ;)

_espoir
7 Sep 2003, 20:40
time to cross over while you've got the chance? ;)

............................................................ ....................

Carmelo Anthony
7 Sep 2003, 20:52
PORT ADELAIDE :D

macca23
7 Sep 2003, 22:47

Originally posted by macca23
We'll keep a close eye on this post and Port Adelaide during the finals, won't we big gob??

Well big gob, if only your action on the field when it REALLY counts was as big as your massive gob, you might actually win a final.

It may surprise you, oh ye of microscopic intellect and garguantuan gob that winning the Showdowns is not actually what it's all about - it's about winning finals.

That choking noose around the neck is tightening isn't it??

Keep the laughs coming!! :p

vacekadelaide
7 Sep 2003, 22:54
Road crosssings suck too! ;)

Too true..theyre not even close to pretenders!!!
They have to try to do something, to be able to pretend!

eddie eagle
8 Sep 2003, 00:00

What are these ramblings Jars, I won't ignore them, but it has taken you too long to come out.

Well Done

The fact that they are such bad losers, and minor round winners, makes their choking all the sweeter, warms the heart.

Good will always triumph over the evil backtabbing traitors of SA Footy in the End

eddie eagle
8 Sep 2003, 00:01
Originally posted by yob
Port.

September's bitches since 1997.

nice one - that should shut macca up, if he has stopped crying

eddie eagle
8 Sep 2003, 00:10
Nice idea, but it doesn't work.

I disagree, I have one from the original run in 1997, and it works brilliantly, you are wearing it at the supermarket, or in rundle mall, and normally some toothless feral starts up a conversation asking about the powers chances, or latest minor round win, I do not respond, just look at them and stand front on until they have another look at the shirt.

I purchased mine from the APPLF website (since moved) for $20 and have been offered $50 for it off my back, so now I can probably fill this guys order

Brilliant

DaveW
8 Sep 2003, 00:14
Originally posted by eddie eagle
I disagree, I have one from the original run in 1997, and it works brilliantly, you are wearing it at the supermarket, or in rundle mall, and normally some toothless feral starts up a conversation asking about the powers chances, or latest minor round win, I do not respond, just look at them and stand front on until they have another look at the shirt.
That's the point though. If that "toothless feral" didn't stop to talk to you, they'd think you were a Port Power fan.

eddie eagle
8 Sep 2003, 00:14
I still think if you're walking around wearing that, that anyone who takes no more than lazy glance at you will just see the port logo/colours.

Which achieves the opposite effect.

No I wore mine to a glenelg sturt game at the bay in round one a few years back and after thinking what is a port power fan doing at the game, most people said nice/great t-shirt mate

Adelaide oval at the cricket is also a spot you'll see mine

DaveW
8 Sep 2003, 00:17
thinking what is a port power fan doing at the game Nail. Head. Hammer.

;)

eddie eagle
8 Sep 2003, 00:18

My thoughts exactly still crowing, may bob neil be with you

eddie eagle
8 Sep 2003, 00:20
I dunno, it works for me, I have one on order. :D

You'd have to be pretty poor sighted not to see the W word emblazoned across it. :)

could you pls provide some feedback about postage times, ie when you get it, & costs, also I assume the prices quoted are USD?

cheers

ok.crows
8 Sep 2003, 01:31
My thoughts exactly still crowing, may bob neil be with you

bob neil was here.

Docker_Brat
8 Sep 2003, 03:41
could you pls provide some feedback about postage times, ie when you get it, & costs, also I assume the prices quoted are USD?

cheers

Prices are USD approx A$35 including postage, but if you know a couple of people who want one it makes it cheaper.

Let you know when mine arrives how long they take to get here.

Still Crowing
8 Sep 2003, 20:26
Originally posted by ok.crows
bob neil was here.

Bob Neil is everywhere....he's like the Force.....the energy that binds the universe together etc!

sapaul
20 Sep 2003, 17:57
Gotta feel sorry for the scum.

2 years in a row as minor premiers with no flags to show for it.

They have been embarrassing South Australia on the field for far too long now.

RaDaR ReiLLy
20 Sep 2003, 18:01
Gotta feel sorry for the scum.

2 years in a row as minor premiers with no flags to show for it.

They have been embarrassing South Australia on the field for far too long now.
I really do feel sorry for them- but they have to clean up their finals performance next year.

For the first time ever in my life today, I was going for the power and i really wanted them to smash those collywobble farts :(

Kane McGoodwin
20 Sep 2003, 18:03
I hate Port Adelaide because they haven't stopped Collingwood from playing off in the Grand Final.

RaDaR ReiLLy
20 Sep 2003, 18:08
I hate Port Adelaide because they haven't stopped Collingwood from playing off in the Grand Final.
lol...
Just imagine if Collingwood win the flag and Buckley wins the brownose..
your worst nightmare coming true :( :mad: