Saturday 4th June 2011
City Oval, Box Hill
Seniors 2:00pm
Development Team - BYE
TV-NIL
Radio:-
http://radioradio7.com/radio-images/Australia-3WBC-941-FM.gif
TEAMS TBC
We all love playing Geelong. We love beating them even more. So get down this weekend to a double header of Hawks in Melbourne. Saturday head along to the mighty Box Hill Hawks and Sunday the 'G. What are you waiting for? "Don't think, DO!"
TheFourPillars
1 Jun 2011, 22:19
I should be there nice and early
Smith & Morto back.
B: Sierakowski Johnson Duryea
HB: Cheney Suckling Young
C: Morton Lewis Smith
HF: Breust Lisle Milne
F: Lowden Hale Wanganeen
R: Renouf Ladson Williams
Int: Kiel Boumann Menegola Neil S. Gibson Mirra
Cust Pattison Andrews Schneider Hoegel Northe
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=15914673§ionID=60264
Hale, Renouf, Lowden,Johnson and Pattison ? Land of the giants.
Yeah, thought this would happen. We are Oompaloompas in the seniors, Giants at BHH.
go hawks!!!
2 Jun 2011, 23:44
Smith & Morto back.
B: Sierakowski Johnson Duryea
HB: Cheney Suckling Young
C: Morton Lewis Smith
HF: Breust Lisle Milne
F: Lowden Hale Wanganeen
R: Renouf Ladson Williams
Int: Kiel Boumann Menegola Neil S. Gibson Mirra
Cust Pattison Andrews Schneider Hoegel Northe
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=15914673§ionID=60264
I'm quite bemused at the selection of Morton in the 1sts. He has not played since our 2nd pre season game. Its now June, should be playing development squad 1st game back and then if his fitness is ok then play seniors.
I know people will laugh at this, but Morton may be a wildcard later in the season. I'd like to see him play HBF (similar to late last year). If he can perform well over a month, he may pressure Murphy. He has the height to play the Stratton role, just lacks in ability IMO.
Is this Morto's last chance at glory? we will see, i'd say he is gone at year end.
3 weeks ago we played the majority of the game with 3 ruckmen on the field. I'm guessing that that it will be 3 all game this week, with 4 at times. The thing about those rucks they can all play KP in defence or forward.
Pure_Ownage
3 Jun 2011, 02:39
Geelong team for you guys:
B
McLean
Gillies
Horlin-Smith
HB
Guthrie
West
Walker
C
Byrnes
T. Selwood
Barham
HF
Simpkin
Mooney
Motlop
F
Brown
Hawkins
Schroder
R
Simpson
Duncan
Christensen
Int
Burbury
Corrigan
Maas
Cuthill
Hollmer
Tutungi
Raidme
Baker*
Bathie
Mooney won't play I'd guess and Duncan may be a late call up to the seniors but the rest will.
I wouldn't worry about being too tall yourselves, we have 2 ruckmen (Simpson and West) 3 tall backs (Gilles Walker McLean) and 3 tall forwards (Hawkins Brown Bathie) so I would say both teams are fairly top heavy.
We haven't won a game this year so you should be fairly confident.
FriarTuck
3 Jun 2011, 06:57
I'm quite bemused at the selection of Morton in the 1sts. He has not played since our 2nd pre season game. Its now June, should be playing development squad 1st game back and then if his fitness is ok then play seniors. .......
Strange move but Morto must be close to being chopped, time to give him every chance to shine.
Agree that Morto could be important. He has everything in terms of physical capacity. Dunno what is holding him back.
go hawks!!!
3 Jun 2011, 07:47
Strange move but Morto must be close to being chopped, time to give him every chance to shine.
Agree that Morto could be important. He has everything in terms of physical capacity. Dunno what is holding him back.
Like any hawk, we want our players to succeed. Use Suckers as an example, he was very close to being chopped last year, we kept him as we were not keen on picks 60-80. Look at Suckers this year, he has excelled.
Morton, is tall enough, has a huge tank, issue is translating this into positive performance on the field. He had a great patch for a month late last year, then dropped off. I think he is mentally weak, if he can believe he can play AFL, he will. We need depth in our backline, and Morton (as well as Milne) can help.
Another discussion is Riley Milne - our nominated rookie.
He for me is not improving and that is concerning. I guess the club saw him as the perfect sub, 190cm+, who can play both sides of the field. For me, there has been a huge drop off which is concerning. He is a 3rd year rookie, and we should be seeing some consistent performance from Riley. Anyone has views? Interested in TFP's views here too
Thought he was playing well across half back at BHH in the last 7 or 8 games last season. I had him as a smokie for a HBF in the seniors at the start of the season, though with Birchall in his current form i cannot see him squeezing in to the lineup. Unlikely Murphy will lose his position.
I guess his future this season may be decided by injuries to the Hawthorn backline, it seems like the only way he will get another opportunity at senior level.
stemline
3 Jun 2011, 08:36
I'm quite bemused at the selection of Morton in the 1sts.
Dev Squad have a bye this week. I guess they want to get game time into him if he's ready to play now.
The Birch
3 Jun 2011, 09:15
[quote=go hawks!!!;21201062]Like any hawk, we want our players to succeed. Use Suckers as an example, he was very close to being chopped last year, we kept him as we were not keen on picks 60-80. Look at Suckers this year, he has excelled.
Morton, is tall enough, has a huge tank, issue is translating this into positive performance on the field. He had a great patch for a month late last year, then dropped off. I think he is mentally weak, if he can believe he can play AFL, he will. We need depth in our backline, and Morton (as well as Milne) can help.
Groom him as a second backman to Gibson. Let him play a similar style to Scarlett in that Gibson takes the stronger bodies and Morton takes the second best forward.Has all the skills to succeed, just needs some self belief and become injury free.
Sure has the physical attributes to be a success, but so did Stephen Allender - amongst many others. As a club we could do with him playing well and putting pressure on for a senior position. I cannot see him coming in as a half forward again, and there is far too many in front of him for centre/wing/on ball positions, so backline stopper could become a niche for him. Hope he can get fit and start performing.
stemline
3 Jun 2011, 11:22
At the start of last year he was the coaches' choice for the third tall forward spot (Willo's replacement). In terms of physical attributes, that still fits. But it just didn't seem to work. He has kicked goals in his last 6 AFL games though.
CrowdedHouse
3 Jun 2011, 11:50
ROUND 10
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/photos/fixtures/bhh-vs-geelong.gif
Saturday 4th June 2011
City Oval, Box Hill
Seniors 2:00pm
Development Team - BYE
TV-NIL
Radio:-
http://radioradio7.com/radio-images/Australia-3WBC-941-FM.gif
Of course, not only 94.1 FM 3WBC but our internet stream as well at www.3wbc.org.au - GET ON EARLY! (Broadcast starts at 1pm) :thumbsu:
TheFourPillars
3 Jun 2011, 13:42
Like any hawk, we want our players to succeed. Use Suckers as an example, he was very close to being chopped last year, we kept him as we were not keen on picks 60-80. Look at Suckers this year, he has excelled.
Another discussion is Riley Milne - our nominated rookie.
He for me is not improving and that is concerning. I guess the club saw him as the perfect sub, 190cm+, who can play both sides of the field. For me, there has been a huge drop off which is concerning. He is a 3rd year rookie, and we should be seeing some consistent performance from Riley. Anyone has views? Interested in TFP's views here too
It is unfortunate that Morton's been injured this year because i thought he had come along nicely in the back half last year. I was looking forward to seeing him play back more and hopefully develop into someone we could use in our back half at HFC. Unfortunately after the Willi practice match where he lasted all of 5 minutes in March or April this will be his first game. I wonder if he will only play a half. Times running out for the young man and its rather unfortunate. Hopefully he can get some serious game time for the rest of the year without further injury interruption.
Milne is an interesting player. If we remember back when he did debut for us he played as a running half back flanker. Seemed to do all right too and was someone to look for in the furture. Since then Milne has been moved from the backline into the middle and on the wings. Seems to be going through the motions a bit. Hate to say this about a kid especially a HFC listed kid but he is a what you would call a downhill skier (not just my opinion mind you). Players like Curnow (in the past), Gibson and Schneider make him look good. I have watched him during a game and he just doesn't hit the contest. Seems to be low on confidence, his ball handling has dropped off and he still lacks core strength to be able to give it off by hand or foot when pressured.
He may also be suffering from the game plan changes that have been introduced this year. Midfielders are meant to defend these days... he is struggling to know where to position himself etc... Suffice to say he better pull his finger out. I think he needs to be moved back into defence. Got a lot of the ball earlier this year. Hope for Riley's sake he has a good second half of the year.
Simon_Nesbit
3 Jun 2011, 17:51
Could be in attendance.
How do I get there, who will I see, and will my hawthorn memberships get me in?
savagelunchbox
3 Jun 2011, 19:10
Could be in attendance.
There is a bit on this page about 'how to get there'
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/the-club/box-hill-city-oval.aspx
TheFourPillars
3 Jun 2011, 21:18
Could be in attendance.
Just let them know you are a member and want your box hill membership i think you can still it pick up am not 100% sure about interstate members however :). I might look out for u simon if you do make it
Simon_Nesbit
3 Jun 2011, 21:35
Just let them know you are a member and want your box hill membership i think you can still it pick up am not 100% sure about interstate members however :). I might look out for u simon if you do make it
if that's the case I'm sure my KENNEDY CLUB tickets will suffice.
Or are you saying I need to cover up the scar :confused::eek:
TheFourPillars
3 Jun 2011, 21:43
If you want to pick a time i will meet you outside the gates "guide" you in
Simon_Nesbit
4 Jun 2011, 10:35
I haven't got your number tFP. But I'll be out there around 1:30 or so.
Will be interesting to see the ruck duels. Renouf, Lowden, Johnson and Hale are all playing for Box Hill with Simpson, Blake and Hawkins all playing for the Cats.
Johnson our starting ruckman
Paul Johnson has hurt his foot, done for the day
The most number of senior blokes I've seen come along at a Box Hill match this year. Hodge, Roughy, Sewell sitting in the stands with another dozen listed boys. Tom Schneider (not playing today) is 3rd wide across the shoulders.
Paul Johnson has aggravated a foot injury which will keep him out for a long stretch.
Abbottsarmy
4 Jun 2011, 15:44
How's Jarryd Morton going?
Paul Johnson has aggravated a foot injury which will keep him out for a long stretch.
Thanks for the update Shwab! How's the team traveling?
Score updates from anyone? :)
Did I just here a reference to the 'Dookie Party Bus' on the radio?
RustyHawk
4 Jun 2011, 16:07
Smith just kicked a point.
5 minutes into the last quarter.
BHH: 10.09.69
Geel: 08.13.61
+8
Ladson is playing.
RustyHawk
4 Jun 2011, 16:16
Q4 -12.5 minutes
Geelong get a goal
BHH 10.09.69
Geel: 09.13.67
+ 2
Hawks playing include Renouf, Ladson, Lowden (the dookie dasher), Smith, Morton, Hale, Duryea, Williams, Sierkowski and Wanganeen.
RustyHawk
4 Jun 2011, 16:20
Q$ - 14min Hawks goal through Ladson to Renouf back to Laddo who instead of blazing away kicks to Hale who was all alone 45m out. Hale went back and kicked his 2nd goal for the game.
BHH: 11.09.75
Geel: 09.13.67
+ 8
In the meantime Tom Hawkins showing all his abilities from A-B misses the set shot for goal and scores a point.
Geel: 09.14.68
+ 7
RustyHawk
4 Jun 2011, 16:23
Q4 - 19 minutes
Motlock for Geelong kicks a goal.
BHH 11.09.75
Geel: 10.14.74
+ 1
RustyHawk
4 Jun 2011, 16:28
Q4 time on
Wanganeen's 4th goal for the game in time on in the last!
BHH: 12.09.81
Geel: 10.14.74
+ 7
From the bounce down Geelong get a point. 6 points now.
Geel: 10.15.75
RustyHawk
4 Jun 2011, 16:30
Motlock scores his 2nd and ties up the scores 25 minutes last Q
Geel: 11.15.81
+ 0
Baz_hawk
4 Jun 2011, 16:32
Come on Hawks! Cheers for the updates Rusty
RustyHawk
4 Jun 2011, 16:33
Geelong kick a point go 1 point up.
Box Hill have the ball 5metres from our goals but the siren goes.
Geelong win :thumbsd:
Geel: 11.16.82
Geelong's first win for the season.
RustyHawk
4 Jun 2011, 16:45
Goal kickers.
Box Hill
Wanganeen 4
Hale 2
Smith 2
Hoegal 1
Jackson 1
missed the rest
Geelong - apologies for the spelling.
Schroder 2
Motlock 2
Hawkins 2
Raymer 2
Simpson 1
Simkins 1
Baker 1
Wanganeen seems to be putting forward a really strong case lately, he's only tiny so he must read the play very well... a pleasing prospect to have up the sleeve :D
Glad to hear Smith had an impact as well, looking forward to him fighting his way back into the seniors.
Thanks a heap for the updates :)
Thanks for the updates Rusty, shame about the loss. At least you have tomorrow to look forward to!
Wanganeen is travelling really well. Would it be worth seeing how he goes against the Suns in 2 weeks time?? Give Bruest a rest from the seniors.
SHAKESPEARE
4 Jun 2011, 17:14
Wanganeen has me excited.
go hawks!!!
4 Jun 2011, 17:49
Wanganeen has me excited.
As I said a while back, this kid is what we need, give him a go against Gold Coast or any other game where Rioli will be rested. He has a future at our club for sure. He is quick, can tackle and can kick goals. Checks each part of our checklist for small forwards. Well done son!
Hardly noticed Morton today, he's been out for a while so can't expect much. Wanganeen was lively all day, great to hear Smith revving the blokes up at the breaks. Williams had a really good game, very neat disposal and has added some size which is promising. Nothing went right for Ladson today, seems everything is against him at the moment. None of our big fellas dominated today, Lowden gets around the ground nicely and no longer looks like a tooth pick. Siera had a shocking first qtr, but took some good marks and got a fair bit of the footy in the 2nd & 3rd.
Goldhawk
4 Jun 2011, 18:05
Is Ellis injured ? he did not play.
Big Moose
4 Jun 2011, 18:36
As I said a while back, this kid is what we need, give him a go against Gold Coast or any other game where Rioli will be rested. He has a future at our club for sure. He is quick, can tackle and can kick goals. Checks each part of our checklist for small forwards. Well done son!
Rioli rest, I would rather have him in with Rioli! :eek:
go hawks!!!
4 Jun 2011, 19:02
Rioli rest, I would rather have him in with Rioli! :eek:
I believe we have been through this before. So I will say it. Rioli suffered a 'fatigue' related hamstring hamstring injury. That means he cannot play midfield or he is cooked. Even with Rioli playing fwd, he will need to be rested, no better time to rest him than GC suns, in tassie. So you know, Wanga trains with Rioli about four times a week.
GH, Ellis is injured.
Williams had a really good game, very neat disposal and has added some size which is promising.
Good to hear Williams finding some form - thats two games in a row now - is a bit of a forgotten player, but could add to our mosquito fleet of runners.
FriarTuck
4 Jun 2011, 19:04
A beautiful day for footy. Cool conditions and no wind. Despite this our skills early were very poor.
PJ started at FB. Hurt his foot and Boumann took up the job on Hawkins. Not Boumann's best game. Was too easily drawn into body contests which he lost and when he played off he gave away too much room. That game will not help Boumann's progression back onto a list.
Laddo played on the ball. Very good again. Seemed to grab the footy whenever he wanted it. Limped off in the end. Laddo did not run into space getting cheap possessions. Played the corridor and was good all day.
Hale, Lowden, Suzie and Patto shouldered the ruck/FF duties. Hale was too slow as a FF but looked like our most effective ruckman. Once the ball hits the deck he is out of play. Suzie started slow but warmed up. Really went hard for his marks so he is fit. Lowden often gets to the position of link man. Funny to see a guy this tall that quick. He needs to concentrate more on his tall game or he will end up being another Josh Fraser. Good to see he wants to get involved.
Wanga had a shocker.
Sirra was close to my BOG. Never realised how good his left boot is and his ability to keep his eye on the ball. Copped some massive whacks and gave out a few. Played off a wing and HBF and was terrific. AFL class.
Morto played mainly down back. Was pretty handy and ran the game out well. He got caught ball watching a few times, which exposed his reaction time. Promising comeback game.
We must be doing something with our fitness this week. A lot of players missing. Reckon we are resting guys but we are not saying it.
Smiff smoked in and out. Turned the jets on a few times, so he should be back soon.
Good game of footy. Really liked Carrol's directions at three quarter time - telling them to attack.
Hodgepodge
4 Jun 2011, 19:04
Derick's on the rookie list so he'd have to be upgraded or in for a LTI. Discuss.
Hodge2NormSmith
4 Jun 2011, 19:06
Williams was good over in WA in the NAB Cup.
Ran hard, attacked the footy really well and kicked a few good goals.
Was quite impressed, having said that Sierra, Schnieder and Lisle were all good.
Really enjoyed seeing the kids as it's hard with a young family to get to Box Hill.
So really appreciate the reports - thanks guys!!
ordivician
4 Jun 2011, 19:11
Is Ellis injured ? he did not play.
The only sensible interpretation of the evidence at hand is that Ellis is really struggling with some form of injury handicap and was rested.
IMO he has very serious hip/leg issues that have ruined his season to date.
Derick's on the rookie list so he'd have to be upgraded or in for a LTI. Discuss.
Milne is our nominated rookie. Breust was upgraded for Morton, Morton was then taken off the LTI, and Breust was upgraded for Stratton. No one has been upgraded for Gilham yet AND we can nominate at least one more rookie after round 11 or 12, i can't quite remember, who can play at any time for the rest of the year. My guess is that guys like Sirra, Schneider, and Wanganeen will come into consideration for those last two spots- should we feel we want to play them or rest players against certain teams and blood them for 1 or 2 games each.
Simon_Nesbit
4 Jun 2011, 19:13
First time out at the City Oval, arrived about ten minutes into the first. Stupid lights, missed first train by 30 seconds, 20 minutes later meant I missed connection by 3 minutes, and finally got on train 50 minutes after schedule. So much for lunch before the game.
Good to meet rd, TFP, HH, and to observe some other BF-ites identified as HH and X IIRC. (on that note, special thanks to rd, whom everytime he went to introduce me they were gone).
Random thoughts:
Simpson dominated our rucks early, but seemed to tire midway through the second, as we rotated Renouf, Lowden, Hale and even Pattison at various times. Apparently started PJ, but he was gone before I got there. From that period in the second our rucks were generally on top, but we were far less efficient in finding loose players around the packs.
Shannon Byrnes is a cat, in all senses of the word. Troubled us with his pace and 'cheating' the packs - any time we lost the contest he was 5-10m ahead in space. Christensen was impressive.
Enough about the cats. Keep in mind for many of these players it's the first time I've seen them live, so any judgements are based purely on today.
Boumann was excellent defensively, some great spoils on the lead, a few strong second efforts, and showed his judgement leaving his opponent (usually Hawkins) to help out others. It was a different story once he got the ball however - kicking was iffy at best, generally just long down the boundary (or handpass to running player ala Hawthorn ruckman).
Gibson - got a lot of the ball, and if you'd told me it was Sam Mitchell out there I'd be tempted to believe you. Half-a-dozen times he got the first possession at the bounce, only to jink onto his left and kick "around" the ball - sending it 15-30m forward almost blindly. I actually had to ask if he was a left- or right- footer, as it just looked unnatural. Still, he obviously knows how to get it, and once Lowden, Hale (and finally Renouf) got on top of the ruck he came to the fore.
Tim Northe/Luke Andrews - I've grouped them together because it wasn't until half-time I realised they were different players. :eek: Both tiny, both got a lot of the pill and added lots of energy around the contests (even if his tackles were easily broken due to lack of size/strength). If they were 5cm taller, they'd be a potential AFL player IMO. (so long as they only count as one).
Lowden - doesn't appear as "intimidatingly tall" as Max, but I'm reliably informed he is actually taller. Looked very ungainly when disposing by foot, but made space well, was used in transition, and showed his pace running away from the contest at one stage. Got better as the game went on, and his opponent(s) tired. Didn't seem to understand how to play key forward, got stuck in the square and didn't make contests.
Williams - Very impressed. Extremely good vision, "neat" kick (close to 100% efficiency, chose good options, kicking to 'pockets' of space). Biggest concern is the "make space, collect, stop, find team-mate, dispose accurately" system of his play - extremely reminiscent of another player I rated highly...if only he'd take the game on more (Ellis).
Duryea - a couple of examples of his athleticism (huge spring running back with the flight), and some good penetrative kicks out of defence. Seemed to play space rather than a direct opponent, but took a few intercepting marks in defence.
Sierakowski - clearly a crowd favourite, he took (and gave out) a couple of big hits through courage and reading the play - at one stage he saw the hit coming, but still leapt high and put his body on the line, eventually resulting in a goal from the turnover. Apparently got plenty of ball, but didn't stand out to me - perhaps getting lots in close?
Wanganeen - Played about 25 minutes at a level that screams AFL player. Laid 4 tackles in the last ten minutes of the first playing HFF/wing, then played onball for much of the second, getting a few kicks, but more importantly impacting on the scoreboard through smart, HARD running into space in our forward-line. Officially impressed.
Hale - big, immobile forward. big, immobile ruck. Showed his intelligence and game understanding on occassion, leading into "dead" areas and drawing extra defenders to him - allowing teammates (Wanganeen twice, also Smith and Jackson) the space to mark uncontested.
Morton - Headless chook early, worked into the game once moved to defence in the second. Solid game, but clearly needs game time - fitness isn't his issue, but fitting into a gameplan seems to be.
Smith - run and kick outside, also showed a capacity for an inside game (though only competent). Tackles were broken far too easily, and doesn't seem to balance himself before tackling (sidestepped/arm tackles only). Very good game though, bandaged look included. Very poor marking target under pressure - feels it before it arrives. (Doesn't squib, but is hesitant rather than attacking the drop zone). Didn't like him as a leading forward at all.
Renouf - Came off about a minute after I got there blowing really hard, and that was the story all day. Was playing a "kick" behind play, but too often was caught in no-man's land 25m ahead. Is quick, and mobile - but slow of mind and not particularly agile defensively. That said clearly needed the run, and will be much better next week.
Ladson - At this level his vision and disposal stands out as elite. Shows how much difference there is as he looks like a tank at this level, and usually manages to break tackles, making him a far more effective player. Again only lasted 4-5 minute bursts playing midfield, but our most effective player entering 50m.
randall boner
4 Jun 2011, 19:18
sirra and wanganeen look the goods both will play for hawthorn maybe not this year but definately next.:thumbsu:
TheFourPillars
4 Jun 2011, 19:24
On a great Saturday afternoon with the sun shining I ventured out to good old Box Hill. It was good to be back after missing the last encounter at home. Was also good to catch up with Big X, HH , Simon and RDH. I must be honest I also came out there to see a young Geelong forward take the field in Mitchell Brown.
The 1st Quarter started off at a frantic pace and Geelong really put us to the sword. Should have been all over in the first had they kicked straighter. They ran in numbers and smashed us at the clearances. We struggled to get our hands on it on many occasions when they went forward. There were plenty of skill errors by foot and hand. Young Andrews, Gibson, Jackson, Mirra and Neal were the only ones who could hold their heads high Kiel got a lot of it also but burnt it by foot going forward. Paul Johnson limped off about 10 or so minutes in and we ended up with the ridiculous situation of having little Thompson on Tomahawk. A duel he pretty much lost. Thank god for the siren and Wanganeen who was the only one forward who looked like kicking a goal.
The 2nd quarter was much better effort by the boys. We lifted our intensity and tackling and our confidence and skills lifted with them. Andrews was simply brilliant in the second qtr. He was in and under and at the clearances a real hard nut. Sierakowski had a fantastic second quarter took great contested marks and his kicking is a delight. The kid really picked it up in the second after an ordinary first qtr. With Boumann, Mirra and Morton playing back and Ladson, Gibson, Jackson and Smith running the lines it was a good come back by box hill to take the lead leading into half time. Young Williams did some nice things in that 2nd quarter and Wanganeen was still a livewire up forward.
The 3rd Quarter was a dour struggle neither side really gaining an ascendancy. The cats were playing us on the break all game. Killing us with ball over the top to score. They have some quick players in their side in Christensen and byrnes in fact Christensen was in their best all day. Renouf was getting to a lot of contests and got his hands on a lot of high balls but just failed to hold on to them. He was having a reasonable day in the ruck. Our defence was holding up reasonably Boumann, Morton and Mirra were playing well. We just couldn’t execute our skills going forward so many times Box Hill streamed forward to kick to a Geelong player or kick it wide of our leading player or just over their head. Extremely frustrating and it had happened all day. The end of the 3rd and it was anyone’s game.
The final quarter went down to the wire. Ladson had a great last quarter and really showed some leadership out there. Renouf finally got his hands on one late in the last a great contested mark and lead to a shot on goal. The game was goal for goal Gibson and Jackson were great. One of the moments of the game was tap out from a ruck contest from pattison that went straight to wanganeen running at full tilt to kick his 4th. Unfortunately for the hawks as had been the game so far they were caught on the break on a turnover. The ball bounced awkwardly in between two box hill players near the hawks 50 and straight into a Geelong’s players hands and they transitioned and kicked the goal on the break to even the score from there they kicked a point which actually was at a stoppage in their forward line where the ball hit the post. Box Hill had one last chance and they got the ball out to young Nothe almost on the 50 it proved to be too much for the youngster as the ball dropped short and went out of bounds. The siren sounded as the ball was thrown in. A lost opportunity for the hawks but for Geelong their first win and the Geelong boys were over the moon.
Best players: Andrews, Ladson, Gibson, Mirra, Wanganeen, and Jackson although honourable mentions to sierra who did have a good game and smith who did flash in with some good touches
Collins-Langford-Ayres
4 Jun 2011, 21:26
Why do BH keep losing?
go hawks!!!
4 Jun 2011, 21:44
Why do BH keep losing?
God question? might be because HFC listed players coming in and underperforming i.e Jonson, Morton?
Traditional stangers will be pissed with what is going on.
FriarTuck
4 Jun 2011, 22:22
Why do BH keep losing?
It was only by a point.
We were insanely top heavy. Hale, Lowden, Suzie, PJ and Patto is too many slow movers.
We have almost no strong bodied mids and KPD sized players. Boumann is tall but looked 25kgs lighter than Hawkins. Gibson is the exception, nearly all the BHH guys are goers but are all small.
Team balance is not helping.
The BIG X
5 Jun 2011, 07:33
That sums it up in a nut shell - Friar:thumbsu:
But we shoud have at least drawn:eek:
its game on
5 Jun 2011, 08:44
It was only by a point.
We were insanely top heavy. Hale, Lowden, Suzie, PJ and Patto is too many slow movers.
We have almost no strong bodied mids and KPD sized players. Boumann is tall but looked 25kgs lighter than Hawkins. Gibson is the exception, nearly all the BHH guys are goers but are all small.
Team balance is not helping.
That is what's lacking every week, plenty of outside guys like Williams, Smith, Wanga, Duryea who are all young, tiny/small bodied players. No inside grunt at the foot of the ruckmen to block, bump, tackle and rip the ball from the opposition at stoppages. Gibson's stands out as a goer but he's on his own, and he's actually not that big anyway. Hallahan and Mahoney look likely types but are still boys, but they're only first years anyway when up against teams like Ballarat.
Some chunky un-caged animals like Sewell and Mitchell is what's needed.
The rock at CHB last year in Pedersen has been sorely missed.
Losing Pederson,Markovic and Curnow would be a huge loss.
Doesn't really matter, win or lose. Actually it matters not a zack except when there is no-one for the fringe players to play in September. BHH is just the learning/training ground.
Stangers supporters can't be upset with that. Te alternative is Hawthorn goes it alone and Box Hill leaves the VFL. They have decided long ago the current situation is the lesser of two evils.
Injuries are hurting the BHH side with Gilham, Stratts, Changa, Franko, Savage, Ellis, Musto, Bruce etc out of action for one reason or another.
The Convert
5 Jun 2011, 13:28
Doesn't really matter, win or lose. Actually it matters not a zack except when there is no-one for the fringe players to play in September. BHH is just the learning/training ground.
Stangers supporters can't be upset with that. Te alternative is Hawthorn goes it alone and Box Hill leaves the VFL. They have decided long ago the current situation is the lesser of two evils.
Injuries are hurting the BHH side with Gilham, Stratts, Changa, Franko, Savage, Ellis, Musto, Bruce etc out of action for one reason or another.
That is a piss poor attitude to members of a proud club. You should be ashamed if it is your true belief.
Winning games is as much a factor of effort and strength of mind as absolute skill. If posters on this site believe the listed players are not puttin gin the effort then the results speak for themselves and the road to senior footy becomes that much harder.
The only sensible interpretation of the evidence at hand is that Ellis is really struggling with some form of injury handicap and was rested.
IMO he has very serious hip/leg issues that have ruined his season to date.
Yeah he's actually done a calf now, can't take a trick
Sorry for the late report this week.
Didn't see the reserves, only got in time fore the seniors. Was quite open game at times, other times there was a lot of stoppages and numbers around the ball. Geelong seemed to spread better from the stoppages, and they managed to get the ball inside 50 more than us, especially in the first quarter. They should of had a 6-7 goal lead but because of continual easy misses we stayed in the game. We were good to keep plugging away for most of the day. Unfortunately in the third quarter despite Box Hill dominating we did the reverse, and did not take our chances.
Was probably more due to the face we lacked a forward target, where as Geelong had a couple including their midfielders who pushed up well. Should of still sown the game in the end, even in the last quarter we had the ascendency but then they got a sniff and took the lead with not long too go. Tim Northe who was a real goer all day, (I think he lead the tackle count for us), had a shot 50m out, but couldn't even manage a score. In the end the ball as double-fisted out by Christensen, a thrown in came but it was to late a 1 point loss. Disappointing losing like this at home, especially against a win-less side but at least they didn't give up until the end.
I list the players in no particular order. Johnson went down injured in the first quarter.
Boumann had below par day. Made Hawkins look like Carey. Constantly outmarked and outplayed all day. It was only for Hawkins inaccuracy otherwise he would have had another bag kicked on him today. To his credit did a couple of nice things in the last quarter. I would not put him on the list next year and would start shopping around.
Despite the lack of KF, Hoegel presented well with some good leads. Got the ball inside 50 heaps, but his disposal went from excellent to average. Just needed to be a bit more composed, more often. Overall had a good game.
Jackson was quite poor today. Didn't win a lot of possessions and when he used it was average. Didn't really win any contested ball and you would expect more.
Neil was very impressive in the first quarter when the ball was coming in think and fast in defence. Some good desperation and composure. Not as good later on but competed well most of the day and was quite good. Errors were at a minimum.
Kiel was probably BOG today for Box Hill. Was everywhere around the ground, and was generally involved in everything. Just a few errors which cost us, which included a run down tackled which then gave Geelong the momentum back in last quarter. Could've of been the difference.
Below par for his lofty standards for the captain, Gibson did okay. Usually gets more of the ball, and didn't win as many clearances as he should of. Missed an easy goal in the last quarter from 15m out.
Pattison rucked pretty well, did okay around the ground, got a few possessions but that was about it.
Consistently wins his position week in, week out. Have not seen him play a bad game yet, actually, all excellent games. Doesn't get beaten. I'm just going to claim it now - future All Australian defender will be Mirra, whether we pick him up or not.
Was impressed with the slight Tim Northe today. He's is a real goer, tackles, runs hard, just doesn't have a lot penetration on his kick. For such a small kid plays hard.
Cass was really good today. Was in and under, evasive and good kick. Consistent four quarters. Impressed.
Andrews was okay today, but didn't win a lot of possessions. Most were contested and handballs.
Lowden is starting to seem to be getting fatigued over the course of the year. Was shouldering most of the ruck duties for the year until Bailey became fit but now he struggles to get in the game. Still doesn't win a lot tapouts and very rarely seen him go on his dashing runs. Seems fatigued.
Williams was hardly seen today. Would of liked if he tried a bit harder.
Dureya had an okay game. Usually looks class when he has it, with smart disposals, kicks, taps, but unfortunately doesn't get to enough contests. In the second hhalf played HB and generally did well in one-on-one contests. Just needed to find more of the pill.
Siera had a pretty good game. Took some good contested marks, and used the ball really well today, of HB and on the wing. Probably would of liked to seem him play forward more as we need someone with elite skills to get it inside. The couple of times he ventured forward was really effective.
Wanganeen was our best forward today. Real opportune goals, all four of them. Had a couple of assists. Looks like his continually improving and his looking like a quality and classy players.
Smith was okay today. Made a lot of run of half back, used the ball quite well, just didn't get inside 50 that much. Kicked a couple of nice goals and was one of the better players on the day.
Ladson was probably in our best today, especially in the second quarter when he went in very hard for several contests, had the crowd cheering a couple of times. Didn't really win a lot of the ball and his disposal was okay but didn't pinpoint his usual passes inside 50. I still would like to see him promoted this week.
Renouf coming back from injury looked like he was moving pretty well. Rucked okay without winning, was super impressive in the last quarter. Another week in the 2's I'm guessing.
Hale looked quite slow today despite kicking a couple of goals. One was gift from the umpire for a FK in the square. A few times he led well, but just seems more of a liability than anything else. Well beaten by his opponent today.
Morton played HB. Like Smith try to provide run but unlike Smith didn't do as much. Coming of an injury and was obviously still not match fit.
That is a piss poor attitude to members of a proud club. You should be ashamed if it is your true belief.
Winning games is as much a factor of effort and strength of mind as absolute skill. If posters on this site believe the listed players are not puttin gin the effort then the results speak for themselves and the road to senior footy becomes that much harder.
The team on top of the of the AFL, their reserves, managed to get their first win this week by a point, in a game they probably could of easily lost. Collingwood's reserves aren't doing that well either.
Anyway, good post. :rolleyes:
The BIG X
6 Jun 2011, 03:49
Ofcourse BHH want to win games and play in the finals and the ultimate of winning a flag.
The Development team has and will succeed in this.
The reality of it is that BHH's Senior team is the leadup to HFC and is obliged to follow Hawthorn's game plan and play certain players in particular positions.
This is Damian Carroll's biggest test (along with previous BHH coaches of late) to fit in with HFC and produce a winning combination for BHH.
Very hard line to fit.
Roby's comment above is very pertinent
powermax
6 Jun 2011, 07:33
Sorry for the late report this week.
Didn't see the reserves, only got in time fore the seniors. Was quite open game at times, other times there was a lot of stoppages and numbers around the ball. Geelong seemed to spread better from the stoppages, and they managed to get the ball inside 50 more than us, especially in the first quarter. They should of had a 6-7 goal lead but because of continual easy misses we stayed in the game. We were good to keep plugging away for most of the day. Unfortunately in the third quarter despite Box Hill dominating we did the reverse, and did not take our chances.
Was probably more due to the face we lacked a forward target, where as Geelong had a couple including their midfielders who pushed up well. Should of still sown the game in the end, even in the last quarter we had the ascendency but then they got a sniff and took the lead with not long too go. Tim Northe who was a real goer all day, (I think he lead the tackle count for us), had a shot 50m out, but couldn't even manage a score. In the end the ball as double-fisted out by Christensen, a thrown in came but it was to late a 1 point loss. Disappointing losing like this at home, especially against a win-less side but at least they didn't give up until the end.
I list the players in no particular order. Johnson went down injured in the first quarter.
Boumann had below par day. Made Hawkins look like Carey. Constantly outmarked and outplayed all day. It was only for Hawkins inaccuracy otherwise he would have had another bag kicked on him today. To his credit did a couple of nice things in the last quarter. I would not put him on the list next year and would start shopping around.
Despite the lack of KF, Hoegel presented well with some good leads. Got the ball inside 50 heaps, but his disposal went from excellent to average. Just needed to be a bit more composed, more often. Overall had a good game.
Jackson was quite poor today. Didn't win a lot of possessions and when he used it was average. Didn't really win any contested ball and you would expect more.
Neil was very impressive in the first quarter when the ball was coming in think and fast in defence. Some good desperation and composure. Not as good later on but competed well most of the day and was quite good. Errors were at a minimum.
Kiel was probably BOG today for Box Hill. Was everywhere around the ground, and was generally involved in everything. Just a few errors which cost us, which included a run down tackled which then gave Geelong the momentum back in last quarter. Could've of been the difference.
Below par for his lofty standards for the captain, Gibson did okay. Usually gets more of the ball, and didn't win as many clearances as he should of. Missed an easy goal in the last quarter from 15m out.
Pattison rucked pretty well, did okay around the ground, got a few possessions but that was about it.
Consistently wins his position week in, week out. Have not seen him play a bad game yet, actually, all excellent games. Doesn't get beaten. I'm just going to claim it now - future All Australian defender will be Mirra, whether we pick him up or not.
Was impressed with the slight Tim Northe today. He's is a real goer, tackles, runs hard, just doesn't have a lot penetration on his kick. For such a small kid plays hard.
Cass was really good today. Was in and under, evasive and good kick. Consistent four quarters. Impressed.
Andrews was okay today, but didn't win a lot of possessions. Most were contested and handballs.
Lowden is starting to seem to be getting fatigued over the course of the year. Was shouldering most of the ruck duties for the year until Bailey became fit but now he struggles to get in the game. Still doesn't win a lot tapouts and very rarely seen him go on his dashing runs. Seems fatigued.
Williams was hardly seen today. Would of liked if he tried a bit harder.
Dureya had an okay game. Usually looks class when he has it, with smart disposals, kicks, taps, but unfortunately doesn't get to enough contests. In the second hhalf played HB and generally did well in one-on-one contests. Just needed to find more of the pill.
Siera had a pretty good game. Took some good contested marks, and used the ball really well today, of HB and on the wing. Probably would of liked to seem him play forward more as we need someone with elite skills to get it inside. The couple of times he ventured forward was really effective.
Wanganeen was our best forward today. Real opportune goals, all four of them. Had a couple of assists. Looks like his continually improving and his looking like a quality and classy players.
Smith was okay today. Made a lot of run of half back, used the ball quite well, just didn't get inside 50 that much. Kicked a couple of nice goals and was one of the better players on the day.
Ladson was probably in our best today, especially in the second quarter when he went in very hard for several contests, had the crowd cheering a couple of times. Didn't really win a lot of the ball and his disposal was okay but didn't pinpoint his usual passes inside 50. I still would like to see him promoted this week.
Renouf coming back from injury looked like he was moving pretty well. Rucked okay without winning, was super impressive in the last quarter. Another week in the 2's I'm guessing.
Hale looked quite slow today despite kicking a couple of goals. One was gift from the umpire for a FK in the square. A few times he led well, but just seems more of a liability than anything else. Well beaten by his opponent today.
Morton played HB. Like Smith try to provide run but unlike Smith didn't do as much. Coming of an injury and was obviously still not match fit.
What game were you at....Williams had 20 possessions....100% effective and was responsible for getting us back into the game in the second qtr
FriarTuck
6 Jun 2011, 11:03
What game were you at....
Good to read some passion PM. Please only quote parts of a post as it is easier to read.
Where is Williams? He can show some toe and he is a good rather than a great user of the pill. His speed is not AFL class and his hands/vision dont appear to be better than most at the VFL. He needs to show something that puts him ahead of the pack.
The Convert
6 Jun 2011, 14:01
Ofcourse BHH want to win games and play in the finals and the ultimate of winning a flag.
The Development team has and will succeed in this.
The reality of it is that BHH's Senior team is the leadup to HFC and is obliged to follow Hawthorn's game plan and play certain players in particular positions.
This is Damian Carroll's biggest test (along with previous BHH coaches of late) to fit in with HFC and produce a winning combination for BHH.
Very hard line to fit.
Roby's comment above is very pertinent
I understand that difficulty but no matter the game plan players playing for each other and the jumper will impress a selector a lot more than a player doing the selfish or the easy thing. Not saying any one is but if a player is not 100% committed to that game it makes it very difficult for him to get selected to a higher level. Also, winning is a very important habit to develop.
Hopefully there will be a few more wins in the near future.
ordivician
7 Jun 2011, 11:06
Yeah he's actually done a calf now, can't take a trick
:thumbsu:
Thank you for that clarification as I was concerned that his hip had flared up again.
Hopefully he can have an injuring free run and be able to play some footy in teh second half of the season.