View Full Version : Sorry, But I Had to Do It !!

TheSheik
14 Apr 2011, 18:06
Whilst out Blacktown way this arvo seeing clients, called in to the Giants training base and took out a Foundation Membership for $50.

Being a Carlton supporter, it hurts me to do that but I hate rugby league with a passion so any help that I can give to GWS that in turn plunders the NRL game into submission is justified IMO.

SA1NTER
14 Apr 2011, 19:08
http://trollcats.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/son_i_am_disappoint_trollcat.jpg

SA1NTER
14 Apr 2011, 19:09
But in all seriousness good on you.

Giants FC
14 Apr 2011, 19:30
Welcome aboard TheShiek. Even though you're a long way from your team, it's good to see you making a contribution towards growing the game.

AussieFTW
14 Apr 2011, 20:42
Yeah good work - you're the type of supporter that makes the competition so wonderful!

Keyza
15 Apr 2011, 21:38
Whilst out Blacktown way this arvo seeing clients, called in to the Giants training base and took out a Foundation Membership for $50.

Being a Carlton supporter, it hurts me to do that but I hate rugby league with a passion so any help that I can give to GWS that in turn plunders the NRL game into submission is justified IMO.

Shame on you. I hope you have a Carlton long distance membership too.

Mr Eagle
15 Apr 2011, 23:58
Welcome to the wonderful world of being a two-club man!

Beaussie
17 Apr 2011, 12:39

Well done. :thumbsu:

Kapital city TIGER
20 Apr 2011, 12:37

love the game, reason enough.
No interest in the rugbies, but actually resent the AFL push into their territory. Quite happy having 1/2 the country playing different codes, just makes it more interesting. Took out a Foundation membership soley for the self interested purpose of seeing more AFL, tho quite happy for GWS to bankrupt the AFL and fold as soon as I move.
Actually quite happy with vfl, vfa safl qafl aflcanberra etc.

Would love to be able to watch Sturt games and check up on Southport, Frankston, Burgers as well as my beloved Tigers -surely some basinc internet broadcasts for more games can be found?

AFL can just go get kerpluncked, too much hype and not enough footy in the elite upside down pyramid, gws I still resent despite supporting them- spend the money puting money into local leagues I reckon instead of importing a team wholesale I wouldve liked em to do, but I guess they get nothing immediately from that

Jstonewall
20 Apr 2011, 13:52
Sheik,
I bet you wont be admitting it this time next year. Seriously if you think GCS are a basketcase you will be gob smacked by GWS. They will go from Gimmick to laughing stock over night. Their existence, like that of GCS, will diminish Melbourne based teams at the same time. I'd be so happy for your sake if GWS signed Judd.

ManWithNoName
23 Apr 2011, 18:38
I've also picked up a Foundation membership. I figure at $50 it's barely anything to worry about and I want to see the side do well. Does anyone know if they're playing any games in Victoria this year?

Giants FC
23 Apr 2011, 20:48
They'll be at the MCG next week, playing against Northern Bullants in the Foxtel Cup on Saturday evening. That's the Giants' only appearance in Victoria this year.

ManWithNoName
23 Apr 2011, 21:50
They'll be at the MCG next week, playing against Northern Bullants in the Foxtel Cup on Saturday evening. That's the Giants' only appearance in Victoria this year.
Might wander along for a look. Go see North v Port earlier in the day, Richmond v Brisbane at the 'G later that night and make it a day of quality football all around :p

Very interested in having a look at some of these young blokes though.

HSSB
28 Apr 2011, 23:01
Think I could be supporting you guys very soon unfortunately, wouldn't like to be a Hawthorn supporter living in GWS!

What is the closest NRL team to GWS anyway, Wests Tigers?

zimmer86
28 Apr 2011, 23:12
Think I could be supporting you guys very soon unfortunately, wouldn't like to be a Hawthorn supporter living in GWS!

What is the closest NRL team to GWS anyway, Wests Tigers?

Penrith or parra i guess.

HSSB
28 Apr 2011, 23:17
Penrith or parra i guess.
Damn, I want to go for Wests when I move there haha

dlanod
29 Apr 2011, 06:38
Depends where you live. Penrith, Parramatta, Wests (Campbelltown and Balmain) and the Bulldogs are all Western Sydney teams. Souths isn't a Western Sydney club but plays home games in Western Sydney (ANZ Stadium). To be honest you could probably go for anyone but Manly or the Roosters and not get bashed in the street. :D

zimmer86
29 Apr 2011, 08:53
Yeah i guess so, but if we are talking blacktown area then i would say there are a tone of parra and penrith fans.

The one thing wrong that gws has done which i can see is that they made all home games at Homebush there. Me thinks they would get alot more fans at Blacktown then they would there.

Just like sydney FC games alot of fans here in the west just cant be arsed catching a train and going to sfs.

safman
30 Apr 2011, 00:25
bah picking up a membership to show my support i still wont be attending any games at the showgrounds though

Professor Knowall
30 Apr 2011, 16:17
...The one thing wrong that gws has done which i can see is that they made all home games at Homebush there. Me thinks they would get alot more fans at Blacktown then they would there. ...Perhaps you may be right in theory - but did GWS have any realistic choice or alternative to Homebush?
As I understand it, the Homebush $100 m upgrade was only made possible through the involvement of the Showgrounds Trust (or Olympic Park Trust - whatever name is correct). On their own, the AFL would not have got that Federal and State Gov't grant tp pay for any upgrade.

Whereas for Blacktown, whilst it's (just) OK for NAB Cup games, it has nowehere near the spectator (max 10,000) or corporate facilities for regular H&A AFL games - and also has poor access for both car (big traffic jams even for 10,000 spectators at NAB Cup games) or public transport (nearest station several km's away).

Please correct me (with facts) if any of the above is incorrect.

Black Falcon
12 May 2011, 09:52

Thanks Sheik for reminding myself to send GWS a $50 Supporters pledge.
My sentiments exactly re RL, the sport that robots play: 5 tackles-kick, 5 tackles-kick, 5 tackles-kick, 5 tackles-kick, 5 tackles-kick, 5 tackles-kick. And their fairy scrums are so unmanly. RU has rhino grunt.

Here in Brisbane, I have to turn 10 pages from back to find the AFL news. Last Sunday, backpage headline Suns def Lions, turn back 10 pages to read the report! Reporter Colman whines that Hunt and Folau are wasting their talents in AFL, not understanding the Polynesian angle which is the saviour of RL in Sydney presently. Defer some islanders into AFL and its another nail in RLs coffin. Sorry, but I had to do it !!

couchy555
14 May 2011, 03:02
Good on the supporters who buy memberships despite supporting someone else. Help the team, help the community, bigger picture stuff. Well done:thumbsu:

Black Falcon
14 May 2011, 03:51
Good on you Couchy. Anyone who loves aussie rules could consider supporting the two new teams with a pledge, even if its only for their first two years. In that way, the AFL community helps them directly, and itself re the 1.25b TV rights deal. This is the way to maintain/increase AFL market share of players, the result of two new teams.