View Full Version : Interesting decision by Matthews

Mr Ripper
8 Sep 2003, 20:34
To pull three players out of the reserves Semi Final on Sunday on the off-chance that they'll be lining up in the firsts next weekend.

Richard Hadley, Jason Gram and Dylan McLaren were fit to go, but Lethal pulled the pin and withdrew them from the team.

Debatable whether it was right to "protect" Hadley and Gram, but you have to question the McLaren decision. The lad hasn't played a game for a month with a bit of a knee (which he's now overcome) and if he's to come into the seniors on Friday night, you'd have thought a bit of match play would have come in handy.

For the record, the reserves went down to Morningside by 99 points, fielding 9 listed players (only 8 after Selwood went down in the first quarter with a shoulder injury).

SpecialBruce
8 Sep 2003, 21:34
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

If Hadley or Gram play, I'll be very surprised. Can't see Leigh turning his faith around at this point in time. It's too late for that. Keating will most likely not play so McLaren would come in regardless as we need a ruckman up againt Clark and Adelaide's other ruckmen. McLaren has done the job well with Charman in the past so it's sensible resting McLaren.

Voss will play this week as Leigh yet again said today along the lines that you need to be fit to play finals. He said that last week and played Chris Scott who was injured. Keating will most likely play aswell.

Stocka
9 Sep 2003, 00:17
We are definitely going to have to play a couple of players who have injuries (or slight niggles), as otherwise, we just simply won't have enough players to field!

Kane McGoodwin
9 Sep 2003, 14:11
Originally posted by Stocka
We are definitely going to have to play a couple of players who have injuries (or slight niggles), as otherwise, we just simply won't have enough players to field!
I hope you do play injured players. Crows did the same in the last 3 minor round games & cost them badly as they were carrying passengers. Left out 2 injured players against the Weagles & we get a full team effort. Playing less than 22 fit players will usually cost you a game, so go for it! ;)

Kane McGoodwin
9 Sep 2003, 14:15
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
Keating will most likely not play so McLaren would come in regardless as we need a ruckman up againt Clark and Adelaide's other ruckmen.
... called Biglands. If Keating doesn't play, it will be a huge bonus to the Crows, as I can see our midfielders getting 1st use of the ball. Our ruckman got back to some decent form last week & it was no coincidence we did well with the clearances. Reckon we do need to get more than 50% of the clearances this week, as you probably have a more effective forward line.

Stocka
9 Sep 2003, 15:00
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
I hope you do play injured players. Crows did the same in the last 3 minor round games & cost them badly as they were carrying passengers. Left out 2 injured players against the Weagles & we get a full team effort. Playing less than 22 fit players will usually cost you a game, so go for it! ;)

While I don't doubt that the likes of Gram and Hadley are talented players, it is questionable as to how much value they can contribute at this point in time, assuming that they would be the chosen replacements for injured players.

While they'd certainly be able to provide "fresh legs", it is virtually impossible to make a call on what other value they may be able to contribute, as they have had virtually no experience in the senior side, let alone in finals, especially coming up against a quality, experienced outfit such as Adelaide.

I reckon the mere presence of Voss in the side assists us remarkably.

Kane McGoodwin
9 Sep 2003, 15:12
I reckon the mere presence of Voss in the side assists us remarkably.
Wouldn't have said that in the Pies game. reckon you would have been better of with a player who could run!

NathanD
9 Sep 2003, 17:46
Fine with 20-20 hindsight.

He's played most of the last half of the season with the same gammy knee, he went and reinjured the joint in that harmless looking slide in the 1st qtr.

He may be able to stand in the goal square for 4 qtrs, but I don't imagine that he'd be able to help himself when it came to chasing, tackling, going for screamers, standing in tackles etc.

Best for him to rest and let Aker/Brown/Power/Pike take on the leadership duties.

Stocka
9 Sep 2003, 22:06
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Wouldn't have said that in the Pies game. reckon you would have been better of with a player who could run!

If we are going to lose at any rate, I'd rather see us lose with decent players on the bench for most of the game, as opposed to sending kids out there to get beat up (ie: C.Bolton vs. A.Hamill in 2000).

lioness
9 Sep 2003, 23:58
While I don't doubt that the likes of Gram and Hadley are talented players, it is questionable as to how much value they can contribute at this point in time, assuming that they would be the chosen replacements for injured players.

While they'd certainly be able to provide "fresh legs", it is virtually impossible to make a call on what other value they may be able to contribute, as they have had virtually no experience in the senior side, let alone in finals, especially coming up against a quality, experienced outfit such as Adelaide.

That's true but then again, we've all said in the other thread how we feel about if we lose this week or not make the Grand Final etc. So given the success of the last two years and risking players with injuries when really we DON'T have heaps to prove, how many other chances like this will we get to give young players like Gram or Hadley some finals experience. Would it be better to play injured players and risk being beaten because we just can't keep up........I don't think so.

It's a risk for sure, but one I think we could afford to take.