View Full Version : Fitzroy songs and Footy songs in general
IAMDASH
14 Apr 2001, 14:59
Ugly Dave Gray’s song “C’mon Fitzroy” has been mentioned on the message board a few times recently. Does anyone know of any other FFC related songs that are out there. Footy songs in general are brilliant (especially when you are drinking beer and reminiscing) and I am currently trying to compile a list and get a copy of as many footy songs or songs relating to or referencing footy as I can. I have compiled a list of songs below. If anyone knows of any other great footy songs be them Roys related or not can you please post them on the page as I am keen to learn of more footy songs as I am sure there are heaps out there. Cheers.
Here’s my list.
Fitzroy specific:
FFC song – The Fable Singers
C’mon Fitzroy – Ugly Dave Gray
Wild Colonial Boy – Pat McKernan
Football specific:
The Football Song - The Fable Singers
Up There Cazaly – The Two Man Band
One Day in September – The Two Man Band
A little bit of Cazaly in us all - The Two Man Band
25 years in the outer – Mike Brady
Mondays Experts – Weddings, Parties, Anything
The Swans Return - Weddings, Parties, Anything
Tough Time - Weddings, Parties, Anything
Me and Dad – TISM
The Back Upon Which Jezza Jumped – TISM
The Footy’s on the Radio – TISM
BALL!!!!!YES!!!!! – Aloi Head and the Victor Motors
Half-time at the Football – Dave Warner
Anything by Greg Champion
Songs that reference football, footballers, ground etc:
TISM – TISM have heaps of songs. Some belting references include “Who is your favourite genius, James Hird or James Joyce”; “I,ve done heroin, cocaine and angel dust, I’ve played on Rodney Grinter and I’ve been concussed”; “They barrack for good old Morrison like the %^&*$#@ Richmond cheer squad”. There are many others.
Under the Clocks - Weddings, Parties, Anything
I’m an Individual – Mark Jackson
Leaps and Bounds – Paul Kelly
Power and the Passion – Midnight Oil
The Cosmic Psychos have an album called Oh What a lovely Pie. The title came from a TV ad for four and twenty in the 50’s or 60’s and featured VFL champions singing the song on a bus (a la end of season trip antics). It went something like “ Oh what a lovely pie me boy the 4n20 pie”. I am pretty sure this ad featured a Fitzroy player. Maybe Butch Gale I think.
------------------
See ya round
I'm lucky 'cause every time I go to France they play our theme song which is kind of them to remember especially on Bastille Day when they play it over and over.
Me and the missus sing the right words but the French don't seem to know the words...//
Yippyio
14 Apr 2001, 17:13
Greg Champion- Deep in our hearts everyone barracks for Fitzroy
Mobbenfuhrer
15 Apr 2001, 04:51
Fitzroy specific :
Coodabeen Champions : VFL Park In The Dark
And depending on how low you want to sink, you may wish to try the Fitzroy psalms on http://www.angelfire.com/fl/POTOC/mobsongs.html ... a bunch of plaguerised tunes that the Lynch Mob hastily strung together over the years.
TISM's footy references are grouse : Father and Son being one of the best footy rock songs I've ever heard.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
FitzroyJamesDio
15 Apr 2001, 06:49
How's about the James Manson written tune 'Power to the People' that they played before games and half times when we were at the Western Oval...little known fact that Brad Boyd's brother Drew...who is quite well respected in coverband land actually sung on that song..Im not sure if the band was actually Trial By Video or not but the song was pretty good for a spur along for us all..
and as for other footy songs a local metal band had a song 'Richmond (theyre the team to beat)'about the footy club.. that was sold thru the club and the cheer squad i think..the members of the band were Tiger nuts..the front cover has the guitarist taking a screamer on the back of the other band members at the mcg
another local hard rock band i was connected with Cyclone Tracy thank Fitzroy Football Club on both their cds...Fitzroy guy (the guitarist) has quit that band and formed a new melb rock act called 40 ALexander who supported Steve Vai last year..they have a song called Red Yellow and Blue that was inspired by the Lions but aint really a footy song.
Mobbenfuhrer
17 Apr 2001, 03:30
Here's one to keep yers going for the time being :
THE BARROW
(To Savage Garden's 'I Want You')
Everytime we'd see you we'd most likely be bleary-eyed,
and we'd have tickets to a most unlikely ride,
and the general feeling was a shudder,
and by three-quarter time we felt a trick of quarters older.
I don't need to think of the rain that we defied.
Although we felt all the pain we didn't mind,
'cause we were charmed by the grit in the face,
of those who wanted the ball, and we would bleed to be you.
You did what you were supposed to, respect for that will not tire.
Those they'll erase what is you, it's still all true.
Here I pledge you I won't view another team,
until the barrow of the Roy is unbound.
Here I pledge you I won't view another team,
until the barrow of the Roy is unbound.
You never made a fuss 'cause you knew that no-one wanted to hear it.
Getting up and getting back without a word took spirit.
Though we all looked for a star performance,
that setting of the jaw was alone worth being 'round for.
We took places for the best vision of all the action.
Level of our passion determined our faction.
Roys supporters have never been frightened.
to play the rival in a bout without hope
Anyone who chooses to blame the jackal's eyes,
forgets the place where the undone never dies.
All we have been has taken shelter in the hardiest minds,
where we can cheekily smoulder.
I don't need an all-new game to hold old ties,
and if you're feeling the same you need to look inside.
The Roys are still in the thoughts and the face,
of every Roys barracker, what we were, not where we've gone to.
See you at the local games.
By destroying us you only make us stronger.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
He ain't pretty....He's James Manson
Fat Pizza
19 Apr 2001, 13:15
There was a fairly popular pub band in Melbourne made up predominantly of former Fitzroy Under 19 & Reserves players. I think they were called Big Deal. They may even still be around.
Mobbenfuhrer
19 Apr 2001, 15:17
I remember Big Deal, but I didn't know they had anything to do with Fitzroy ...
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Mobbenfuhrer
19 Apr 2001, 15:22
Come to think of it, I DO remember them being footballers, there was a newspaper article on them, with the group standing on a footy ground, ala TISM ("greg!') style.
Still, didn't realise they were Roys, and I would have though that I'd have noticed if they were.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
OldLion
19 Apr 2001, 15:42
Dash,
The Four 'n Twenty ad. had The Mighty Lion - complete with the classic short back and sides ( used to call them nasho haircuts 'cause that's what you looked like when you got called up ) and dentally intact - together with other fashion icons as Skilts, Tuddy and maybe the original 'bustling' Billy Barrot. I think the driver was Capt'n Blood himself, and maybe even Jeff Crouch ( an UMPIRE ) was involved. Remember those one umpire games with no smart arse frees and the whistle put away in the last quarter if it was close.
When are they going to make a movie about old Jack ? His is a classic Aussie story.
FitzroyJamesDio
19 Apr 2001, 17:26
Originally posted by Fat Pizza:
There was a fairly popular pub band in Melbourne made up predominantly of former Fitzroy Under 19 & Reserves players. I think they were called Big Deal. They may even still be around.
gee thats pretty amazing..i actually know those guys personally..or did..didnt make the fitzroy connection at all..they were probably the biggest cover band in melb. and also released an ep of originals that i own
matt powell - vocals
brendan fitzgerald - bass
darren mc master - drums
jim fitzgerald - guitars
nik halik - guitars
brant chapman - keys
any of them ring a bell?
theyve had a few singers now i think..
------------------
Fitzroy James Dio II
Mobbenfuhrer
19 Apr 2001, 18:25
Nope ... I dn't recognise any of the names.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Actually we also had Pat Fitzgerald's band I think he wore number 35 before Magoo McGrath he came out of the under 19's his band backed Jon English (another Fitzroy supporter) at the Grand Final Breaky in 1984 at Leonda, his band was a forerunner of the above, played at a lot of FFC player functions in the mid to late 80's, mainly at Lakeside.
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer:
Fitzroy specific :
Coodabeen Champions : VFL Park In The Dark
And depending on how low you want to sink, you may wish to try the Fitzroy psalms on http://www.angelfire.com/fl/POTOC/mobsongs.html ... a bunch of plaguerised tunes that the Lynch Mob hastily strung together over the years.
TISM's footy references are grouse : Father and Son being one of the best footy rock songs I've ever heard.
Don't forget the equally prolific efforts of Mr.Ripper (and myself from time to time) . . .
Fat Pizza
20 Apr 2001, 12:17
The names Fitzgerald & Chapman sound familiar.
Mr Ripper
20 Apr 2001, 13:14
I reckon I remember Pat Fitzgerald. Half forwardish type. Think he might have kicked half a dozen for the Under 19s in the curtain raiser to the Roys - Dons First Semi in '83.
------------------
Olmy knows best
Mobbenfuhrer
25 Apr 2001, 03:42
Here's one for the Reds, that I penned on Saturday :
THE SECOND COMING
(To the tune of Boney M's 'Rasputin')
Here in Royland, forty years ago.
The fans all congregated to see how their Gods would go.
Most people there could see, the coming of the end.
And prepared for the day when the Roys would come again.
We have faith that isn't quite discrete and,
Belief in the final prize.
Knowing that our rebirth was due after,
The greatest sac ... rifice.
Our worship had been banned, so underground we go.
To keep alive the faith for disciples in the know.
We kept alive our hope, in the lions den.
And prepared for the day when the Roys would come again.
We're returning to this busy street that,
Hosted the meaning of our lives.
Now its time to focus on the scene for,
When that day ... arrives.
You're at Brunswick Street,
Synonymous with victory.
Maroon and blue mecca for so long.
You're at Brunswick Street,
Home of Fitzroy memory.
Pay your respects by singing this song.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy