View Full Version : Celebrity Square
Mobbenfuhrer
19th March 2001, 10:24
How many folks of major public profile used to follow the Roys? How many of them did you actually see at the games? We were discussing this at Roystock, and its led me to show a few nominees here :
John Blackman (seen at matches)
Ken Morgan (seen)
Bert Newton
The folks who played Libby & Toadfish on neighbours (seen)
My memory has already failed me ...
(A mate once yelled to Kym whatshername "Hey Libby, I love you, but I hate yer show." She gave him directions.)
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
killer
19th March 2001, 11:01
You missed Frank Hardy
killer
19th March 2001, 11:09
also author Barry Dickins ("the royboys")
killer
19th March 2001, 11:11
and the Queen (well she turned up to one game)
Mr Ripper
19th March 2001, 12:06
The cast of Cop Shop and one or two of the early cast of Neighbours. All of 'em (at various times) shared a box in the Ryder Stand at Vicky Park that was right behind my pozzie. Gawd they could smoke too. Ewwww.
------------------
Olmy knows best
Mr Ripper
19th March 2001, 12:11
Craig Huggins (GoldFM DJ)
Matty Lloyd
------------------
Olmy knows best
UK Roy
19th March 2001, 16:42
Originally posted by killer:
and the Queen (well she turned up to one game)
She left early as well!. Not a true Roy.
Levo
19th March 2001, 16:53
There's plenty Mobbenfuhrer Cockaletchie Kid John Fitzgerald, Julie Anthony, John Waters, Jimmy Hannan and his gorgeous daughter Melissa, all the Cop Shop Mob inc Gil Tucker and loads more mostly thanks to Alan and Galia Hardy (Alan producer of the Henderson Kids and All the Rivers Run, Sullivans etc) for getting all to do those freebie concerts in the 80's.
Levo
19th March 2001, 16:55
And don't forget Henry Bolte one of our patrons in the 60's along with Sir John McEwan (?)former PM
Fat Pizza
19th March 2001, 16:57
Jon English - nearly stepped on me once down at the Junction Oval. I was only little & he was a big bloke, especially in his platform shoes.
John Waters
Stephen Cummings
Ugly Dave Gray - I never saw him at any matches, but he did wear a Fitzroy jumper one night on Blankety Blanks.
Mr Ripper
19th March 2001, 17:04
Do I vaguely recall Martina Navratilova and Pam Shriver being presented with Roys jumpers on the back of the Sun on Saturday morning?
------------------
Olmy knows best
CDFCLad
19th March 2001, 20:10
Anthony Morgan (I think) he was a comedian of the Denton Show and others fame. Saw him wearing the absolute filthiest Roys guernsey of all time.
Mobbenfuhrer
20th March 2001, 02:00
Frank Hardy.
Alan and Galia Hardy.
Was there a relationship? I always guessed so.
Galia was also involved in the kids show 'Kelly', a lassie-ish sort of production.
Thanks for all your submissions, folks!
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Fat Pizza
20th March 2001, 04:45
Gary Pert presented a Fitzroy jumper to Pam Shriver many years ago & she said last year that she still has it.
Frank Hardy was Alan's father. Galia is Alan's wife. Alan's sister, Shirley Hardy-Rix was also a keen Fitzroy supporter. Nice family.
------------------
Fat Pizzas. They're Big & they're Cheesy.
Levo
20th March 2001, 05:08
And Jimmy Wynds lookalike Wally Masur,
windyhill
20th March 2001, 11:46
Paula Duncan came up ok in a roy jumper.
Levo
20th March 2001, 21:01
And Lynda Stoner about a bees dick behind Paula is wearing the colours.
Mobbenfuhrer
21st March 2001, 01:09
Originally posted by Fat Pizza:
Shirley Hardy-Rix was also a keen Fitzroy supporter.
... and then there's her feller. Here we are at the footy being ABSOLUTE yobs, with Mr Rix chuckling along behind us, even when we drew visits from the local constabulary ...
... and then I'm watching TV a few days later and the lump which formed in my throat when I noted Mr R on the tube, and especially his profession!
I took it to him one day, and he was most amenable. That took a load off my mind!
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Bloodstained Angel
21st March 2001, 02:51
Karen Knowles
Brooke Satchwell
and the guy who plays Toady in neighbours, whattisname ? Ryan somebody ?
Olmy
21st March 2001, 12:21
Isn't the lead singer from "The Living End" A Fitzroy supporter???
There are a fair few Roys supporters on Triple-R radio. w
Levo
21st March 2001, 21:27
And Mick Conway Ex Captain Matchbox Whoopee Band stood with at the Junction Oval right pisspot, he kept falling of me esky.
Levo
21st March 2001, 21:30
Actually Graham Riordan ex "Backboners" saved Rixy one day from getting a hiding and he didn't know he was a walloper.
See how nice Fitzroy people are toward the constabulary.
Levo
22nd March 2001, 04:48
Hey Kev all coming back through a haze, and I can see Antoinette Byron (the sheila form the cop show skirts), and Mark Kratzman.
Levo
22nd March 2001, 05:26
Kev it's coming back through a haze Antoinette Byron (from Skirts the Cop show) and Mark Kratzman.
FitzroyRamone
27th March 2001, 06:25
Of the current AFL players, Simon Prestigiacomo (Collingwood) was a huge Fitzroy supporter and was distraught when he was picked up by the Pies. Fraser Gehrig also wanted to play for Fitzroy as he supported them as a boy (he's uncle being Ross Thornton.
Cheers,
FitzroyRamone
Olmy
27th March 2001, 06:42
Originally posted by FitzroyRamone:
Of the current AFL players, Simon Prestigiacomo (Collingwood) was a huge Fitzroy supporter and was distraught when he was picked up by the Pies. Fraser Gehrig also wanted to play for Fitzroy as he supported them as a boy (he's uncle being Ross Thornton.
Cheers,
FitzroyRamone
Luke Power, was a fanatic Roys supporter, and read once, that Matthew Lloyd was also a Fitzroy supporter before being drafted in 1995.
Mick Dwyer was also a Roys supporter, and Beau McDonald has a Fitzroy connection somewhere. I think he's related to Gary Sidebottom . . . ?????
Mr Ripper
27th March 2001, 10:08
Big Beau is the nephew of former Roys Garry and Allan Sidebottom.
------------------
Olmy knows best
Beausgirl43
27th March 2001, 12:11
He sure is Ripper.
YAY BEAU, LOVE YA MAN.
cheers...
Mr Ripper
27th March 2001, 14:46
Anyone mentioned Nancye Cain yet? Or Tom Reynolds.
------------------
Olmy knows best
OldLion
28th March 2001, 06:04
Zig ... ( or was it Zag ).
Mr Ripper
28th March 2001, 06:31
The non-pervert one, hopefully...
------------------
Olmy knows best
Levo
28th March 2001, 20:53
And another Hardy family member Marieke Hardy former writer on Neighbours (following her parents), plus parts in other shows and as the blonde in the car in a .05 Commercial, when a littel tacker Marieke always on Thursday took a Chocolate cake to Lakeside for Timmy Pekin and others.
Levo
28th March 2001, 20:54
Maryanne Fahey (Kylie Mole) and son Sam.
FitzroyJamesDio
12th April 2001, 15:47
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Levo:
[B]And Jimmy Wynds lookalike Wally Masur,
why do you think gil tucker had his character named ROY baker
yes lots of the cop shop crew..paula and john
ken 'can' morgan
bert newton
blackers
julian clary
and theres someone else but i cant remember who..lol
St Roy
12th April 2001, 16:46
What about the greatest of them all! I'm only 34, but I read somewhere that Sir Donald Bradman was a Roys fan and actually attended a game at Brunswick Street in the 1950s when Smith was coach and we were winning!
Wayde Petersen
12th April 2001, 18:12
Jason Heatley ( ex West Coast and St Kilda, now with North Heidelburg ) was a huge Fitzroy fan and even offered himself to the club a possible place in the team.
FitzroyJamesDio
12th April 2001, 19:03
Dave Sillivan...otherwise known as Paul Cronin followed Fitzroy big time before he went onto take on the Bears..
and Ugly Dave Gray was a fitzroy supporter too...actually ive got him singing some fitzroy song on an old 7"..."im a lion thru and thru in my golden red and blue.." lol
------------------
Fitzroy James Dio II
Fat Pizza
13th April 2001, 09:41
When Haydn Bunton was 17, he was described as one of the most promising cricketers in NSW. He was placed in the same category as Don Bradman as a "player to watch".
Jason Heatley played in practice matches for Fitzroy, but didn't exactly set the world on fire. When Fitzroy recruited Michael Dunstan from Subiaco, they recommended that Subi take Heatley. After a good season in the WAFL, West Coast picked him up.
FitzroyJamesDio
13th April 2001, 16:42
wasn't col'n carpenter a lion supporter
and his wife who hosted 'rock arena'(was her name suzanne dowling?) too i think..she had a boutique in acland street years ago..and had a lions scarf in the window
------------------
Fitzroy James Dio II
Levo
13th April 2001, 22:55
And the Dodgy Brothers, they were Fitzroy, used to drink occasionally in the Albion Charles, trouble is we had a lot of "supporters" but no bloody members, everyone you talked to used to barrack for The Roys but none bought a membership ticket if they had ( I know if me aunty had balls she'd be me uncle)we would still be in the business of playing as Fitzroy not just talking about it.
FitzroyJamesDio
14th April 2001, 06:20
Originally posted by Levo:
And the Dodgy Brothers, they were Fitzroy, used to drink occasionally in the Albion Charles, trouble is we had a lot of "supporters" but no bloody members, everyone you talked to used to barrack for The Roys but none bought a membership ticket if they had ( I know if me aunty had balls she'd be me uncle)we would still be in the business of playing as Fitzroy not just talking about it.
sigh..i think youre right Levo..
------------------
Fitzroy James Dio II
Hellacopters
14th April 2001, 14:13
Originally posted by FitzroyJamesDio:
sigh..i think youre right Levo..
Fitzroy James Dio, from these very pages is a bit of cult celebrity himself running and dj-ing Melbourne's home of hard rock for over a decade - The Cathouse! Get a Hair Cut!!!
He also manages bands and did the weekly heavy metal column in music street paper Inpress Magazine for over ten years. Gotchya John Buoy!
FitzroyJamesDio
15th April 2001, 05:51
hahaha you tosser!! yeah, well i told em to let me be number one ticket holder but they thought bert might do them more justice..might have been the upside down cross burned on my forehead that blew it for me?
THANKS JOSH!
see you at the corner tonight...youre in trouble MISTER!!..hahaha
Olmy
20th April 2001, 10:51
Don't forget comedian Anthony Morgan . . .
Fat Pizza
20th April 2001, 11:05
Originally posted by Levo:
( I know if me aunty had balls she'd be me uncle)
If my auntie had a moustache, she'd barrack for Footscray!
------------------
Fat Pizzas. They're Big & they're Cheesy.
Waltzing Woof Biscuit
21st April 2001, 06:59
Hey FP - quit the stereotypes. My aunt is a Footscray supporter and she doesn't have facial hair. In fact, she has beautiful, silky hair flowing down her back. None on her head mind you http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif
------------------
Crumbs!
Fat Pizza
21st April 2001, 07:13
Originally posted by Waltzing Woof Biscuit:
My aunt is a Footscray supporter and she doesn't have facial hair. In fact, she has beautiful, silky hair flowing down her back. None on her head mind you http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif
Never trust anyone, who hasn't got a bald spot.
killer
21st April 2001, 13:45
Originally posted by FitzroyJamesDio:
Dave Sillivan...otherwise known as Paul Cronin followed Fitzroy big time before he went onto take on the Bears..
This could be an urban myth.
I remember reading of Cronin spining this line to the Fitzroy board when he was trying to get them to move the club to Brizi.
Any thoughts?
FitzroyJamesDio
22nd April 2001, 05:44
Originally posted by killer:
This could be an urban myth.
I remember reading of Cronin spining this line to the Fitzroy board when he was trying to get them to move the club to Brizi.
Any thoughts?
he may have had a different agenda..ive heard him on 3AW with phil brady on remember when and hes talked about him growing up and supporting fitzroy..then he had the opportunity at the brisbane bears
------------------
Fitzroy James Dio II
Mobbenfuhrer
23rd April 2001, 03:01
Other references to the Roys include the movie 'Garbo' (about our friendly bin collectors, not regarding Greta) ... with Los Trios Ringbarkus.
One of the two main characters (from Los Trios) wears a Fitzroy beanie during the movie, and there is a strange man in the film who stands on the side of the road wearing a Roys guernsey.
... most of us are probably strange men on the side of the road wearing a Roys guernsey.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy