View Full Version : here we come !!
at last we have finaly torn a side up !! look out pies . 12 goal kickers great team effort. pity about scott anyone know how bad is his injury ?? . as we had no coverage in tassie did we rest vossey and is there any other injury worries ?????
Chris Johnson - Got a bump on his shoulder. Didn't use that arm for the rest of the game.
Chris Scott - Groin strain
Aaron Shattock - Knee
Brad Scott - Ankle, out for the season
and what more, Collingwood you would think would have learnt something from the last encounter. Bright side is that Lynch got quite a few touches and Collingwood will be without Wakelin next week.
LionHeart20
30 Aug 2003, 23:46
How long is Michael, Pikey and Fly out for?
Geez, gotta keep an eye out on these players this week. :(
My pessimistic side has finaly come to the fore.
B.Scott looks like the season, Johnno maybe an AC, Shattock a knee injury(never good news), C.Scott a dodgy groin, Lappin looked to be hobbling, Voss still playing on one leg and Leppa waiting the season out for that shoulder op.
IMO, it would take a minor miracle for us to roll the Pies next week, especially in front of their feral home crowd.
I'm more hopeful, rather than confident at this point.
fugitive
31 Aug 2003, 03:30
I think we have a great chance of winning since the final is being played at the MCG. The crowd may be a factor but as long as it's not Telstra Dome it shouldn matter.
Again the key will be our defence & collingwood's forwards if we can contain them like last time we will generally control the midfield & give Lynchy & Browny enough feed to help kick a winning score.
Only if we hadn't slipped our gaurd against Sydney we would have been playing this final at home:(
Hilly72
31 Aug 2003, 03:41
Injuries are a worry, but more importantly can someone tell me if it was a good performance by the boys, or just a really poor effort by the dogs?
I am looking forward to seeing my first game of the year :) (on on TV) hopefully it is us in the GF again....
lioness
31 Aug 2003, 15:22
Well despite the injuries and I guess having a 'soft' match in the last round of the season, I have a fair bit of confidence that we can win. Certainly won't be a huge one, but I mean we just beat Collingwood at the same ground a few weeks ago and were rarely threatened all day, the MCG doesn't spook us the way it seemed to before we won a couple of premierships there :p and after a few ordinary patches during the season and losing pretty much every close game we were involved in, we still finished just half a game behind the Pies.
If our match had gone the same way (injuries and all) and the Pies had LOST to the Bombers and we'd gotten 2nd spot on the ladder, therefore playing at the GABBA, would everyone be so pessimistic? And yes I have taken the travelling into consideration too, but if we're truly good enough then we can overcome all of it.
I still have faith. :)
Originally posted by baz77
and what more, Collingwood you would think would have learnt something from the last encounter. Bright side is that Lynch got quite a few touches and Collingwood will be without Wakelin next week.
Actually, Wakelin is expected to play. It wasn't a groin, it was a corked thigh. Oh, and Presti is expected to play, after playing for Willi on the weekend.
Did Leppa play against the Mapies last time? I cna't remember. And Johnno did he play?
cjwalkley
31 Aug 2003, 17:53
It's alright Joel, Wakelin only has a corked thigh, and there is a tooth fairy.
Fair dinkum when will people stop believing the propaganda spurted by some clubs. A corked thigh doesn't make a bloke go straight into the rooms during a game, and not return. I'm not sure if he will play or not, but that doesn't matter. The Lions would be confident coming into this week due to the match ups and the fact that Fraser only looks good against hacks in the ruck, but goes missing against the big boys.
lioness
31 Aug 2003, 18:00
Originally posted by Joel
Actually, Wakelin is expected to play. It wasn't a groin, it was a corked thigh. Oh, and Presti is expected to play, after playing for Willi on the weekend.
Oh go away. :mad: :p
Originally posted by Joel
Well if the Collingwood think tank think it to be beneficial to play a key position full back with a cork thigh on a fit Key position full forward then by all means. I ain't complaining :)
LionHeart20
31 Aug 2003, 19:07
Originally posted by kimp
Did Leppa play against the Mapies last time? I cna't remember. And Johnno did he play?
Leppitsch didn't play but Johnno first week back.
CarterS
31 Aug 2003, 19:22
Originally posted by LionHeart20
Leppitsch didn't play but Johnno first week back.
Johnson barely played at all that day.
It will be a 50/50 game. Who do we play if we lose?
LionHeart20
31 Aug 2003, 19:33
Originally posted by CarterS
It will be a 50/50 game. Who do we play if we lose?
Yeah, it was good that Leigh gave him limited game time as most of our defenders stood up to the task.
Go here this should help --> AFL Finals System (http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=finals8explained)
Originally posted by cjwalkley
It's alright Joel, Wakelin only has a corked thigh, and there is a tooth fairy.
Fair dinkum when will people stop believing the propaganda spurted by some clubs. A corked thigh doesn't make a bloke go straight into the rooms during a game, and not return. I'm not sure if he will play or not, but that doesn't matter. The Lions would be confident coming into this week due to the match ups and the fact that Fraser only looks good against hacks in the ruck, but goes missing against the big boys.
We'll see. I'm only repeating what has been reported. Yeah, Fraser went missing against Adelaide's ruckmen. :rolleyes:
What I find funny is that if we win and Port win Collingwood have to make the GF by playing the Prelim v Port in Adelaide whilst we will play another interstate club in Melbourne.
Lenny29
31 Aug 2003, 22:15
Originally posted by cjwalkley
Fair dinkum when will people stop believing the propaganda spurted by some clubs. A corked thigh doesn't make a bloke go straight into the rooms during a game, and not return.
I've had a corked thigh where I haven't been able to walk on it until a couple of days later, and still played the following weekend. You'd hope an AFL-level player would have a better recovery time than myself.
Dodongo
31 Aug 2003, 23:23
Dodongo is looking forward to this. Dodongo and Dodongo's family couldn't attend the game 3 weeks ago, but Dodongo and Dodongo's family will be coming along on Saturday night. Dodongo can't wait. Dodongo wants to see those pies driven hard into the ground and their president's face almost blowing up with all the emotion that his team lost. Dodongo wants to see all of that, but Dodongo does realise that the Lions need to put in a good performance for all that to happen and Dodongo is a confident Dodongo and will be confident all through the week and when Dodongo and Dodongo's presence is felt on Saturday night. Dodongo will eat Dodongo's McDodongo burger before the game if Dodongo gets nervous.
rchowell
1 Sep 2003, 11:46
Originally posted by baz77
Collingwood will be without Wakelin next week.Reckon he'll play myself. It's only a corkie, and Collingwood say he's doubtful so he's an absolute monty to play! :p
Originally posted by luthor
My pessimistic side has finaly come to the fore.
B.Scott looks like the season, Johnno maybe an AC, Shattock a knee injury(never good news), C.Scott a dodgy groin, Lappin looked to be hobbling, Voss still playing on one leg and Leppa waiting the season out for that shoulder op.
IMO, it would take a minor miracle for us to roll the Pies next week, especially in front of their feral home crowd.
I'm more hopeful, rather than confident at this point.I have to agree with you unfortunately luthor. It's going to be a massive ask this week for all the reasons you mentioned. Put it this way, if the Lions get up it'll probably go down as one of the better backs to the walls victories you'll see. But then again, everybody wrote of Collingwood when they went over to play Port Adelaide last year, so maybe that will be some sort of inspiration for all us pessimists. The fat lady sure hasn't sung yet, and if the Lions play at their best they will win, I have no doubt of that. What is more important though in my mind is the knowledge that they will never throw in the towel, regardles of the situation. There is just too much at stake.
Originally posted by CarterS
It will be a 50/50 game. Who do we play if we lose?Brisbane will play the winner of the Adelaide v West Coast game at the 'Gabba.
wickedwitch
1 Sep 2003, 15:09
does anyone know what's wrong with Mal and why he was a late withdrawal last Saturday?
LionHeart20
1 Sep 2003, 15:15
Originally posted by wickedwitch
does anyone know what's wrong with Mal and why he was a late withdrawal last Saturday?
back problems.
cjwalkley
1 Sep 2003, 18:37
Originally posted by L-Nizzy
I've had a corked thigh where I haven't been able to walk on it until a couple of days later, and still played the following weekend. You'd hope an AFL-level player would have a better recovery time than myself.
When was the last time you saw an AFL player with a corked thigh go straight up the race and not return, especially in such an important game? The whole point of my post was that the injury was not a corkie.
I'm not convinced it's a corkie either.
Still, further to your previous point, why would a club bother leaving a guy on the bench with a serious corkie, that's going to keep them out of the rest of the game without doubt, when they can take them into the rooms and get it treated on so they can try and get it right for the next week? That was my point.
cjwalkley
1 Sep 2003, 20:01
A corkie won't worsen, and you can't damage it anymore whatever you do. If it was a corkie I suspect that they would have been keeping it warm on the boundary in case Lloyd broke the Clement shackles. As Wakelin went straight up the race, I suspect it was a muscle strain of some description.
LionHeart20
2 Sep 2003, 16:02
B.Scott - unavailable
A.Shattock - unavailable
C.Scott - probable
C.McRae - likely
M.Michael - probable
M.Voss - will play
N.Lappin - will play
C.Johnson - probable
M.Pike - probable
SpecialBruce
2 Sep 2003, 16:41
B.Scott - unavailable
A.Shattock - unavailable
C.Scott - probable
C.McRae - likely
M.Michael - probable
M.Voss - will play
N.Lappin - will play
C.Johnson - probable
M.Pike - probable
I sense we'll be going into the game with about 4 - 8 of the 22 injured, which means the other players need to step up like never before in such a crucial game.
LionHeart20
2 Sep 2003, 16:54
I agree.
I reckon they'll play everyone even if they're half injured. :( :o
I wish we could have our fully fit 22 then i'd be much more confident.
SpecialBruce
2 Sep 2003, 17:26
I agree.
I reckon they'll play everyone even if they're half injured. :( :o
I wish we could have our fully fit 22 then i'd be much more confident.
Yep, just a matter of time to see what our team is going to be for this week.
Beausgirl43
2 Sep 2003, 17:41
C.McRae - likely I would say Fly is very doubtful. :(
Might not make it back at all this season.
cheers ... Kaz :confused: