View Full Version : Who to support in the first week?
Adelaide vs West Coast? Adelaide. Well duh.
Collingwood vs Brisbane? Brisbane. If we win we play the loser of this match. I give us a much better chance against Collingwood at the MCG than I do against Brisbane at the Gabba. :eek:
Port Adelaide vs Sydney? Tough one. Depends if we prefer Port at FP or Swans at MCG/Homebush in the preliminary (should we get there). Going on our head-to-head records with these two sides: Sydney. (And let's face it - could we ever bring ourselves to barrack for Port?)
Fremantle vs Essendon? Fremantle. I have 20 dollars riding on this game. :D
The same ^^^Freo is the only one I'm confident will win though.:(
SAbella
31 Aug 2003, 17:32
[QUOTE]Originally posted by DaveW
[
And let's face it - could we ever bring ourselves to barrack for Port?
I will be barracking for Sydney with almost as much passion as I would for the Crows next week, so much do I hate Port at the moment. I would even rather Collingwood won the Cup this year if it came down to Port and Collingwood!
macca23
31 Aug 2003, 18:07
Originally posted by DaveW
Collingwood vs Brisbane? Brisbane. If we win we play the loser of this match. I give us a much better chance against Collingwood at the MCG than I do against Brisbane at the Gabba. :eek:
Port Adelaide vs Sydney? Tough one. Depends if we prefer Port at FP or Swans at MCG/Homebush in the preliminary (should we get there). Going on our head-to-head records with these two sides: Sydney. (And let's face it - could we ever bring ourselves to barrack for Port?)
Well summed up Dave.
I think we will beat West Coast next week - by 30 plus if we are fair dinkum.
We certainly do want Brisbane to beat Collingwood, because while it will be tough for us to beat the Pies at the G I think it's next to impossible for us to beat Brisbane at the Gabba. Injuries could hurt the Lions though. C'mon Brisbane.
Definitely Sydney to beat Port. Won't happen though, but I would back us to beat Sydney at Sydney before we beat Port.
Freo to beat Essendon goes without saying, and at Subiaco I think they can do it.
Kane McGoodwin
31 Aug 2003, 18:11
Well we will probably win next week, but can't see us going any further, so I don't think the other results will affect us at all. ie. we are pretenders. Just hope Brisbane, otherwise my worst nightmare is on the cards - Port v Collingwood grand final. :eek: :eek:
Yep, to me it doesn't really matter who wins as I would have wanted the Crows to win the premiership. Port, Sydney, Bris, the Pies, the Dons and Freo, any of them can win for all I care.
SAbella
31 Aug 2003, 18:46
After today, I don't care who wins out of who you named as long as its NOT Port.
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
31 Aug 2003, 18:49
Well done Dave - you are a man full of knowledge ;) totally agree with all above. Go you Crows!!!!!!!!!!!!! Go Sydney, Go Brisbane & Go Freo!
k
xx
I give us a much better chance against Collingwood at the MCG than I do against Brisbane at the Gabba. :eek:
Just thinking about this. And I know I'm getting ahead of myself. But what do you reckon our chances would be of knocking off an injury hit Brisbane at the Gabba?
GoalsFrom50Out
31 Aug 2003, 19:52
Slim. We'd have to actually play Smart football to win.
Go South
31 Aug 2003, 19:54
Just thinking about this. And I know I'm getting ahead of myself. But what do you reckon our chances would be of knocking off an injury hit Brisbane at the Gabba?
I give us a better chance of beating Brisbane up there, than I do of beating Collingwood in Melbourne.
Leaping Lindner
31 Aug 2003, 20:13
My wife is West Coast. Anyone know a good divorce lawyer?:eek:
I have to say that living here in Victoria I hope anyone (including Port) wins the Grand Final apart from the dumbers and the meatpies. Mind you to be fair if I was still living in Adelaide I'd probably hope that anyone but Port win.
Stiffy_18
31 Aug 2003, 20:34
Just thinking about this. And I know I'm getting ahead of myself. But what do you reckon our chances would be of knocking off an injury hit Brisbane at the Gabba? Either way we are f*cked. But I would much rather fancy my chances against injury hit Brisbane who we match up OK against rather than our bogey side
Stiffy_18
31 Aug 2003, 20:35
Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
Slim. We'd have to actually play Smart football to win. I don't think we are really capable of that
PrideofSA
31 Aug 2003, 21:16
We just have to lift another gear, hopefully the guys have plenty of tricks up their sleeve and the last 3 weeks were just playing with different things (how could you explain Bassett & Stevens?)
Perhaps we are really trying to be written off like Collingwood pre finals last year.
We'll thats what i'm hoping for anyway.
topjars
31 Aug 2003, 21:36
Originally posted by SAbella
[QUOTE]Originally posted by DaveW
[
And let's face it - could we ever bring ourselves to barrack for Port?
I will be barracking for Sydney with almost as much passion as I would for the Crows next week, so much do I hate Port at the moment. I would even rather Collingwood won the Cup this year if it came down to Port and Collingwood!
DITTO - But the odds of Sydney getting within a bullsroar with half their side out is futile.
They will get smacked up.
SAbella
31 Aug 2003, 21:40
Originally posted by topjars
DITTO - But the odds of Sydney getting within a bullsroar with half their side out is futile.
Realistically I know thats true :mad:
Still doesnt stop me from barracking for the swans next weekend, and for whoever the next team is that plays port in the finals...
Originally posted by topjars
Ditto, no2.
Which ever way you look at how the season is panning out the Paps definitely have the footy gods smiling upon them & realistically the only club that even looks like turning their dream into a nightmare would be Collingwood,
Port Power, have been handed a grand-final berth by virtue of a great year in the minor round, well thought out player management & a list which is the best going around,
Collingwood, 2nd spot is a god send for the pies & Malthouse will make the most of it.
Brisbane, to many injuries to key players are starting to hurt them & have probably run their race with their present squad,
Sydney, cruel injuries will hurt them against the 3 big clubs but they will not disgrace themselves,
Fremantle, don't think they will even beat the Bombers this week,
Adelaide, lost our last 3 games & are on the ropes & will need a mighty effort just to make the prelim,
West Coast, in the same league as others in regards to injuries but have a rough chance this week if the Crows do another back-flip,
Essendon, could still be the surprise packet if the right results go their way,
At the moment if we do get over the Eagles this week my choice for the semi the week after would be Brisbane,
maccas_no1
1 Sep 2003, 12:12
I actually wouldnt mind playing Brisbane either in the second week,but hey at the moment lets not get to far ahead of ourselves the AFC aint exactly setting the world on fire at the moment:rolleyes: