View Full Version : Richardson to move West?
Crackers Keenan on ABC (3LO Melbourne) reported that there are moves by WCE to sign none other than Matthew Richardson! Now I'm not vouching for the accuracy of this information but it does raise some interesting questions!!! Would we want Matthew Richardson? At the moment I'd say he lacks application, can't kick, can't mark and is a big-mouth but I 'reckon under the guidance of Worsfold and in a different environment 'Richo' could resurrect his flagging AFL career. Are we prepared to take a punt on Richo. God knows we need a big target up forward!. Over to you.......
Rumours are rife at this time of year and I wouldn't put any stock in that one in particular.
Besides, Richo is a spineless, gutless, no brain, front-running,ego-maniacal wimp with no sense of team play.
And I'd spit if I ever saw him in an Eagles jumper
Streaker
12 Sep 2003, 13:52
George Grljusich at http://www.footygoss.com.au/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=index&topic=15
has said this about Richardson
"The football grapevine strongly indicates that Richardson will be put on the market."
Doesn't the grapevine do this every year?
"The main problem with Richardson is the appropriate duration of a contract. He will be 29 before the start of the 2004 season."
How long can he play for?
"To move interstate he would no doubt seek a three to four year term."
Would he be a viable option for any more than 2 years at the most?
Undoubtedly, Richardson would be great for us if we could sign him to a 2 year deal. At 29 you would not sign him up for a long term contract. I could see him being a great asset to our club, but at what price. What would we be required to give up in return?
There are so many pros and cons:
Yeh you put him in the forward line for two years with our midfield and you've got a good chance of winning a premiership...
However we would have to give up a lot to get him, like a quality midfielder, braun, fletcher etc and one of our reserve talls, lynch, hansen, gaspar, mcdougall etc.
Also his age is a worry, and his salary would be massive, plus we've got guys like the ones i mentioned before who have been earmarked for the key forward roles..we've spent so much time and money on them, if we went for Richo it would prove Woosha doesn't have faith in the youngsters.
I'd love to see him play for us though, on his day he's unstoppable and with Fido down there, we'd be lethal
With Woosha controlling the show, you can bet he won't be throwing any tantrums.
The bloke can mark a footy that is for sure, something we've been lacking up forward for the last two years.
Pardon my earlier outburst ...
but I think Jumper is right, what sort of message would it send to the younger talls we're developing. I know they are still developing and we need someone there next year but I think Doogs, Gaspar and others need to be given a decent chance.
I reckon Richo would cost way too much in terms of what we'd have to trade and I think he would be a short-sighted, short-term option. He's one of the most highly skilled big blokes in the game but he's also a spectacular under-achiever because IMHO he lacks ticker.
He is the Trent Croad of tigerland.
YETAGAIN
12 Sep 2003, 14:23
Whywould you want Richo with A Rocca on the Market?
Streaker
12 Sep 2003, 14:23
Should we be looking at Croad?
Originally posted by mukiwa
Crackers Keenan on ABC (3LO Melbourne) reported that there are moves by WCE to sign none other than Matthew Richardson! Now I'm not vouching for the accuracy of this information but it does raise some interesting questions!!! Would we want Matthew Richardson? At the moment I'd say he lacks application, can't kick, can't mark and is a big-mouth but I 'reckon under the guidance of Worsfold and in a different environment 'Richo' could resurrect his flagging AFL career. Are we prepared to take a punt on Richo. God knows we need a big target up forward!. Over to you.......
He ain't called 'Crackers' for nothing.
Au_Blue#24
12 Sep 2003, 14:40
Originally posted by West Coast Stre
Should we be looking at Croad?
dont mean to offend but,
should you be looking at graylands...
Actually, Croad's not a bad suggestion - he could move in with that other quality Freo import Greg Harding.
I think with Woosha's influence he could do well. Id be erring on the 51/49% caution of saying yes we should look at him for the right money and for the right deal.
we could get a good 2 years out of him but it would be a bit of gamble. it's a similar situation to the carey one (sans the wife rooting).
i think richmond would want a fair bit for him though.
Black Thunder
12 Sep 2003, 15:33
Originally posted by noodle
we could get a good 2 years out of him but it would be a bit of gamble. it's a similar situation to the carey one (sans the wife rooting).
the other difference is for us next year isn't our last chance to win a premership.
The crows were in a position where if they didn't win a flag this year, odds are they weren't going too - maybe next year, but after that they'll hit a down patch for sure.
We're a team on the up, so why we would want Richardson is just completely beyond me.
If we were looking for anyone above the age of 25 it would only be an absolute superstar - Michael Voss, Andrew McLeod, Matthew Lloyd etc,. not Matt Richardson.
If the Eagles recruit Richo I will start barracking for the dockers.
That Harsh Sera, how many players have you seen kick 6 goals on Pavlich???
I wouldn't mind seeing Richo at WCE next year provided the right deal. I think Woosha could motivate him or belt him into line.
Nice comment exeter :p
Black Thunder
13 Sep 2003, 01:09
Originally posted by dasler
That Harsh Sera, how many players have you seen kick 6 goals on Pavlich???
I wouldn't mind seeing Richo at WCE next year provided the right deal. I think Woosha could motivate him or belt him into line.
Nice comment exeter :p
no doubting RIchardson is a good player - I do think he is one of the biggest underachivers of recent times, which just shows how much talent he has, because he has had a great career, but IMO could've and should've been even better.
But the problems with Richardson are too much:
1) He is too old for our cause.
2) He is too inconsistent.
3) He's much publicised outburts are not the type of example we want senior players setting our younger players.
4) He's reputation would:
- a -) mean we have to give Richmond excess of what he is worth
- b - ) mean we have to pay him excess of what he is worth
Black Thunder
13 Sep 2003, 01:21
BTW, I don't think Richmond is really much of a place to look to recruit someone - they've been shocking this year, and the only two players I'd seriously want us to look at would be Ottens and Coughlan if we were talking seriously with Richmond - but both those two seem to be generally regarded as the only players the Tiges see as untradable.
Black Thunder
13 Sep 2003, 01:25
And most people have this line that Woosha may be able to get the most of out Richardson, but I think that wouldn't be the case.
The reason woosha gets everything out of the current lads is because they've all played with him (a lot of them), and if they haven't, they know the impact he has had around the club.
And although this may be completely untrue, I'd think Richardson would tend to think of Worsfold as being somewhat "inferior" to himself, and not give him near the same resepect as the other guys do.......
Change of scenery and a license to run could do him a world of good though?
It's a tough call. On one hand you have the inconsistent, selfish, heartless, injury prone Richo and on the other hand you have the best CHF on his day in the league.
If we recruited him it would have to be the right deal. I have no doubt in my mind that under Whoosha we would see more of the best CHF in the league rather than the selfish, inconsistent Richo we have all come to love.
So, yes I would recruit him but only if the right deal was there. If he expects to get Cuz like money then he can just stay right where he is. But if we can trade for him without giving up something ridiculous and without giving him mounds of money then why not?
Of course none of that would happen so we'll just have to stick with the youngsters.
Black Thunder
13 Sep 2003, 01:36
Originally posted by dasler
Change of scenery and a license to run could do him a world of good though?
possibly, but at 29, this is another issue.
Our real big time crack at the flag will be between 2005 and 2009 IMO.
During those years will Richardson be able to help us to win a flag?
2004 he's still be pretty good one would feel, but by 2005 he'd be well and truly on the downside and I'd be suprised if he was still playing past 2006???
Definetaly not my preffered option, but if Richmond turned around and said, we want to get rid of him and we'll take next to nothing or something like that, I'd take it - but I doubt that'll happen.
He's an absolute champ at Richmond, one of their favourites over the years - the fans are screaming for murder now, can you imagine what it would be like if they gave up Richardson for Callum Chambers or something liek that ............
chrisjudd3
13 Sep 2003, 01:48
QUINTEN LYNCH over Richo anyday...or the next few years.
i disagree, the trouble with richo is that he lacks dicipline, which is a speciality of john worsfold.
im only really worried about the richo deal because of what we could have to give up, he wont come cheap. id love to see him up forward for us for a couple of years, but richmond are rightly looking for low draft picks or future stars to give away their number one forward.
his age is not just a problem with the amount of years we could get out of him, its also injuries. players of that age rarely play full seasons, so we are looking at giving away one of our low picks and some of our depth for (optimistically) 30-35 games for a key forward. it smells like the modra deal again.
still, imagine the output you get with embley, matera and richo being fed by cuz, judd, fletch and kerr
Eagle_Fan
13 Sep 2003, 02:11
I'd give him a chance.
Fact is that he can play. We wouldn't waste more than a 1 or 2 year contract on him, and would not pay his contract in full (is he uncontracted? If not how many years left?). If it gets us past the first week of the finals I don't see that anything's lost.
With a decent midfield feeding him, possibly less pressure & expectation, and the wrath of Whoosha should he breach teams rules even in the slightest, I think it's worth it.
Like I said though
- short contract only
- reasonable price
- a 'f*ck up and you're WAFLing as fast as you can give the bird' pep talk from Whoosh.
GoEagles
13 Sep 2003, 02:50
Originally posted by Sera
If the Eagles recruit Richo I will start barracking for the dockers.
You say that again mate and I'll personally come over with jod, carneagles, ozzult and carly and we'll remove your typing fingers!
Back to the Richo discussion:
Big no-no in my books. He won't come cheap (yes cheaper than in past years, but still VERY costly).
Secondly, I can't see Richo playing for more than 2-3 years given his past injury woes.
Thirdly, I have reservations if Richo would fit into the Perth lifestyle. Although he is Tasmanian so he might like the quieter life.
Finally and this is my biggest gripe - his body language. How would you feel if a youngster still making his mark in the AFL doesn't give him the best pass into the forward line and Richo chucks one of his dummy spits. Definately not good for the team.
Originally posted by chrisjudd3
QUINTEN LYNCH over Richo anyday...or the next few years.
I wouldn't think signing a 29 year old would be sensible.
I'm not sure about Lynch, VOR could most likely give best opinion but I don't think he's fast enough for a defender or fast enough on the lead for FF. That leaves CHF and I think Doogs is more suited to that position.
Now Croad is an interesting proposition. Apparently he has heaps of talent but hasn't a lot between the ears. In that case he would make a far better defender than attacker. So if Freo paid half his wages he could be a good trade and play FB or CHB
TheRealBuzz
13 Sep 2003, 15:03
Originally posted by Frodo
Croad is an interesting proposition. Apparently he has heaps of talent but hasn't a lot between the ears. In that case he would make a far better defender than attacker. I hear this a lot about Croad. Surely it must be one of the biggest myths in football. If you think Croad is hopeless as a forward, just wait 'til you see him try and play in the backline.
The only role I could see Croad playing at our club is running water during games. And even then I'd be worried about our players dehydration levels.
Richo, on the other hand, I quite like. (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&postid=1275345#post1275345)
as long as we don't have to pay through the nose, I'd be more than willing to take him on.
We have never had a dominant marking forward, and you cannot ignore the fact that he would provide us with that answer.
Seriously, any key forward must love the opportunity to be the lead on the end of our midfield for the forseeable future. Ask anyone who saw Richmond play, and they'll tell you, the delievery to the KP forwards is what kills them.
But here is something ... as you may remember, I'm on the keep Jako bandwagon, but with Richardson and McDougall in the team, unless we rotate the three, I couldn't see a place for him starting. Imagine the goal to goal line of
Glass
Gaspar
any of our midfield
Richardson
McDougall
as for Cameron Mooney? Just because we screwed them with Brett Spinks doesn't me they can just even the score now. And there is NO chance Hawthorn would part with John Barker.
roll on trade period.
thegur
On Richo - NO. No matter what we pay him I don't think it would be good for the club. Somewhat akin to Adelaide's recruitment of Carey, and I don't think Richo could win us a premiership. We're at the wrong stage of our development to be recruiting older players.
The Croad one I find interesting though. There's certainly something there or Freo would never have traded a #1 pick for him (their recruiting is much better than in the early days), and if the offer was right I'd wouldn't mind it. I'd certainly be happy for the club consider a trade for someone like Chambers who could fit in nicely to the Docker's midfield but is on the outer with us. I just have a feeling we could do something with Croad. Certainly wouldn't want the club to bust a gut over it or anything though.
Snibbo_TJS
13 Sep 2003, 17:35
As much as we think about trading him, I doubt we would give you Richo. He seems to be to hard to do a trade with because he is so unpredictable you would never know what he is going to achieve next year.
Personally, i strongly detest Richo, he is abusive,obstrusive and obnoxious. Ive been an eagles fan all my life (all 15 years of it) and if we did indeed pick up Richo i would be disgraced to barrack for the mighty eagles. I think the reason why richmond have been at a low for so long is because of Richardson, I've never seen such a ballhog or sook on a footy team before. Even in my footy team if a guy whinged like richo did we would sock him one in the face. West Coast is a proud club and a proud history of showing great sportsmanship and it would be closed to ruin if we traded Richo for one of our up-and-coming superstars (i.e McDougall, Hansen or Johnson)
kretchy
14 Sep 2003, 18:50
I don't think we will end up trading Richo but some of the comments about him have been unfair, sure he is prone to the undiscipline act, but he led the league in contested marks was 3rd in general marks and didn't even play every game. Calling him heartless is also unfair he would be one of the hardest working forwards in the league and continues to present all game long.
His shows of frustration and set shot goalkicking are probably his weaknesses. I can understand his frustration he shows with some of the delivery he has to contend with but he should still try and avoid berating teamates.
Originally posted by Frodo
I'm not sure about Lynch, VOR could most likely give best opinion but I don't think he's fast enough for a defender or fast enough on the lead for FF. That leaves CHF and I think Doogs is more suited to that position.
Now Croad is an interesting proposition. Apparently he has heaps of talent but hasn't a lot between the ears. In that case he would make a far better defender than attacker. So if Freo paid half his wages he could be a good trade and play FB or CHB
Speed isn't an issue at FF for us, he would have plenty of speed around him and I don't think he's that slow off the mark anyway - we need size and marking. Lynch did the job in a small cameo last season, I see no reason why he couldn't do it again.
Croad is psychologically damaged - no way known anyone of sound mind would recruit him, unless it was a Victorian team bringing him home.
I'd punt on Richo, only if Richmond were prepared to give him away.
Originally posted by Jabber
Speed isn't an issue at FF for us, he would have plenty of speed around him and I don't think he's that slow off the mark anyway - we need size and marking. Lynch did the job in a small cameo last season, I see no reason why he couldn't do it again.
I know i've read that Lynch was the WA schoolboys 400m champ in Eagle Eye I think, surely he can't be that slow on a lead?
thegur
no1bankteller
15 Sep 2003, 10:39
I would like to see McDogall at FF mainly because he has pace hight and if he adds weight and strength he would closely resmeble Matthew Lloyd
Lynch would be a perfect CHF. To me he looks like a cross between a Carey and Brown. He is strength equals that of the King and his mobility rivals that of Brown.
Cheers D
I watched Lynch at the WAFL preliminary final yesterday.
Strong as an ox and and kicks the cover of the footy but he has all the manoeuverability of an oil tanker
I was big wraps for him last year but now I think he's tradeable.
Originally posted by Exeter
I watched Lynch at the WAFL preliminary final yesterday.
Strong as an ox and and kicks the cover of the footy but he has all the manoeuverability of an oil tanker
Remind you of Tony Lockett?
Originally posted by Jabber
Remind you of Tony Lockett?
Nope.
Brett Spinks
no1bankteller
15 Sep 2003, 14:30
IMO Lynch trade could be the worst trade West Coast could make. I see him being a key long term forward or backman for next 10 years.
Originally posted by no1bankteller
IMO Lynch trade could be the worst trade West Coast could make. I see him being a key long term forward or backman for next 10 years.
I reckon a Lynch trade would come back to haunt us - I don't see anyone on our list I'd be confident of matching him up with.
Originally posted by Exeter
Nope.
Brett Spinks
Compare the stats - You are flattering Spinks
no1bankteller
15 Sep 2003, 15:10
Pre knee op Spinks had talent... Its just that he lost his way along the line.
In any case Lynch is far superior to Spinks in every facet of the game. The most impressive aspect of his game is his decision making on the field and not his physical attributes.
IMO he has far better long term potential then a player like Withnall as he is probably more athletic and has better body strength.