View Full Version : club champion 2003
eaglerock
9 Sep 2003, 00:59
i think cuz will win his 3rd best and fairest in a row, with gardiner,fletcher, embley all missing 3-4 through injury this will count against them, kerr matera and judd should also poll well.rookie of the year should go to brent staker.
eagleskickass
9 Sep 2003, 01:15
I presume McDougall still falls into consideration for "rookie of the year" and if he does, and buffy wins it then Doogs can feel hard done by. Staker has done well, Doogs has been better:)
McDougall made his debut last season.
eaglerock
9 Sep 2003, 01:21
it is best first year player so doogs won't be eligable.
eagleskickass
9 Sep 2003, 02:33
ah ok, i thought it semi worked like the rising star, certain amount of games etc.
In that case Staker gets it hands down:)
Stakers nickname is badger.
Black JuJu
9 Sep 2003, 03:01
I reckon either Cuz or Gardy will win the B&F.
They should consider changing the Best First year thing to a rising star like award, because Ashley Sampi deserves the award as he only played 4 games in 2002.
He's been our best youngster truely "blooded" this year.
Others throughout the year threatened but when all was said and done noone was again as consistently good as Cousins. I'd expect him to get it.
Mr Eagle
9 Sep 2003, 13:44
Originally posted by ozzult
Stakers nickname is badger. BUFFY!!!!
(I will have you people calling him this if it's the last thing I do! Good boy, EKA, have a cookie...)
Originally posted by Mr Eagle
BUFFY!!!!
(I will have you people calling him this if it's the last thing I do! Good boy, EKA, have a cookie...) Tell his team mates.
Very funny eagleskickass but don't insult the guy by calling him Buffy. It's bad enough some people called him porterhouse but yes his nickname is Badger although it is not well known by many people so call him that as that's what he prefers. I can take a joke along with anyone else but that is just downright cruel, Brent is a good kid so show some respect.
daddy_4_eyes
9 Sep 2003, 20:46
Originally posted by Seren
I can take a joke along with anyone else but that is just downright cruel, Brent is a good kick show some respect.
I think you've confused yourself along the way somewhere.
Staker = Stake (tool used for killing vampires)
Buffy was/is a famous vampire slayer, hence Buffy.
Dunno where you got the kicking part from :confused:
Hey... Buffy is cool! It more than just lesbian vampire slayers, its cool chic
K?
I know where it came from D4Eyes and I had made a mistake in my post which I rectified. Have any of you guys that think it's funny to call him names like Buffy and porterhouse based on his last name even spoken to the guy because I can tell you one thing he hates being call Porterhouse for a start so he'd hate your new so call nickname even worse. A joke is a joke if it's in good taste but this one is far from it. Go for you life have a go at me but I think some of you guys have a weird way of thinking.
But Buffy saved the world from evil. It's a complement!
Black JuJu
9 Sep 2003, 21:05
haha
Brent Staker gives a **** what we say ?
Coooooooooool :D
Go Buffy !
They do actually they are human like everyone else. Some of you guys are tools. Hey I can put up with heaps of s**t at the footy so go for your lives guys give it all you got and bag me but at least I show respect for the team and don't act like a two year old like some of you. I won't even reply to anymore of your posts on this thread. His nickname is Badger and Buffy is not a compliment as someone put it, it's just down right stupid as was portehouse. Give it your best my feelings might get hurt[not].
Are you for real?
Black JuJu
9 Sep 2003, 21:20
Urgghh did we touch a nerve mate ?
Did you get called Stinky or something at school ?
Pretty much everyone on this board likes Staker, rates him and aren't having a go at the bloke.
Wow.
Thrawn666
10 Sep 2003, 00:01
HAHAH
This reminds me of that softball episode of the simpsons
Daaaarrrrrylllllll
Darrrryyyyylllll
Greaves
10 Sep 2003, 00:10
Staker's nickname is "tripod" :cool:
Woah, Suzi have you changed aliases?
Eagle_Fan
10 Sep 2003, 02:00
Now now people, a bit of respect. She's with the cheer squad afterall :p
Mr Eagle
10 Sep 2003, 03:01
Very funny eagleskickass but don't insult the guy by calling him Buffy. It's bad enough some people called him porterhouse but yes his nickname is Badger although it is not well known by many people so call him that as that's what he prefers. I can take a joke along with anyone else but that is just downright cruel, Brent is a good kid so show some respect. Cruel??? Lack of respect??? I think you grossly misconstrue the nature of the nickname. REALLY REALLY REALLY misconstrue it. There isn't a single millimetre of malice or ill will involved.
and Buffy is not a compliment as someone put it, it's just down right stupid as was portehouse. Thank you for informing us of what is and isn't a compliment. According to you. You'll notice that no one on this board actually used or uses the 'porterhouse' nickname for the good Mr Staker because we recognise how craptacular it is.
Originally posted by Thrawn666
HAHAH
This reminds me of that softball episode of the simpsons
Daaaarrrrrylllllll
Darrrryyyyylllll
it's just like water off a duck's back for him :D
does anyone know whether Doogs would get upset with me calling him Howser?
thegur
This was an amusing thread :D
And I will call him Buffy, because that's a cool ass nickname.
Thrawn666
10 Sep 2003, 11:14
Staker and Adkins should become housemates, then people could call em Staker n Chipper :D
Originally posted by Thrawn666
Staker and Adkins should become housemates, then people could call em Staker n Chipper :D
GOLD :p :D
Voice of Reason
10 Sep 2003, 11:39
True colours.
carneagles
10 Sep 2003, 12:44
Well, this has taken a turn for the bizarre, hasn't it.
Seren - you're probably a lot closer to the team and players than just about all of us who can't get along to training or go to the functions after the game or whatnot. So for us, the players are a lot more abstract then they would be for you - to us they're people you see on the TV or on the other side of the fence. We don't know them in any real sense, so it would be easy to read something and think that we're being disrespectful by taking the pee.
That said, you'd be hard pressed to find anyone in here who doesn't love the Eagles with a passion (yes, even you Kenny, you're not fooling anyone).
The bottom line? We're just having a bit of fun here, coming up with nicknames for our favourite players. It's meant in the best possible way, and really shouldn't be taken seriously. If any of them should filter back to the players (for example, I've forgotten myself and shouted "Go Disco" at games) they wouldn't be offended, you'd like to hope.
Originally posted by carneagles
Seren - you're probably a lot closer to the team and players than just about all of us who can't get along to training or go to the functions after the game or whatnot. So for us, the players are a lot more abstract then they would be for you - to us they're people you see on the TV or on the other side of the fence.
I saw Ash Sampi at Nando's Applecross yesterday.
Just as well I didn't call him "Snoop", "Dawg" or even "Samps" then. :D
Actually he's a pretty quiet guy and not a very big for an AFL footballer...
EagleEyed
10 Sep 2003, 17:01
Who cares what his nickname is(we call him Stakes) and hopefully next year he takes a "screamer" and the back page would read "The Stakes are high"
And hopefully next year he learns to have more faith in himself, his first game was sensational but then in the other games(though still good) he didn't seem to give himself any credit looking to give it off more.
Go Stakes!
Mr Eagle
10 Sep 2003, 19:24
Originally posted by llosis
I saw Ash Sampi at Nando's Applecross yesterday.
Just as well I didn't call him "Snoop", "Dawg" or even "Samps" then. :D Did he have the cornrows going? He's only Samp Doggie Dogg when the 'rows are in the hizouse...
Thrawn666
11 Sep 2003, 00:04
Originally posted by carneagles
If any of them should filter back to the players (for example, I've forgotten myself and shouted "Go Disco" at games) they wouldn't be offended, you'd like to hope.
We all call Brauny "Disco" on here and he doesnt seem to mind ;)
GoEagles
13 Sep 2003, 02:22
carneagles - I'm so glad you admitted yelling out "Go Disco!" during the games, I was a bit worried I was the only one yelling that out this year.