View Full Version : cricketer's you have met

vicpride99
11 Sep 2003, 18:15
Good guys
Ian Harvey- absoulute champ will talk to you and have a chat.
Shane Warne- Ok seems a bit on himself when i met him.
Mathew Elliot- Good bloke, real funny.

ajackett110
11 Sep 2003, 18:30
Brett Lee - Very nice guy, we were on a cricket trip for tas U/17's and he had a really good chat to us about how he went on those trips and yeah was really cool. Gave me a mentos ;)

Gilchrist - Very nice guy as well, down to earth.

Langer - Hardly met him... just gave me his pack of PK when he was fielding, lol!!!

Watson - Went to his house cos his flatmate (adam griffith) was one of my coaches... domestic man, cooked dinner! lol

Bresh
11 Sep 2003, 19:45
I've bowled to Brad Hogg, Jimmy Maher, Darren Lehmann, Ian Harvey, Greg Blewett, Brad Williams, Sanath Jayasuriya and a few others I can't recall... all good blokes, Harvs was a fair champ. Allan Border was at that session, and he's a ****ing great bloke.

I've chatted to Ben Johnson once or twice, and seen Dizzy and Chris Davies around the place also.

GoEagles
13 Sep 2003, 01:55
Went to heaps of the cricket clinics as a young tacker, so I've met:

Justin Langer
Jo Angel
Tom Moody
Adam Gilchrist
Damien Martyn
Mike Hussey

skilts
13 Sep 2003, 01:57
Was coached by Keith Stackpole Snr. and by Jack Ryder. Keith Stackpole Jnr was at the club at the same time, as was 'Jerka' Jenkins (he was the step-ladder for Jezza's mark in the 1970 GF. He also played cricket for the Vics as a very fast bowler).

Went to school with Peter Bedford.

George Young and Bruce Duprouzel played cricket for my local club, when they played footy in Melbourne with St Kilda.

Became friendly with David Saker about five years ago. His on-field persona belies what a really charming man he is.

crudbucket
14 Sep 2003, 19:30
Kim Hughes - Insecure, on edge.
Graham Yallop - Unforgiving to those he thinks has wronged him.
Rod Hogg - Dropkick.
Imran Khan - Suprisingly laid back and approachable.
Mike Gatting -" Where's the buffet'?."
Max Walker - hilarious, a born showman.

All at various pre season gear nights back when I was playing...

ps, Graham Jenkin played cricket for Victoria ?????? You sure ????

Richmondfan#1
14 Sep 2003, 21:43
Damien Martyn
Ryan Campbell
Jo Angel
Zoe Goss ;)

goaldrush
15 Sep 2003, 11:43
I have met
Glenn McGrath
Nathan Horowitz
Nick Jewel
Andrew Bichel
Paul Reiffell
Damien Fleming

bunsen burner
15 Sep 2003, 19:22
Was that at one of your family barbeques? Can you ask Glen if he will give me an autograph?

Cupido13
16 Sep 2003, 11:47
When I was playing a season of club cricket my County (Devon, a minor County) played against Yorkshire in the Cheltenham and Gloucester trophy and I met Darren Lehmann and had quite an extended chat with him. Despite the media opinion and possibly the opinion of the general public, I found him to be a great bloke and he took a lot of time to make himself available for a chat. There was also a young disabled boy whose father was the Chairman at the host club and he took time to go and have a chat with the kid and bowl him a few bowls. Overall, he was a great bloke and whenever I hear any negative publicity about him from now on, it really shocks me.

Bresh
16 Sep 2003, 12:11
Originally posted by Cupido13
Despite the media opinion and possibly the opinion of the general public, I found him to be a great bloke and he took a lot of time to make himself available for a chat.

I actually think it's fairly well-known that he's a top bloke. When that whole racism thing went down last year, the fact that he was one of the best liked guys in international cricket was one of the main points in a lot of media. When I was bowling earlier in the year to those guys mentioned above, he was probably one of the only guys to mix it us, paying out the batsmen and so forth. So I guess your sentiments on Boof are indeed correct.

Cupido13
16 Sep 2003, 12:30
Originally posted by Guey_34
I actually think it's fairly well-known that he's a top bloke. When that whole racism thing went down last year, the fact that he was one of the best liked guys in international cricket was one of the main points in a lot of media. When I was bowling earlier in the year to those guys mentioned above, he was probably one of the only guys to mix it us, paying out the batsmen and so forth. So I guess your sentiments on Boof are indeed correct.

This fella from the media jumped into the middle of the conversation with me, Boof and Devon's overseas player. The media fella said, can I ask you a couple of questions Darren? And he goes, yeah, when I am finished the conversation I am in at the moment, mate. It was a ****er.

What I meant was that before that racism stuff, it was generally perceived in the papers that he was a bit arrogant and a bit outspoken and that was one of the reasons he hadn't got more of a run in the Test side.

Zeke
16 Sep 2003, 15:14
Originally posted by goaldrush
I have met
Glenn McGrath
Nathan Horowitz
Nick Jewel
Andrew Bichel
Paul Reiffell
Damien Fleming

How many of them are you related to?

ImperialPurple
16 Sep 2003, 15:27
Once - a very long time ago... I had a drunken pash at a niteclub with an English cricketing unknown who was here playing grade cricket and was boarding with Damien Martyn's family (Marto himself was about 19 at the time).

Does that count??:eek: :o ;)

Disgustipated
18 Sep 2003, 16:54
Originally posted by vicpride99
Good guys
Ian Harvey- absoulute champ will talk to you and have a chat.
Shane Warne- Ok seems a bit on himself when i met him.
Mathew Elliot- Good bloke, real funny.

Mark Higgs, Brad Haddin, Jason Swift, Nathan Reid, The Frost brothers...

All good blokes

Something for the rag and bone man

colby68
18 Sep 2003, 17:09
I met Merv Hughes and Dean Jones at a Vic training camp in Moama about 10 years ago,both are great blokes.

Showbag
19 Sep 2003, 13:10
I talk to Simon O'Donnell pretty regularly. I met Geoff Lawson a few times, Joel Garner, Larry Gomes, Craig McDermott, Michael Holding. I think Wes Hall and Garfield Sobers were the nicest.

Viv Richards told the media that I would be the next captain of the West Indies.

flamethrower
19 Sep 2003, 19:13
Met Max Walker and Dean Jones at cricket functions.

England all rounder Chris Lewis played at my club a few years back and Len Balcam is our current coach.

Langer's_Babe
20 Sep 2003, 12:56
ive met nearlly all the players there are to many to mention and they are all nice

Demon37
21 Sep 2003, 00:41
Originally posted by goaldrush

Nathan Horowitz

Never heard of Nathan Horowitz, must be a new kid on the block.

lozstar
21 Sep 2003, 00:48
Met the England cricket team earlier this year... most were nice, Nassar Hussain was a snob and Andy Caddick was such a crack up.

mellowyellow
21 Sep 2003, 14:52
Ricky Ponting
David Boon
Jamie cox

AngelEyes
21 Sep 2003, 23:20
Brett Lee
Adam Gillchrist - if you haven't met him you should. He's one of the best blokes you could ever meet!
Bradley Hogg
Shane Watson
Darren Lehmann
Greg Blewett
Andy Bichel
and England's James Anderson

the fly
22 Sep 2003, 00:00
I went to high school with a guy called Vaughan Williams who played in a couple of Pura Cup for NSW a couple of years ago.

BERT
22 Sep 2003, 16:53
About 10 years ago our footy club had a sportsman night with big Merv. He was trying to get fit after a knee operation and came and did our training with us. I was paired with him in a drill. A great guy. Funny as hell.

Met all the West Indies when I was a kid. They signed my autograph book.

Minkus_Swan
27 Sep 2003, 02:33
Went and bought Punter's new book and got it signed. Yeesh he's lost a BIT of hair. Wife's a looker.

-WWJD-
28 Sep 2003, 11:42
I've been lucky enough to meet nearly all of the current side.

Nice:
Tugga
Bich
Hoggy
Pidgey
Boof
Symo
Campbell
Dizzy

Pricks:
Junior
Warney
Punta
Bevo
Blewey
MacGilla

Gilly an absolute legend, have never met a sportsperson who comes close to how friendly and down to Earth he was. He stood around singing autographs for almost an hour and I was lucky enough to have a bit of a chat with him, top bloke. Won't meet many better.

vicpride99
28 Sep 2003, 15:13
Why is Mark Waugh a prick. ????????? can you explain please.

-WWJD-
28 Sep 2003, 15:31
I went to see them train one afternoon. And there was a little kid that kept saying "Mark Waugh, Mark Waugh." The kid was completely in awe of his hero and Mark turned around and practically yelled... "Look, just leave us alone we're trying to train. I'll sign autographs later." ...he never did sign autographs either. And another time I met him, I asked him to sign something for me and he acted like it was a big problem, rolled his eyes, signed it so looked like a two year old had scribbled on the page, then shoved it back in my hands and walked off. A few of my friends have had the same sort of experience with him as well.

Minkus_Swan
1 Oct 2003, 00:37
I usually stay clear of hassling footy or cricket players or so called "celebrities" for autographs. I don't want to bother them or don't want their autograph.
The only time i've got something signed, was a few days ago when I got punter's book signed. I felt sorry for him, as he was looking bored as hell, waiting for someone to buy his book (and i followed his career closely as a cricket fan). And hey, I'll give the book to my mates little brother for christmas.

I hate people that just want their autograph just because he/she is on tv or plays footy or whatever. True fans are ok, it's just when people crack the s**ts when he/she gets told to f**k off because their hassling them.

Jars458
1 Oct 2003, 14:35
Used to drink at the Cathedral Hotel which is just oppostie Adelaide Oval

One night the Redbacks squad were in and we had a skulling race against them. 10 a side, teams on different sides of the bar.

They kicked our arse.

Harrity Mcintyre et al were there. They were all absolutely smashed including the coach.

swans_supporter
4 Oct 2003, 10:59
Ponting - Quiet bloke but pretty cool
Warney - deadset legend, he is a top bloke. Invited us into the members changerooms one time to watch a PM XI's game
Watson - Like Punter i guess
Hoggy - top bloke, really easy to get along with
Dizzy - Funny
Pigeon - SAme as Dizzy
Bevo - Fairly up himself
Tassie Tigers team - Bunch of legends always willing to have a talk
Slats - Top bloke again
Katich - ****er

bunsen burner
4 Oct 2003, 11:06
Originally posted by swans_supporter
Ponting - Quiet bloke but pretty cool
Warney - deadset legend, he is a top bloke. Invited us into the members changerooms one time to watch a PM XI's game
Watson - Like Punter i guess
Hoggy - top bloke, really easy to get along with
Dizzy - Funny
Pigeon - SAme as Dizzy
Bevo - Fairly up himself
Tassie Tigers team - Bunch of legends always willing to have a talk
Slats - Top bloke again
Katich - ****er Destroys the credibility of everything else you've said.

Kid Dynamite!
6 Oct 2003, 09:18
Australia
Glenn McGrath - Share my birthdate with him, great bloke, stood around chatting with me about the wonders of being an Aquarian. :D
Shane Warne
Ricky Ponting
Damien Martyn
Steve Waugh
Adam Gilchrist
Andrew Bichel

England
Ronnie Irani :D
Owais Sha
Nasser Hussain :rolleyes: :mad:
Andrew Caddick - "The bus is leaving, unless you're walking!"
James Anderson
MICHAEL VAUGHAN! :D:D

Cupido13
6 Oct 2003, 15:55
Have any of you people actually met these guys? Or, did you just see them train, or get them to sign an autograph for you? Like, are there any stories here about playing with these guys, or having a meal with them, most of them are, yeah, i went to watch them train and Mark Waugh swore, so, he is a ****er.

fearlessone77
6 Oct 2003, 16:07
Met a heap of cricketers
but the best story is thus

Nearly had a punch on with Viv Richards at a club function a few years back, he didnt like question i asked him during Q & A time and came over to me afterwards to discuss it further, we were both a bit sloshed and I told him he was talking **** and walked off turning my back on him, that got him right ****ed off and he chased me outside and started to talk about himself in third person ie" Viv doent like people doing that and Viv is ****ed of with you".

What prompted me to do what I did next I can never quite understand but having a verbal with Viv Richards one of the greatest cricketers of all time and a belly full of **** probably spurred on the balls a little and I basically told him to go get Fcuked and he was an idiot in much more colorful language.

Luckily by this stage a couple of the bigger blokes at the club came out to break it up and Viv was ushered inside whilst I wandered off not wanting to cause anymore trouble.
He is one scary bastard staring you down i was ****ting myself, luckily the guys came out, mind you they did it after watching the verbals and letting me sweat for a bit.

I was a bit of a hero at the club for while, got word from some other guys that know him through various cricket links and they reckon he is a fricking madmen and it wasnt out of charachter for him to start crap like that.

pazza
6 Oct 2003, 16:15
Once bowled to Dean Jones (got spanked!)
Met Matthew Elliott and Brad Hodge same day.
Met Merv Hughes in the late 80's - he really is that big!!!

Cupido13
6 Oct 2003, 16:16
Originally posted by fearlessone77
Met a heap of cricketers
but the best story is thus

Nearly had a punch on with Viv Richards at a club function a few years back, he didnt like question i asked him during Q & A time and came over to me afterwards to discuss it further, we were both a bit sloshed and I told him he was talking **** and walked off turning my back on him, that got him right ****ed off and he chased me outside and started to talk about himself in third person ie" Viv doent like people doing that and Viv is ****ed of with you".

What prompted me to do what I did next I can never quite understand but having a verbal with Viv Richards one of the greatest cricketers of all time and a belly full of **** probably spurred on the balls a little and I basically told him to go get Fcuked and he was an idiot in much more colorful language.

Luckily by this stage a couple of the bigger blokes at the club came out to break it up and Viv was ushered inside whilst I wandered off not wanting to cause anymore trouble.
He is one scary bastard staring you down i was ****ting myself, luckily the guys came out, mind you they did it after watching the verbals and letting me sweat for a bit.

I was a bit of a hero at the club for while, got word from some other guys that know him through various cricket links and they reckon he is a fricking madmen and it wasnt out of charachter for him to start crap like that.

Sounds as though you were lucky, apparently he is a bit of an animal, and he is a big unit as well.

Demon37
6 Oct 2003, 22:09
Warney- He is actually a top bloke!
Gilly- Probably the nicest bloke I've ever met.
Hoggy- See Warney.
Slater- Tosspot.
Healy- See Slater.

swans_supporter
7 Oct 2003, 16:14
Destroys the credibility of everything else you've said

I am going on from who I have met and experienced and Slater was a top bloke at the time regardless of what the media beats up.

Also Sunil Gavasker is a legend. I got into the commentary box when India were over last, the day when Langer got a double ton and punter 144*. All the boys in the box are champions, sunil ecspecially. He talked to us for ages and even went to get us guest passes for the next days play, but the Aussies wrapped it up that arvo :mad:

Freo Big Fella
7 Oct 2003, 19:45
I've met most of the current WA team and they're all top blokes(espescially Big Jo and Hoggy). Also Justin Langer, Gilly, Geoff Marsh, Boonie, Merv,Michael Holding and Dennis Lillee. I haven't actually had a bad experience with meeting any cricketers yet.

bunsen burner
7 Oct 2003, 21:12
Originally posted by swans_supporter
I am going on from who I have met and experienced and Slater was a top bloke at the time regardless of what the media beats up.
Well he must have been going through a phase (when you met him).

silkykanga
7 Oct 2003, 21:25
i've met ricky ponting on a number of occasions and as my dad is in the media has interveiwed him on a number of occasions (great bloke)

have also been coached by Damien Fleming and
John Scholes (R.I.P)