View Full Version : Trading - Trent Croad to return??

Ramma
15 Sep 2003, 11:39
Hey! This is my first post, and, as a mad-keen Hawk, wanted to
suggest something that I may (or may not!) have picked up on
over the last few weeks.
Schwabby intimated over the weekend that the salary-cap issue
is as much to do with getting some more quality players to the club, as much
as it is to maintain the current list - interpretation: we're after some
name players.
Schwabby has already indicated that we need another tall defender.
When asked earlier in the year about the prospect of Trent Croad
coming back to club, both Schwabby and Crawf embraced the idea.
Now, I might be reading this wrongly, but doesn't this start to add up?
Brett Johnston is out of contract, and Chris Connolly has said that Freo
will be chasing some quality mid-fielders, and Johnno is a Perth boy. Chuck
in a draft pick, and something may happen?? I know Croad left in
ambivalent circumstances, and he would need to take a pay-cut, but what
price is that to be back home??
Just flying this out there - I've been thinking about this for a while.
I'm sure you guys will cut me down in flames, but maybe a worthwhile
talking point!

:)

jacqui9
15 Sep 2003, 11:46
Originally posted by Ramma
Hey! This is my first post, and, as a mad-keen Hawk, wanted to
suggest something that I may (or may not!) have picked up on
over the last few weeks.
Schwabby intimated over the weekend that the salary-cap issue
is as much to do with getting some more quality players to the club, as much
as it is to maintain the current list - interpretation: we're after some
name players.
Schwabby has already indicated that we need another tall defender.
When asked earlier in the year about the prospect of Trent Croad
coming back to club, both Schwabby and Crawf embraced the idea.
Now, I might be reading this wrongly, but doesn't this start to add up?
Brett Johnston is out of contract, and Chris Connolly has said that Freo
will be chasing some quality mid-fielders, and Johnno is a Perth boy. Chuck
in a draft pick, and something may happen?? I know Croad left in
ambivalent circumstances, and he would need to take a pay-cut, but what
price is that to be back home??
Just flying this out there - I've been thinking about this for a while.
I'm sure you guys will cut me down in flames, but maybe a worthwhile
talking point!

:)

Hey, welcome to our humble abode Rama. I have the same thoughts as you regarding Trent Croad. Personally, I wasnt happy seeing him leave as I thought given a little time, he could of been a great player for the Hawks. I have always thought he was suited to the CHB position, and could be placed forward as a wild card if we were absolutely desperate.

ViperV10
15 Sep 2003, 13:12
Welcome to the boards.

Personally I wasn't initially happy when we traded Croad but then I realised that he is pretty useless, mostly when he is playing in the forward line. Even when he is in the backline he isn't particularly ground breaking. Leave him in Freo I say.

Ramma
15 Sep 2003, 13:29
Thanks for your welcome!!
I'm not sure if there are too many other key defenders
out in the market, and I'm not sure how many clubs would
have faith in Croad - he knows the club, the club knows him,
and I would think he'd be a good option compared to some
others we have. Stone tries hard, but certainly isn't polished.
A Croad in good nick is certainly something worth having.

no1bankteller
15 Sep 2003, 13:44
I have three things for all the Croad fans to ponder:

1) I remember seeing Trent at the Crown on the day he was traded to Freo. I was with a mate of mine who is a good friends with him and he was over the moon about being traded. All he could talk about was the amount of money that he is about to get at the Dockers.

2) Recently the same mate had spoken to him regarding his future at the Dockers and his words we " I am not sure about footy I think I want to go and model in Europe for few years".

3) IMO he would be an exceptional CHB if he could ever be motivated to play that position. Previously he was always reluctant to play in the backline. His athletic ability provides him with a natural advantage at a CHB and he would not be exposed by his lack of football smarts.

Please note that I would like to see Trent succeed at footy as I do think he is a likeable person, however based on the above I do question his desire to play footy at an AFL elite standard.

Ramma
15 Sep 2003, 13:49
Maybe that motivation will come from being back at a place
he enjoys. He was gutted, if you remember correctly, when he
left - enough media attention on that whole scenario was given.
Sure, money helps, but there is definitely a new trend occurring
now with players - they will sacrifice money for contentment.
Maybe Croad could be one of those??!!

jj flash
15 Sep 2003, 14:05
Trent won't be playing for Hawthorn again.

Ramma
15 Sep 2003, 15:31
Why is that??
The club's opinion of him, or his reluctance to come back??

jacqui9
15 Sep 2003, 15:55
Originally posted by Ramma
Why is that??
The club's opinion of him, or his reluctance to come back??

Would be a bit of both wouldnt it?? Or perhaps the club feels we dont need him.

Trent would perhaps still feel dirty about the way he was traded.

Ramma
15 Sep 2003, 16:19
Sure - and who could blame him??
But, if Freo have had their fill of him, and Schwabby and Crawf have
already publically (different to privately, of course!!) said they would
welcome him (or a player of his type) back, maybe his best option
for the long term is for him to return?? Obviously that is subject to
his feelings!!
Don't get me wrong...I always liked him as a player, even though he
had his flaws, but if there was anyone else better as a KDP as a
possible trade, then go for them. Don't think there will be though.

jj flash
15 Sep 2003, 17:06
Current HFC players were more than happy to see him go. He won't be playing for Hawthorn again.

bjamd
15 Sep 2003, 19:21
WE NEED ANOTHER USELESS TALL LIKE A HOLE IN THE HEAD. wE GOT HODGE AND GOT RID OF HIM, WE ARE ALREADY MILES AHEAD IN THE DEAL STAY IN W.A.

Dutchy's Gal
15 Sep 2003, 19:28
Originally posted by jj flash
Current HFC players were more than happy to see him go. He won't be playing for Hawthorn again.

I don't think he has done enough (At Hawthorn and at Fremantle) to warrant the pedastool people put him on. I don't think his current form is anything to brag about.

We thought he was on the verge of playing some good footy when we traded him. A couple of years down the track, and he still hasn't come on.

He was traded, so let's move on.

superstar
15 Sep 2003, 19:31
Reasons he will never return to Glenferrie.

1. He's ****, and we knew it. Just because Freo now know it doesn't mean we should take him back.

2. We have salary cap problems as it is. Why would we want an overpaid dud? Answer: we wouldn't.

3. Personal tensions between Croad and the match committee.

jj flash
16 Sep 2003, 09:53
Trent can play footy OK, the problem is that he's always been the biggest, the best, the most athletic, the best looking. Being gifted with all the best physical attributes, he's never had to work hard for anything.

If he can just understand that he's part of a team and start to play for the team, he'll turn it on in a big way.

As for coming back to Hawthorn, it is never going to happen. Get over it kids and move on.......Trent is gone.

Grendel
16 Sep 2003, 13:59
BJ and 2nd rounder, halve his salary and play him at CHB.

Yep, Id do it but the Hawks, Freo and Trent all probably wouldnt (Hawks burnt bridges, Freo- not enough recompense, Trent- pride and pay probably).

With JJ, aint gonna happen.

tige19
17 Sep 2003, 00:55

Weres the proof?? who actually said that id like to know. Trent is a huge talent and is a quality person, once he gets his priorities i think he will be a champion.
The guy bleeds Hawthorn colours, i would love to see him back at the club.
Brett Jhonson for Trent Croad and maybe a 3rd rd pick would be ok, it could well be a turning point for Trent and the Club.

cheers

chicky17
17 Sep 2003, 01:10
Not sure about Trent bleeding Brown and Gold. I was still dissapointed to see him go, but imagine if we didn't. we are having fairly tough salary cap problems at the moment anyway, which I think is dissapointing because one good year out of the last 5 doesn't add up. We have obviously mismanaged somewhere along the line. Cartlon and Essendon got flags out of cheating. I think that the whole system is **** anyway. Brisbane and Sydney get extra cap cash to use for relocation and higher living costs, what about trying to keep interstate players in Victoria? we have lost many over the years, Ben Allan, Darren Jarman, Matthew Robran, Tony Hall, Daniel Chick, etc. we can't keep these blokes. do we get extra 'homesick' salary cap space. I don't think so!
It's time for the AFL to set down a level playing field.

I reckon Brett Johnson is good player that never seems to get much of a go. He sits on the bench for 3 quarters every game and the match commitee expect him to carve it up, give the boy a chance. He has poise, and good skills although sometimes he seems a bit lazy.

Does anyone know how to change the username? look at the one I'm stuck with from a year ago!

Ramma
17 Sep 2003, 09:34
Originally posted by chicky17
Not sure about Trent bleeding Brown and Gold. I was still dissapointed to see him go, but imagine if we didn't. we are having fairly tough salary cap problems at the moment anyway, which I think is dissapointing because one good year out of the last 5 doesn't add up. We have obviously mismanaged somewhere along the line.

As per the original post - Schwabby has intimated that the salary-cap
issues are as much a part of getting someone to the club as it is to
maintain the current players. This may or may not mean Croad, but
obviously on a salary much less than what he is getting now.
Again, refer the original post - it's a theory.

Becker
17 Sep 2003, 09:34
Originally posted by tige19
Weres the proof?? who actually said that id like to know. Trent is a huge talent and is a quality person, once he gets his priorities i think he will be a champion.
The guy bleeds Hawthorn colours, i would love to see him back at the club.
Brett Jhonson for Trent Croad and maybe a 3rd rd pick would be ok, it could well be a turning point for Trent and the Club.

cheers

That is a well known fact around the club. I won't name names because it is unfair, but a very high profile Hawk player was very pleased when Croad left the club, as were a number of other players.
As for Croad being a champion ..... are you kidding?

jj flash
17 Sep 2003, 09:55
Originally posted by Becker
That is a well known fact around the club. I won't name names because it is unfair, but a very high profile Hawk player was very pleased when Croad left the club, as were a number of other players.
As for Croad being a champion ..... are you kidding?

We may see Trent buy into a Jims Mowing franchise some time down the track.

Becker
19 Sep 2003, 09:19
We may see Trent buy into a Jims Mowing franchise some time down the track.

So we can expect to see a lot of bad lawns. He couldn't trim his toenails let alone a lawn.

YAKUZA
19 Sep 2003, 13:51
" I am not sure about footy I think I want to go and model in Europe for few years".

That comment or very similar has been heard by several of those who mix in the modelling circles in Perth.

shaneh
22 Sep 2003, 19:18
Croad For Johnson and 2nd round pick.Yes please:)

Grendel
23 Sep 2003, 10:24
Just on your user-name, Chicky17, sorry but it can't be done.

Only thing you can do is register another name and let the old one 'die'.

jj flash
25 Sep 2003, 13:48
Originally posted by Becker
So we can expect to see a lot of bad lawns. He couldn't trim his toenails let alone a lawn.

Well, he would like to cut some grass, but you're right, apparently he's not so good at that either.