View Full Version : News NEAFL Round 8: GWS Giants V Queanbeyan Tigers

GiantForce
21 May 2011, 14:40
2pm @ BOP

Dylan Shiel makes his return this week. Izzy will play his first full game up front. Huge week. Should win by abit.

7.4.46 to 1.3.9 at QTR time! Good start by the Giants.

Flagg has 3 goals, Olsson 2, Phillips 1, Harper 1

GiantForce
21 May 2011, 14:51
Izzy Folau has got his first goal playing Australian Rules Football...and then a minute later his second! Good work mate!

westie88
21 May 2011, 14:53
awesome stuff, and we're only a third of the way through the match! Giants up 59-15

GiantForce
21 May 2011, 14:55
It is only Queenbayen...we were always going to be big winner today. We've play well last 2 weeks so we're due for a win!

dlanod
21 May 2011, 15:01
Izzy Folau has got his first goal playing Australian Rules Football...and then a minute later his second! Good work mate!

Looking forward to the highlights of this game. :D

GiantForce
21 May 2011, 15:13
We still have these little patches in the game where we let the other team back in it which is a little annoying....but we are still a young team and this stuff is to be expected. But we badly need to fix this and stay consistent for 4 quarters. Not 3 and half.

67-45 atm

GiantForce
21 May 2011, 15:20
10.8.68 to 7.4.46 at HT...dissapointing quarter

westie88
21 May 2011, 15:50
Izzy 2 quick goals early in the third quarter, 4 in the match. GIANTS pulling away again :)

GiantForce
21 May 2011, 15:55
3/4 from set shots.....pretty safe to say his kicking is up to standard. Hopefully there will be some good PR about his good form

GiantForce
21 May 2011, 16:11
17.11.113 to 9.4.58 at 3QTR time

GiantForce
21 May 2011, 16:28
Folau moved into the ruck

GiantForce
21 May 2011, 16:53
Full Time:
Giants 19.15.129
Tigers 13.10.88

Good win lads!

AllFooty4
21 May 2011, 17:42
Full Time:
Giants 19.15.129
Tigers 13.10.88

Good win lads!
any rough stats/details on Izzy? I'm a RL supporter as well enjoy seeing how he is doing.

zimmer86
21 May 2011, 17:56
What a great little arvo it was at BOP. Izzy took a great mark to snatch his 3rd goal. really impressed me. Sheeds is the man!

GiantForce
21 May 2011, 20:02
any rough stats/details on Izzy? I'm a RL supporter as well enjoy seeing how he is doing.

Played well, 2 goals each in the 2nd and 3rd quarters. So 4 goals in total. First 2 came within 2 minutes of each other. 3 out of 4 goals came from set shots which suggest kicking isn't going to be too much of a problem for him. He was moved into the ruck early on in the 4th quarter too. Named in the Best today too

captainMyCaptain
21 May 2011, 21:29
Played well, 2 goals each in the 2nd and 3rd quarters. So 4 goals in total. First 2 came within 2 minutes of each other. 3 out of 4 goals came from set shots which suggest kicking isn't going to be too much of a problem for him. He was moved into the ruck early on in the 4th quarter too. Named in the Best today too

Thats great to hear:thumbsu:

SydneyGoose
21 May 2011, 23:19
Saw the highlights on Foxsports News. Took a couple of solid grabs as well, nice contested pack mark and another where he managed to run into space directly in-front of goal. The kicker misjudged his run a bit and so he had to dive to his left and do a quick momentum shift. All in all it was a nice highlights real.

A Bit High
22 May 2011, 08:12
It is only Queenbayen...we were always going to be big winner today. We've play well last 2 weeks so we're due for a win!

Its only Queanbeyan (this is how you spell it) yes, but you were not big winners were you.

If your not spanking Canberra sides then best of luck for the next 5 years.

GiantForce
22 May 2011, 11:46
Its only Queanbeyan (this is how you spell it) yes, but you were not big winners were you.

If your not spanking Canberra sides then best of luck for the next 5 years.

Well any Canberra side will get within 25 points of your joke of a team atm. Canberra sides are under-rated too...they're about the same as QAFL sides.

Sure we didn't win big. But we had 8 guys who played with us who dont normally train with us. And like last week if you take out that last bit to the 2nd quarter we dominated. Went from 59-15 to 68-46 in the space of a few mins which was dissapointing. Can't let a team kick 5 goals like that. However we are a very young side with pretty much every player 16/17/18. So these drop offs during matches are to be expected.

dlanod
22 May 2011, 11:55
Does anyone know if the highlights/footage is online anywhere? :)

TheSunGod
22 May 2011, 12:29
Check it here -

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/folau039s-first-win/video-e6frf33l-1226060316574?sectionvertical=afl

Well done Israel. I think he's done what Karmichael should have done and played a whole season prior to stepping up to the AFL. Including 2 AFL pre-seasons under his belt can only help him adjust to the big-time.
Izzy's size together with his aerial ability makes him a better forward option than K IMO.

A Bit High
22 May 2011, 14:34
Well any Canberra side will get within 25 points of your joke of a team atm. Canberra sides are under-rated too...they're about the same as QAFL sides.

Sure we didn't win big. But we had 8 guys who played with us who dont normally train with us. And like last week if you take out that last bit to the 2nd quarter we dominated. Went from 59-15 to 68-46 in the space of a few mins which was dissapointing. Can't let a team kick 5 goals like that. However we are a very young side with pretty much every player 16/17/18. So these drop offs during matches are to be expected.

Yep you dominated in patches and were dominated in patches, just that you dominated for longer periods, oh by the way, all sides have players missing thats why you have a squad.

I agree with you that Canberra sides are under rated and you did just that IMO.

GiantForce
22 May 2011, 15:21
Yep you dominated in patches and were dominated in patches, just that you dominated for longer periods, oh by the way, all sides have players missing thats why you have a squad.

I agree with you that Canberra sides are under rated and you did just that IMO.

Seriously there is so much wrong with that sentence it's not funny. I think you head off back to your own board to avoid further humilation

A Bit High
22 May 2011, 15:56
Seriously there is so much wrong with that sentence it's not funny. I think you head off back to your own board to avoid further humilation

FYI I am a paid member of GWS and have every right to be here so pull that Giant head in of yours.

captainMyCaptain
22 May 2011, 17:21
FYI I am a paid member of GWS and have every right to be here so pull that Giant head in of yours.

bullshit you are, just piss off to your own board and enjoy 10 years of dominance of getting the wooden spoon.

couchy555
22 May 2011, 17:45
Ha, hilarious, Trolls are already starting to appear on this board. Dont worry about Port, their down on the world at the moment for some reason.

Anywho, i wouldnt underestimate Izzy's game and what it can do for his confidence. Loooove the idea of him playing forward and using his size and athleticism to inflict some carnage.

A Bit High
22 May 2011, 17:50
bullshit you are, just piss off to your own board and enjoy 10 years of dominance of getting the wooden spoon.

Cost me $50 no all to help get AFL games in Canberra.

Received a text the other day to receive my free cap.

A Bit High
22 May 2011, 17:51
Ha, hilarious, Trolls are already starting to appear on this board. Dont worry about Port, their down on the world at the moment for some reason.

Anywho, i wouldnt underestimate Izzy's game and what it can do for his confidence. Loooove the idea of him playing forward and using his size and athleticism to inflict some carnage.

Not worried about Port at all TBH

As for trolling i was commenting on a post about a Canberra side nothing more.

CC Giant
23 May 2011, 10:53
We played well for 2 and half quarters. Queanbeyan Tigers came back hard in the 2nd quarter. Coach Sheedy was sufficiently enraged to come out onto the sidelines to vent his fury at several players; the great man was seriously cranky at half-time.

We also relaxed in the last quarter when we had established a good lead. I am sure that the review of this game will NOT centre around how good we were in patches; instead, the brains trust will be asking why we once again went to sleep for at least 30 minutes of the match.

Man oh man, Dylan Shiel is great to watch in full flight. His is LIGHTNING quick, already has a man's body, has a lovely left foot and a sufficient right foot, shows wonderful evasive skills and excellent footy smarts.

Giles and Clifton showed their experience when it counted. For the second home game in a row, Giles was rucking against a bloke a full 6 inches shorter than him. Giles used this advantage to palm down to our followers on the move, setting us on our way on countless occasions. Clifton is a real in-and-under player, who will be benefiting enormously from having Craig Lambert in the football Dept.

Folau has a great, repeat GREAT vertical leap. Whilst he still needs to learn to take marks in front and above his body, he took a couple of chest marks on Saturday that average footballers would have taken well above their head. His kicking technique from inside 50m is sound; outside 50m, like most players, he tends to hook it when straining for extra distance.

Overall, just 6/10 on the performance. If we make the finals of our Conference, we will get found out if we don't play out every minute of every quarter.

The crowd of 728 enjoyed excellent conditions, verging on balmy in the first half. Groundstaff have done an excellent job in making the surface good to very good (midweek footy chopped it up a touch). The cricket block was also in good nick.

Back to chilly Manuka this week to battle Eastlake, followed by an interesting battle with the Gold Coast Suns on June 4 at BISP. Go Giants!!!

zimmer86
23 May 2011, 11:43
We played well for 2 and half quarters. Queanbeyan Tigers came back hard in the 2nd quarter. Coach Sheedy was sufficiently enraged to come out onto the sidelines to vent his fury at several players; the great man was seriously cranky at half-time.

We also relaxed in the last quarter when we had established a good lead. I am sure that the review of this game will NOT centre around how good we were in patches; instead, the brains trust will be asking why we once again went to sleep for at least 30 minutes of the match.

Man oh man, Dylan Shiel is great to watch in full flight. His is LIGHTNING quick, already has a man's body, has a lovely left foot and a sufficient right foot, shows wonderful evasive skills and excellent footy smarts.

Giles and Clifton showed their experience when it counted. For the second home game in a row, Giles was rucking against a bloke a full 6 inches shorter than him. Giles used this advantage to palm down to our followers on the move, setting us on our way on countless occasions. Clifton is a real in-and-under player, who will be benefiting enormously from having Craig Lambert in the football Dept.

Folau has a great, repeat GREAT vertical leap. Whilst he still needs to learn to take marks in front and above his body, he took a couple of chest marks on Saturday that average footballers would have taken well above their head. His kicking technique from inside 50m is sound; outside 50m, like most players, he tends to hook it when straining for extra distance.

Overall, just 6/10 on the performance. If we make the finals of our Conference, we will get found out if we don't play out every minute of every quarter.

The crowd of 728 enjoyed excellent conditions, verging on balmy in the first half. Groundstaff have done an excellent job in making the surface good to very good (midweek footy chopped it up a touch). The cricket block was also in good nick.

Back to chilly Manuka this week to battle Eastlake, followed by an interesting battle with the Gold Coast Suns on June 4 at BISP. Go Giants!!!

Great little read. During the whole game i was sitting next to Tom harley on the bank and i didnt even know it was him haha. I reckon we will get a bigger crowd on 4th of june when we play the suns!

GiantForce
23 May 2011, 16:03
We're a very good chance to beat the Suns IMO. Majority of their reserves will be guys only slightly older than most of ours. I think we should win that.

Gee Dubya
23 May 2011, 16:53
As for trolling i was commenting on a post about a Canberra side nothing more.

Don't worry A Bit High, I know your not a Port troll, just a disappointed Queanbeyan fan ;):D

Some GIANTS need to cool it

SydneyGoose
23 May 2011, 22:20
I was wondering if anyone would notice the QTAFC on ABH's blurb.

A Bit High
24 May 2011, 22:57
Don't worry A Bit High, I know your not a Port troll, just a disappointed Queanbeyan fan ;):D

Some GIANTS need to cool it

True mate, I rarely get on the Port site, not passionate about them. Support them by association to be honest.

Love the Tigers obviously, played their for 14 years. The clubs going through a rebuilding phase after losing several players to retirement and their form will be up and down. I honestly expected the boys to get pupmed by your lads but they obviously put in an honest shift.

Your boys will be there come GF day with the Swans and I will wish you luck when it happens.