http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/photos/fixtures/williamstown-vs-bhh.gif

Sunday 17 April
at Avalon Airport Oval
Watton Street, Werribee
(Melways Ref. Map 205 H9)

Seniors 2:00pm
Development Team 11:00am
Radio: 3WBC (94.1FM)

Yes, the venue is correct (redevelopments happening at Williamstown so playing in Werribee)

For those taking the train, alight at Werribee and it's a short walk along the river towards Geelong. Around 500m.

Teams should be out Thursday night.

So who's in?
Who's in if we hit the Werribee pubs beforehand? :D

So, you can't get to Tassie- like me and have to work? Disappointing.
Still eager to see some Hawks in action and keep the footy brain ticking?

Well, have we got the solution. Don't miss out this week as the Hawks and Willy do battle (the Doggies VFL affiliate). Get along to Werribee this week with likeminded Hawk supporters (ie we all love Hawthorn and Box Hill) and get behind the boys on the road for what is sure to be a tough game. Cheer the boys over the line and show your support.

"One for all and all for one is the way we play at Box Hill!"

TheFourPillars
14 Apr 2011, 12:34
Unfortunately i'm not going to be able to make it this weekend. Hopefully someone can get down there and provide a report.

spudmaster
14 Apr 2011, 14:57
Oh, brilliant, even further away!

There's more chance of me driving to Tassie (yes, you read that right) than driving to Werribee!!!

It's a shame we can't line up our Box Hill home games with our Tassie games so there is always something in the near vicinity to go to that's Hawthorn related.

Joking aside, if the weather is nice enough I might pinch the old mans etag and go for a drive. The city bypass makes the drive from the SE burbs that much quicker nowadays.

The BIG X
14 Apr 2011, 16:55
Note

Westgate Bridge is closed part of sunday

Goldhawk
14 Apr 2011, 17:10
Note

Westgate Bridge is closed part of sunday

Which part of the Westgate bridge is closed :D

The BIG X
14 Apr 2011, 17:16
There is a fun run in outskirts of city and road works on the bridge - cannot detail times - sorry

Mitchell Madness
14 Apr 2011, 19:24
why is this game in werribee and not williamstown? is willy oval out of order atm or is it the regional round thing VFL has?

The BIG X
14 Apr 2011, 19:30
ROUND 3

http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/photos/fixtures/williamstown-vs-bhh.gif

Sunday 17 April
at Avalon Airport Oval
Watton Street, Werribee
(Melways Ref. Map 205 H9)

Seniors 2:00pm
Development Team 11:00am
Radio: 3WBC (94.1FM) TBC

Yes, the venue is correct (redevelopments happening at Williamstown so playing in Werribee)

[quote=Mitchell Madness;20689797]why is this game in werribee and not williamstown? is willy oval out of order atm or is it the regional round thing VFL has?

Reckon this covers it

Dixie Flatline
14 Apr 2011, 22:39
B: Puopolo Boumann Sierakowski
HB: T. Murphy Schoenmakers Cheney
C: Smith Schneider Milne
HF: Whitecross Lisle Breust
F: Fagan Bailey Duryea
Foll: Lowden S. Gibson Jackson
I/C (from): Litherland Cust Mirra Williams Kitchin Kiel Hoegel Thompson Andrews

Reserves at 11.00am (also at Avalon Airport Oval).

B: Thompson Van Unen Neil
HB: Mahony Litherland Kiel
C: X. Murphy Kitchin Wanganeen
HF: Wallace Monkhurst Hoegel
F: Phelps Tobin Andrews
Foll: Grimley Hallahan Nye
I/C (from): Allen Cassidy Wilsen Carroll Sketcher Ralph Northe A. Ellis Johns J. Cooper Bolton D. Cooper

rdhopkins2
14 Apr 2011, 22:49
3WBC 94.1FM are definitely calling the game (preview starts 1pm).

Send the boys an Email during the call with any questions or comments to football@3wbc.org.au or follow us on Twitter at @3wbcfootball

go hawks!!!
14 Apr 2011, 23:37
I cannot make it this week as I will be in Launceston.

Look forward to a detailed report.

Good luck to Shoey in his first game for the season. Don't judge him too harsh, would have lost alot of match fitness/ confidence after not playing since NAB Rd 1 a while back. Hope he can push for selection in the next month.

stemline
15 Apr 2011, 14:23
What's happened to Pattison?

moginie
15 Apr 2011, 19:15
Folks, I know I must sound like a broken record (or that idiot on the main board who constantly asks after Shane Savage) but does anyone have an update on how Taylor Gilchrist is going & whether he'll be playing soon?

rdhopkins2
16 Apr 2011, 17:12
Anyone else heading along or am I the sole brown and gold soldier this week?

Goldhawk
16 Apr 2011, 19:02
I'll be there and Closed Sessions will be there too.

But i think that Box Hill Hawks might be up against it today,as the Williamstown sides are loaded with AFL players as the Bulldogs have a bye this weekend ,Just bad timing unfortunately.

I entertained houdinihuddo this afternoon at my place to watch the Hawks on Foxtel after i tight struggle all day we finally got home.

A big improvement will be required next week.

After the win ,my traditional ceremony is to raise the Hawthorn flag after each win and houdinihuddo was on hand to see the Hawk flag fly high.

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c270/FORDBA/HawksFlag004.jpg

houdinihuddo
16 Apr 2011, 19:52
I endured a tense last quarter at Goldhawk's magnificent nest and was pleased the Hawks took four points in an unimpressive performance. Taylor Gilchrist should be ready to play by round 7 and Patto received a 2 weeks suspension for a high tackle in the Port Melbourne game. Musto is progressing well following his surgery and is aiming to return in round 10.

rdhopkins2
16 Apr 2011, 21:46
Sensational- limo pick up at 10? :D
Nah, all good, I'll catch the train.
Look forward to catching up with those who attend.

Roddy27
17 Apr 2011, 14:43
Quarter time:

BHH: 21
Willy: 17

illnino
17 Apr 2011, 15:16
After the win ,my traditional ceremony is to raise the Hawthorn flag after each win and houdinihuddo was on hand to see the Hawk flag fly high.

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c270/FORDBA/HawksFlag004.jpg

That's awesome GM :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Even better if you have some annoying opposition supporters for neighbors :D Would be hilarious if they put up their own team flag out of spite......Imagine having to wake up to a Magpie flag outside your window every day :eek:

Half time and Box Hill's up by a few goals. Milne has 3.

Hodgepodge
17 Apr 2011, 15:27
Goldhawk, that is hilarious :D

HigginsHawk
17 Apr 2011, 15:33
5.6.36 Willy
7.8.50 Box Hill

Bailey been rucking against Minson, good test for him.

Hodgepodge
17 Apr 2011, 15:36
Is there a twitter feed?
Who are the better players etc . . .

HigginsHawk
17 Apr 2011, 15:39
Back to 3 points.

HigginsHawk
17 Apr 2011, 15:47
Is there a twitter feed?
Who are the better players etc . . .

Only just started listening. Willy up by 3 now. I'm listening through the hawks website link to WBC.

Lisle goals to put BH back up by 3 as I'm typing.

moginie
Williamstown hit the front 55-51

The line I didn't want to hear was uttered;

"They've got to get more out of Schoenmakers."

Lisle replies with a goal.

8.9 57
8.7 55

Buddy Guy
Goal Lisle.
BHH by 2 points.

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 15:49
Howard goal.
Willy by 5 points.

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 15:56
Minson dominating.

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 16:02
Willy goal 13 points up.

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 16:03
Goal to Will Minson.
Willy up by 19 points now.

dermott
17 Apr 2011, 16:04
Minson dominating.

Does that mean Bailey and Lowden are not ready yet? Never been particularly impressed by Minson in the AFL.

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 16:04
Vezpremi.
Willy up by 25 points late in the 3rd qtr.

moginie
17 Apr 2011, 16:05
3/4 time

Box Hill 8.9 57
Williamstown 12.10 82

Williamstown kicked 7 goals to our 1 in that quarter & 4 of them in time on.

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 16:05
3qtr time.

Willy 12.10 82
Box Hill 8.9 57

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 16:10
Does that mean Bailey and Lowden are not ready yet? Never been particularly impressed by Minson in the AFL.

Im only listening dermott.
Radio commentary saying that Bailey has been ok but has offered nothing up forward whereas Minson has been dangerous.

Roby
17 Apr 2011, 16:10

Minson has dominated in the ruck and around the ground. Also kicked four goals. Bailey has been better in the ruck than Lowden but hasn't moved much around the ground. Lowden has shown glimpses of good things around the ground but hasn't hurt going forward and clearly beaten in the ruck.

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 16:19
Duryea goal.
BHH down by 19 points.

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 16:20
White X goal.
14 points down.

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 16:28
Willy goal Box Hill quick reply.
13 points down.

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 16:30
Willy goal.

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 16:33
Jones another goal for Willy.
BHH down by 23

HigginsHawk
17 Apr 2011, 16:38
And GH's flag gets a mention!

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 16:38
Lisle goal.
BHH down by 17.

illnino
17 Apr 2011, 16:41
HaHa!

GM you just got a mention on the radio! They saw your pic and mentioned your flag, and your pool.

The other guy said you sound like a bit of a mental :o Reckon at least you'd know the names of the players properly ;) :p

HigginsHawk
Milne goal back to 10 points

Buddy Guy
Milne goooaaalllll.
10 points in it.

HigginsHawk
17 Apr 2011, 16:43
Goal to Goodes - basically over. Less than a minute left.

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 16:43
Goal Willy.

HigginsHawk
17 Apr 2011, 16:44
Goal to Lisle back to 10 points 33 mins

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 16:45
Lisle another goal.

GH's flag just had its 30 seconds of fame.:)

HigginsHawk
17 Apr 2011, 16:46
Final score 16.13 109 Willy to 14.14.98 BH Thanks for tuning in.

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 16:53
Lisle & Milne both kicked 4 goals.

8.4 to 1.1 in the 3rd qtr cost BHH.

Big Moose
17 Apr 2011, 16:54
How many did Lisle kick?

Who played the best out of Puopolo and Smith?

djboonie
17 Apr 2011, 17:00
Thanks for the updates Mr Way

Beandip
17 Apr 2011, 17:08
4 goals each to Lisle and Milne? Certainly putting their hands up for selection.

Good to hear Bailey get through another game unscathed... He's slowly creeping his way towards the ones :)

Anyone listening able to point towards any other stand outs for Hawthorn?

Roby
17 Apr 2011, 17:23
I didn't manage to get to the game today, but I have been listening on the radio and dictating. Obviously no where near the same as watching the game but this is what I have gathered.

Eight goal to one third quarter did not help. Hawks pressed well in F50 but got caught in transition to many times for some easy goal concedes. Not enough movement from forwards presenting.

Breust, Gibson, Cheney and Milne have been the best on ground for Box Hill. Bruest a lot of the ball and marks, has been the main engine in the midfield with forward entries and couple of good goals. One off a stoppage and another near a boundary set-shot. Disposal was good.

Cheyney has had a fair few one-two's, good rebounding, took an excellent mark and was rarely beaten. Covered a lot of ground with good disposal.

Gibson had a lot the ball, presented well and stood up when it counted but unfortunately missed some easy shots that he should of put away.

Milne was moving up forward and was getting in some good positions. Kicked 4 goals. Used the ball okay and intercepted a few contests.

Murphy started off not so well but got better towards the end of the game. Didn't do much, I don't know who is opponent was.

Puopolo was probably the best player in the first quarter. Was intercepting a lot and coming as second man up. Also played on much taller opponents but was mainly on Hopper in the first half, gave away a bad free-kick inside 50 but was really good apart from that. Didn't do much in second quarter and third quarter. Was on Vespremi in the second half but Vespremi was second best on ground behind Minson. All in all was only really good in spurts and Vespremi beat him comprehensively.

Minson was dominating in the ruck and around the ground. Lowden drifted forward but didn't seem to be in the game, although he showed some good contests. Only showed glimpses of good contested play around the ground. Again not enough going forward and Minson clearly dominated him.

Bailey didn't ruck a lot but did have few Hitouts TO Advantage, one in the centre square which almost resulted in a goal. I don't think he took any marks in the first half. Bailey did okay in the ruck with Hitouts-to-Advantage but didn't do enough around the ground, offered nothing up forward. Did get a couple of marks, possessions and clearances in the last quarter which was positive.

Schoenmakes was on Hahn in first half. Hahn seemed not be in the game but a fair few times Schoenmakes made same bad decisions coming out of D50. Had quite a few good spoils. Bouman then went on Hahn in second half.

Lisle took some good marks and did well with some difficult set shots. 4 goals.

Schnieder didn't do much all day and made some bad decisions generally and inside 50 as well.

Smith went missing for most of the game, although when he had it did run and bounce but didn't do enough. Could of used the ball better. Didn't offer anything in the contests.

Whitecross got better in later half of the game and popped up with a couple of goals. Generally a good kick but was beaten in contests and sometimes made bad decisions.

Sierkakowski seemed to pop up a lot in the second half after a quieter first half. Won a fair few contests and won a fair bit of ball. Usually used the ball well. Seemed to do well in defence also.

Mirra was probably the best out and out defender for the day, with good marks, spoils and contests. Don't who he was on though.

Tomohawks
17 Apr 2011, 18:21
Just got back from the game and I must say I am extremely disappointed to lose today after being the better side for 3/4's. Need I say that 3rd quarter killed us. Possible inclusions for next week after todays performance would have to be big Max who I thought worked his way into the game nicely and moved very well, Milne who found good position and used it well, and Cheney who looked cool under pressure all day. A few others showed glimpses including Pop, Punky, Whitex and Lisle who should have kicked 5 except for dropping a gimme in front of goal (right in front of Clarko and Fage's too). Although he didn't get a lot of it, Lowden did a couple of things a bloke of his size shouldn't be able to do and as he continues to bulk up and get more experience he could develop into a very handy ruck.
The one who disappointed me was Duryea. I can't ever see this bloke making it in the ones as he isn't overly quick, tall or a big possesion getter. Will be gone at the end of the season unless he becomes very good in atleast one particular vital small forward skill.

Rudi Gilham
17 Apr 2011, 18:48
Isaac Smith seems to have had a disappointing start to his career at Hawthorn. He finished off the last VFL season in fine style.

halfback dasher
17 Apr 2011, 19:21
Well Where to start....:confused:
Minson, Gilbee , Addison ,Barlow , Cordy ,Veszprimi ,Stack , Hahn , Moles
All afl experienced players....ALL BIGGER body's than there opponents....
I thought the boys where good all day bar about 20 mins when our Defenders pushed to far up the ground and got caught out on the rebound 4 or 5 times in the third qu . The result was score board impact.
Thought Milne , Cheney and Puopolo where good .Lowden is also coming along well....This kid , with a bit of meat on his frame , will be the ruckman we have been waiting for.....sadly still 18 mth away for mine.
Smith was good in patches......Geez , can he motor in space....:eek:
Lisle was also good in patch's , but what i will say in ref to this kid is this....at times he looses focus , and in doing so , loses contact with his opponent.....gets worked off far too easily for mine.....
Also a flaw with Bruest today which untill now i had'nt seen , his def pressure in our Fwd 50 is piss poor , and until it improves , he won't play AFL footy.

halfback dasher
17 Apr 2011, 19:31
Now away from the game.......
1. Will Minson....you my friend are an A grade tool , if you think its ok to bellow at the top of your voice the following to a boundry ump , your sadly mistaken ( oh and yes , i had a crack at him over the fence the then had words with him after the game , so do not think this is a gutlles hit at him )....
" You FU#@$% retard , your a f@#$4 joke retard , fu@# you usless prick "
Not enough for ya , he then backed it up about five min's later after Willy scored with " Your a fu@# spastic "
Why was he so angry , because the umps ball ins fell short a couple of times.....
2. And too there supporters who , at that end of the ground who thought that was ok , and joined in with him .......well what can i say , that i didnt at the time.
OH and WILL , while you thought the kid just was not up to it .....why where you there in the first place and not at home getting ready for next weeks game for the Dogs.....?

Rudi Gilham
17 Apr 2011, 19:35
I hope we don't make a habit of playing sides whose AFL affiliate has the bye.

We still have Pattison, Johnson, Muston & Gilchrist to come into our side.

We'll need to get 4 points on the board against Coburg next week.

halfback dasher
17 Apr 2011, 19:43
I hope we don't make a habit of playing sides whose AFL affiliate has the bye.

We still have Pattison, Johnson, Muston & Gilchrist to come into our side.

We'll need to get 4 points on the board against Coburg next week.
You can also add Pollard....

Roswell
17 Apr 2011, 19:59
1. Will Minson....you my friend are an A grade tool , if you think its ok to bellow at the top of your voice the following to a boundry ump , your sadly mistaken ( oh and yes , i had a crack at him over the fence the then had words with him after the game , so do not think this is a gutlles hit at him )....
Not enough for ya , he then backed it up about five min's later after Willy scored with " Your a fu@# spastic "
Why was he so angry , because the umps ball ins fell short a couple of times.....
2. And too there supporters who , at that end of the ground who thought that was ok , and joined in with him .......well what can i say , that i didnt at the time.
OH and WILL , while you thought the kid just was not up to it .....why where you there in the first place and not at home getting ready for next weeks game for the Dogs.....?

Same good bloke who upon hearing Kane Cornes kid was ill... questioned whether the kid was a spastic/retard. Classy classy fellow.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
17 Apr 2011, 20:06
Would be nice for a few of the guys close to AFL selection to dominate several games in a row.

its game on
17 Apr 2011, 20:07
You can also add Pollard....

Don't forget another bigger body in Morton.

Henry Jr
17 Apr 2011, 20:09
Don't forget another bigger body in Morton.

Out of sight, out of mind.

I'll organize Closed Sessions to give him a foot rub after training next week.

rdhopkins2
17 Apr 2011, 20:29
On a beautiful sunny afternoon at the picturesque gum tree lined Avalon Airport Oval in Werribee, I made it to the ground nearing quarter time (thanks Metro trains). 

With a slim lead, it augured well that we were first to the ball and supporting our team mates. The rest of that quarter and the 2nd quarter showed that we can play some good footy against quality opposition.

Running out after ½ time though was a Box Hill side that didn’t look desperate enough. An eight goal to one 3rd quarter and our early good work was undone. Simply not acceptable for a team that wants to play finals and challenge for the VFL flag.

The last quarter was a big improvement after Box Hill coach Damian Carroll implored his side at ¾ time to find it within themselves to find that hard ball when the going was tough and to show him exactly what we are made of. It’s all well and good when you’re 20 points up getting a kick here and there when it’s easy…but that’s not what the boys are judged on, it’s their fighting spirit, tenacity and the digging deep in times of adversity that Damian wishes to see.

Thanks to Goldhawk for giving me a lift back as well (I owe you petrol money)…if I’d known about the flag comments on 94.1FM 3WBC I’d have given him a ribbing. :D That said, don’t you all think he has a right of reply….a special pregame guest next week? ;)

Today’s game was a fantastic lesson in the importance of playing the full game at full endeavour. Individual talent and skills will only get you so far. We must continue to improve as a team, embracing the “one for all and all for one”, which must be the way “we play at Box Hill” if we wish to be known as “the mighty fighting Hawks” and a genuine threat to teams this year.

Best to mine: Lisle, Bailey & Puopolo,

The Convert
17 Apr 2011, 20:57
Did anyone see any of the development squad game and have some comments to make?

CharlieMitchell
17 Apr 2011, 20:59
Also a flaw with Bruest today which untill now i had'nt seen , his def pressure in our Fwd 50 is piss poor , and until it improves , he won't play AFL footy.

That's particularly disappointing to read as I suspect it's something he was asked to work on last season (and probably the only thing stopping him from pressing hard for senior selection at present).

Did Hallahan or Schneider (or both) line up as named, and if so, how did they perform?

Buddy Guy
17 Apr 2011, 21:01
How did the development squad go?
Any idea how the following went? Grimley,Hallahan, Wanganeen, Litherland or Mahony?

hfc70
17 Apr 2011, 21:37
2011 VFL Reserves
Williamstown 6.2 8.3 13.4 19.7 (121)
Box Hill Hawks 2.5 3.8 6.9 9.12 (66)

GOALS:
Williamstown: SKINNER 4 Tutt 2 Hill 2 McCallum 2 Panos 2 Knight 2 Cravino Dahlhaus Prato McHarg Lawson
Box Hill Hawks: Monkhorst 4 Wallace 2 Sketcher Nye Andrews

BEST:
Williamstown: Dahlhaus Sing Conway Tutt Cravino Wilson
Box Hill Hawks: WANGANEEN Mahony Hallahan Monkhorst LITHERLAND Allen

bards
17 Apr 2011, 23:52
2011 VFL Reserves

GOALS:
Williamstown: SKINNER 4 Tutt 2 Hill 2 McCallum 2 Panos 2 Knight 2 Cravino Dahlhaus Prato McHarg Lawson

BEST:

Where are the CAPS for MAHONY. According to Sam Grimley's twitter, Jack was B.O.G today in the 2's. Good signs.

Very pleased to hear Bailey got through again, and also that Lisle regained some form. There needs to be pressure on the current side and this helps. Whitecross, Milne, Smith, Pup and Cheney all need to start putting their hand up. I will be happy to see Shiels and Savage go back for a week off at some stage to get these guys exposure. Gotta develop our depth as well.

Thunderstruck
18 Apr 2011, 02:09

Sounds like not much has changed since school...

go hawks!!!
18 Apr 2011, 09:14
Well Where to start....:confused:
Minson, Gilbee , Addison ,Barlow , Cordy ,Veszprimi ,Stack , Hahn , Moles
All afl experienced players....ALL BIGGER body's than there opponents....
I thought the boys where good all day bar about 20 mins when our Defenders pushed to far up the ground and got caught out on the rebound 4 or 5 times in the third qu . The result was score board impact.
Thought Milne , Cheney and Puopolo where good .Lowden is also coming along well....This kid , with a bit of meat on his frame , will be the ruckman we have been waiting for.....sadly still 18 mth away for mine.
Smith was good in patches......Geez , can he motor in space....:eek:
Lisle was also good in patch's , but what i will say in ref to this kid is this....at times he looses focus , and in doing so , loses contact with his opponent.....gets worked off far too easily for mine.....

Re Bruest, his lack of defensive pressure was picked up in 2009 which was his first year. The club had cameras focused on him. He had a light frame then, now he has put on 'some' bulk but no improvement. This 'weakness' for me is similar to Savage, which is not great at tackling/ defensive pressure. Both players need to improve in this regard.

However, Bruest is a missing link for us in my opinion, we need a haqlf forward flanker to pressure ossie, and perhaps ossie is adding more in the defensive pressure/ smarts at the moment.

Bruest also has great 'evasive' skills, and by playing him in the midfield is adding some flexibility to his game.

I still would like to see Bruest 'tested' at AFL Level soon.

Re Minson and the crowd, well it is W'Town mate.

go hawks!!!
18 Apr 2011, 09:17
2011 VFL Reserves

GOALS:

BEST:

I have just come back from Tassie, after Drama's with Tiger Airways.

Now, Wanga as best has made my day. This kid will be a star. As I have said before, I have watched him closely all preseason (of which he did not join the main group til January), he is our missing linkj up forward. Think of Little Garlett, he is quick, can tackle and can kick goals.

I hope they promote him to the seniors next week! Well done son

TheFourPillars
18 Apr 2011, 11:51
Here is the HFC write up of the game

http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4742/newsid/111892/default.aspx

Unnamed1
18 Apr 2011, 12:09
Fair call - although funny as a Bulldogs supporter, it wasn't a particularly good look for Will. I note that there are many diehard VFL supporters that live with disabilities...

Despite Will's poor choice of words, I reckon I could've done better than the boundary ump - who was no kid, but about 28 years old - something for the VFL umps boss to worry about though, not Will.

Roddy27
18 Apr 2011, 16:58
Re Bruest, his lack of defensive pressure was picked up in 2009 which was his first year. The club had cameras focused on him. He had a light frame then, now he has put on 'some' bulk but no improvement. This 'weakness' for me is similar to Savage, which is not great at tackling/ defensive pressure. Both players need to improve in this regard.

However, Bruest is a missing link for us in my opinion, we need a haqlf forward flanker to pressure ossie, and perhaps ossie is adding more in the defensive pressure/ smarts at the moment.

Bruest also has great 'evasive' skills, and by playing him in the midfield is adding some flexibility to his game.

I still would like to see Bruest 'tested' at AFL Level soon.

I agree GH re: Breust. As many coaches will say- most notably Hardwick and Roos- TAC players come into the comp with little to no 'defensive' skills- there's no tagging, no press, no zone. In a rebuilding team, young players are afforded the luxury of experiencing what is required to develop at AFL level defensively. It's widely acknowledged that that side of the game just wont develop significantly at lower levels. You have to take you're most talented players and put them in the most high pressure situations in order to see whether they can adapt and learn from their mistakes.

In a team with more established players, the rules are different, but i don't necessarily see a great justification as to why? Breust cruises through VFL for a variety of reasons (and this ISNT a shot at work ethic) but mainly because his natural gifts afford him the luxury of looking good in so many games. He's nearly beaten that level, if that makes sense. He needs to play in a faster game, which demands more physically because of it's natural pace as well as play with players who demand more from him on the field.

He's never going to play the zone, or press as well as we'd like to see in the VFL because what we'd all like to see is something of an AFL standard. It's a vicious circle for mine. He's as talented a half forward as we've had since willo played, and he and guys like schneider- will at some point- cause major havoc for opposition defenses. Why not play some of these guys with Hodge, Mitchell, Buddy, rioli? It is the only way he will adapt to the style of play we wish to see him play...

Roger Rogerson
18 Apr 2011, 17:26
I agree GH re: Breust. As many coaches will say- most notably Hardwick and Roos- TAC players come into the comp with little to no 'defensive' skills- there's no tagging, no press, no zone. In a rebuilding team, young players are afforded the luxury of experiencing what is required to develop at AFL level defensively. It's widely acknowledged that that side of the game just wont develop significantly at lower levels. You have to take you're most talented players and put them in the most high pressure situations in order to see whether they can adapt and learn from their mistakes.

In a team with more established players, the rules are different, but i don't necessarily see a great justification as to why? Breust cruises through VFL for a variety of reasons (and this ISNT a shot at work ethic) but mainly because his natural gifts afford him the luxury of looking good in so many games. He's nearly beaten that level, if that makes sense. He needs to play in a faster game, which demands more physically because of it's natural pace as well as play with players who demand more from him on the field.

He's never going to play the zone, or press as well as we'd like to see in the VFL because what we'd all like to see is something of an AFL standard. It's a vicious circle for mine. He's as talented a half forward as we've had since willo played, and he and guys like schneider- will at some point- cause major havoc for opposition defenses. Why not play some of these guys with Hodge, Mitchell, Buddy, rioli? It is the only way he will adapt to the style of play we wish to see him play...

Here here Roddy.

The Willo comparison is a good one - Bruest has that ability to get where the ball is going on the lead - like Willo could and like Mark LeCras does. Not as prolific but one of those players who has great timing who opposition sides are forced to keep an eye on.

I also want to see him at AFL level asap. He has some talent. We need more talent up forward. As you say, let him develop at AFL level defensively.

Buddy Guy
18 Apr 2011, 17:34
2011 VFL Reserves

GOALS:

BEST:

Great list of best players there and pleasing to see our future captain Hallahan get a mention.
Agree with GH, I really hope that Wanganeen gets promoted to the senior list soon because he will offer plenty as a "Garlett" type in the forward line, he is exactly the type of player we lack and need available for senior selection now.

Goldhawk
18 Apr 2011, 18:01
I have just come back from Tassie, after Drama's with Tiger Airways.

What was your drama with Tiger Airways....they always seem to be having problems.

Cheers

Number 24
18 Apr 2011, 18:26

This is a good post. an enjoyable read indeed.

One handbrake on promotions to the senior side is that you can't carry too many "kids" at the one time. We have three going around at present with less than 10 games each and that is about as many as can be slotted in and still allow the side to be really competitive. Calls for Smith as misplaced IMO. He is simply not ready and won't be until 2012 at least. Lisle could come up as a tall but no more smalls at present....until one of the 3 s's goes back. Molne might get in first of the next lot, then Breust.

dipper86
20 Apr 2011, 17:45
How was Shoey's return?

TheFourPillars
20 Apr 2011, 20:10
How was Shoey's return?

Have a read of this thread from post 56 onwards mate

Roby
21 Apr 2011, 15:44

Actually, Box Hill DID play the zone/full press last week. Most of the Seagulls goals were from breaking the zone and getting some easy goals in transition.

Roddy27
21 Apr 2011, 19:07
Actually, Box Hill DID play the zone/full press last week. Most of the Seagulls goals were from breaking the zone and getting some easy goals in transition.

I didn't say they DIDN'T... I said at TAC level they don't learn those defensive skills, and at lower levels of the game the standards we wish to see the press and zones played will not be what we'd like to see because they arent up to an afl standard.

Roby
23 Apr 2011, 11:29
I didn't say they DIDN'T... I said at TAC level they don't learn those defensive skills, and at lower levels of the game the standards we wish to see the press and zones played will not be what we'd like to see because they arent up to an afl standard.

This is what you said.

I agree GH re: Breust. As many coaches will say- most notably Hardwick and Roos- TAC players come into the comp with little to no 'defensive' skills- there's no tagging, no press, no zone

Your words not mine. Different from saying it's not the same level to none at all.

Anyway, the gap between teams gameday tactics in AFL and VFL is diminishing.

Roddy27
23 Apr 2011, 12:42
This is what you said.

Your words not mine. Different from saying it's not the same level to none at all.

Anyway, the gap between teams gameday tactics in AFL and VFL is diminishing.

Yes they are my words. What does any of that have to do with Box Hill playing a press or a zone??????????????? It's talking about under 18 TAC CUP players coming into AFL ranks with little to no defensive skills because they don't learn the same tactics at junior level.

If you're trying to suggest that players learn new tactics in the VFL, which I never argued against, then re-read my post and you will find this:

"He's never going to play the zone, or press as well as we'd like to see in the VFL because what we'd all like to see is something of an AFL standard."

Clearly this is an understanding and acknowledgement that they do learn these tactics at VFL. The discussion is about application and standards, and a contention that the defensive skills we'd like to see can really only be assessed at Afl level when talented players are among their peers.

The post has nothing to do with gameday tactics being different from VFL to AFL- I never said that. I don't know why youve drawn this conclusion except to say it's clear that you just dont understand my original post.

Roby
23 Apr 2011, 14:41

Yes they are my words. What does any of that have to do with Box Hill playing a press or a zone??????????????? It's talking about under 18 TAC CUP players coming into AFL ranks with little to no defensive skills because they don't learn the same tactics at junior level.

If you're trying to suggest that players learn new tactics in the VFL, which I never argued against, then re-read my post and you will find this:

"He's never going to play the zone, or press as well as we'd like to see in the VFL because what we'd all like to see is something of an AFL standard."

Clearly this is an understanding and acknowledgement that they do learn these tactics at VFL. The discussion is about application and standards, and a contention that the defensive skills we'd like to see can really only be assessed at Afl level when talented players are among their peers.

The post has nothing to do with gameday tactics being different from VFL to AFL- I never said that. I don't know why youve drawn this conclusion except to say it's clear that you just dont understand my original post.

I apologise about misreading your post.

I still think it has little relevance as this is fourth year. If you agree that VFL teams have similar structures and tactics to AFL teams, you would agree that by now he would be well up to speed.