View Full Version : Brown Link to Demons!

chiliboy
11 Sep 2003, 22:35
Nathan Brown is now 1 step closer to a new club, with heavy inside reports claimina blockbuster 3 way deal invlving the demons, bulldogs and Saints.

Brown Had Coffee with the demons leadership group yesterday, and a source at Collingwood said Melbourne were now the front runners..

More will be know in the coming days..

Porthos
11 Sep 2003, 22:39
So much for his premiership ambitions.

CowboyFromHell
11 Sep 2003, 22:39
Originally posted by chiliboy
Nathan Brown is now 1 step closer to a new club, with heavy inside reports claimina blockbuster 3 way deal invlving the demons, bulldogs and Saints.

Brown Had Coffee with the demons leadership group yesterday, and a source at Collingwood said Melbourne were now the front runners..

Where did you hear this? I don't believe it for a second, but it's nice to wonder about... ;)

Yze_Magic
11 Sep 2003, 22:41
No secret about him haiving coffee with neitz and others, that is a fact

However, it probably means nothing

superstar
11 Sep 2003, 22:43
Originally posted by Porthos
So much for his premiership ambitions.

lol

Port Adelaide would be the place to go, wouldn't it?

CowboyFromHell
11 Sep 2003, 22:44
Originally posted by Yze_Magic
No secret about him haiving coffee with neitz and others, that is a fact

However, it probably means nothing

At least we are showing interest in a high profile player then, as each year I see clubs talking to star players who are out of contract, and I never see us mentioned. It ****es me off!

Porthos
11 Sep 2003, 22:45
Originally posted by superstar
Port Adelaide would be the place to go, wouldn't it? Certainly more so than Melbourne at this stage.

Yze_Magic
11 Sep 2003, 22:46
Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
At least we are showing interest in a high profile player then, as each year I see clubs talking to star players who are out of contract, and I never see us mentioned. It ****es me off!

yeah but Craig Ellis was supposedly another there having coffee. Ex teammate of brown

Also neitz and brown toured Ireland together last year, maybe the became mates

Though I try not to get excited, I cant help but drool at the though of having neitz and brown inside the forward 50

superstar
11 Sep 2003, 22:46
Certainly more so than Melbourne at this stage.

True. Melbourne are a joke.

Maybe he'll settle for minor-premiership aspirations, and go to Port!

CowboyFromHell
11 Sep 2003, 22:51
at this stage.

It's an even year next season Porthos... ;)

Porthos
11 Sep 2003, 22:52
Originally posted by superstar
Maybe he'll settle for minor-premiership aspirations, and go to Port! I doubt we have the cap room. Its good to see the Dees finally have some again though.

Deestroy
11 Sep 2003, 22:58
Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
You can see why they wouldn't want to come though. I bet there's a few sniffing around for a 1 year deal at the end of every odd year.

The invisible mullet
11 Sep 2003, 23:02
its probably the Brown they already have

lamby29
11 Sep 2003, 23:02
It's probably bull****.

But Christ, having Brown at Melbourne would be fan-flaming-tastic.

chiliboy
11 Sep 2003, 23:06
brown would fit in nicely beside netz,,

and I heard Collingwood were really PI***D OFF!!!

Demons list not as bad as people think...

Anyway, they will go all out to get a big name!!!

GhostofJimJess
11 Sep 2003, 23:26
Nathan Brown can kiss goodbye any further work such as his recent Footy Show kickbacks if he decides to go to Melbourne.

Porthos
11 Sep 2003, 23:29
You reckon? Melbourne has been over represented on the Footy Show panel in the past.

Falchoon
12 Sep 2003, 01:09

3 way including St Kilda obviously involves Jeff White in some shape or form but.....

what do the Saints have that would interest the doggies?
Pick 8, IMHO too much to give for White alone, other than that KPP? Riewoldt, Kosi, Penny, Hamill definitely not, Gherig, Hudghton and Maguire unlikely.

Pick 5 from Melbourne to the Doggies
White to St Kilda, Black to the Doggies
Brown to Melbourne + Saints second rounder

???? Milne ????

pugsville
12 Sep 2003, 04:15
I think white brown is a reasonable trade., white has had a poor season but has been great, but good rucks are harder to find than good small forwards , Brown really hadsnt played midfield and there would be a question.

Saints need ruckman,
WB need talls & tough nuts.
Melbourne need key backs, tough on ballers & goal kickers.

Brown -> WB
White -> Stk
Stk Pick8 + Black -> WB

Black inst real hot property, 2nd/3rd round pick. And a relative outside midfielr there is a few around.

pugsville
12 Sep 2003, 05:35
Brown -> Melb.
White -> Stk
Gehrig -> WB

Saints do loose a major gaol kicker from this year, but I dont think gehrig is that good every year.

SCRAY72
12 Sep 2003, 08:20
Browny drinks a lot of lattes with lots of different people from various clubs.
He is a friendly chap young Nathan.

Atreyu
12 Sep 2003, 09:32
you people dont understand! white isnt going anywhere!

NICK THE PIE MAN
12 Sep 2003, 10:07
brown would fit in nicely beside netz,,

and I heard Collingwood were really PI***D OFF!!!

Doubt it.
We have bigger fish to fry this year.
Not worried about this trade crap yet.

igt22265
12 Sep 2003, 10:14
cupid_k4
White isn't going anywhere.
Like last year with Woewodin, or the year before with Farmer.
Let's just hope he doesn't go overseas, that's when the Demons go trading.

tdubfleet
12 Sep 2003, 10:14
Off to Melbourne to reunite with Terry Wallace in 05?

Captain Sensible
12 Sep 2003, 10:56
Originally posted by pugsville
Brown really hadsnt played midfield and there would be a question.

Brown is an All-Australian midfielder.

Demonheart
12 Sep 2003, 11:25
How could we afford Brown considering what happened last year with Woey?
When i first read this thread I first thought Jonathan and was really excited, but then reality sank in. N Brown is a great player but not what we desperately need nor can afford.

pugsville
12 Sep 2003, 11:37
My money mighrt be on essendon with some trade involving Lucas. Yeah lucas is playing some good footy, but wouldnt that be just liek sheedy.

Lucas -> WB
McKernan - > WB
Mercui -> Carlton
Brown -> Ess

Both Carlton & Essendon would create room in their cap by getting rid of McKernan and Mecrui respectively.

Hawthorn could also trade one of their talls, Holland ? Hay? as a stright swap with Brown.

Melbourne COULD trade White he's getting on , got injury concearns and Jolly seems to be coming on, also if they did tarde white they would have the money to pay brown. Brown isnt exacting what the Dees need but is a goal kicker which is part of their problem. If they were mad keen to get brown I cant think of another way they could swing it. Teh dogs need talls and the dees dont really have an excess of proven talls to unload.

Can not see Brown at the pies, dont have the trade cards.

The_Flying_Egg
12 Sep 2003, 12:34
I think white brown is a reasonable trade., white has had a poor season but has been great, but good rucks are harder to find than good small forwards , Brown really hadsnt played midfield and there would be a question.

Why do people talk about Brown as if he's only a small forward when hes an All Australian half back, and has also done very well in the midfield before?

And good rucks may be harder to find than good small forwards, but we've already found one, and he is an All Australian, a best and fairest and an AFLPA MVP winner

electricsix
12 Sep 2003, 12:37
collingwood will not get him they have nothing to offer

melbourne would have to offlload jeff white or travis johnstone; not worth it

brown will be at essendon; guaranteed for jacobs and a first rounf draft pick.

brown is best mates with solomon and good mates with mark and jason johnson..

he will be a bomber; they have the tradeable players that dogs want

The Spornstar
12 Sep 2003, 12:39
He's going to Collingwood, he's going to Carlton, he's going to Melbourne bla bla bla bla. Let's just wait and see.

hotpie
12 Sep 2003, 12:40
Nathan Brown is already at the Demons

marcuz
12 Sep 2003, 12:42
My money mighrt be on essendon with some trade involving Lucas. Yeah lucas is playing some good footy, but wouldnt that be just liek sheedy.

Lucas -> WB
McKernan - > WB
Mercui -> Carlton
Brown -> Ess

Both Carlton & Essendon would create room in their cap by getting rid of McKernan and Mecrui respectively.

Hawthorn could also trade one of their talls, Holland ? Hay? as a stright swap with Brown.

I'd rather Lucas than brown. Scotty is a key position player and a good one at that. Brown is a small forward who can pinch hit on ball. But with cupido , Haynes and shane harvey i think we have that area covered. Maybe if brown was a 20 or 21 year old essendon might take an interest becuase of the player he would become. But Brown and Lucas are the same age so its not like trading an older player for a younger player. So there is no advantage to essendon or the bulldogs.

Mercuri is on as much if not more than mckernan so carlton would not get any salary cap relief. Anyway why would carlton want a player who is well past his best with nothing left to offer.......sorry i forgot we were talking about carlton:D

scooter600x
12 Sep 2003, 12:46
Originally posted by electricsix
collingwood will not get him they have nothing to offer

melbourne would have to offlload jeff white or travis johnstone; not worth it

brown will be at essendon; guaranteed for jacobs and a first rounf draft pick.

brown is best mates with solomon and good mates with mark and jason johnson..

he will be a bomber; they have the tradeable players that dogs want

I think this is right on the money.

Second paragraph should read "White and Johnstone" but the rest is right.

electricsix
12 Sep 2003, 12:53
brown is pretty keen on essendon and all the talk of them being under cap restraints is smoke and mirrors.

they have allocated an amount for brown and are trying to work around this.

intially it was henneman and bolton offered but jacobs is a more attractive trade.

they will trade their first pick as they have a heap of good young talent [winderlich/laycock/harvey/hunt/walsh etc].

also with lucas being re-signed and the expected development of laycock, hunt into senior players they will find it tough for jacobs to get a game, as it has been since fletcher came back this year.

i would be very surprised if brown isnt a bomber next year.

for the fact they have what the dogs want

Hosko
12 Sep 2003, 13:02
I'd rather Lucas than brown. Scotty is a key position player and a good one at that. Brown is a small forward who can pinch hit on ball. But with cupido , Haynes and shane harvey i think we have that area covered. Maybe if brown was a 20 or 21 year old essendon might take an interest becuase of the player he would become. But Brown and Lucas are the same age so its not like trading an older player for a younger player. So there is no advantage to essendon or the bulldogs.

Mercuri is on as much if not more than mckernan so carlton would not get any salary cap relief. Anyway why would carlton want a player who is well past his best with nothing left to offer.......sorry i forgot we were talking about carlton
yep, well said
however i still think he will be at essendon, hopefully for henneman, bolton and a pick but it is more likely that jacobs will be involved

Yze_Magic
12 Sep 2003, 13:10
We are getting Brown and now Farmer is coming home

this is gonna be awesome

:D

hotpie
12 Sep 2003, 13:13
Originally posted by Yze_Magic
We are getting Brown and now Farmer is coming home

this is gonna be awesome

:D

they should fix your chronic ruck and defence problems

Yze_Magic
12 Sep 2003, 13:15
Originally posted by hotpie

White,Jolly and jamar

gee some real ruck problems there, not

Defence will be taken care of, either through trad,but probably from within. Ferguson, Carroll, Rivers.... all made of the right stuff

marcuz
12 Sep 2003, 13:18

Exactly. And maybe give each player on the list a heart transplant. Brown and farmer are 2 hard at the ball inspirational leaders that melbourne need:rolleyes:

Sundog
12 Sep 2003, 13:20
Wherever he's going, he's definitely going.... and I'd say he's already decided/done the deal.
Someone posted yeasterday that a promo for the Footy Show had Brown saying where he would go. Brown WAS on the show, but after a question at the start by Sam about his destination (at which he said "the season's not over yet") not another word was said about the matter or asked of him.
Considering how much Eddie and especially Sam badger and push players about current personal issues it's very suss for them to leave him alone last night.
So....decision must be already made but they can't talk about it. Why? Maybe because Essendon are still playing in finals..... ?

marcuz
12 Sep 2003, 13:27
Wherever he's going, he's definitely going.... and I'd say he's already decided/done the deal.
Someone posted yeasterday that a promo for the Footy Show had Brown saying where he would go. Brown WAS on the show, but after a question at the start by Sam about his destination (at which he said "the season's not over yet") not another word was said about the matter or asked of him.
Considering how much Eddie and especially Sam badger and push players about current personal issues it's very suss for them to leave him alone last night.
So....decision must be already made but they can't talk about it. Why? Maybe because Essendon are still playing in finals..... ?

If brown goes to essendon i will walk down ryrie st in geelong wearing nothing but a g string and a billboard saying sundog is god.

It wont happen mate believe me

electricsix
12 Sep 2003, 13:28
brown and bombers = done deal

SurreyBlue
12 Sep 2003, 13:32
My word is Brown will be at Collingwood. Eddie is already paying him "unoffically" on the footy show. Wakeup people.

Falchoon
12 Sep 2003, 13:37
Originally posted by cupid_k4
you people dont understand! white isnt going anywhere!

if you can manage Brown and Farmer for the cost of White and a second rounder, he's as good as gone.

electricsix
12 Sep 2003, 13:38
cannot "just end up at collingwood"

they need to trade something and i doubt very much they have anything to offload.

another point if he goes into pre-season draft the dogs have first pick so i think they'd re-draft him.

pies no chance

he has committed to essendon

Sundog
12 Sep 2003, 13:47
Originally posted by marcuz
If brown goes to essendon i will walk down ryrie st in geelong wearing nothing but a g string and a billboard saying sundog is god.

It wont happen mate believe me

Are you saying that because you don't rate him or you don't want to hope too much, just in case? :)

I just rang a 'contact' of mine who has heard the same rumour. He's a member of the Essendon Social Club and heard it last night at the club so he says.

Could you possibly take a photo of you and that billboard? I'd like to put it in my C.V :D

CowboyFromHell
12 Sep 2003, 13:54
Brown won't go to Melbourne, but I think Jeff is a big chance to come back. He won't cost as much as he used too, and we will still have room in the cap to play around with an out of contract tall.

In the Sun today it said Melbourne has told White he is staying.

P.S - Any f*cking idiot who says that we "traded" away Jeff Farmer needs to check the facts. He left, we didn't want him to leave. We have only ever traded away one player who didnt' want to go, and that was Woewodin.

evertonfc
12 Sep 2003, 13:58
Originally posted by The Spornstar
He's going to Collingwood, he's going to Carlton, he's going to Melbourne bla bla bla bla. Let's just wait and see.

Who invented the idea he's going to Carlton?

Collingwood and Melbourne have bait for the Dogs, but the Blues have none.

Pick #2 and then some, at the least.

electricsix
12 Sep 2003, 14:17
PIES HAVE NOTHING TO OFFER

can someone say what they would offer?

scooter600x
12 Sep 2003, 14:39
Originally posted by electricsix
PIES HAVE NOTHING TO OFFER

can someone say what they would offer?

They'd have to start with Rocca.

Broadbridge_20
12 Sep 2003, 14:47
I don't want Brown, we don't need him.

I'd rather us go after Simon Goodwin, Mark Johnson or Lance Whitnall.

vicpride99
12 Sep 2003, 16:32
What about the Cats, we have at least 500,000 to spend.

tige19
12 Sep 2003, 16:37
So Brown is gonna go from playng in front of 10 thousand to about 12 k and strive up the ladder to 13th 14th :eek: ambitions are high!!!

Dog Town
14 Sep 2003, 09:55
If Brown leaves the doggies he will go straight into a ruck roving role where he belongs.Only played forward with us because of our ridiculous shortage of quality options.You wouldnt be recruiting a forward rather a line breaking midfielder.

dougthelegend
14 Sep 2003, 10:00
Originally posted by Dog Town
If Brown leaves the doggies he will go straight into a ruck roving role where he belongs.Only played forward with us because of our ridiculous shortage of quality options.You wouldnt be recruiting a forward rather a line breaking midfielder.
exactly why essendon will be very interested in him

Falconer02
14 Sep 2003, 10:36
I would rather Rob Murphy than Brown...maybe.
Actually love them both.

dees 4 life
14 Sep 2003, 13:34
I cant belive some of the melbourne supporters on this board saying they dont want to get rid of our players. We cant just keep the same list year in and year out simply because it's very very ordinary. We need some Star players but yet we might have to get rid of some fan favorites to get them. Players like travis Johnstone and Jeff White are well liked by all melbourne fans but they dont consistatly deliver. If we need to off load them to get some thing better in return i'm all for it.

I would love brown at the dees and would do early anything to get him.

TheMightyDons
14 Sep 2003, 14:57
Agree with earlier posts, Brown would play on-ball whilst resting in the forward line. Could be great with Ramanauskas!

grinspoon
14 Sep 2003, 20:37
sorry but i wouldnt trade rocca for both murphy and brown, let alone just brown. id rather get jacobs or stevens who are more wat we would be after.