View Full Version : Get down to the WAFL GF...
eagleskickass
15 Sep 2003, 03:57
Any of you who are not busy this coming Sunday COME TO THE WAFL Grand Final!!. Seriously its a cheap day out, cheaper than AFL AND its footy, and its a grand final. Today we had 7760 people there and the atmosphere was great(and my team wasnt even playing, but it was awesome) and i cant think of anything id like to see more than a packed subi oval for a WAFL grand final. Doubt it'll happen this year, but seriously, regardless of who you follow try and get down to the game (or be like me and come and watch all three grades:))
ALSO for any of you WAFL followers out there wanna have a meet up at the game?
GO TO THE WAFL GF!:cool:
...and see the mighty Falcons win.
Voice of Reason
15 Sep 2003, 11:25
I and the usual 5,000 Falcon hordes will be there.
Plus 15,000 West Perth bandwagoners.
And I hear that all 5 Subi fans and EKA are going to attend, along with their bank manager.
Add in the free tickets and there might be a decent crowd.
I was at the prelim yesterday.
Royals were listless and game was over after a rampaging second quarter by the Joondalup Falcons (much better name)
Chambers was easily the classiest player on the park. He also wants to stay in WA with the Eagles so I don't think he will e traded.
Longmuir made up in passion and effort for what he lacks in skills. If Chambers had that passion he would be phenomenal.
Humm at times looked like the Royals lone ranger, hard tackling, good hands but foot disdposal let him down.
Those three were best on ground IMO by far.
younk kid called Bradley would be a good draft pickup.
Ridley looked better in attack than Wilson.
Whinge
The citizenship ceromony that delayed the start was IMO inapropriate
Why can't WAFL clubs create unique identities rather than remaining shadows of VFL clubs, with the same club songs.
A disappointing result for the Royals - our aging warriors just could not go another two weeks. However I would rather lose a preliminary final than a Grand Final which I fear is what would have happened if we had gone on another week.
Callum was unstoppable - I was calling for him to be delisted and sent back to Victoria where he belongs :) but only for the duration of the game - he is now still one of my favourites!
I don't know who will win next week - couldn't care less really :)
Injuries derailed the Royals season as it did the Eagles. I hope the football gods are a lot kinder to both clubs next season.
I hope the news on Luke Webster is not as we fear. A third knee reconstruction would be just too cruel for such a quality young man to have to endure.
I though I saw a clone of spider Burton out there yesterday in Kepler Bradley. Same long skinny arms and legs, same hunched back and same dopey look :D but he sure looks like he can play!!
Frodo - I agree with you - that citizenship ceremony was a complete waste of time. No-one was interested in it. I have no idea what the reasoning was behind it.
And the Royals colours and song are unique in football. They are not a carbon copy of any AFL club.
carneagles
15 Sep 2003, 12:19
I might go just to see what a "West Perth bandwagoner" looks like.
The citizenship ceremony was no doubt another brainwave of that moron talking head Dorrington!
eagleskickass
15 Sep 2003, 13:43
Originally posted by Voice of Reason
And I hear that all 5 Subi fans and EKA are going to attend, along with their bank manager.
unfortunately thats oh so true...:((actually we have about more but they make the noise of about 5 people....)
Still, at least 5 fans and me will be happy next sunday night;)
Originally posted by carneagles
I might go just to see what a "West Perth bandwagoner" looks like.
Careful Carnie, you've been hanging around Dockerland too long.
No bandwagoners here - been following 'em since I was five.
Streaker
15 Sep 2003, 17:08
I was thinking of taking my son down for the experience. How much are tickets to the GF.
eagleskickass
15 Sep 2003, 17:12
I checked the WAFL website for you to see what they are and this is what i got...
"Pricing details for the WAFL finals and Grand Final will be published later in the season
"
eagleskickass
15 Sep 2003, 17:13
For finals i got in for $7(concession) and im guessing grand final for me will be about $10(concession). Id guess adults about 20 and under 15 is still free i think? if not it'll be cheap. Definately think you should take the youngin down;)
Streaker
15 Sep 2003, 17:18
Just might get there.
The last Grand Final I went to was Sth Freo v East Freo back in the 70s. as
eagleskickass
15 Sep 2003, 17:31
thats a long time between drinks, definately better get down there;)
Anyone else whos going up for a meet-up sometime during the game?
Been to the last three WAFL GF's and have been mighty pleased each time. Won't be going next week though :(
Like vicki said probably better our run came to an end in the prelim. rather than the GF as the disappointment of getting so close would be too much to bear. Mind you getting beaten by the garlics isn't the best way to go... Still as I told all my colour blind red and blue supporting friends, come and talk to me when you win three in a row :D *
*yes I am living in the past that is all I have to go on at this point. Videos of 92, 94 AFL triumphs loading into the vcr....
Originally posted by llosis
Been to the last three WAFL GF's and have been mighty pleased each time. Won't be going next week though :(
[/SIZE]
Ah well. At least I got to see the Royals win one flag in person. I was living in London in 2000 (my brother did send me a video of the GF that year though :)) and Sydney in 2001 so I was worried that I'd never see it happen after following East Perth since I was a little tacker.
Originally posted by Mr Q
Ah well. At least I got to see the Royals win one flag in person. I was living in London in 2000 (my brother did send me a video of the GF that year though :)) and Sydney in 2001 so I was worried that I'd never see it happen after following East Perth since I was a little tacker.
Having endured the pain of growing up during a time dearth of East Perth success 2000, and then 2001 and 2002 were incredibly sweet.
Pre-eagles it seemed like all my mates went for the garlics (or East Freo or Perth or Swans etc) and I copped it for years because we were so poor. Wiping away 22 years of pain in 2000 was fantastic! Three very cherished videos in my collection. ;)
carneagles
15 Sep 2003, 20:47
Originally posted by Exeter
No bandwagoners here - been following 'em since I was five. Nah, I meant the blowins VoR was referring to.
|D_J^B_J|
15 Sep 2003, 21:30
I'm just hoping for a West Perth victory so we don't have to hear the Subiaco theme song again...
Damn, that tune is still stuck in my head. :(
Port1978
15 Sep 2003, 23:54
Originally posted by Voice of Reason
Plus 15,000 West Perth bandwagoners.
So aside from myself & the hubby, there'll only be 3 other Subi supporters there? :(
Oh well, we'll be the only happy ones after the game! :D ;)
Port1978
16 Sep 2003, 00:01
Originally posted by eagleskickass
For finals i got in for $7(concession) and im guessing grand final for me will be about $10(concession). Id guess adults about 20 and under 15 is still free i think? if not it'll be cheap. Definately think you should take the youngin down;)
Just bought my tickets today through the club....think they cost $21 or $22 each. Think the most expensicve ticket is $25 for an adult.
Originally posted by |D_J^B_J|
I'm just hoping for a West Perth victory so we don't have to hear the Subiaco theme song again...
Damn, that tune is still stuck in my head. :(
What is the Subi song? can't say i remember ever hearing it
Doesn't matter though, because the "grand old flag " will be ringing out loud and strong.
I reckon that and Tigerland are easily the best club songs going.
eagleskickass
16 Sep 2003, 17:28
Subiaco players know the meaning of success
Dedication is the way to find true happyness
We're the mighty fighting lions, we'll grind them to the ground (not 100% correct as i havent quite worked this line out yet)
To the premiership(2003) we are bound
GLORY GLORY SUBIACO!
Our team is fighting ONNNNNNN!!!!
GO THE LIONS!!!
$20??? no bloody wonder no one goes to WADL grand finals! I know we should have to pay more than normal round games but $14 more than normal and $13 more than finals for a concession?
PATHETIC!
Id prefer to see them a little cheaper and get more people to the game, would still probably make more money too as ticket sales might be equal but more people = more food at the ground sold = more money
Just my opinion.
Port1978
16 Sep 2003, 18:04
Originally posted by Exeter
What is the Subi song? can't say i remember ever hearing it
Subiaco players know the meaning of success
Dedication is the way to ficht for happiness
We're the mighty fighting lions who'll grind them in the ground
To the premiership we're bound
Glory glory Subiaco
The team is striving on
Port1978
16 Sep 2003, 18:10
Originally posted by eagleskickass
$20??? no bloody wonder no one goes to WADL grand finals! I know we should have to pay more than normal round games but $14 more than normal and $13 more than finals for a concession?
PATHETIC!
Id prefer to see them a little cheaper and get more people to the game, would still probably make more money too as ticket sales might be equal but more people = more food at the ground sold = more money
Just my opinion.
I think there are cheaper tickets available for $15 for an adult, not sure. I've got a price list in my Subi magazine I got yesterday. I'll have a look tonight.....
eagleskickass
16 Sep 2003, 19:19
Originally posted by port1978
I think there are cheaper tickets available for $15 for an adult, not sure. I've got a price list in my Subi magazine I got yesterday. I'll have a look tonight.....
Cheers:)
Also just realised the club song i posted was only 1 word wrong, not bad:) GO SUBI!
eagleskickass
16 Sep 2003, 19:20
and am i right in guessing yet again no eagles/dockers/wafl/anything get together is gonna happen?:(
Port1978
16 Sep 2003, 21:22
Alright, got the ticket prices here. These are prices for tickets purchased at the gate on game day:
Premium Standard Public Reserve
Adult: $25 $21 $15
Concession: $18 $15 $9
Children (6-14) $12.50 $9 $2.50
Children (0-5) $10 $7 FREE
Family Adult $25 $21 $15
Family Child $5 $2 FREE
Wheelchair $14.50 $14.50 $9
Wheelchair Att. $14.50 $14.50 $9
Can book through Ticketmaster too but there's a booking fee & credit card fee as well
ImperialPurple
16 Sep 2003, 23:05
Carn the Mighty Bulldogs...
oh what's that...
oh we're not in...
oh finished 6th eh? Didn't make the finals??
Bugger
In that case... CARN the Falcons (always were my second team, must be the smell of garlic I'm attracted to..):eek:
Make sure you get there early to watch the colts grand final. The South Fremantle team is full of stars. Atleast 3 guys who should go inside top 20 in Moody, Hall and Surjan.
That will be an absolute ripper of a game and I'm sure you'll see why people are recommending Roger Kerr for the league job.
Overall should be a good day, even if the Bulldogs arent in the league final, seeing how Kepler, Smith and the Johnson's go in league should be a great.
Originally posted by dasler
That will be an absolute ripper of a game and I'm sure you'll see why people are recommending Roger Kerr for the league job.
Is that Daniel Kerr's Dad?
Sure is sera and you can see why Daniel plays like he does through Roger's coaching style.
Hard, fast precision football...........easy when you have a team like Souths atm but they really would belt the league lol
|D_J^B_J|
16 Sep 2003, 23:45
Anyone know what the crowd figure for the PF was last week?
P.S. Dasler, check your PMs.
eagleskickass
17 Sep 2003, 04:51
dont worry Dasler i shall be there for the colts, know 5-6 of the claremont players who will be playing against South Freo;)
Originally posted by |D_J^B_J|
Anyone know what the crowd figure for the PF was last week?
P.S. Dasler, check your PMs.
about 7,800.
I was there and it was a pretty pathetic turnout for a PF
dont worry Dasler i shall be there for the colts, know 5-6 of the claremont players who will be playing against South Freo
Should be a ripper of a game eka. See the Souths colts as being to strong and will probably blow the game apart in the 1st quarter.
I was there and it was a pretty pathetic turnout for a PF
It was crap wasn't it exeter. South reserves got belted and I stuck around to watch WP v EP and for a supposed "bumber" crowd nobody really turned up did they.
Got the Wes Perf chant going though didnt they HA HA HA
GoEagles
18 Sep 2003, 20:53
I'll be there, as my heart beats true for the red and the blue...
Bandwagoner? Me? No bloody way! Many of my childhood Saturdays was spent sitting on the grass banks or in the L.A Roper Grandstand at Leederville Oval cheering the Falcons on to success.
I hope we smash Subiaco. I want to see Peter Metro's face after Subiaco chokes on another final.