View Full Version : Left of field potential draftees
pazza
15th September 2003, 19:40
Every year, there is always one or two players, that no-one (or very little) has or have heard of, that get drafted.
So, to kick off, I'll mention 2 players who will be given a careful eye on:
James Condos (Werribee)
This youngster has had an amazing 2 years. Prior to 2002, no-one in footy had really heard of him. A fine season in the WRFL in 2002, saw him receive that competition's rookie player of the year.
Werribee picked him up in 2003 and he has continued to grow as a player, finishing only behind David Mitchell, in Werribee's goalkicking this season.
Would be a player that a club, who requires a good small forward.
Nathan Lovett-Murray (Bendigo)
At 21, "Natrat" is an interesting prospect. Played as a tall half-back flanker for Bendigo this year and is currently, the Michael Long scholarship holder. Has had experience interstate as well.
A club requiring tall defenders might be interested
NICK THE PIE MAN
15th September 2003, 19:54
Originally posted by pazza
Nathan Lovett-Murray (Bendigo)
At 21, "Natrat" is an interesting prospect. Played as a tall half-back flanker for Bendigo this year and is currently, the Michael Long scholarship holder. Has had experience interstate as well.
A club requiring tall defenders might be interested
Was on the Collingwood rookie list for a year or two if my meomery serves me right.
Any other Pie fans care to confirm?
Effes
15th September 2003, 20:21
We drafted Karl Norman last year...he was picked from the OVM league I think...so it shows you should not just look at players in the TAC league..
pazza
15th September 2003, 20:30
Agreed Bluemike.
There are probably a cast of thousands who may not have reached the Under 18's or the Teal Cup, who could easilty get a game. In many cases, those players are probably better physically prepared than the kids themselves, as they would have played senior footy as well and gained the physical development to play the game against the big bodied players.
It's just a shame that those involved in recruiting, don't necessarily get out to say the VMFL or VCFL games.
CammoAU
15th September 2003, 21:18
I'm going to pimp this guy to the moon over the next month or so.
Matty Burns - Dandenong Stingrays.
Kicked 6 goals from CHF in the curtain raiser to Brisbane/Collingwood the other night.
Great footballer/athlete and a top bloke too. :D
holdencaulfield
15th September 2003, 21:21
I would like to know if anyone thinks that wafl leading goal kicker Brad Smith would have any chance of being drafted. Turns 25 next year . Geelong, the dogs or west coast may show some interest.
Demon37
15th September 2003, 21:31
Lachlan Smith?
doggies40
15th September 2003, 21:46
Originally posted by pazza
James Condos (Werribee)
This youngster has had an amazing 2 years. Prior to 2002, no-one in footy had really heard of him. A fine season in the WRFL in 2002, saw him receive that competition's rookie player of the year.
Werribee picked him up in 2003 and he has continued to grow as a player, finishing only behind David Mitchell, in Werribee's goalkicking this season.
Would be a player that a club, who requires a good small forward.
Id love to get jimmy at the doggies, even if its just at a rookie, ive been watching him this year, and he gets better every game i see him play.
WoeyFanclub
15th September 2003, 22:00
is that the same brad smith that played for collingwood?????????????
holdencaulfield
15th September 2003, 22:05
I hope not , he also played for sydney didn,t he ?
Thewlis Dish
15th September 2003, 22:09
sanfl reserves always seem to have a diamond or two in the rough, last year it was matty lokan and blokes like byron pickett have been drafted from there
kretchy
15th September 2003, 22:24
Might be classed by some as too old at 24 but I wouldn't be too suprised if Tim Inkster from Woodville-West Torrens in the SANFL was picked up.
sog35
15th September 2003, 22:28
Shane Tuck has been awesome for West Adelaide, playing league. Only 21, tall, leaping midfielder.
Hosko
15th September 2003, 23:05
Shane Tuck has been awesome for West Adelaide, playing league. Only 21, tall, leaping midfielder.
got anything more thorough than this? sounds ok
jonty
15th September 2003, 23:05
Brett Jones - Claremont
I saw a game of his a couple of weeks back on Fox Footy in the WAFL. As you can see, I dont purport myself to be a draft expert. I saw Brett playing in the backline in this game, and while he didnt shine, I saw some real quality in him. I don't know how old he is (he could be 19 or 29 for all I know), but he is my draft smoky.
Has anyone else seen him or heard anything about him?
superstar
15th September 2003, 23:48
Originally posted by Hosko
got anything more thorough than this? sounds ok
Son of Michael.
On the hawks rookie list for a couple years. Didn't make it. Had some health problems if I recall. Good to hear he's going alright.
Other smokeys: Doug Scott (son of Don) or Steve Kenna. Both from Box Hill.
tige19
16th September 2003, 00:15
Ill give you guys a ripper.
A bloke who plays for Coburg Tigers and made VFL team of the year, also a former West Sydney Razorback NBL player Leigh Carlson.
He will be picked up by Richmond at the end of the season i have no doubts at all.
Has anyone seen him play this year??? id like to get a bit of a feedback from some people on him, i think he is 23 now.
cheers
dogman22
16th September 2003, 10:50
Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN
Nathan Lovett-Murray was on the Collingwood rookie list for a year or two if my meomery serves me right.
Any other Pie fans care to confirm?
Nathan Lovett-Murray was on Collingwood's rookie list last year. They didn't renew his contract, so he went back to his hometwon of Heywood for the year. In April, Michael Long called him up to the Bendigo squad, and he's stayed there ever since.
Handy flanker-wingman type, needs more bulk if he wants to make it at AFL level.
Sera
16th September 2003, 10:56
Brad Smith who plays for Subiaco is not the same Brad Smith who played for Collingwood. He played in the WA v SA state game a few months ago if any of you saw it. He has kicked about 90 goals in the WAFL this year. Medhurst was recruited from the WAFL after kicking about 75 in the WAFL so he may go. Wouldn't mind him at the Eagles. A player from the WAFL who should definately get drafted is Michael Johnson from Perth.
shawry
16th September 2003, 12:00
The Brad Smith formally of Collingwood and Richmond jsut finished his season at Glenelg in the SANFL.
Weaver
16th September 2003, 12:14
Originally posted by tige19
Ill give you guys a ripper.
A bloke who plays for Coburg Tigers and made VFL team of the year, also a former West Sydney Razorback NBL player Leigh Carlson.
He will be picked up by Richmond at the end of the season i have no doubts at all.
Has anyone seen him play this year??? id like to get a bit of a feedback from some people on him, i think he is 23 now.
cheers
Leigh Carlson was probably better last season and overlooked. Dean Talbot has been better than Carlson these past 2 years and also overlooked. Carlson is 25 now, 26 before the new season.
I would be surprised if he was taken. Basically to make it as a defender in the AFL 185cm isn't enough for a key position. And to be a running-flanker type you need great pace and a good accuracte and penetrative kick.
footyman
16th September 2003, 13:37
There are likely to be a few from the VAFA this year. Mark Corrigan from Old Haileybury is one name thats been thrown around a bit.
pazza
16th September 2003, 16:01
You might be right footyman. Luke Hawkins came pretty close at the end of last year to being at Essendon for 2003, but, Terry Daniher was out-voted on the match committee it seems.
Stiffy_18
16th September 2003, 16:07
Originally posted by kretchy
Might be classed by some as too old at 24 but I wouldn't be too suprised if Tim Inkster from Woodville-West Torrens in the SANFL was picked up. He is definetly capable of "starring" at AFL. When he turns it on its raining goals :D
Thunderstruck
16th September 2003, 16:14
Yep Tim Inkster is a great player....I didnt realise he was 24...thought he was about 19 20...but that doesnt matter...he is more than capable of playing AFL...crows should go for him, delist ronnie burns and gain Timmy :)
rama_9
16th September 2003, 16:44
Leigh McDonald - Has had a great season with Broadbeach Football Club in the AFL Queensland State League, one of the favourites to win the Best and Fairest at the club, had a excellent match a few weeks ago in the curtian raiser for Brisbane Lions Reserves V Broadbeach, played on Tim Notting. He was one of the best's in that game.
Probably will be picked up by the Tigers (in either the draft or the rookie draft), he is currently 21.
jivinivan
16th September 2003, 16:47
Cameron Thurley, Ian Callinan and Simon Taylor from Tassie. Probably a better chance for a rookie list though.
dasler
16th September 2003, 16:50
A player from the WAFL who should definately get drafted is Michael Johnson from Perth.
Big fan of this kid, he could develop into a real gun KPP
tige19
16th September 2003, 18:04
Originally posted by Weaver
Leigh Carlson was probably better last season and overlooked. Dean Talbot has been better than Carlson these past 2 years and also overlooked. Carlson is 25 now, 26 before the new season.
I would be surprised if he was taken. Basically to make it as a defender in the AFL 185cm isn't enough for a key position. And to be a running-flanker type you need great pace and a good accuracte and penetrative kick.
Well Talbot certantly wont win the B&F this year, Leigh has it in the bag.
Leigh has been training with Richmond for the second hald of the season and it is thought that he will almost deffiently be selected.
Its great news i think because he is a super athelete with great pace and huge leap and really good skills. Better than half the Tigers list at the moment.
llosis
16th September 2003, 18:16
Originally posted by dasler
Big fan of this kid, he could develop into a real gun KPP
Dasler, what's the take on Michael Johnson? Is he top 20? or a bit lower than that.
Seems like the sort of player who might be a sleeper in the 40-50's like Dion Woods a couple of years ago.
dasler
16th September 2003, 20:23
Illosis, very classy chb or chf. personally i like him at CHF as he is very good overhead and mobile.
I think with the quality of the other wa players he will be a little below them as they are major influencing players atm.
IMO i believe he'll go as a 3rd or 4th round, maybe late 2nd at most optimistic. Will be a gun if he lives up to potential though.
themoose
16th September 2003, 21:44
Brett Jones has a rookie contract with the Western Warriors.
Player to watch is Kepler Bradley. Will go top 5.
dasler
16th September 2003, 22:04
Player to watch is Kepler Bradley. Will go top 5.
I'm going to smash my head against the wall for the sheer blatant comment for this one.
Brett Jones has a rookie contract with the Western Warriors.
What's that got to do with being a potential draftee at AFL level........
Thunderstruck
17th September 2003, 14:47
Blokes I would pick up for the crows:
Daniel Schell for Brant Chambers
Ronnie Burns for Tim Inkster
Nathan Bock for Matthew Stokes
Andrew Crowell for Heath Hopwood
Ben Marsh for Craig Parry
Trent Hentchell for Jade Sheedy
ROC
17th September 2003, 15:58
Footyman is correct, Mark Corrigan who played for Old haileybury in A ammos will be the smokey
bac
17th September 2003, 19:47
David Robbins two listons adn only 23 enough said, had a year on the dees rookie list
Travis Roberston Werribee Tigers have seen many times never seem to put a foot wrong, about 23/24.
Both are ready made players for teams like carlton or the Dogs, they both have heart and a passion to play at the top level.
Deestroy
17th September 2003, 19:51
Originally posted by bac
David Robbins two listons adn only 23 enough said, had a year on the dees rookie list
Very good VFL player, can't see it transforming into AFL as his disposal is a big question mark. Clubs could do worse, but they could do better as well IMO.
kretchy
17th September 2003, 21:34
Haven't seen enough of him only about four or five games and only on TV but maybe a guy called Salim Hassan from West Adelaide. Perhaps the major query may be his size? Similar to Matthew Stokes from the Eagles whose size may have cost him a chance at AFL level.
Barmera roo
18th September 2003, 15:18
Originally posted by kretchy
Haven't seen enough of him only about four or five games and only on TV but maybe a guy called Salim Hassan from West Adelaide. Perhaps the major query may be his size? Similar to Matthew Stokes from the Eagles whose size may have cost him a chance at AFL level.
Hassan would be a good pick up. For the USA. He could tell them where his Dad is hiding!
naughty monkey
18th September 2003, 15:56
Matt Illman - ex 36ers player, couldn't agree on a contract for the upcoming NBL season so played a few matches with Westies reserves. Wouldn't mind him on a rookie list.
naughty monkey
18th September 2003, 15:57
Originally posted by Barmera roo
Hassan would be a good pick up. For the USA. He could tell them where his Dad is hiding!
that would be funny....if his surname was Hussain
Barmera roo
18th September 2003, 16:23
Originally posted by naughty monkey
that would be funny....if his surname was Hussain
Maybe3 it is his dislexic son!
Weaver
18th September 2003, 17:00
Originally posted by bac
Travis Roberston Werribee Tigers have seen many times never seem to put a foot wrong, about 23/24.
Both are ready made players for teams like carlton or the Dogs, they both have heart and a passion to play at the top level.
Robbins has terrible kicking which cost him his shot at the AFL. Robertson was with Richmond reserves and lacked pace from memory.
Fall Out Boy
18th May 2004, 17:41
*BUMP*
Fair get from Pazza, in hindsight.
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.