View Full Version : Team next week

kimp
13 Sep 2003, 08:39
I'd like to see Hadley stay in at Caracella's cost.

Hopefully Scott will make it back and that's all the changes we need. I think the team is used to playing together again and that's why we're seeing the flashes of brilliance that we know and love.

One concern is Chopper though- what did he do to his ankle?

LionHeart20
13 Sep 2003, 09:47
I thought Hadley was fantastic last night.
Hopefully Chris Scott is right to play against Sydney he's very important to the team..

Choppers twisted an ankle.

Stocka
13 Sep 2003, 09:59
Apart from the inane dislike of Caracella by a few people on the board, I actually thought he was reasonably well-performed last night.

He fumbled a couple of times, and probably should have done better in front of goal, but, he was quite busy, and was very effective as a link man, popping up on numerous right in the spot where we needed him, and choosing the right option pretty much on every occasion.

Hadley did enough to keep his position, for mine. He only played just over a quarter, but had a go and got amongst it. He looked quite composed out there, for a young player, although, I still think bringing him off the bench is the manner to achieve this, in such big games.

If Ashcroft is out through injury, I'd suspect that if C.Scott is available, it will be a straight swap, with this being the only change made to the side. Shattock is also another name to consider, and by appearances, the coaching staff seem to like his versatility and endeavour. However, both Shattock and C.Scott have been troubled by injury (this being the reason for their absence from the team), and you wouldn't want to put to much weight on the prospect of them being fully ready for this week, either.

In this regard, Notting WILL be available (coming back from suspension), and may give the selectors something to think about, considering he's had some very good games in finals before. However, he was very average last week, when we needed him to step up, and likewise, has had an ordinary year (for a variety of reasons).

It'll be interesting to see who's included and who isn't. If we rest the likes of C.Scott, M.Ashcroft and A.Shattock, and manage to win against Sydney, there is the chance that we may have the opportunity to bring these players back for the GF.

kimp
13 Sep 2003, 10:24
I'd forgotten about Shatts. Hope he comes up as well. Caracella's decisions in front of goal were abysmal.

Crimso
13 Sep 2003, 10:50
For one Ashley McGrath needs to be kept in the starting team as well. He really looks hungry for a GF medallion. This guy is playing some really good footy and any person that mentions his name as trade bait should face automatic neutering. :)

And Copeland is showing that he can make quick decisions when required and is fast becoming pretty much a required player for us.

Caracella was pretty good last night as Stocka pointed out and I think he is needed as that player that knows how to find space and use the ball. He could have done better in front of goals but then so could a couple of other blokes.

I think the team looked pretty good last night and I liked what I saw in Hadley, so I hope his name is dropped from serious trade talk, so if Choppers is out (if) I would reckon that only leaves a choice between C. Scott and Shattock to come in. For mine I reckon rest Scotty, Choppers and Notting, bring Shattock in and play Hadley off the bench as fresh legs will be needed against Sydney.

Mr Ripper
13 Sep 2003, 11:04
Blake was grouse last night. Fluffed one chance, but apart from that had a stellar game, I thought.

SpecialBruce
13 Sep 2003, 13:11
Compare Notting's Quarter Final compared to Hadley's Semi Final and you will see that Hadley will stay in ahead of Notting.

If C Scott is available, only the one change will be made. And that would be resting Ashcroft. We need all the legs we can for Sydney if we are to stand a chance of winning. The running game needs to be on and we need all the fresh legs we can get.

Shattock I would be surprised if he plays in such a big game. The reason is this. Coming back from Injury, not playing for a few weeks, might not give us the fresh legs we need against Sydney.

Hadley can play in the midfield and down back and that is something Notting and Shattock can't do. Voss might not play much next week anyway and if for example, the midfield aern't on their game like they were last night and not providing the run, Hadley will be used for the fresh legs.

Based on these assumptions, I can't see Hadley being dropped and only the one change will be made. Either Scott or Notting for Ashcroft.

acuguy
13 Sep 2003, 13:15
I want Possum back in next week,

Maverick
13 Sep 2003, 13:56
As much as I like Possum as a player...he has not been in the best of form...and I can't see the selectors bringing him back in.

Assuming C Scott back for say Hadley (not saying Hadley should be dropped, but just the way our selection panel think...very conservative and reluctant to play youth where this can be avoided)......think that will be the only change.

If Shattock ready to resume...he may possibly come in for Caracella who seems to be out of favour with matthews over the past fortnight.

SpecialBruce
13 Sep 2003, 14:04
Another thing I have found was a comment by Leigh Matthews following the game!

"I thought he did a good job when he came on. He made some really good contests and fed the ball out a couple of times. I thought Richard was very serviceable in his time on the field.”

Being cool and composed would have impressed Matthews.

The selectors will have a tough time on Thursday. Could be possible that there are no changes.

luthor
13 Sep 2003, 14:06
This makes a change for us.

We may actually have the embarrassment of choice next week.

Regarding Caracella, I'm puzzled why so many have such a dim view of him.

He got a couple of bad bounces when chasing down loose balls in the forward line, one which just kept running deep into the pocket. By the time he gathered, the defence had got back and he had nothing really to kick to. Yet sections of the crowd were onto him in a flash.

Overall he had a decent game I thought, got a good swag of possessions, didn't waste many of them, picked a lot of good options and mopped up well in the back half when sent there.

He effected a very important spoil on a much taller opponent at half back when the game was still in the balance and Adelaide were looking dangerous.

Maybe it's the "ex-Essendon" thing but a lot of people seem keen to bag him and reluctant to acknowledge the many good things he's done this year.

He's playing for us now and I think it's time he got some support.

Anyway, having gone to a lot of trouble to aquire him as more or less, a direct replacement for Des "The Runaway Bride" Headland, what the hell would be the point in sending him packing after one season?

Give hima chance and give him some support.

SpecialBruce
13 Sep 2003, 14:18
Originally posted by luthor
This makes a change for us.

We may actually have the embarrassment of choice next week.

Regarding Caracella, I'm puzzled why so many have such a dim view of him.

He got a couple of bad bounces when chasing down loose balls in the forward line, one which just kept running deep into the pocket. By the time he gathered, the defence had got back and he had nothing really to kick to. Yet sections of the crowd were onto him in a flash.

Overall he had a decent game I thought, got a good swag of possessions, didn't waste many of them, picked a lot of good options and mopped up well in the back half when sent there.

He effected a very important spoil on a much taller opponent at half back when the game was still in the balance and Adelaide were looking dangerous.

Maybe it's the "ex-Essendon" thing but a lot of people seem keen to bag him and reluctant to acknowledge the many good things he's done this year.

He's playing for us now and I think it's time he got some support.

Anyway, having gone to a lot of trouble to aquire him as more or less, a direct replacement for Des "The Runaway Bride" Headland, what the hell would be the point in sending him packing after one season?

Give hima chance and give him some support.

He's had two really good games this year for us. I think everyone expected more out of him this year, I know I did. On the pay he's getting, he failed to produce on a more consistent basis.

SpecialBruce
13 Sep 2003, 14:25
Originally posted by LionHeart20
I thought Hadley was fantastic last night.
Hopefully Chris Scott is right to play against Sydney he's very important to the team..

Choppers twisted an ankle.

Yep as did I! :)

Scott hopefully is right because he is handy to have down back.

Choppers actually twisted a knee by reports I've heard.

luthor
13 Sep 2003, 14:30
Originally posted by Maverick
As much as I like Possum as a player...he has not been in the best of form...and I can't see the selectors bringing him back in.

Assuming C Scott back for say Hadley (not saying Hadley should be dropped, but just the way our selection panel think...very conservative and reluctant to play youth where this can be avoided)......think that will be the only change.

If Shattock ready to resume...he may possibly come in for Caracella who seems to be out of favour with matthews over the past fortnight.

Firstly, gotta agree with you there about what you said about Notting.

Now about Caracaella.

Personally, I think way too much is made of this"out of favour" caper.

At several points this season we have seen plenty of players sitting out large sections of games.

Bradshaw, Shattock, McGrath and even Lynch and Michael have sat on the pine at various stages for almost an entire match. Yet no-one suggested that any of these guys were suddenly "out of favour"

Matthews coaching style appears to be built on getting match ups right. If a player doesn't have at least a break even match up, they sit on the bench. This happened to BOTH Michael and LYNCH at least once this season.

The suggestion that someome is "out of favour" implies that the coach has got the *****s with then for some reason that he's keeping a secret.....they beat him at ping-pong, let the air out of his tyres after training, farted at the dinner table when over at his place for tea, cracked a joke he didn't like or refused to polish his shoes when it was their turn.

Sorry, Matthews is a professional coach and I just think he's too astute to let "favours" influence his selections or coaching moves.

luthor
13 Sep 2003, 14:58
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
He's had two really good games this year for us. I think everyone expected more out of him this year, I know I did. On the pay he's getting, he failed to produce on a more consistent basis.

SB, it doesn't matter how much you pay him, or anyone else for that matter.

If they don't get the game time they can't perform.

Anyway, how do you know how much they are paying him?

I grant you that he's been a little inconsistent this year, but hell, he's not alone there.

In matches where he has had solid game time I reckon he has been good overall.

As I said before, I just can't see the point in ditching him after one season. If my memory serves me right, he signed for TWO years only. We owe it to him, but more importantly to ourselves to keep him next year to get our money's worth.

If we are going to adopt a revolving door policy for draftees from other clubs on the basis that they are instant stars, or they are out, we won't be attracting too many more well-performed players in the future.

And the reality of AFL life is that all clubs have to do just this, to keep their player stocks up.

Caracella came willingly to the Lions because he wanted to be part of a vibrant, professional and successful club (HIS stated reasons), He had OTHER options. No-one forced him here.

What I am saying is that talk of trading him after one year is stupid and would reduce our credibility as a viable option for disaffected players from other clubs or those forced out due to salary cap issues.

It's time we accepted him as one of our own and accepted that he SHOULD stay for at least one more season to fulfil his contract.

kimp
13 Sep 2003, 17:05
Walking out of the game last night the only bad things I heard were about Caracella. Also the commentary on NIRS were also less than complimentary.

This player is in his mid 20s and he has extensive finals experience. Making decisions on whether he should stay or not wouldn't you rather keep some of the younger guys? And shouldn't we take into consideration his wishes as well?

Mr Ripper
13 Sep 2003, 18:55
Originally posted by kimp
Walking out of the game last night the only bad things I heard were about Caracella. Also the commentary on NIRS were also less than complimentary.

This player is in his mid 20s and he has extensive finals experience. Making decisions on whether he should stay or not wouldn't you rather keep some of the younger guys? And shouldn't we take into consideration his wishes as well? And people think I have a hang up over number 12!

lioncub
13 Sep 2003, 18:57
And Mr Ripper how many times has Aker proven himself??

Mr Ripper
13 Sep 2003, 18:58
In Grand Finals? Zero.

But you completely missed my point anyway. :rolleyes:

Mr Ripper
13 Sep 2003, 19:04
Correction, you proved my point.

SpecialBruce
13 Sep 2003, 23:37
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
In Grand Finals? Zero.

If my memory is correct, Jason Akermanis set up 2 or 3 goals in last year's Grand Final and kicked the winning goal basically with a few minutes to go over his head. Is my memory correct? He has proven himself, not in the Aka way of winning games, but he has proved himself in Grand Final alright.

OldLion
14 Sep 2003, 00:51
I think Akermanis has adapted his game to play with his injury - his goal kicking has been ordinary. He seems to be playing deeper and he's been solid for a few weeks now. His entries into the 50 plus his trademark running goals v Crows says he's back. He really is our match winner and was missed in the last quarter v Pies.

Lions2k2
14 Sep 2003, 02:16
Surely everyone agrees that Aker was the one who got us to the 2001 G/F, he was on fire that year and in most of 2002, this year i think started off slow but starting to come good in the last couple of months

Mr Ripper
15 Sep 2003, 18:37
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
If my memory is correct, Jason Akermanis set up 2 or 3 goals in last year's Grand Final and kicked the winning goal basically with a few minutes to go over his head. Is my memory correct? Nope. There was the handball to Voss in the third. Can't really think of any others. Was involved in the play a little before the Black goal in the second, but you could hardly claim he "set it up".