at Avalon Airport Oval,
(Chirnside Park), Watton St, Werribbe

Seniors 2:00pm
Development Team 11:00am
Radio 94.1FM 3WBC
"Bring me down Breeeuuuusssssttttt"
Entry:$5 for BH members presenting a 2011 BH membership

Public Transport: Train to Werribee
(please check the Metro trains website for details of any engineering works on your line on the weekends)

Teams TBC

No Hawthorn action in Melbourne for the next 2 weeks (Bye + Port Adelaide), so make sure you get down to Werribee for your live footy action this week.

Big Footy Box Hill Hawks- Proud Sponsors of Andrews & Hoegel 2011

Roby
26 Apr 2011, 23:26
I'd expect an even bigger crowd this week.

Number 24
27 Apr 2011, 09:55
I reckon I might just pop along to the game.

If I leave home Saturday afternoon I should just about make it in time for the game on Sunday !!!

Henry Jr
27 Apr 2011, 14:49

If I leave home Saturday afternoon I should just about make it in time for the game on Sunday !!!

Sounds like a plan.

What time you picking me up? :D

Number 24
27 Apr 2011, 16:31
Sounds like a plan.

What time you picking me up? :D

If ya wanna a lift, let me know

halfback dasher
27 Apr 2011, 16:38
Would love to pick u both up on the way through , but for legal reasons i can't....

TheFourPillars
27 Apr 2011, 16:42
Count me in might try and make it down there at 11 to catch the development game.

Henry Jr
27 Apr 2011, 16:43
Would love to pick u both up on the way through , but for legal reasons i can't....

I take it then your wife has received N24's 'card' then?

halfback dasher
27 Apr 2011, 16:44
I take it then your wife has received N24's 'card' then?
" No comment " you little @##$@@.....

its game on
28 Apr 2011, 19:45
No Poppy? What do the BH watchers make of that?

Rudi Gilham
28 Apr 2011, 19:55
Paul Puopolo, Tom Murphy & Brendan Whitecross not selected for BH. Are these blokes being held back for the Port game?

halfback dasher
28 Apr 2011, 19:57
No Poppy? What do the BH watchers make of that?
Where is the team IGO....?? no Pop to me says the bye , then front up next week for the big boys dcont forget we play next friday night....i hope so any how.....

its game on
28 Apr 2011, 20:03
Where is the team IGO....?? no Pop to me says the bye , then front up next week for the big boys dcont forget we play next friday night....i hope so any how.....

Dash it's on vfl.com.au

halfback dasher
28 Apr 2011, 20:17
Box Hill Hawks
B
Duryea
Boumann
Cheney
HB
Litherland
Williams
Sierakowski
C
Milne
Jackson
Smith
HF
Hallahan
Lisle
Breust
F
Bailey
Schoenmakers
Wanganeen
R
Lowden
S. Gibson
Schneider
Int
Northe*
Hoegel
Kitchin

Fagan
Kiel
Thompson

Mirra
Pattison
Nye

halfback dasher
28 Apr 2011, 20:23
Looking Fwd to seeing Hallahan , Wang's and Litherland....:thumbsu:

Dixie Flatline
28 Apr 2011, 21:05
B: Duryea Boumann Cheney
HB: Litherland Wiliams Sierakowski
C: Milne Jackson Smith
HF: Hallahan Lisle Breust
F: Bailey Schoenmakers Wanganeen
Foll: Lowden S. Gibson Schneider
Int (from): Northe Hoegel Kitchin Fagan Kiel Thompson Mirra Pattison Nye

Reserves (11.00am)

B: Wallace Van Unen Tobin
HB: Purcell Ralph Sketcher
C: Neil Nye Phelps
HF: Kennedy Kickett Kitchin
F: Fagan Grimley Johns
Foll: Litherland Monkhurst X. Murphy
Int (from): Cassidy Carroll Bolton Allen Andrews D. Cooper Cust J. Cooper Fagan

Mervyn Beasley
28 Apr 2011, 22:03

Are you being offensive to your Western Suburban brethren??;)

Come on, it's not that far.

I used to get out to Waverley (and still do on occasion) without too much bother.

Surely you Leafy Easties can do the reverse??:cool:

TheFourPillars
28 Apr 2011, 22:05
Is tucky playing for werribee? ris he under suspension and can't play?

savagelunchbox
29 Apr 2011, 00:26
B: Duryea Boumann Cheney
HB: Litherland Wiliams Sierakowski
C: Milne Jackson Smith
HF: Hallahan Lisle Breust
F: Bailey Schoenmakers Wanganeen
Foll: Lowden S. Gibson Schneider
Int (from): Northe Hoegel Kitchin Fagan Kiel Thompson Mirra Pattison Nye

Reserves (11.00am)

B: Wallace Van Unen Tobin
HB: Purcell Ralph Sketcher
C: Neil Nye Phelps
HF: Kennedy Kickett Kitchin
F: Fagan Grimley Johns
Foll: Litherland Monkhurst X. Murphy
Int (from): Cassidy Carroll Bolton Allen Andrews D. Cooper Cust J. Cooper Fagan
Stoked that Wanganeen made the 1sts. :thumbsu: He is the future. Obviously with Bruest in the team, Haw. don't see the lack of a crumbing forward as a problem.

ben.carbonaro
29 Apr 2011, 01:41
Is tucky playing for werribee? ris he under suspension and can't play?

He's still suspended, if I remember correctly he's got at least one or two more weeks before he can play.

moginie
29 Apr 2011, 10:15
No Mahony. Is he injured?

savagelunchbox
29 Apr 2011, 11:12
No Mahony. Is he injured?
Probably being rested because he's a newbie.

onthemoney
29 Apr 2011, 11:50
So does that mean that in addition to Puopolo, T Murphy is in contention for the Port Adelaide game too? Or did he get injured again?:confused:

Edit: Sorry if this should go in the team selection thread on the Hawthorn board.

The Convert
29 Apr 2011, 13:59
Probably being rested because he's a newbie.
Mahony has a calf muscle injury. Missed last week as well

moginie
29 Apr 2011, 14:28
Mahony has a calf muscle injury. Missed last week as well
Thanks for that. How long is he expected to be out for?

stemline
29 Apr 2011, 15:51
Whitecross, Murphy and Puopolo all being rested with a view to round 7?

Really hope Pop gets a run against PA.

go hawks!!!
29 Apr 2011, 20:18
I'm surprised that Hodge is not playing at least a half for one of the BHH squads. Acknowledge he has an achilles, however, he is clearly not match fit. I am happy to run laps with him at Waverley.

Watch out for little Wanganeen, very similar to Garlett.

mrcurly
29 Apr 2011, 20:58
I'm surprised that Hodge is not playing at least a half for one of the BHH squads. Acknowledge he has an achilles, however, he is clearly not match fit. I am happy to run laps with him at Waverley.

Watch out for little Wanganeen, very similar to Garlett.

Hows the Wangas fitness level, do you think he could be a smokey for a game later in the season GH? We could do with a speedy rioliesque crumber up forward.

FriarTuck
29 Apr 2011, 21:14
I'm surprised that Hodge is not playing at least a half for one of the BHH squads. Acknowledge he has an achilles, however, he is clearly not match fit. I am happy to run laps with him at Waverley....

If we had rested Hodge V handbags he would have had three weeks to get himself right. Smells of desperation the way Hodge is being managed.

savagelunchbox
29 Apr 2011, 21:37
Hows the Wangas fitness level, do you think he could be a smokey for a game later in the season GH? We could do with a speedy rioliesque crumber up forward.
1st off, he is very Rioli-esk of 2008. In fact did a roving goal very similar to that of Rioli from the GF, just from more like 25m from goal. Got quite a few frees for holding the ball after chasing opponents down from behind. Again, very Rioli-esk. Speed personified. :thumbsu:

2nd off, his tank is very small. Was probably the most interchanged player last Sunday. Doesn't roam the ground a great deal but prefers to hang around the forward 50m. Hardly went past the edge of the square.

Won't play this yr unless we're desperate. Bruest is better AT THE MOMENT, but i can see Wanga's being the better of the two in 2013 as Wanga is quicker, a better tackler and more defensive/team minded.

mrcurly
29 Apr 2011, 21:44
Nice - sounds like something to look forward to in '12. Was hoping Petersen might come through as that third forward, certainly is a huge hole that needs filling. Bruest may get first shot at it this season.

Franko Armani
29 Apr 2011, 23:15
Can't believe that Lisle & Schoey are playing as forwards each week. Great for Box Hill, not so great for Hawthorn Hawks when they are the only likely candidates to fill CHB.

go hawks!!!
30 Apr 2011, 10:17
Re Wanga, Henry Jr and I have been watching him closely since he was drafted.

Compare him to Garlett in his development.

Garlett was skinny in his first year, so is wanga. Wanga is quick and sneaky, has footy smarts which you saw with Garlett last night.

He can tackle. We really need a tackler inside 50 and for some reason we play a stupid gameplan, with three tall forwards that can't tackle, without a small such as pup.

Wanga, did not train until january, that is the reason he is not 'match fit'. He will take time.

For me, if he performs I would play him around round 12, for 2-3 games straight, if he performs either keep him in the 1sts or drop him and unleash him rd 20 or so.

He will blossom in 2012-13 with a summer in the gym and a full pre-season. Lets monitor his attitude too.

For me, Cyril should not play midfield until rd 18-19, Clarko knows he should not be playing midfield, open your eyes and don't destroy the kid. Cyril will be the crumber we need, hopefully with the inclusion of Bruest as the smart half forward. Ossie should not play against Pt Adelaide, he has missed 2 games, if he is fit, he should be playing for BHH this w/e (is he?).

So look for Bruesty and/or pup for the PT Adelaide game.

Wanga will be a star, just be patient.

The BIG X
30 Apr 2011, 12:15
If we had rested Hodge V handbags he would have had three weeks to get himself right. Smells of desperation the way Hodge is being managed.

I'm with you on this point Friar.

Yes he is captain and wants to play -and plays injured but is this the right formula for him?

We want a fit Hodge long term.

go hawks!!!
30 Apr 2011, 13:53

Yes he is captain and wants to play -and plays injured but is this the right formula for him?

Agree. The captain should not select the team right? Same as Freo elimination final when he played. If he was not fit, don't let him get exposed by Ling in the Hawks defensive 50, where ling is comfortable. Play him full forward and let Ling defend, which is unnatural for him, ling is very comfy attacking, and will aleways kill hodge in that role.

Henry Jr
30 Apr 2011, 14:58

You assuming that he's injured X, and not just unfit due to his interrupted pre-season.

Rudi Gilham
30 Apr 2011, 21:46
We have a tendency to struggle down Werribee way, so a win will be a bonus.

Still no Gilchrist, Pollard or Muston. Any idea how far they're away from resuming?

The BIG X
30 Apr 2011, 22:30
You assuming that he's injured X, and not just unfit due to his interrupted pre-season.

Yep - reckon he is injured - struggles to run hard the 1st 5 metres:thumbsd:
Most unHodge like

rdhopkins2
30 Apr 2011, 22:35
Look forward to seeing a big turnout of Hawks at the game.
Not one of our lucky venues....so get along and say you were there to cheer the boys over the line!!

lethalselbow
30 Apr 2011, 23:30
Hoping Schoenmakers puts in a cracker. Much, much, much needed in the seniors.

savagelunchbox
30 Apr 2011, 23:40

Still no Gilchrist, Pollard or Muston. Any idea how far they're away from resuming?
I overheard Brad Neil (fractured cheekbone) talking with Polly about his injury and Polly said he is aiming to be the game after the bye. :thumbsu:

...hopefully with a haircut. That long, greasy look died out in the 70's, son. :thumbsd:

savagelunchbox
30 Apr 2011, 23:43
Re Wanga, Henry Jr and I have been watching him closely since he was drafted.

Compare him to Garlett in his development.

Garlett was skinny in his first year, so is wanga. Wanga is quick and sneaky, has footy smarts which you saw with Garlett last night.

He can tackle. We really need a tackler inside 50 and for some reason we play a stupid gameplan, with three tall forwards that can't tackle, without a small such as pup.

Wanga, did not train until january, that is the reason he is not 'match fit'. He will take time.

For me, if he performs I would play him around round 12, for 2-3 games straight, if he performs either keep him in the 1sts or drop him and unleash him rd 20 or so.

He will blossom in 2012-13 with a summer in the gym and a full pre-season. Lets monitor his attitude too.

For me, Cyril should not play midfield until rd 18-19, Clarko knows he should not be playing midfield, open your eyes and don't destroy the kid. Cyril will be the crumber we need, hopefully with the inclusion of Bruest as the smart half forward. Ossie should not play against Pt Adelaide, he has missed 2 games, if he is fit, he should be playing for BHH this w/e (is he?).

So look for Bruesty and/or pup for the PT Adelaide game.

Wanga will be a star, just be patient.
Very couth analogy there. Couldn't agree with you more. :thumbsu:

Dixie Flatline
1 May 2011, 10:41

I believe Muston is out to at least mid-season, Rudi.

CrowdedHouse
1 May 2011, 10:45
Just a quick reminder that the game will be live today on 3WBC 94.1 FM (in Melbourne's Inner East) from 1pm (Hopefully with Steve Gilham on Special Comments again).

Broadcast is streamed at...

Stream One: http://srv1.mel.apstream.net/3wbc_relay
Stream Two: http://www.techtalkradio.com.au/ttr3stream.asx

Cheers and have a good day at the footy.

Pete @ 3WBC

P.S> ... and they have a jam doughnut van at Werribee... YUM!

Henry Jr
1 May 2011, 11:36
Development Squad

BH 4.4.28

WER 3.1.19

Grimley impressive early and kicked a nice goal after a strong mark.

Roddy27
1 May 2011, 11:47
Development Squad

BH 4.4.28

WER 3.1.19

Grimley impressive early and kicked a nice goal after a strong mark.

Thanks Henry! Who else of note ended up lining up for the ds?

Henry Jr
1 May 2011, 12:08
Dev Squad

BH 8.9.57
WER 6.2.38

Grimley with 2 goals and dominating the ruck.

Henry Jr
1 May 2011, 12:10
Thanks Henry! Who else of note ended up lining up for the ds?

willo, duyera, kicket

Roddy27
1 May 2011, 12:40
willo, duyera, kicket

Cheers mate. Glad to hear Grimely is dominating... very exciting.

Henry Jr
1 May 2011, 13:00
Dev Squad

BH 11.11.77

WER 7.5.47

SodaPop
1 May 2011, 13:08
Cheers mate. Glad to hear Grimely is dominating... very exciting.

Thanks as well Henry!!

Who's Grimely up against? Is it another ruckman in dev mode or a bigger bodied senior ruckman?

Henry Jr
1 May 2011, 13:32
Final Score Dev Squad

BH 17.12.114
WER 10.8.68

BuddyHawkers
1 May 2011, 13:52
Who kick all the goals and who was the best out of Boxhill Hawks?

HigginsHawk
1 May 2011, 14:22
BH 3.5
WB 3.3

time on 1st Breust getting alot of mentions.

tommyk72
1 May 2011, 14:26
Sounds like lowden got the first half dozen hitouts over daw, but only 1 or 2 resulted in a bhh clearance

Buddy Guy
1 May 2011, 14:32
Werribee getting on top late in the first qtr.

Half time.
Box Hill 3.5
Werribee 6.5

Goals to North, Lowden and Breust

HigginsHawk
1 May 2011, 14:34
Qtr time
WB 6.5
BH 3.5

Bruest and Lowden among best

djboonie
1 May 2011, 14:38
Some lousy kicking out of defense has gifted Werribee at least 3 goals. Bruest getting a bit of it.

Hawker_Ant
1 May 2011, 14:40
Bruest, Lowden, Northe goalkickers.

Commentators complaining that BHH forward line too tall with little forward pressure, Werribee defence better organised and re-bounding too easily. Speaking of, I've heard Bruest might kick goals but isn't great at tackling?... more of the same?

Lowden best ruck on ground, Bailey has made a couple of mistakes. Hearing Milne mentioned a few times. Hoegel and Gibson getting a bit of the ball.

Hawker_Ant
1 May 2011, 15:26
Tiggers 13.7 - 85
BHH 6.12 -48

Werribee ran amok in first half of that quarter, once again rebounding easily, BHH running around like headless chooks. BHH had a good period after that but too many behinds and a couple of quick goals to McKinley (5) stopped that. Tigers just too efficient, Hawks the opposite.

Lowden kicked a good goal on the turn after dropping a mark, one of our best. Not hearing anything about Smith. Bit more from Sirra and Schneider.

WhiteX, Ellis, Puopolo and Ozzie not playing so may be in consideration for Pawt game?

Buddy Guy
1 May 2011, 15:53
This sounds really ugly boys.
Sounds like Lowden is the only one having a go.

Hawker_Ant
1 May 2011, 16:13
3rd quarter, more of the same. Tigers re-bound up the ground much too easily, using the ball much better, better pressure. Disappointing stuff.

Werribee 17.8 - 110
BHH 7.13 - 55

BHH goals Lowden 2, Bruest, Hoegel, Pattison, Northe, ummm I forget the other one. Oh, Lisle

hawkheart
1 May 2011, 16:37
Saw two and a half quarters. Luke Lowden looked terrific, very impressed. Big, mobile, can take a mark. Where does he fit in the scheme of things for the seniors? Not much to report on Bruest, Shoe, Schnieder, Lisle and Smith - none of them did a lot. Big Max was OK, moved freely. Wanga has a bit of pace.

dermott
1 May 2011, 16:46
It sounds as if a few of the young guys missed the chance to demand a spot in the firsts. Good news on Lowden though!

Hawker_Ant
1 May 2011, 16:47
Fulltime
Tigers 20.10 - 130
BHH 11.17 83

3 Lisle 2 Lowden 2 Bruest

Slightly better last quarter. Cheney got into game in second half, moved to centre in last quarter and provided some better contests. Lowden good all day. Not much else to say.

Lethal44
1 May 2011, 17:16
Honestly, how close is Lowden from getting a run in the ones, he seem's to have gone ahead of Bailey ?

Roger Rogerson
1 May 2011, 17:25
It sounds as if a few of the young guys missed the chance to demand a spot in the firsts. Good news on Lowden though!

My worry was exactly that with the AFL Hawks having the bye. The chances of Bruest etc getting a game last week were much stronger. Looks like they wont be in contention this week which is disappointing. At least Puopolo looks like he will make his debut.

Look forward to some match reports from those who attended - the bar was set bloody high last week.

moginie
1 May 2011, 17:28
Looks like a very disappointing day considering how well BH went last week.

Good news that Lowden played well.:thumbsu:

Echols
1 May 2011, 17:47
Just got home from the game. Average day.

Luke Lowden the highlight for me, mainly because he's got the game to be our best ruckman in a long time. Kicked 2 very nice goals today, both after sidestepping an opponent, and the first after decisively getting the centre tap out, then pushing forward and getting on the end of a handball.

Thought Smith showed some really good glimpses also, and to me, is the sort of player that would benefit from being brought into the game by better players at the higher level.

Duryea and Grimley had really good games in the early contest also

Will post more later.

Henry Jr
1 May 2011, 18:09

Thought the day was good Gal, just the game that was average.

Buddy Guy
1 May 2011, 18:11

Luke Lowden the highlight for me, mainly because he's got the game to be our best ruckman in a long time. Kicked 2 very nice goals today, both after sidestepping an opponent, and the first after decisively getting the centre tap out, then pushing forward and getting on the end of a handball.

Thought Smith showed some really good glimpses also, and to me, is the sort of player that would benefit from being brought into the game by better players at the higher level.

Duryea and Grimley had really good games in the early contest also

Will post more later.

Any chance Lowden will be thrown to the wolves soon G Man?

Noel Gallagher
1 May 2011, 18:15
Saw my 1st box hill game in about 5 yrs. Stayed for 3 quarters and finally got to form an opinion on certain players I have been reading alot about.

lowden. the hype is justified and he showed exactly what I was hoping to see today - an athletic, very well co-ordinated and mobile ruckman. Has filled out well and should be good to go next year. The other great sign is that he shows a fair bit of mongrel and really wants the ball. Needs to focus on his centre tap outs but otherwise we finally have a genuinie promising ruckman who should compete well when he finally debuts.

Max. For mine max is a long long way off afl standard. Lacks match conditioning and seems still a little proppy - understanby so. This is not the same ruckman I saw dominate richmond before doing his third knee against essendon. I doubt that max will play afl this year, but thats ok, just needs plenty more game time and for his body to hold up!

Izzy Smith. I'll go out on a limb now and say that he will make at the highest level. Wouldn't worry about his limited possessions - is the type of player who will step up a level once he gets promoted. Clinton Young should be worried about his spot in the team coz izzy is coming. Has everything young has plus much much more. Can win contested possessions, is faster, kicks the ball far more effectively and and isn't afraid of a contest. Should debut in the second half of the season.

Lisle. For all those posters crying out for lisle to be promoted - have you actually seen him play live?? Love his endeavour but there is a reason lilse slipped to pick 50 after being slected as an AA CHB in the TAC. Yes he is slow. Would get slaughtered for pace as a backman and not good enough to play in a KP at AFL level. Sory but Lilse is definately not the answer.

shoey. Very very hard to gauge where he is at. Is not match fit yet so excuses there but someting seems to be amiss with this kid. Is he he homesick? played out of position??? Don't know, still hold high hopes for him to be our next CHB but don't see it happening anytime too soon.

Breust. Is definatately very very talented and has some fraekish skills, but not afl ready until he works on the defensive side of his game.

wildcard - wanganeen. Me thinks that if young wanganeen keeps his head screwed on, keeps working hard - could definately make it. Has good footy smarts, applies good defensive pressure, and can kicka goal. One to watch.

One more thing - how did we not conisder majak daw as rookie prospect??? Raw as, but makes up for it with his exceptional athleticism. Swa him do things today which i have never seen done before. Another one that got away...

Hodgepodge
1 May 2011, 18:52
Lowden should be coming in next year... still skinny but he only has to play some backup ruck and he's worth installing into the seniors.

Lisle is slow, but as a key marking forward that shouldn't be a problem. Presents well and has a very good football brain. The only problem is Roughead would have to go into defence to make way for Lisle in the forward line.

That's deliberate
1 May 2011, 19:08
Swa him do things today which i have never seen done before[/B]. Another one that got away...

Did he kick the ball 50 meters and then contest it against 3 opposition players, win the crumb kick it back to where he originally kicked it , mark it, line up for goal, smother his own set shot, pick it up , bawk 3 blokes , get tackled, umpire pays free kick against him, gets reversed from umpire up the ground , gets 50 meter penalty for opposition swearing at the umpire , plays on from the goal square , kicks the ball straight into the goal umpires head, rebounds back into his lap , drops the ball, bends over to pick it up, does a knee, stands up breaks the tackle kicks it with his opposite foot whilst pulling a hammy and hits the post????

cisco2009
1 May 2011, 19:11
Hi Noel

Very dissapointed to hear your comments on Lisle, I have been hoping he would step up and fill a spot in our backline as we really need a bigger bodied defender.

I was just curious though, if he is no good why is he getting listed as an emergency for the Hawks?

Not picking or anything, just want to understand the situation.

Cheers.

The OBSTacle
1 May 2011, 19:17
Lisle. For all those posters crying out for lisle to be promoted - have you actually seen him play live?? Love his endeavour but there is a reason lilse slipped to pick 50 after being slected as an AA CHB in the TAC. Yes he is slow. Would get slaughtered for pace as a backman and not good enough to play in a KP at AFL level. Sory but Lilse is definately not the answer.

Agree, He was touched up by Robbie Tarrant for the first 3 quarters and Tazza has his own speed issues. He slipped away and took a couple of nice grabs in the last quarter, but I can't see him putting pressure on anyone in the Hawthorn senior side. IMO, the Hawks will delist him at years end. He definitely wouldn't cut it as a defender.

Hodgepodge
1 May 2011, 19:17
Hi Noel

Very dissapointed to hear your comments on Lisle, I have been hoping he would step up and fill a spot in our backline as we really need a bigger bodied defender.

I was just curious though, if he is no good wh .

Kicked 3 of our 11 goals, wasn't great, but not bad either. I have no doubt he could play in defence as a zoning off type defender like Nick Maxwell or Sam Fisher. He could even be a tall utility. The club just has to decide who is going to fill the void at CHB and fill it.

halfback dasher
1 May 2011, 19:20
Hi Noel

I was just curious though, if he is no good why is he getting listed as an emergency for the Hawks?

Not picking or anything, just want to understand the situation.

Cheers.
When you are looking at getting the best out of a player , you look at what press's there buttons.............with some , the old "dangle the carret right in front of them " does work.....and some times it don't......:o

Number 24
1 May 2011, 19:36
Agree, He was touched up by Robbie Tarrant for the first 3 quarters and Tazza has his own speed issues. He slipped away and took a couple of nice grabs in the last quarter, but I can't see him putting pressure on anyone in the Hawthorn senior side. IMO, the Hawks will delist him at years end. He definitely wouldn't cut it as a defender.

Pains me to say so, but there is real merit in this comment.

Hawker_Ant
1 May 2011, 19:37
Saw my 1st box hill game in about 5 yrs. Stayed for 3 quarters and finally got to form an opinion on certain players I have been reading alot about.

lowden. the hype is justified and he showed exactly what I was hoping to see today - an athletic, very well co-ordinated and mobile ruckman. Has filled out well and should be good to go next year. The other great sign is that he shows a fair bit of mongrel and really wants the ball. Needs to focus on his centre tap outs but otherwise we finally have a genuinie promising ruckman who should compete well when he finally debuts.

Max. For mine max is a long long way off afl standard. Lacks match conditioning and seems still a little proppy - understanby so. This is not the same ruckman I saw dominate richmond before doing his third knee against essendon. I doubt that max will play afl this year, but thats ok, just needs plenty more game time and for his body to hold up!

Izzy Smith. I'll go out on a limb now and say that he will make at the highest level. Wouldn't worry about his limited possessions - is the type of player who will step up a level once he gets promoted. Clinton Young should be worried about his spot in the team coz izzy is coming. Has everything young has plus much much more. Can win contested possessions, is faster, kicks the ball far more effectively and and isn't afraid of a contest. Should debut in the second half of the season.

shoey. Very very hard to gauge where he is at. Is not match fit yet so excuses there but someting seems to be amiss with this kid. Is he he homesick? played out of position??? Don't know, still hold high hopes for him to be our next CHB but don't see it happening anytime too soon.

Breust. Is definatately very very talented and has some fraekish skills, but not afl ready until he works on the defensive side of his game.

wildcard - wanganeen. Me thinks that if young wanganeen keeps his head screwed on, keeps working hard - could definately make it. Has good footy smarts, applies good defensive pressure, and can kicka goal. One to watch.

One more thing - how did we not conisder majak daw as rookie prospect??? Raw as, but makes up for it with his exceptional athleticism. Swa him do things today which i have never seen done before. Another one that got away...

I was only listening to the radio feed, which is no replacement for being at a game and seeing what is going on off the ball but...

Lowden - Yes, he seems to be taking his chances and improving rapidly. Let's hope he can keep going. A few more months in the gym and he might be able to match it with the older ruckmen in AFL.

Max - He's been better in previous games this year. Needs quite a few more games under his belt for match conditioning and hone his ball skills. Maybe latter half of the year.

Smith - Maybe one of those cases at having to be at the game... heard very little of him on the radio. Heard more of Milne (mainly second quarter) and Sirra (third quarter).

Lisle - He can take a mark if allowed to lead strongly. Not sure how he can fit into Hawthorn's game plan unless Buddy/Roughie or eveh Hale get injured.

Schoey - Not really sure how he can play at CHB at Hawks or even take Hale's place if he's only played forward at BHH. Getting fitness back tho which is good news. Think he needs to be moved around at BHH to get more experience... still trying to figure out what the long-term plans are for him.

Bruest - Confirms what I've heard, his forward pressure lacks what is needed at AFL. Can't see him preferred over a fit Ozzie in the near future.

Wanganeen - Yes... that X-factor Hooper / Peterson showed glimpses of. Imagine he'll need a few years to develop.

I'll be interested to hear thoughts from others at the game about Smith, Sirra, Liquorland, Cheney and any other listed players.

TheFourPillars
1 May 2011, 19:59
Box Hill Reserves Vs. Werribee

Great win as Henry as already pointed out. Werribee were undefeated this year in fact all the teams that the development side has defeated this year have only lost the one game.

I just had a few quick points from the game itself.

Luke Andrews: One of our bigfooty sponsorships is a player. First time I have seen him this year after his preseason injury looks to up and firing again. He is as hard and as tough as they come. Given the way the seniors went some of the players could do with some of his ticker.

Sam Grimley: He had a great game really coming on in leaps and bounds actually had two other opportunity to kick goals when he was playing forward but sprayed them both one for a point and the other out on the full. He is an exciting prospect.

Jackson Sketcher: Really had a 4 qtr game this week has had fitness problems so it was good to see him run out the game today. A talent if his fitness picks up could be a real contributer.

Taylor Duryea: Had a great game. It was interesting that “some one” at the ground had spoken to the young man about his game and he said he was glad to have the freedom to play his own game rather than have to be a play a role e.g. defensive forward… Today he got plenty of the ball playing everywhere and kicked a magic goal in the last baulking and running through 4 or 5 defenders and kicking it around the corner on his left.

Brad Neil: what guts someone mentioned he had a fractured cheekbone played in the development side after just one week out. He as hard and tough at the contest as usual and got a lot of the ball

Thomas Kickett: Dissapointing to say this but I watched him closely today quite a bit. I don’t think hawthorn will elevate him. He is not that quick and doesn’t have anything that Hawthorn could use..

One last thing I want to point out is the leg speed of our young box hill side. They are not very big but just about all of them cover the ground fairly quickly. This was a big asset as even when they did turn the ball over by foot they were able to run back onto their men and affect the contest.

Box Hill Seniors Vs. Werribee

1. Let’s just put it out there Box hill haven't won down at Werribee in something 18 or 19 years.

2. The match lived up to recent history. We didn't show up. No pressure, poor skills no intent in short an insipid performance.

I hardly feel it worthwhile going through good players were there any?

Kyle Cheney: Was getting bombarded by the ball coming in played all right puts his body in and really gave us something in the last by moving onto the ball.

Kyle Cheney
Isaac Smith: Flashy is the best way you can describe this kid does go missing for long periods

Ryan Schoenmakers: Playing forward took some nice grabs early before running out of puff. I didn’t see much of him in the second half did he get injured? Or just not match fit

Luke Lowden: Great game by the big fella he is really building. He is improving each week and kicked a couple of rover goals.

Riley Milne: Well what can you say about Riley he gets enough of the ball but and its disappointing to say this the boy failed to go when it was turn especially in the first half. He just doesn’t work hard enough. Case in point Pederson (boy do we miss him ) took a mark backward of the center. He then kicked and ran hard forward straight past Riley who was jogging behind him and watched him go past him. Work rate Riley work rate.He was very poor defensively today.

Jordan Lisle: I must say I might have to start a thread called “Whats happened to Jordan Lisle”. The guy is half the player e was last year. He doesn’t lead anymore is there some sort of edict in the game plan?? Really confused and disappointed in his output again today didn’t work hard enough

Mitch Hallahan: The guy was on the angry pills he is hard and tough but got caught in possession quite a few times doesn’t lack the confidence to take them on though kept doing it. Kicking needs to improve.

Max Bailey:[/B] Patience will be required as far as max is concerned had a few hitouts to advantage today but his around the ground skills under pressure especially his handballing needs to improve a work in progress at least he is getting out there every week.

Angus Litherland: Should not have been playing in the seniors this week. Just looked out of his depth and kicking was horrible at times still very raw. Needs time to develop.

Will Sierakowski: Average game from the guy but then our defense was under the pump from the beginning still made good decisions most of the time and his kicking is sublime.

Luke Breust: Started like a house on fire and looked like he was going to have a great day today. Then got tagged for the rest of the game and had a quiet one. He missed quite a few shots on goal. He just gets pushed off the ball too easily. He is still light of frame and they put a big body on him.

Tom Schneider: Did not have a great influence on the game seemed to be off his game today. Didn’t get his hands on it much and even when he did he wasn’t very effective.

Derick Wanganeen: Excitement machine, genuine pace looking to seeing more of this kid in the seniors. He is diminuitive but tackles and runs hard didn’t have much to do today as we got smashed but would be interesting to see how he goes when he increases his tank.

All in all very disappointing especially since Box Hill has the bye next week.

Echols
1 May 2011, 20:03
Any chance Lowden will be thrown to the wolves soon G Man?
Probably still a way off, which is a shame, considering a have a slab riding on him playing 1 game this year. It may happen, but he's still got to add some meat to the frame.

He's very mobile for a guy his size, has a crack and has good skills. It's just a matter of him being easily moved by bigger bodies at the moment.
If he hasn't already, the only thing stopping him from moving ahead of Bailey in the pecking order is his overall strength IMO.
I'm excited by how he's developing.

Seirakowski was under the pump most of the day, as a lot of our blokes were and Lisle was almost unsighted.

Schoenmakers was still too 'iffy' with his hands, and looks to still be building towards putting his hand up for a return to seniors.

Schneider was typical of what we've come to know. He get's to the right spots more often than not, goes hard, and is often hurt(not badly) as a consequence. He might need to practice some self preservation though.

Hallahan and Litherland did some good things on occasion. The crew I was with noted that Litherland is quite clean with his hands, and can find his way out of traffic, but shanked his kicks a couple of times. Perhaps due to perceived pressure more than anything else. He does have a nice bit of toe.

We looked too tall today, with Pattison, Schoenmaker and Lisle in the forward at one stage and Bruest playing midfield, and too often our press pushed too deep for an easy 'over the top' coast to coast string of possessions for Werribee.

In the dev squad, Grimley played quite well early on, kicking 3 goals, and taking some good grabs.
Duryea was very nippy in the forward half. 24 disposals and 2 goals. Seemed to be a bit stung by being dropped. Williams just went, Kickett looked a little lost.

Spoke to Suckers for a bit today also, didn't see too many other senior players around.

halfback dasher
1 May 2011, 20:16
Probably still a way off, which is a shame, considering a have a slab riding on him playing 1 game this year. It may happen, but he's still got to add some meat to the frame.

He's very mobile for a guy his size, has a crack and has good skills. It's just a matter of him being easily moved by bigger bodies at the moment.
If he hasn't already, the only thing stopping him from moving ahead of Bailey in the pecking order is his overall strength IMO.
I'm excited by how he's developing.

Seirakowski was under the pump most of the day, as a lot of our blokes were and Lisle was almost unsighted.

Schoenmakers was still too 'iffy' with his hands, and looks to still be building towards putting his hand up for a return to seniors.

Schneider was typical of what we've come to know. He get's to the right spots more often than not, goes hard, and is often hurt(not badly) as a consequence. He might need to practice some self preservation though.

Hallahan and Litherland did some good things on occasion. The crew I was with noted that Litherland is quite clean with his hands, and can find his way out of traffic, but shanked his kicks a couple of times. Perhaps due to perceived pressure more than anything else. He does have a nice bit of toe.

We looked too tall today, with Pattison, Schoenmaker and Lisle in the forward at one stage and Bruest playing midfield, and too often our press pushed too deep for an easy 'over the top' coast to coast string of possessions for Werribee.

In the dev squad, Grimley played quite well early on, kicking 3 goals, and taking some good grabs.
Duryea was very nippy in the forward half. 24 disposals and 2 goals. Seemed to be a bit stung by being dropped. Williams just went, Kickett looked a little lost.

Spoke to Suckers for a bit today also, didn't see too many other senior players around.
yep.....

Echols
1 May 2011, 20:20
yep.....
Anything to add, Dasher?

Traffic back ok?

Henry Jr
1 May 2011, 20:22
Anything to add, Dasher?

Traffic back ok?

Best to ask Musto ;)

halfback dasher
1 May 2011, 20:26
Best to ask Musto ;)
290KW VS 265KW PLUS 600 kg lighter.....he wins ....just for now...;)

Dixie Flatline
1 May 2011, 20:27
WhiteX, Ellis, Puopolo and Ozzie not playing so may be in consideration for Pawt game?

Five day break from the Box Hill game to the Hawthorn game in Adelaide v Port. Anyone who played today most likely won't be playing Friday night. So those that didn't play for Box Hill are in contention for selection.

You could add Tommy Murphy to that list.

Henry Jr
1 May 2011, 20:29
290KW VS 265KW PLUS 600 kg lighter.....he wins ....just for now...;)

I glided past you at Burke Rd (N24 was pointing which direction) with only 110kw and 600 kg in the passenger seat! :eek:

Reckon I passed Closed Sessions over the West Gate too.

Hank 2
Others 0

go hawks!!!
1 May 2011, 20:30
Five day break from the Box Hill game to the Hawthorn game in Adelaide v Port. Anyone who played today most likely won't be playing Friday night. So those that didn't play for Box Hill are in contention for selection.

You could add Tommy Murphy to that list.

What if one of them was used as a sub?

Beandip
1 May 2011, 20:31
Jordan Lisle:I must say I might have to start a thread called “Whats happened to Jordan Lisle”. The guy is half the player e was last year. He doesn’t lead anymore is there some sort of edict in the game plan?? Really confused and disappointed in his output again today didn’t work hard enough

Our awesome development strikes again? Stagnating another player who will probably end up dropped or gone :( What is going on down there, it seems like we really struggle to develop players effectively and efficiently.

halfback dasher
1 May 2011, 20:35
I glided past you at Burke Rd (N24 was pointing which direction) with only 110kw and 600 kg in the passenger seat! :eek:

Reckon I passed Closed Sessions over the West Gate too.

Hank 2
Others 0
......:eek:.....

NiceJacketJeff
1 May 2011, 21:06
Love the passion guys.

As someone who can't get to Box Hill games and finds very little coverage in my local media, these weekly reports are golden.

A big thanks, and keep up the excellent coverage :)

Collins-Langford-Ayres
1 May 2011, 21:11

Answer: If we want an Emergency in case one of our KKPs pulls a hamstring in the warm up, who else would we select?

Roger Rogerson
1 May 2011, 21:38
Answer: If we want an Emergency in case one of our KKPs pulls a hamstring in the warm up, who else would we select?

Yep. He is insurance on the list for KP and as you say for game days at times as well.

He ain't hopeless but is up against making the grade at AFL level.

Beandip
1 May 2011, 21:50
To further NJJ, I really appreciate these insights into the younger kids too, especially being in Tasmania, the media hasn't even heard of a Box Hill ;)

So getting the scoop on how people are travelling and potential ripples down the line is always interesting, and the delivery is professional and entertaining :)

Furthermore the whole banter between some of you (N24, halfback dasher, Henry Jr etc) is pretty ****ing hilarious... keep that up!

ACTion Hawks
1 May 2011, 22:11
To further NJJ, I really appreciate these insights into the younger kids too, especially being in Tasmania, the media hasn't even heard of a Box Hill ;)

So getting the scoop on how people are travelling and potential ripples down the line is always interesting, and the delivery is professional and entertaining :)

Furthermore the whole banter between some of you (N24, halfback dasher, Henry Jr etc) is pretty ****ing hilarious... keep that up!

Thirded:thumbsu:

Chrissie90
1 May 2011, 23:26
It seems like we have very little depth for Hawthorn - and not much pressure on senior positions. I think that it looks like Clarko is gone and Jeff will clear out the football department before he leaves at the end of the year.

go hawks!!!
1 May 2011, 23:36
Box Hill Hawks

Goal Kickers: J. Lisle 3, L. Lowden 2, L. Breust 2, J. Hoegel , A. Pattison , T. Northe , R. Jackson
Best Players: S. Gibson, D. Mirra, I. Smith, L. Lowden, T. Northe, K. Cheney

http://www.sportingpulse.com/round_info.cgi?a=MATCH&fixture=121857555&c=0-118-0-150677-0&pool=1

jiphoc
1 May 2011, 23:39
It seems like we have very little depth for Hawthorn - and not much pressure on senior positions. I think that it looks like Clarko is gone and Jeff will clear out the football department before he leaves at the end of the year.
Puop, WhiteX and Murphy all did not play. All could walk into the side now not look at all out of place.

randall boner
2 May 2011, 08:34
can only hope.