View Full Version : Brisbane Vs Adelaide
maccas_no1
7 Sep 2003, 11:25
This wil be an absoulute cracker of a game, Adelaide just coming of a great confiedence boosting win and Brisbane searching for a third premiership and battling injuries and form, Adelaide tend to play well at the GABBA and we have a better side that what we took to Brisbane earlier in the year, If it's a Saturday night game I will be there...............I am looking forward to this match:D :D :D
What Brisbane players would be doubt this week???Voss,Scott,Akermanis and Clarke???? Notting on report????
Thoughts????
Adelaide Should regain Johncock and McGregor this week but who do we drop all the boys played very well yesterday:D :D :D
Kane McGoodwin
7 Sep 2003, 15:32
Interesting week at the selection table this week. I reckon Brisbane may have been undone by not playing 22 fit players against the Pies. Crows did the same in the last few games prior to the Eagles game & cost them dearly with too many passengers. Made the hard decision & left out both McGregor & Johncock, who both should return this week. Will the Lions' selectors make the same tough choices this week? BTW, reckon Notting should be OK to play, as not much in it.
maccas_no1
7 Sep 2003, 17:55
It's a cut throat final and you want your 'best' side on the ground but sometimes it's not worth playing underdone players...........Brisbane have some hard decisions ahead of them this week.
SpecialBruce
7 Sep 2003, 19:19
Should be a good game.
The midfield will be where this is won this week. Adelaide's midfield is in better form than ours. It's going to be one tough contest. Matthew Clark doing good in ruck, Carey firing, Adelaide's experience defence hanging tough and playing well. This game will have it all. It will be a close one. Johncock and Carey need to be stopped aswell as Ricciuto.
We hopefully have McRae back in our forward line.
McGrath to play on Johncock. Looking forward to that match up.
One interesting game and hard to pick a winner.
for the last 4 years (including his year off) everytime Carey's team has played at the Gabba, he has missed the game - usually last minute - due to injury or illness. Wonder if he will actually make it up here this week!!
maccas_no1
7 Sep 2003, 19:39
Carey will be there:D :D :D
SpecialBruce
7 Sep 2003, 20:39
Originally posted by Danni
for the last 4 years (including his year off) everytime Carey's team has played at the Gabba, he has missed the game - usually last minute - due to injury or illness. Wonder if he will actually make it up here this week!!
Really? Interesting stat. I don't think we'll be that lucky this time.
If you know that, would you know the answer to this? For the last 4 years, each time Carey's team played at the Gabba and he didn't play, did we win each encounter?
LionHeart20
7 Sep 2003, 21:22
Should be a ripper of a contest. :)
We're a vague chance, there will be no excuses after the game once/should we lose, but the fact remains Brisbane have never lost a final at the GABBA, and in Matthews' reign, haven't really looked like losing one. There's too many holes in our lineup and gameplan which the Lions can exploit.
Brisbane's defence is absolutely rock-solid, played amazingly last night and if Welshy doesn't play, we won't kick a big enough score. And we will have enormous problems containing Lynch and McGregor, they always give us nightmares. Therefore, to have a chance, we have to dominate the midfield area, but we won't do that against the Lions' engine room.
BTW, sorry if I end up posting a bit on here this week, I'm not able to post on the Adelaide board for the best part of another 7 days.
Originally posted by ant
BTW, sorry if I end up posting a bit on here this week, I'm not able to post on the Adelaide board for the best part of another 7 days.
You're welcome here any time ant. :) But tell me why you can't post there. :eek: I wanna know what you did. :D
LionHeart20
7 Sep 2003, 23:00
Originally posted by ant
Why's that? :confused:
Can you two believe they were sick of my negativity and pessimism? :o
So, as a goodwill gesture, I've decided to cease posting on the Adelaide board until our finals series is over, so I should be back there late next Friday evening.
But thanks for making me welcome here in the time being :)
ok.crows
7 Sep 2003, 23:32
Originally posted by ant
We're a vague chance,
Why on earth is that ant ?
A bit too pessimistic or something ?
Good to see you quell that pessimism just a little with your "vague chance" reference.
Originally posted by ok.crows
Why on earth is that ant ?
A bit too pessimistic or something ?
Good to see you quell that pessimism just a little with your "vague chance" reference.
Yeah, well, I gave us a 50-50 chance last week, and, all things considered, I think there is some minute possibility of us causing an upset on Friday night. I still regard it as highly unlikely, hence, the 'vague chance' reference.
I still maintain my pessimism, but it is ever so slightly dimmed.
Originally posted by ant
So, as a goodwill gesture, I've decided to cease posting on the Adelaide board until our finals series is over, so I should be back there late next Friday evening.
AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA that is funny ant. :D Somehow I just don't imagine you as the negative/pessimistic type. :p
But that makes you even MORE welcome here, you can help boost our confidence. ;)
[QUOTE]Originally posted by ant
[B
You said you were going to be back posting on the Adelaide Board yesterday at around 6.30pm What happened?!?! Oh wait, I know WE WON!!!!! :D
Originally posted by SAbella
[B
You said you were going to be back posting on the Adelaide Board yesterday at around 6.30pm What happened?!?! Oh wait, I know WE WON!!!!! :D
:o
I was a week out with my prediction.
I know everyone is missing my incisive, no-nonsense input on the Crows' board, but I'm sure you guys can handle 6 more days without me?
N.B. SA Bella, I will take petitions for immediate reinstatement to the Crows' board under consideration.
Originally posted by ant
I was a week out with my prediction.
I know everyone is missing my incisive, no-nonsense input on the Crows' board, but I'm sure you guys can handle 6 more days without me?
N.B. SA Bella, I will take petitions for immediate reinstatement to the Crows' board under consideration.
Hmmm, I tell you what anty, if you can overcome the pessimism i would be happy to help you get re-instated onto the Adelaide Board, but unfortunately, if you feel u can't shake the 'Crows will lose'attitude I feel that my hard-work woud go in vain and therefore must decline your oh so subtle, indirect way of asking me to start a petition for you ;)
Here's the deal: drop the negative attitude and I'll help you get back to where you really want to be :p
Crows should hopefully be more than a vague chance this week. I'd still prefer to be playing C'wood rather than Brisbane though... a very formidable opponent.
Lets test how strong that Gabba finals' hoodoo really is... ;)
This was predicted predicted to be the Grand Final match up by some... it's come two weeks early, oh well. :(
We gave you guys a run for your money at the Gabba in round eight. I'm hoping to see a repeat performance of that, with better finishing we might win this time. It would be a damn sight better than the spanking you dealt to us in the qualifying final 12 months ago, that's for sure.
I'm hoping your injuries really level things out, just at a point where we've almost got a full squad to choose from for the first time this year. (fingers crossed) :D I read that some of you want to rest Voss, please do! His leadership and ball winning ability would surely be sorely missed.
Lynch looms as the danger man, he loves kicking bags against us. Shut him down and we should win this. Better yet shut down the midfield supply to him.
And if it wasn't clear by what's been said already, ant's "ban" from the Adelaide board is purely self-imposed. He's welcome back at any time. He just has to deal with the more optimistic types - e.g. me - who feel the need to shout down his negative views. ;)
maccas_no1
8 Sep 2003, 11:43
Ant dont be so negative,this is the wrong time of the year to be negative..........................WE WILL NOT FAIL:D :D :D
Originally posted by ant
LOL
You are very good at what you do. Keep it up champ.:D
Originally posted by Jars458
LOL
You are very good at what you do. Keep it up champ.:D
Cheers
I think I'll catch you on the Crows board again in a few days time.
Until then, if anyone wants my view on anything football-related, just check out this place, my home while in posting exile.
while in posting exile.
That's self-imposed posting exile!!!:)
Dasher39
9 Sep 2003, 12:39
Yeah I was the one(maccas_no1) who got forced exile and now have to post under my housemates name because we have a few Port Sooks:rolleyes:
roostersgal4eva
9 Sep 2003, 19:35
im soooooooo worried about this game especially with vossy out and now notting suspended :(
on the brighters side i hope that our players can step up if vossy isnt there & hopefully lynchy can contiue his great form against the crows :D
GO DA LIONS!
Stiffy_18
9 Sep 2003, 21:00
Originally posted by ant
Cheers
I think I'll catch you on the Crows board again in a few days time.
Until then, if anyone wants my view on anything football-related, just check out this place, my home while in posting exile.
:o Fair crack of the whip ant. You baaned yourself remember :p
For arguments sake if we beat Brisbane and Sydney and Collingwood or Port make it throught to the Grand finals to play us will their board be your home while in exile :eek: .
You would sell your soul to them:eek:
In all seriousness, who ever wins this game, I hope they go all the way. Should be a ripper and hopefully Crows can be the first team to beat the Lions at the GABBA in a final.:)
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Fair crack of the whip ant. You baaned yourself remember :p
For arguments sake if we beat Brisbane and Sydney and Collingwood or Port make it throught to the Grand finals to play us will their board be your home while in exile :eek: .
You would sell your soul to them:eek:
In all seriousness, who ever wins this game, I hope they go all the way. Should be a ripper and hopefully Crows can be the first team to beat the Lions at the GABBA in a final.:)
:p Yes, I know I banned myself, but I think it was in the interest of ALL parties, it's not as if anyone was shattered by my decision...... and anyway, look how peaceful the place is now without me Stiffy.....
And yeah, I might stay here in the Brisbane area for a while, for no other reason than I love their supporters, admire greatly their team, and it's closest to the board that will forever have my heart (and no, I don't mean Carlton).
Originally posted by ant
And yeah, I might stay here in the Brisbane area for a while, for no other reason than I love their supporters, admire greatly their team, and it's closest to the board that will forever have my heart (and no, I don't mean Carlton).
Awwwww what a Kodak moment!!!!!!! We love you too ant. ;)
Stiffy_18
9 Sep 2003, 23:11
Originally posted by ant
:p Yes, I know I banned myself, but I think it was in the interest of ALL parties, it's not as if anyone was shattered by my decision...... and anyway, look how peaceful the place is now without me Stiffy.....
And yeah, I might stay here in the Brisbane area for a while, for no other reason than I love their supporters, admire greatly their team, and it's closest to the board that will forever have my heart (and no, I don't mean Carlton). Fair enough ant. Give us your thoughts on our chances againt the mighty lions, and I swear if I hear any pessimistic/negative comments I will ban u from here as well:p:p:p:p:p:p
Carmelo Anthony
10 Sep 2003, 00:32
Anyone remember last time we played brisbane in a final, gotta be the most humiliating crows loss in 10 years, disgusting...we didnt do anything right that night, we were chasing brisbane players the whole game and the only time we got it past half way was when the umpires bounce went slightly towards the brisbane ruckman.
Anyway we are a good chance this week if Voss and Scott are injured, hopefully Shirley and Stenglein can do the jobs on Lappin and Black. If they keep them quiet we are a slight chance, but I think at the GABBA we are done for. We were a much better chance at the MCG against the Magpies.
This mutual love fest is revolting!!
I hope we go out and show the Lions how it's done and I am confident that we will at least make a good account of ourselves. Whilst I respect the Lions I hope the lads have that first final embarrasement your lot gave us last year burning their retinas and that they do everything possible to return the favour.
Once we beat your mob I'm looking forward to our lads showing the Swans how a really passionate South Aussie team plays football!
Crows supporters. No more Mr and Ms Niceguys!! :mad:
GO CROWS!!
adey115
10 Sep 2003, 14:41
Originally posted by napsyd
I hope we go out and show the Lions how it's done and I am confident that we will at least make a good account of ourselves. Whilst I respect the Lions I hope the lads have that first final embarrasement your lot gave us last year burning their retinas and that they do everything possible to return the favour.
Once we beat your mob I'm looking forward to our lads showing the Swans how a really passionate South Aussie team plays football!
GO CROWS!!
See that thing in the corner with a knob on it... its either an exit door or you looking at yourself in a mirror. Off you go.
;)
adey115
10 Sep 2003, 14:41
previous note tongue in cheek of course.
Originally posted by adey115
See that thing in the corner with a knob on it... its either an exit door or you looking at yourself in a mirror. Off you go.
;)
:(
Originally posted by adey115
previous note tongue in cheek of course.
:D
SAFootyNut
10 Sep 2003, 16:33
One of my favourite sayings is "That's Footy"
Anything and everything unexpected can and will happen at the most unusual times.
I don't really care who or where we play. To win a flag we have to be better than the lot of them.
On their day, the Lions will go through no fuss, no mess. But on a Crows big day out, Gabba finals record or no, it will be unmerciful.
Crows by 13-24.
I'm pretty confident the Lions will go through to the prelim final, but let me just say that if our man Macca comes to his senses and shaves his head in time for the match, we might just have some semblance of a chance.
topjars
10 Sep 2003, 22:16
Goodluck Lionfans.
Well only enough luck to see Adelaide still sneak away with the points:cool:
Should be a great game
Kane McGoodwin
10 Sep 2003, 22:29
Originally posted by ant
I'm pretty confident the Lions will go through to the prelim final, but let me just say that if our man Macca comes to his senses and shaves his head in time for the match, we might just have some semblance of a chance.
From you ant, that is as good as picking the Crows to win. Just like last week, the vibes are good. :cool:
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
From you ant, that is as good as picking the Crows to win. Just like last week, the vibes are good. :cool:
Kane, that was on the condition that Macca shaves his head.
I know a good barber........
Stiffy_18
10 Sep 2003, 22:49
Originally posted by napsyd
GO CROWS!! Tough day at the office napsyd??????:(:) :p
Stiffy_18
10 Sep 2003, 22:52
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
From you ant, that is as good as picking the Crows to win. Just like last week, the vibes are good. :cool: You said it our new Mod ;) (Shame on you ant for not coming to our board to congratulate Kane on becoming our new moderator :p)
RE: good vibes. I get a lot of that coming out of AFC at the moment. There is a real feel of self belief and confidence. I just hope it doesn't turn into overconfidence or cockiness :(
Kane McGoodwin
10 Sep 2003, 22:56
RE: good vibes. I get a lot of that coming out of AFC at the moment. There is a real feel of self belief and confidence. I just hope it doesn't turn into overconfidence or cockiness :(
Got the word 2nd hand from the Duck himself Stiffy that there is a real sense of confidence down at AFC ... but we will need to be at our absolute best to beat the Lions at home.
You said it our new Mod ;) (Shame on you ant for not coming to our board to congratulate Kane on becoming our new moderator :p)
There's so many things I want to say Stiffy but I can't!
Congratulations to Kane, becoming the Adelaide Crows Board moderator is quite an honour, and well deserved. I remember back to the days when it was just Carmelo, Spogs and myself keeping the Crows board ticking over, then this young buck by name of Kane McGoodwin came along and has since usurped us all!
Thanks to Danni as well for all her help in the past.
Happy now Stiffy?
Stiffy_18
10 Sep 2003, 23:19
Originally posted by ant
Happy now Stiffy? Thats better mate ;)
Still haven't answered my question from the previous page:)
About our chances:)
Stiffy_18
10 Sep 2003, 23:20
Originally posted by ant
There's so many things I want to say Stiffy but I can't! Why not dude, its a free country so let it rip ;)
Fair enough ant. Give us your thoughts on our chances againt the mighty lions, and I swear if I hear any pessimistic/negative comments I will ban u from here as well:p:p:p:p:p:p
There's a very good reason why I didn't answer your question Stiffy.....you don't want to hear what I have to say ;)
And I'm a man of my word. No posts by yours truly on the Crows board until late Friday evening.
SAbella
10 Sep 2003, 23:33
[
And I'm a man of my word. No posts by yours truly on the Crows board until late Friday evening. [/B][/QUOTE]
You said you were going to post last Saturday around 6.30pm!!!:confused:
Tough day at the office napsyd??????:(:) :p
Not for me, but I'm hoping it will be for the Lions on Friday night! ;)
goaldrush
11 Sep 2003, 12:09
Go Brisbane
NathanD
11 Sep 2003, 12:35
I thought that this was a Lions board?
rchowell
11 Sep 2003, 13:49
They know where da party at mate ;)
Originally posted by NathanD
I thought that this was a Lions board?
Had me double checking as well,
Ah well might as well join in with the rest of them,
Will Keating line up on friday & if he does how do you guys see the rucking duels between the Crows pair & Sharman & Keating,
Should be a real tight hard at it contest & with just a touch of luck on our side we could come away with a ticket to Sydney the week after,
To all those that go to the Gabba enjoy the night,
To ant, come home mate the pipes are looking & sounding a bit on the flat side & could do with a loving touch-up, :)
SpecialBruce
11 Sep 2003, 14:25
Hadley will get 15 plus disposals and at least 1 goal if he lines up.
Can't wait to see Vossy leading the team out tomorrow night.
Originally posted by noddy
To ant, come home mate the pipes are looking & sounding a bit on the flat side & could do with a loving touch-up, :)
Cheers Nods, really appreciate that, you're the first person to wish me back home ;)
You can tell everyone from me that now I think we are officially no chance, as I don't think we can win this game with Welshy out. He's crucial for adding forward line pressure, as well as a player that can play tall or small. I expect the King and Stevo to be shut down by Michael and Leppitsch and without Welsh, our wildcard, we can't kick enough goals to beat the Lions.
I can only hope now that we make a contest and don't completely embarrass ourselves.
And just had news M. Voss is in and will play, but C. Scott is out.
Crows need divine intervention now :o
Stiffy_18
11 Sep 2003, 18:06
Originally posted by ant
Cheers Nods, really appreciate that, you're the first person to wish me back home ;)
You can tell everyone from me that now I think we are officially no chance, as I don't think we can win this game with Welshy out. He's crucial for adding forward line pressure, as well as a player that can play tall or small. I expect the King and Stevo to be shut down by Michael and Leppitsch and without Welsh, our wildcard, we can't kick enough goals to beat the Lions.
I can only hope now that we make a contest and don't completely embarrass ourselves. Dude we ALL want you back.:D I really mean that mate ;)
Some things never change. :p If Welsh doesn't play we will have Perrie as a 3rd tall and that might strech Lions defence. Or we can go for a smaller type in Ladhams. Remember Lions find it a bit hard to match up on quick little goal sneaks. Its a blow but its not the end of the world.
I said on our Board earlier in the week that I expect Voss to play. I have been convinced all along thet he'll play.
Have faith mate. We are still a chance. Should be a good game either way. ;)
P.S. Stop being so bloody stubborn and come back home mate :)
LionHeart20
11 Sep 2003, 18:49
Good to see Vossy playing but i'd expect Leigh to give him limited game time.
Chris Scott obviously is a huge loss but i'm sure whoever will replace him will step-up. Big boots to fill. The game's expected to be a sell-out.
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
Hadley will get 15 plus disposals and at least 1 goal if he lines up. I thought Hadley was pretty impressive in the pre-season.
I'm surprised it's taken him so long to get into the side.
Hopefully he'll get stage fright on the big occasion. ;)