View Full Version : Vic footy finals 2003

Mobbenfuhrer
15 Sep 2003, 11:39
As reported in the paper (amongst other sources) :
Reds win D2 GF!!!!!!!!! (!!!!!!!!)

Wimmera FL PF : Stawell knock off arch-rivals Ararat in yet another cliffhanger Warriors/Redlegs v (Gason) Rats final. These two teams are sponsored by some mob who imports pacemakers, surely. Every damn finals clash is a corker ... the WFL itself reckons the most exciting GF ever in their 70+ year history was a Stawell/Ararat clash. Stawell will go on to play one of the forty Horsham teams that line the league for the shot at a premiership. (Actually the three cHorsham clubs are Horsham (Demons), Horsham United (Imperials-Wonwondah, Diggers) and Horsham Saints (St Michaels). Just wanted to get in a snipe about the clinicality sneaking into country footy.

Ballarat FL : Hard to udnerstand the result per AAP, especially considering the upset this would be, but the 2S result shows Redan downing Sunbury. Umm ... who tipped that??? I got used to accepting what tige19 said about Redan, that they're 2002 fame would be shortlived. But, well, come finals time, anything's possible. Still tipping Sunbury to get back up and over the line, though heart is with Redan.

Bellarine FL : Congrats Ocean Grove, the boringest premiers ever (won their 190,000th flag on the weekend over Geelong out-of-ammos).

Alberton FL : The four wheel drives upset hot faves Fish Creek.

Benalla DFL : Devenish (the Barbers) give Longwood a short back and sides to take out the flag.

Bendigo FL : One of the two teams I have a soft spot for, Eaglehawk, defeat the other team I have a soft spot for, Sandhurst, in the PF.

Central Goulburn GF : Yea upgraded to Hurrah while a suddenly very blue Violet Town wonder where have all the flowers gone.

Central Highlands FL : {you_idiot can place his report here} Newlyn win GF.

Central Murray FL : My old bosses Lake Bogan ... sorry ... Boga, into the GF after a win over Kerrash ... 5 goal win.

Colac DFL (not that anybody cares after Forrest went out in straight sets due to the aftermath of disciplinary issues that rocked the world) GF : Apollo Bay defeated Lorne for the flag. Stick 'em in Bellarine, they bore me. Give Alvie and the other chipmunks a chance.

East Gipps GF : Lakes Entrance kncok off Wy Turnup in a cliffhanger.

Ellinbank FL : Buln Buln are choke choke this year after going out in straight stes first to Catani and now to Poowong in the PF. I tip Catani to avoid catastrophe and cause a bit of a stink in the granny.

Geelong FL : La Bell Epark knock off Lara in PF.

Geelong DFL : Sled-dog mecca Bannockburn almost doubles Thomson for an easy flag win.

Golden Rivers FL and Ultima win the ultimate with a GF win over Triedabit.

Goulburn Valley FL : {Wayde can isert report here} still in the early semis but Seymour unlucky not to make the finals :)

Hampden and ladder leaders all year Camperdown Maggies laid the law down to Port Fairy, 2 points in it at the final bell! What a match that would have been!

KNTFL and as expected Penola downed Kyby.

Kyabram PF and the Wombats into the grand final after a win over Rushworth.

Loddon Valley FL GF : Calivil Utd down Mitiamo by 3 goals for the flag. No sign of YCW this year, all the pressure was off the other teams.

MCDFL PF : Dean Talbot beat Carisbrook. Are Harcourt already in the GF or did they get run out of town early?

Mid-Gippy GF and Newborough rain on the Trafalgar parade.

Mininera DFL (another boring league cause all my teams are down the bottom all of the time) : Lizzy-Dezza get over Woorndoo-Mortlake for a shot in the Granny.

Murray FL : Tocumwal knock off Nathalia.

North Central PF : Charlton end the Wychy run and will meet Snuh in the Grand Final.

Ovens & King PF : North Wang defeate Bright who are now downgraded to somewhat dull. Bright kicked themselves out of it, losing 12.15 to 8.19 ... equal number of scoring shots!

Ovens & Murray : Corowa-Rutherglen put away the Raiders by just under 18 goals.

Picola DFL : {Wayde, here yer go} Katandra thrash Tunga in the GF.

SWDFL GF : Tyrendarra easy premiers over one-time WBFL team Coleraine. Sandford still ruing the falling away of what was a great start to the season.

Tallangatta DFL : With Bethanga history Dederang and Mitta fought out the GF with Dederang-Mount Beauty 60 point winners. Congrats!

West Gippy : Leongatha do in Sale (what's that, the PF?) and Warragul premiers over Garfield in the Western Div.

Western Border PF and Imps get done by South Gambier. Chance now for South to add to their already impressive list of pennants.

Anyone know results from Lexton and Horsham leagues?

Lethal
15 Sep 2003, 11:48
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
Loddon Valley FL GF : Calivil Utd down Mitiamo by 3 goals for the flag. No sign of YCW this year, all the pressure was off the other teams.

Calivil won all 3 flags, 17's, reserves and seniors.

goaldrush
15 Sep 2003, 11:58
Sunbury got beaten by Redan in the Seniors on Saturday.

Go Redan.

TheBigV
15 Sep 2003, 12:20
GVFL Rochester beat Shepp Swans by a point. Tatura beat Echuca by 5 points. Echuca plays Rochester in the prelim winner to face Tatura. Was at the Tatura - Echuca game, what an absolute ripper of a match. Tat outscoring Echuca against a 5 goal wind in the last quarter.

Mobbenfuhrer
15 Sep 2003, 13:45
Originally posted by TheBigV
GVFL Rochester beat Shepp Swans by a point. Tatura beat Echuca by 5 points. Echuca plays Rochester in the prelim winner to face Tatura. Was at the Tatura - Echuca game, what an absolute ripper of a match. Tat outscoring Echuca against a 5 goal wind in the last quarter.

Two exciting results and possibly another one due this Saturday!Wayde must be chuffed about Tat.

goaldrush
15 Sep 2003, 14:20
Two exciting results and possibly another one due this Saturday!Wayde must be chuffed about Tat. It must of been a ripper. Congrats to Tatura.

you_idiot
15 Sep 2003, 19:49
As reported in the paper (amongst other sources) :

Central Highlands FL : {you_idiot can place his report here} Newlyn win GF.

Gladly will do so, thanks for asking, Mobbs. :)

Much more content by me in this morning's actual, physical editions of the Ballarat Courier (as opposed to the online edition), but here's the gist of it...

http://www.thecourier.com.au/detail.asp?class=sport&subclass=local&category=general%20sport&story_id=254478&y=2003&m=9

Cats purring after dominant display
By William Olson
Sunday, 14 September 2003

NEWLYN has won its first Central Highlands Football League premiership since 1992, and its 11th flag, with a comprehensive 37-point win over Buninyong on Saturday at the Northern Oval.

"This is a hard feeling to describe, really. You can never count your chickens, and we came here today knowing that it was going to be a hard contest, especially without (forward) Nick (Preston), and I'm just rapt with the boys with the way that we played, they were just terrific," said Greg Cosgriff, Newlyn's premiership-winning coach after the game.

Cats ruckman Andrew Venner's three goals and strong display all over the ground gave him the best-on-ground award.

Newlyn's on-ballers and midfield controlled the game and never gave Buninyong a chance to get close in the windy and slippery conditions.

"We kept winning the ball out of the centre, and on a windy day like this, that's going to put you about 40 metres in front most of the time," Cosgriff said.

"I can't say enough about Andrew (Venner) and Damien Stewart today, with the games that they played. And Luke Faull, Tristan May, Scott McKay, all those on-ball fellows, they were just brilliant, all of them," Cosgriff added.

Buninyong started out as the stronger team, as Jensen Spencer's opening goal from a set shot propelled them to an eight-point lead inside the opening minutes of the first quarter.

But Newlyn soon took over the match with devastating consequences, as goals from Venner and Craig McCahon enabled the Cats to lead at the first break by just one straight kick.

Chris Dwyer stepped in for ankle injury victim Nick Preston and took some strong marks on the lead, helping inspire Newlyn to kick six consecutive goals en route to taking a 28-point lead at the main intermission.

Marks and goals kicked by Dwyer and Michael Sacco were the result of some dominant work in the Cats' midfield by Luke Faull and playing co-coach Damien Stewart, play which continued effectively in the third term.

McCahon, impressive all afternoon, and Venner added goals to give Newlyn its largest lead of 42 points at three-quarter time before Aaron Beaumont gave Buninyong a small consolation with the only goal of the final quarter.

Overall, Cosgriff praised his team's complete effort and resiliency on and around the ball.

"When we won the semi-final, our attack on the ball was so good, and we had to stick to playing in that manner. With the windy conditions, and being in front, if we knew that we could keep going hard at the ball, we knew that's where the game had to be won," he said.

"Endeavour-wise, our blokes were terrific all day. And our little blokes did use the ball well all game long. We were pretty fresh, and we ran and ran and ran," added Cosgriff.

Buninyong coach Chris Maple, who led his team to championship-winning glory last year, offered no excuses for his squad's shortcomings on the day while giving complete congratulations to Newlyn.

"They (Newlyn) were first to the footy, ran the ball a bit better than us, got first use of the ball out of the ruck from Venner, and they were pretty much dominant over much of the ground," Maple said.

"We could have been more accountable, and we could have used the ball a bit better. I know the conditions were poor, but we should have been first to the ball more often as well," he said.

Final score was Newlyn 8.10 (58) to Buninyong 3.3 (21).

you_idiot
15 Sep 2003, 19:52
And the other results from the other leagues in this region...

http://www.thecourier.com.au/detail.asp?class=sport&subclass=local&category=general%20sport&story_id=254480&y=2003&m=9

Ballarat Football League

Seniors:
Second semi-final: Redan 10.7 (67) d Sunbury 7.13 (55) GOALS - Redan: Walsh 5, Quinlan 2, Giblett, Hose, Barker. Sunbury: Steel 2, Lupson, Lobb, Power, Purcell, Meacham. BEST - Redan: Hose, Kennedy, Freeland, Stephenson, Power. Sunbury: Purcell, Steel, Payne, Little, Lewis.
First semi-final: Daylesford 6.12 (48) d Melton South 5.7 (37) GOALS - Daylesford: Lynch 3, Cartledge, Skewes, Scoble. Melton South: Arena, Gallop, Reardon, Sproule, Collins. BEST - Daylesford: Nolan, richardson, Rahill, O'Brien, Winduss, Beacham. Melton South: Sproule, Mamalis, Senserrick, Hannett.

http://www.thecourier.com.au/detail.asp?class=sport&subclass=local&category=general%20sport&story_id=254482&y=2003&m=9

Lexton Plains Football League

Preliminary finals
Seniors:
Carngham-Linton 9.14 (68) d Rokewood-Corindhap 7.8 (50) GOALS - Carngham-Linton: Porter 4, Battye 2, Nethercott 2, D. Waters. Rokewood-Corindhap: Augustine 3, Grenfell 2, Russell, Knight. BEST - Carngham-Linton: Pring, Dummett, Bodey, Stasse, Robbie Waters, Porter. Rokewood-Corindhap: Grenfell, Nairn, Traill, Knight.

Spackas
16 Sep 2003, 10:50
The Wimmera League GF they were talking about between Stawell and Ararat was a belter.

Lead changed in the last quarter several times. Probably the most amazing thing was when an Ararat player roved a pack and was running in to an open goal to put them up by 16 points (I think), when out of nowhere a Stawell plaer chased him down and got the footy from the free kick.
The ball went up the other end and Stawell ended up winning.

Mobbenfuhrer
16 Sep 2003, 11:01
Originally posted by Spackas
The Wimmera League GF they were talking about between Stawell and Ararat was a belter.

Lead changed in the last quarter several times. Probably the most amazing thing was when an Ararat player roved a pack and was running in to an open goal to put them up by 16 points (I think), when out of nowhere a Stawell plaer chased him down and got the footy from the free kick.
The ball went up the other end and Stawell ended up winning.

How did you know of that, Spaclas? I first learnt about it off the OLD WFL website, then heard it confirmed in a book called "Wheatbelt Warriors".

It must have been some final!

Spackas
16 Sep 2003, 13:19
I might be talking about a different Grand Final, but it was the best game of footy I have ever seen live.

I think it was 2000 and I went with some mates.

Mobbenfuhrer
16 Sep 2003, 13:59
Originally posted by Spackas
I might be talking about a different Grand Final, but it was the best game of footy I have ever seen live.

I think it was 2000 and I went with some mates.

Nope that was probably it, it was pretty recent from memory. Why would you go out to Horsham?

Stealth bomber
16 Sep 2003, 17:01
Essendon District FL - In a stunning upset, Oak Park won for second year in a row after defeating Keilor by a massive 71 point margin.

It was Keilor's first defeat of the year. They had finished 18-0 with a % around 200, so to be absolutely flogged in the Grand Final was certainly a shock.

tige19
17 Sep 2003, 11:54
Mobbs i was speaking to a few Sunbury boys about the game on Saturday and they seem to be of the believing that Redan were the weakest side in the Finals.
Now this is were they stuffed up i think, going into a game with alot more big name players and thinking the result was just going to come.
They seem to think the loss can be a positive as it is probably the wake up call needed, i think you will find that they will go up to Ballarat and Daylesford a hiding.
God help Redan when they meet Sunbury in the GF, they will face a Sunbury side keen for revenge after last years GF.
Mobbs im very suprised how Redan have come good, thre list is not as strong as last year and they have been pumped by Sunbury Twice this year yet they come out and win when it counts.
Will be a ripper GF, You going Mobbs ,Phill???

NakedDeadGuy
23 Sep 2003, 20:40
East Gipps GF : Lakes Entrance kncok off Wy Turnup in a cliffhanger.

Was on holidays visiting family and had a look at this game, used to play this league. Golf Saturday morning followed by dunno how many cans saw me charged when I got in there. Wy Yung ahead all day, from memory 37 points up at 3/4 time she was all over. 25 minute mark last 1/4, the Wy Yung reserves boys have had a few cans, start singing the team song as the seniors lead by 20 odd points still. Lakes Entrance streamers are put inside the car and those cars start heading out the gate. The old man tells me we're gonna get going, but luckily I told him I wanted to congratulate a Wy Yung mate of mine at the end.
Bloody hell. 4 goals in about 2 1/2 minutes of game time to Lakes, somehow they've won it. Got in the car, went home, wasn't sure I had really seen it til I read it in the paper the next day.

footyman
28 Sep 2003, 22:56
There were the last three country Grand Finals on today:

Bell Park beat St Marys in the Geelong FL replay after last week's draw.

Redan beat Sunbury in the Ballarat Football League.

Who won the Goulburn Valley FL Grand Final at Shepparton? Did Echuca win another flag?

Fred
29 Sep 2003, 08:31
Tatura won easily.

Mobbenfuhrer
29 Sep 2003, 11:57
Originally posted by Fred
Tatura won easily.

Woohoo! Good result, that. Wayde will be away for a week partying, most likely.

Wayde Petersen
30 Sep 2003, 00:38
Excellent Crowd (nearly all of whom were Tatura supporters), beautiful day, and a game that Tat absolutely kicked arse!, I wasn't expecting a lob-sided result like this, especially after Echuca thrashed Rochester, but I suppose after the way Tat ran over the top of Echuca in the second semi, the Doggies did have the mental edge over the Murray Bombers.

Kev, Seymour's picked up the assistant coach of the Northern Bullants this season, and should take 6 or so fringe/reserves players with him, which should be good, and Ants captain, Shannon Gibson, has signed up for Euroa, but as far as all the player/club movements go, I'll keep you posted.