View Full Version : Kirk sniffs out victory despite broken nose

The Scarecrow
11 Sep 2003, 20:31
Source: The Mercury
By: JAMES BRESNEHAN

NOT even a broken nose could stop Daniel Kirk from starring for Hobart in its 51-point demolition of New Norfolk at Boyer on Saturday.
Hobart's SFL Premier League first semi-final triumph was the club's finest win this season.
And Kirk, 21, believes the boys in gold and black are now a good chance to roll Clarence in the preliminary final at North Hobart on Sunday.
``We're playing well and the way we played on Saturday I reckon we're a good chance against Clarence,'' he said yesterday.
``The teamwork, the backing up, the way everyone contributes is making us a good team.''
Kirk's nose was broken in a confrontation with New Norfolk hard-man Jason Wilton in the opening minutes of the first semi-final.
But Kirk responded in the best way possible, by demolishing the Hawks with his strong marking and imposing presence on the field.
The tall and athletic follower-forward was a late starter to Australian Rules.
Even though he was a member of Hobart's Colts premiership team in 2000, Kirk took 2001 off footy to continue his career as a soccer goalkeeper.
He played for Hobart last year and decided to chance his arm at the VFL this year with the Tasmanian Devils.
Kirk played 11 games for Tasmania, and is delighted with his improvement.
``I've definitely learned heaps from the Devils,'' he said.
``My development has been massive.''
Kirk is a fitness instructor, so conditioning was not an issue.
``My hand skills were OK because I was a goalkeeper, so it was more about developing my kicking and learning about footy,'' he said.
Kirk plans to develop his VFL game.
``I definitely want to make something of it,'' he said.
``I left it so late to get into footy, I definitely want to maximise what I can do in the game.''
Hobart has lost all three games against Clarence this season.
``We've come close a couple of times but we've slipped away at crucial stages of the game,'' Kirk said.
``They're a team that you can't afford to switch off when you play them.
``I think we're definitely going to put some pressure on them.''
SFL SCHEDULE
Preliminary finals
Sunday, at North Hobart
Seniors - Clarence v Hobart - 1.45pm
Reserves - New Norfolk v North Hobart - 11.30am
Colts - Clarence v Kingston - 9.30am