View Full Version : Demons to delist Molan
GOALden Hawk
11 Sep 2003, 10:42
Ouch. Top 10 pick in the strongest draft ever.
The article mentions putting him on a rookie list while he recovers from a broken leg/knee injury, but to do that you have to be delisted first.
Surely Carlton would use a late pick/1st rookie selection on him? He is still young.
Fall Out Boy
11 Sep 2003, 11:12
I'd take him.
Good Geelong boy with plenty of talent and a toughness not often found in kids.
bluechampion
11 Sep 2003, 11:14
You can be assured we'll be sniffing around.
year of the roo
11 Sep 2003, 11:15
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
I'd take him.
Good Geelong boy with plenty of talent and a toughness not often found in kids.
yeah he seams to fit the bill of crap youngsters playing with geelong these days.
superstar
11 Sep 2003, 12:01
Worst draft pick EVER!
scooter600x
11 Sep 2003, 12:12
Originally posted by superstar
Worst draft pick EVER!
And with the very next pick, the Western Bulldogs select Sam Power.
The only way this could be any better would be if Luke Power said he wanted to come back to Melbourne and play with his brother - via the pre-season draft.
Eagles could do worse than take a punt on him with a late selection.
Black Thunder
11 Sep 2003, 12:28
Originally posted by Jabber
Eagles could do worse than take a punt on him with a late selection.
that's what I was thinking.
Obvioubsly got some talent if he went top 10 in the 2001 draft. I think the Demon's are making a mistake by delisting him so quickly.
BigCat1
11 Sep 2003, 12:32
Get the kid back home to Geelong. Late pre-season draft or rookie list. People must remember that he will miss most of next year because of his knee so don't expect a return until at least 2005. He has been so unlucky with injury its not funny.
Surely, there is enough deadwood (no offense Melbourne fans) on the Demons list, to be able to satisfy the requirement of 3 delistings (well 2, now that what's his face retired), and keep this kid on the list. Very, very, strange move. He must be incredibly damaged goods for the Dees to be considering this.
Originally posted by scooter600x
And with the very next pick, the Western Bulldogs select Sam Power.
No, Collingwood select Bruiser Cole.
Just the sort of player Melbourne need too!
CowboyFromHell
11 Sep 2003, 12:42
I'd be shattered if he was delisted, and then some other team took him ahead of us. I believe the kid has alot of talent and while he probably won't play next year, he is a player of the future, especailly when Neitz retires.
The Spornstar
11 Sep 2003, 12:46
We'll take him off your hands if you don't want him Melbourne
pugsville
11 Sep 2003, 12:51
select Kris Massie at 7, while the pies snaffle Chris Tarrant at 8, then unload Massie to Adeliade for Eccles , while Massie actually shows some good signs at Adeliade!
The Spornstar
11 Sep 2003, 12:54
Originally posted by pugsville
select Kris Massie at 7, while the pies snaffle Chris Tarrant at 8, then unload Massie to Adeliade for Eccles , while Massie actually shows some good signs at Adeliade!
Yeah, alright - thanks for that mate...!
morgoth
11 Sep 2003, 13:02
Gee Melbourne are the club I would want to play for if I was a young talented players looking for a new home; NOT!
Gee they trade away club faves cos they can't balance the books
They trade and keep some mad punters
Their captain goes on a late night bender and gets in a fight at Crown
They delist a young kid cos he got injured
Disgraceful player managent all round.
Yze_Magic
11 Sep 2003, 13:40
what a shame for Luke Molan and the Dees
our team has been destroyed by injuries for too long
Schwarz about to take over the comp after a stellar 1994, destroys his knee for the first of 3 times. never reaches his peak (which would have been scary for the rest of the comp)
Garry Lyon, at his peak, ruins his back and misses 1996-1997, before making a great comeback in 98. Forced to retire young
Stephen Tingay, All Australian wingman, ball magnet, one of the toughest players in the comp. Never got to reach his peak, retires early.
Paul prymke. A brilliant backman who always shut down his opponent, gets a shocking back injury. Pays 2 great seasons , inlcuding a brilliant 1994 where he is the Demons full back on the way to a prelim Final. Retires very very early
Allen Jakovich. What can I say. Could have been one of the greats. Another back injury, retires early.
Glenn Lovett, chronic hammies. Never reaches his peak.
Luke Molan - pick 9, broken leg and now a knee reco
Its easy just to look at the injuries, but look at the chain reaction the have caused, especially Schwarzs knee
Schwarzs string of knee injuries forced the Demons to send David Neitz, the next great CHB of the comp, to the forward line. This turned the team upside down
had he never done his knee, a fit Schwatz and Neitz in the same team, at either end.. almost the same age.. peaking together..
what might have been
Yze_Magic
11 Sep 2003, 13:42
not to mention neitz shattering his jaw in 1997 in perth, and breaking his leg in 1998
morgoth
11 Sep 2003, 13:44
If only the Dees had merged ......................................................
If only the Dees had heart
If only the Dees had supporters
You get the drift?
Yze_Magic
11 Sep 2003, 13:46
Originally posted by morgoth
If only the Dees had merged ......................................................
If only the Dees had heart
If only the Dees had supporters
You get the drift?
the only thing i can know for sure from reading your posts is that you need to find something better to do
GO DEMONS
GOALden Hawk
11 Sep 2003, 14:03
Originally posted by Yze_Magic
what a shame for Luke Molan and the Dees
our team has been destroyed by injuries for too long
Schwarz about to take over the comp after a stellar 1994, destroys his knee for the first of 3 times. never reaches his peak (which would have been scary for the rest of the comp)
Garry Lyon, at his peak, ruins his back and misses 1996-1997, before making a great comeback in 98. Forced to retire young
Stephen Tingay, All Australian wingman, ball magnet, one of the toughest players in the comp. Never got to reach his peak, retires early.
Paul prymke. A brilliant backman who always shut down his opponent, gets a shocking back injury. Pays 2 great seasons , inlcuding a brilliant 1994 where he is the Demons full back on the way to a prelim Final. Retires very very early
Allen Jakovich. What can I say. Could have been one of the greats. Another back injury, retires early.
Glenn Lovett, chronic hammies. Never reaches his peak.
Luke Molan - pick 9, broken leg and now a knee reco
Its easy just to look at the injuries, but look at the chain reaction the have caused, especially Schwarzs knee
Schwarzs string of knee injuries forced the Demons to send David Neitz, the next great CHB of the comp, to the forward line. This turned the team upside down
had he never done his knee, a fit Schwatz and Neitz in the same team, at either end.. almost the same age.. peaking together..
what might have been
http://www.stopstart.fsnet.co.uk/smilie/boohoo.gif
morgoth
11 Sep 2003, 14:08
Probably your weakest comeback yet Yze. Ignore it like the rest of your club but you are a serious shambles. If you think player morale is high at the Dees you are a fool. Woey, Neitz, Johnson, Ward, Moylan all serious issues where player management has been poor.
Ignore it if you want, but short of $$$ why would anyone want to go to the Dees at the moment.
lamby29
11 Sep 2003, 15:57
Disappointing.
It's harsh to call him the worst draft pick ever, he really hasn't had much chance to prove himself.
If we do delist him, I reckon Geelong would show a lot of interest.
dyertribe
11 Sep 2003, 16:01
Originally posted by pugsville
Erm?? Once is a typo... twice is scary.
Fall Out Boy
11 Sep 2003, 16:35
Originally posted by lamby29
If we do delist him, I reckon Geelong would show a lot of interest.
We'd be all over him like a fly on shit.
Danny Corcran (sp?) said in the article that there were 3 options
1. one year deal - stay on list
2. delist - rookie
3. delist - take a year off
So it is quite possible he wont be delisted at all. That would be a stupid move IMO. Rogers is worse than Molan, rookie him instead.
Worse draft pick ever? Danny Roach (pick 7)...?
superstar
11 Sep 2003, 18:36
Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
http://www.stopstart.fsnet.co.uk/smilie/boohoo.gif
haha. That's great.
As for Molan - being a first round pick does not mean he's good. At the time he was a total shock selection, and alot of very good judges thought he would struggle to make the grade. Sure, he's had a bad run with injuries, but he's no good. I have no doubt Carlton would take him, but no other side would be that desperate for VFL footballers - including Melbourne.
OldSchool
11 Sep 2003, 20:26
haha. That's great.
As for Molan - being a first round pick does not mean he's good. At the time he was a total shock selection, and alot of very good judges thought he would struggle to make the grade. Sure, he's had a bad run with injuries, but he's no good. I have no doubt Carlton would take him, but no other side would be that desperate for VFL footballers - including Melbourne.
He was picked way too early. The Dees wanted height and overlooked some quality players in Power, Cole, Del Santo and Brooks. Thats the problem when you pick a needs based player ahead of the best available
lamby29
11 Sep 2003, 20:31
Originally posted by OldSchool
He was picked way too early. The Dees wanted height and overlooked some quality players in Power, Cole, Del Santo and Brooks. Thats the problem when you pick a needs based player ahead of the best available
Cole was taken at 8, and we didn't need another ruckman in Brooks. I personally don't rate Power.
As for Dal Santo, that was a BIG miss.
OldSchool
11 Sep 2003, 20:44
Cole was taken at 8, and we didn't need another ruckman in Brooks. I personally don't rate Power.
As for Dal Santo, that was a BIG miss. Cole was taken at 11 and Bartel at 8. I surprised you don't rate Power. I am looking forward to seeing how he goes next season. With another 5 or 6kg on him I think he will settle into the senior team nicely.
lamby29
11 Sep 2003, 20:49
Cole was taken at 11 and Bartel at 8. I surprised you don't rate Power. I am looking forward to seeing how he goes next season. With another 5 or 6kg on him I think he will settle into the senior team nicely.
My mistake re. Cole.
Power could become a star of the game for all I know, but he hasn't done an awful lot to impress me at this stage.
Falchoon
11 Sep 2003, 21:02
As for Dal Santo, that was a BIG miss.
I'm a Dal Santo fan, obviously but the other one taken further along in the draft who is a huge miss is James Kelly, struggled a little this year but the Geelong midfiled is a little low on quality, but this guy will be a star.
Fall Out Boy
11 Sep 2003, 21:38
Originally posted by Falchoon
I'm a Dal Santo fan, obviously but the other one taken further along in the draft who is a huge miss is James Kelly, struggled a little this year but the Geelong midfiled is a little low on quality, but this guy will be a star.
And to top it off, Melbourne gave us the pick that we got Kelly with :D
lamby29
11 Sep 2003, 21:40
And to top it off, Melbourne gave us the pick that we got Kelly with :D
Really!
Who did we get in return?
OldSchool
11 Sep 2003, 21:50
My mistake re. Cole.
Power could become a star of the game for all I know, but he hasn't done an awful lot to impress me at this stage. He had a bit of OP in his first season so they backed off on the training. This year we couldn't get him settled such was our bad form. If they structure the defence better in 2004 and with Grant back there then I think he will go very well. Still has a lot of development in him.
Fall Out Boy
11 Sep 2003, 21:53
Really!
Who did we get in return?
Gee, didn't expect a bite that quickly.
lamby29
11 Sep 2003, 22:00
Gee, didn't expect a bite that quickly.
It doesn't really matter actually, as we got that #17 pick for Jeff Farmer. In theory, the trade was Jeff Farmer for Clint Bizzell.
Melbourne are happy. Geelong are happy. Fremantle were screwed.
lamby29
11 Sep 2003, 22:01
He had a bit of OP in his first season so they backed off on the training. This year we couldn't get him settled such was our bad form. If they structure the defence better in 2004 and with Grant back there then I think he will go very well. Still has a lot of development in him.
Fair enough then.
He was actually quite good against us in Round 18, although anyone could have played well against Melbourne that night. Even Patrick Wiggins had a day out.
Fall Out Boy
11 Sep 2003, 22:10
Melbourne are happy. Geelong are happy. Fremantle were screwed.
On that trade, yes, but overall, you must regret taking Molan when Dal Santo and Kelly were available.
lamby29
11 Sep 2003, 22:12
On that trade, yes, but overall, you must regret taking Molan when Dal Santo and Kelly were available.
Yes, but we then made up for it by drafting Armstrong at 25 and Miller at 55.
Without wanting to enter another argument, I wouldn't trade Armstrong for Kelly at this stage. I doubt you would want to trade Kelly for Armstrong either.
Fall Out Boy
11 Sep 2003, 22:28
Yes, but we then made up for it by drafting Armstrong at 25 and Miller at 55.
A bad pick is a bad pick.
You did quite well with Miller, but here were some pretty good players taken after him. Players like Medhurst, Schneider and McCarthy.
I don't think the clubs that have those three would trade them for Miller at this stage.
Without wanting to enter another argument, I wouldn't trade Armstrong for Kelly at this stage. I doubt you would want to trade Kelly for Armstrong either.
Yep, fair comment.
superstar
11 Sep 2003, 22:48
Kelly is way better than Armstrong.
Fremantle traded badly that year. Bloody hell.
Deestroy
11 Sep 2003, 22:56
Fremantle traded badly that year. Bloody hell.
Didn't Freo trade Schell for a draft pick that netted them Medhurst?
CowboyFromHell
11 Sep 2003, 23:00
http://www.panterachat.com/phpBB/images/smiles//sleep.gif http://www.panterachat.com/phpBB/images/smiles//sleep.gif http://www.panterachat.com/phpBB/images/smiles//sleep.gif
billyskene
15 Sep 2004, 09:57
Yeah, alright - thanks for that mate...!
gday mate
The Shev
15 Sep 2004, 12:27
You did quite well with Miller, but here were some pretty good players taken after him. Players like Medhurst, Schneider and McCarthy.
I don't think the clubs that have those three would trade them for Miller at this stage.
Yep, fair comment.
Miller was an important player to us this year and a key centre half forward is always going to be more important than a goalsneak or small flanker. Miller for Pick 55 was awesome value.
Yze_Magic
15 Sep 2004, 12:35
things can change in a year
Miller is clearly the standout of that bunch. 120 marks at CHF, fair effort from the kid
Fall Out Boy
15 Sep 2004, 12:42
Miller was an important player to us this year and a key centre half forward is always going to be more important than a goalsneak or small flanker. Miller for Pick 55 was awesome value.
The post you quoted was a year old mate.
Fall Out Boy
15 Sep 2004, 12:43
Miller is clearly the standout of that bunch. 120 marks at CHF, fair effort from the kid
Yep, definitely in front of them all after this year.
Some interesting comments in this thread, not least YOTR saying that Geelong are full of "crap youngsters". :D
leonmagic
15 Sep 2004, 12:43
Couldn't agree more.
Miller absolutely craps on those 3.
McLeod23
15 Sep 2004, 12:44
No mention of missing Reilly in the draft?
He'll be just as good as any of them, IMO.
Fall Out Boy
15 Sep 2004, 12:45
Couldn't agree more.
Miller absolutely craps on those 3.
He does now, but when the original post was made, Medhurst and Schneider were ahead of him.
Fall Out Boy
15 Sep 2004, 12:47
No mention of missing Reilly in the draft?
He'll be just as good as any of them, IMO.
When the thread was current, Reilly had played 5 games of AFL football.
leonmagic
15 Sep 2004, 12:54
He does now, but when the original post was made, Medhurst and Schneider were ahead of him.
Yeah I know.
I'll admit it - I just jumped to the 'Read last post' section.. :o
The Shev
15 Sep 2004, 13:45
The post you quoted was a year old mate.
Maths is not my specialty.
lamby29
15 Sep 2004, 16:00
Without wanting to enter another argument, I wouldn't trade Armstrong for Kelly at this stage.
Yes I would!
:cool: