View Full Version : What does it mean to you?
Kid Dynamite!
10 Sep 2003, 23:25
The McLelland Trophy.
To me, its just a piece of wood with a piece of metal nailed onto it. Greg Boulton could chop his vegetables on it and I wouldnt give a stuff, its that unimportant to me. Sure, we've finished top twice in a row, but I'd rather finish third and win some damn finals than finish first and bomb out in the first round and get laughed at. Again.
Ray Nolan
10 Sep 2003, 23:26
Firewood.
dyertribe
11 Sep 2003, 00:13
Did anyone see the equivalent trophy Penrith in the NRL won for finishing minor premiers?? Carried on like they'd won the flag... did a lap of honour and everything - looked like a massive shield encased in glass.
True though KD... I'd rather finish 8th and take the shiny pot home at 6pm on the last Saturday in September.
What it means to me depends on where we finish after the finals. Finish other then first and it means crap all. Finish first and it has meaning as it'd show we were the best team over the whole year, not just the finals - a much rarer achievement that since the AFL in 90 happens only every 3rd or 4th year on average, making us the best premiers since Essendon. But that's if we finish first. Otherwise it could help someone keep their fireplace going.
Ford Fairlane
11 Sep 2003, 12:07
Actually it means quite a lot to me, the same as the pre season comp cups do. Every trophy this club wins is another small building block to establishing a tradition of sustained excellence. Remember, this club may be 133 years old, but we're only a baby in AFL terms. What did the next most recent addition to the AFL - Freo win in their first seven years? They jumped out of their skins about making a finals series for the first time ever this year and were promptly belted into oblivion in that first ever final. But I don't hear the incredible wailing and moaning and gnashing of teeth that's going on here over a couple of poor games in finals. Hell I lived thru the drought of 1965-1977, I went to every game from 1983-1987 in the Russell years for 3 finals series and one game won in finals in that time. You think that was fun? It's not always the way you want it to be and just cos we're called Port Adelaide doesn't mean we're going to waltz into the AFL and start winning everything on offer. And now all I hear is whinging cos we're not winning premierships. Well it doesn't come easy, and for some it doesn't come at all. St Kilda, the Western Bulldogs - how old are they? Nearly 100 years? For what - 1 premiership each? You reckon their supporters wouldn't climb over each other for some of the success we've had? Fitzroy won, what? 4 flags? Where are they now? For goodness sake if nothing else at least appreciate what we've achieved so far. Remember that nothing won easy is worth winning and that true steel is forged in the hottest of fires. Friedrich Nietzsche once wrote "That which does not kill me makes me stronger". Believe me it's true. Get over it and get on with it!!!
It should be more important than what most think it is. Hell to finish top of the competition over a 22 round season is a good achievement. Obviously it much nicer when it is finished off in the major round, but it still nice to get any form of trophy i'd think.
Originally posted by Eago77
It should be more important than what most think it is. Hell to finish top of the competition over a 22 round season is a good achievement. Obviously it much nicer when it is finished off in the major round, but it still nice to get any form of trophy i'd think.
I agree somewhat. Ideally there'd be a trophy for the minor round, a trophy for the major round. And a trophy for the team that won most games in a year (H & A + Finals). This would give more weight to the H & A, but most years the finals premier would still end up with the 'full season premier' trophy unless there was a side that was so much above the rest of the comp. during the H & A.
It's nice, but in 5 years time no-one will remember who won the McLelland cup in 2003.
Originally posted by Pred
It's nice, but in 5 years time no-one will remember who won the McLelland cup in 2003.
Yeah but then again, who remembers who won the flag 5 years ago...
Originally posted by sog35
Yeah but then again, who remembers who won the flag 5 years ago... Most serious footy supporters ;)
_espoir
11 Sep 2003, 18:55
we have two, i say melt them to make a big one!
Kid Dynamite!
11 Sep 2003, 19:01
Originally posted by _espoir
How do you melt wood? Stay off that Crows board. It isnt doing you any good! :p
_espoir
11 Sep 2003, 19:03
Originally posted by Kid Dynamite!
How do you melt wood? Stay off that Crows board. It isnt doing you any good! :p
lol my father always told me to melt it! ... *sigh* he has been lying to me all this time... i feel so betrayed!
:o they keep talking about me... :mad:
its the sun burn, i've been burnt to much when i went tanning its burnt my brain
Kid Dynamite!
11 Sep 2003, 19:07
lol my father always told me to melt it! ... *sigh* he has been lying to me all this time... i feel so betrayed!
:D
:o they keep talking about me... :mad:
Jeezus, you need a motto. How about "Cant Touch This!"
its the sun burn, i've been burnt to much when i went tanning its burnt my brain
Maybe wear a helmet? :p
_espoir
11 Sep 2003, 19:09
Jeezus, you need a motto. How about "Cant Touch This!"
i like it ;) do we get to do a little dance?!?!
Maybe wear a helmet? :p
;) i'll get myself one of those.... :cool:
Kid Dynamite!
11 Sep 2003, 19:10
i like it ;) do we get to do a little dance?!?!
Dooo do do do, ddoooo dooo, cant touch this!
PAfolwr
11 Sep 2003, 21:44
Lets put it in perspective.
Finishing first last year in only our sixth season was good, and something to be proud of.
Achieving the result for the second year in a row, and having had so many injuries and also having done it so comfortably is even better.
BUT
If we do not go all the way this year, AND if we finish first next year and also bomb out in the finals, I will not disagree with anybody that wants to use them for firewood.
No I have not lost all faith for this year.
In fact I am still quite confident, but it is a very trying time and that is being polite.
footballphantom
11 Sep 2003, 22:50
Well aint I just the odd bod.
The premiership means zilch to me. The finals just aint fair, no integrity and if a Victorian team wins it they aint earnt it and the AFL have taken all that was good about footy and stuffed it all up.
This year with Collingwood not travelling to Perth at all, playing teams that come back from Perth (3times I think) and then that absolutely disgraceful decision from the tribunal how can anybody really think that the final 8 are the 8 best teams.
As I saod in another thread bring back the top 4
dyertribe
12 Sep 2003, 00:37
Or melt them down and reshape it into a big transformer - that cartoon was so cool.
I remember when back in 1988 when I was 7... I wore my longsleeve Port Adelaide guernsey (with 39 on the back for Warwick Capper - I was off my brain), my Port Adelaide shorts and my thick black Port Adelaide socks and brought my favourite transformer Megatron to school :o
I was the coolest little man on campus!
Hmmm... nothing to do with trophies really... I just thought a crazy tangent was needed. :)
_espoir
12 Sep 2003, 01:01
Originally posted by dyertribe
Or melt them down and reshape it into a big transformer - that cartoon was so cool.
I remember when back in 1988 when I was 7... I wore my longsleeve Port Adelaide guernsey (with 39 on the back for Warwick Capper - I was off my brain), my Port Adelaide shorts and my thick black Port Adelaide socks and brought my favourite transformer Megatron to school :o
I was the coolest little man on campus!
Hmmm... nothing to do with trophies really... I just thought a crazy tangent was needed. :)
:p ... the were cool! dino ones were the best though
The Floodbuster
12 Sep 2003, 03:08
Surely it must mean something, considering the ride you are taken on throughout the journey, how much we rave on about footy at work, shops etc for the months of March to August. If it meant nothing, why do 6 million people flock through the gates during the H&A season, why do we have heaps of footy shows, heaps of media build up, every team wants to win, it's just because their team doesn't they devalue it, wait until Collingwood win one, Eddie will turn it into the holy grail.
We won the Ansett and Wizard Cup, as soon as we won them, they went from gold to aluminium, in the 90's it was a big deal, we win it a couple of times it is worth nothing. It has been brought down similar to State of Origin, a few high profile people who didn't have their favourites in the side etc would do everything in their right to kill the product, even coaches would question the credibility of it and would withdraw certain players from it for the fact that some of their other players weren't selected. The All-Australian side will be just like it in a few years, just wait and see.
The problem with the AFL is it doesn't recognize the signifance of some of the awards like Night Premiership champions, Minor Premiers etc. I don't mean we have to follow the same direction as English soccer which has been bastardized to death with a thousand cups, but the AFL should reward a long season with more than just premiership cup. I enjoy winning things like a night premiership or a Showdown Cup, at least we are taking something out of the season, I know it is nothing compared to a Day Premiership but it is good to at least take something away.
Most fans wouldn't know the difference between taking home a beer cup from your local than the McCelland Cup.