View Full Version : First game depression

IAMDASH
1 Apr 2001, 10:02
Does anyone else feel as depressed as myself come round 1 every year. Everyone else is pumped and your just like "no team to follow - no game to go to". Anyway I have solved this problem. I am going out today and going to get as drunk as I can and talk to anyone who will listen about the roys. If I wasn't depressed enough there is an article in todays Age on about page 6 about how an old royboy feels this time of the year. I had tears rolling into my cornflakes as I read it. Maybe someone knows the author. Shane Green i think it was. He needs to be applauded and congratulated. Anyway all the best to you all whatever your endeavours this winter

------------------
See ya round

Levo
1 Apr 2001, 20:00
I found one way of getting over the "First Round Depression Syndrome" I moved over to the UK, for a couple of years anyway, to get it out of the system. Following Fitzroy since being taken to the Brunswick Street Oval in the 50's and a family connection back to the 1st game in 1884, when my great grandfather played, really just couldn't hack it anymore.
---------------------------------
Fitzroy a religion

Mobbenfuhrer
2 Apr 2001, 04:59
Sadness, of course.

Depression? no fear!

The escalation of the Roy to the higher plane is well above reproach. It is a majetic rise to omnipresence that must not be gainsaid.

Do Christ's followers 'miss' him? No. They rejoice in his sacrifice, and in his elevation, knowing that he has never truly passed but is now above all. This is also true of the Roy, having shinnied up that light tower and into His throne, were He now presides, unsullied and intact.

Oh yes, the sadness is there, and the sadness of parting is not easy to bear. But depression? Think of the splendour of His rise, and you will see no reason to doubt, that we are all now in the arms of the Roy, and our devotion is secure.

Do not think of it as losing a football team.

Think of it as gaining a God!

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

Slax
2 Apr 2001, 11:05
Troubling dealing with the depressing withdrawl systems of Fitzroy?

The is one small anti-deoressant you can try, it mightn't totally fulfill your needs but at least it supply's some help. Fitzroy Reds amatuer team in the VAFA.

It might not be the highest standard of footy out there but at least it is something.

------------------
The Roys will remember

Levo
2 Apr 2001, 16:55
Hey Mobbenfuhrer can I have some of the stuff your on then I won't seem depressed, maybe maybe in an advance stage of well being.

OldLion
3 Apr 2001, 14:04
Well, if you'd ambled past the Brunswick St. Oval about 1.00pm on Sunday , you would have heard the stirring strains of 'We are the boys from old Fitzroy ...', as 18 10year olds trooped off arm in arm back to the Home changing rooms under the grandstand .. after a SENSATIONAL come-from-behind, against-the-wind victory. Most of the kids were in their NEW Fitzroy jumpers - wow basically - complete with the FFC monogram all in the new fabrics and they looked fantastic. A couple of the kids had not played 'big time' footy before and to win first up ... well, you can imagine that filed away in 'memories for life'.

We all had a great time - thanks to the Fitzroy Juniors organisation and all the kids.

Olmy
3 Apr 2001, 14:11
Originally posted by OldLion:
Well, if you'd ambled past the Brunswick St. Oval about 1.00pm on Sunday , you would have heard the stirring strains of 'We are the boys from old Fitzroy ...', as 18 10year olds trooped off arm in arm back to the Home changing rooms under the grandstand .. after a SENSATIONAL come-from-behind, against-the-wind victory. Most of the kids were in their NEW Fitzroy jumpers - wow basically - complete with the FFC monogram all in the new fabrics and they looked fantastic. A couple of the kids had not played 'big time' footy before and to win first up ... well, you can imagine that filed away in 'memories for life'.

We all had a great time - thanks to the Fitzroy Juniors organisation and all the kids.

You bloody ripper! Carn the Roys!!!

CDFCLad
3 Apr 2001, 21:20
Yeah I feel the depression each season. Especially when you see ex-Roys doing well for their respective clubs.

...........being an Adelaide based Roy Boy it's also interesting to know that we have our own Fitzroy FC playing in the SAAFL Division 5, there are 10 Divisions so it's better than it sounds!!

Have to come over and see a Redz match at Brunswick Street this season........can't wait.

Fat Pizza
4 Apr 2001, 05:04
You'll be welcomed at Brunswick St, CDFCLad.

Mobbenfuhrer
5 Apr 2001, 15:24
Yeah a mate we met, a Roys fan who lived in Wynn Vale in Adelaide, talked about that Fitzroy Ammo team a bit.

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

CDFCLad
6 Apr 2001, 13:12
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer:
Yeah a mate we met, a Roys fan who lived in Wynn Vale in Adelaide, talked about that Fitzroy Ammo team a bit.

Actually, they were in deep financial s*t a few years back. Sound familiar :-) Thankfully they are doing okay now.

Thanks guys, I'll look forward to the trip. A few mates of mine in Ballarat are big time Roy fans. Although they went to Brisbane after the 'merger' I think they can be talked into watching the Redz for a day.

Mobbenfuhrer
6 Apr 2001, 15:52
The more the merrier!

In fact, seeing as I am on the wagon now :
The more the perrier! (or however its spelt)

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy