View Full Version : Stevens dropped

Nige_Bix
29 Aug 2003, 19:18
Ok - so what's going on - Mark Stevens is out of the side - along with Begley and Doughty.

It seems as though he is not injured - good news for the W/WT Eagles I guess - but thats secondary to me!:(

topjars
29 Aug 2003, 19:33
eeny meeny miney mo
irk the coach
who'll drop the crow
if he hollers
let him grow

Stiffy_18
29 Aug 2003, 20:07
Now we are well and truely f*cked!!!!!!:( :mad: Too short in defence and takes away a lot of our flexibility.

I am beggining to wonder if the club really wants to win this game.:eek: :mad:

DaveMorro
29 Aug 2003, 21:42
Maybe your club is predicting a wet day?
Making Ports talls ineffective?
I'm not a supporter of either club, but it dumbfounds me how you would go into a game against Port with Bassett and now Stevens

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
29 Aug 2003, 22:08
well we all know how much I LOVE Stevo. Therefore I need not say how disapointed I am that he is out. :( He didn't set the world on fire last week, but then nobody did. Without Bass or Stevo I think we are a bit stretched. Wouldn't mind betting a late change and one of these 2 coming in. Otherwise I think we might be in a bit of strife.

k
xx

Crow54
29 Aug 2003, 23:41
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Now we are well and truely f*cked!!!!!!:( :mad: Too short in defence and takes away a lot of our flexibility.

I'm with you Stiffy. :mad: What the hell are they thinking?

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
29 Aug 2003, 23:45
Originally posted by Crow54
I'm with you Stiffy. :mad: What the hell are they thinking?

I reckon they are hoping Chad Cornes is going to pull out. That is the only thing I can think of, he has a dodgy ankle apparantly.

k
xx

Stiffy_18
29 Aug 2003, 23:47
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
I reckon they are hoping Chad Cornes is going to pull out. That is the only thing I can think of, he has a dodgy ankle apparantly.

k
xx Even if that was the line of thinking, Thurstans would come in for Chad. So dropping Stevo is a bit of a weird one. I just hope they know what they are doing. Playing Biglands on Tredrea is as good as commiting suicide.:(

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
29 Aug 2003, 23:51
Even if that was the line of thinking, Thurstans would come in for Chad. So dropping Stevo is a bit of a weird one. I just hope they know what they are doing. Playing Biglands on Tredrea is as good as commiting suicide.:(

It certainly is weird - my brother works with Ian Dettman who is a SANFL observer, he got the call at about 10.00am this morning to go watch Stevo, because my brother emailed me straight away. I wouldn't mind betting he is called up at the last minute but reallly I don't like the games we are playing.

k
xx

AngelEyes
30 Aug 2003, 00:55
Originally posted by dezzmo
Mark Stevens is out of the side
Not really shocked with this one.
Rocca killed him last week. Should get proper match fitness in the SANFL. As for being a defender, couldn't stand his pathetic attempt to defend last week. I miss Benny!:( We need him and Bassett back!

macca23
30 Aug 2003, 01:12
It will either be a stroke of madness or genius dropping Stevens.
He certainly was very ordinary last week.

Port generally only play the two talls up forward, and have caught us out many times with their small forwards.

Sure, they might give Thurstans or Lade spells up forward, but then I would be happy for Biglands to be used back there for the periods they're on.

If needs be Perrie could go back at times, and we go small up forward and mismatch their backmen.

All is not lost.

beckybiglands
30 Aug 2003, 01:15

i threw the remote and locked myself in my room...
how the truck do they plan to win this game without a defense?
:mad: :( :confused:

PrideofSA
30 Aug 2003, 02:41
Sun, Aug 31

Showers
min: 8°C
max: 14°C

Well, this could be the reason. If Mcleod, Ladhams, Burns, Johncock etc can sneak plenty of goals from us, it may leave, Perrie, Carey, Tredrea, Cornes, etc out of the game. Hopefully this will advantage us.

Having said that, we played in the wet last week and did it badly, but maybe it's to our advantage having experienced it only last week.

Also having said that, Port should beat us, as we are pretenders this year. We will win our first up final against Essendon, WC or Freo and depending where we play in the semis, we may struggle there too....but who knows.

CrowBoi
30 Aug 2003, 06:07
I still reckon McLeod will come out blazing with his contract out of the way... When he absolutely fires, we win... As a bonus, I don't think there is any other player in the AFL that can pick up a wet ball, and burst on the run, as Andy can....

watch him closely in this one ;)

maccas_no1
30 Aug 2003, 13:26
I reakon Mcleod will have a blinder he is due for one:D :D :D

topjars
30 Aug 2003, 14:47
Theyve all got to have blinders if we are to win this one.
Im telling you...Ayrseys sandbagging.:confused:

DaveW
30 Aug 2003, 14:52
Originally posted by topjars
Im telling you...Ayrseys sandbagging.:confused: That's bull****. Why would Gary be trying to wreck our season?

Kane McGoodwin
30 Aug 2003, 17:01
Even if that was the line of thinking, Thurstans would come in for Chad. So dropping Stevo is a bit of a weird one. I just hope they know what they are doing. Playing Biglands on Tredrea is as good as commiting suicide.:(
I agree Stiffy that playing Biglands on Tredrea is crazy for 2 reasons. Firstly, it robs us of the Clarke / Biglands tandem in ruck & could affect our clearances. Secondly, Kenny is surely a better bet than Rhett on Tredders. Hope to heck that C Cornes doesn't play, as I reckon we would need to play someone smaller like Massie on him otherwise, to leave Smart to take the taller Lade or Thurstans. Hope it rains, as what will we do if it is fine & Tredders, Lade & say Thurstans all play forward. :confused:

Macca19
30 Aug 2003, 17:34
Its a pretty simple equation now.

You win, you play us in the first week.

You lose, you get a home final in the first week.

I dont think Ayres is trying to wreck your season. Makes no sense. He probably believes Stevens wasnt ready for AFL last week and needs another week against lesser opposition to make sure he is tip top for the first week of the finals. Makes sense.

Kane McGoodwin
30 Aug 2003, 18:40
Originally posted by Macca19
Its a pretty simple equation now.

You win, you play us in the first week.
... & we are a chance to win the flag.

Originally posted by Macca19
You lose, you get a home final in the first week.

.... but we will be just making up the numbers in the finals.

We MUST win tomorrow!!!

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
31 Aug 2003, 00:02
Stevo played an absolute blinder for the eagles today:D :D He played at CHB and was absolutely on fire. He got over 23 possessions and took about 10 marks. Slayed em. He will be back next week - I make this prediction - if he is not - I will do a nude run from the Southern to Northern end of AAMI stadium at half time of our first final at home!

k
xx

macca23
31 Aug 2003, 00:05

He will be back next week - I make this prediction - if he is not - I will do a nude run from the Southern to Northern end of AAMI stadium at half time of our first final at home!

k
xx

I always enjoy a bit of half-time entertainment.;)

GoalsFrom50Out
31 Aug 2003, 00:06
He - like the rest of the team - played absolutely crap in the second half. :mad:

Another loss I'll never get over.

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
31 Aug 2003, 00:13
Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
He - like the rest of the team - played absolutely crap in the second half. :mad:

Another loss I'll never get over.

be fair though. He was moved to FF and it wasn't like the ball was coming in to him. Not sure what Fuller was doing - Stevo was killing em at CHB - if he had been left there I am sure we would have won because he was repelling everything.

k
xx

Nige_Bix
31 Aug 2003, 00:35
Stevo played an absolute blinder for the eagles today:D :D He played at CHB and was absolutely on fire. He got over 23 possessions and took about 10 marks. Slayed em. He will be back next week
Hmm - maybe he is still a chance to get an 11th hour call up for the showdown!:D
I make this prediction - if he is not - I will do a nude run from the Southern to Northern end of AAMI stadium at half time of our first final at home!

My young son just read this and has gone ape as his chances of going to a final now have just gone out of the window!

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
31 Aug 2003, 00:53
Hmm - maybe he is still a chance to get an 11th hour call up for the showdown!:D

My young son just read this and has gone ape as his chances of going to a final now have just gone out of the window!

LOL - don't worry Dezzmo - your son can go to the footy finals - simply because Stevo WILL be back for next weeks finals :D hence no nude run will be required - BUT as promised if he isn't picked I'll have to hope the sun is shining and it is a bit warmer than tonight!

k
xx

Nige_Bix
31 Aug 2003, 00:56
LOL - don't worry Dezzmo - your son can go to the footy finals - simply because Stevo WILL be back for next weeks finals :D hence no nude run will be required - BUT as promised if he isn't picked I'll have to hope the sun is shining and it is a bit warmer than tonight!

k
xx
Remind me to put in that toy telescope he got from the show today!

Nige_Bix
31 Aug 2003, 00:57
did the Eagles lose - missed the sanfl scores - was at the show!

GoalsFrom50Out
31 Aug 2003, 00:59
They lost by 18 points after not scoring in the second half.

Oh, and, you have the exact same name as my uncle. :D

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
31 Aug 2003, 01:04
Remind me to put in that toy telescope he got from the show today!

you won't need a telescope - I will arrange with the SANFL to have it flashed up onto the superscreen for all to see!

k
xx

Nige_Bix
31 Aug 2003, 01:05
They lost by 18 points after not scoring in the second half. -- What The.....! :eek: you mean 0-0-0 -

Oh, and, you have the exact same name as my uncle. :D
Huh? a person who is really called dezzmo?

GoalsFrom50Out
31 Aug 2003, 01:07
I for some reason went to your webpage and saw that it said Des Murrin, which I'm guessing is your name, and that's my uncle's name.

And yeah, they went into half time at 6.7.43 and finished the game at 6.7.43

blighty
31 Aug 2003, 02:27
I expect Biglands to play on Tredrea & with his reach, weight & strength to bring the ball to the ground for the smaller runners Reilly & Doughty & co to run the ball into the forwrd line something they haven't been able to do these past two weeks.

Also think that anyone who tries to take up space in front of Biglands will know he's around as he doesn't go round blokes in his way!

I thought his effort on Rocca in the Collingwood game was about the only highlight that I got from that game. He was physical, strong & held postion.Fraser provided a valuable lesson to us that night in kicking three goals & as Mathews & [Gary Lyon before him] have said ruckmen have to do more than simply tap the ball to runners.Biglands is so strong & athletic & could be that type of player in the same way Rehn played; knowing when to go into defence & kicking goals up forward !

He wont develop as a player sitting on the bench!

It's time to unleash him & give him the confidence to do the job!

It also seems to me they will play Burton up forward to provide more marking power.

PrideofSA
31 Aug 2003, 03:43
you won't need a telescope - I will arrange with the SANFL to have it flashed up onto the superscreen for all to see!

k
xx

please don't:eek: