On a one year contract that has expired. Expendable

Bannister, Jordan

Unlucky with Injury, has potential. Keep

Barnard, Paul

Goodbye to a great servant. We wish him well

Bolton, Mark

Yet to sign, but I'm loathe to let him go, even though he's good trade bait

Bullen, Marc

Has improved immensely. Required Player.

Cartledge, Tristan

Potential Dud. Forced to keep him for another year (Draftee Rules)

Cupido, Damian

No chance of letting this guy leave in a hurry. Untouchable.

Davies, James

Overrated Hack. Trade bait to get draft pick 80.

Fletcher, Dustin

Critical, when he plays. Untouchable.

Forster-Knight, Robert

Tough one. What do you guys think?

Hall, Ken

Haven't seen enough to make a call. Probably back to the rookie list.

Harvey, Shane

Super Potential, but has he delivered. Trade Bait if the Roos can offer something decent

Haynes, Ben

Welcome to the senior list, mate

Henneman, Aaron[b]

Can't ruck. Key Defender Potential. Possible Trade Bait for the doggies.

[b]Hille, David

Now a 50-50 ruckman. Has very good key forward potential. Untouchable.

Hird, James

Onto the vets list. Some much needed cap relief.

Hunt, Sam

Good Prospect. Keen to see his development. Trade bait nevertheless if the right deal comes up.

Jacobs, Danny

Still in contract negotiations. Would hate to lose, but makes very good trade bait. Straight swap Jacobs for Daniel Kerr perhaps?

Johns, Courtney

Was told he would never play again. Proved them all wrong. Should see him on the senior list

Johnson, Jason

Untouchable

Johnson, Mark

Untouchable

Laycock, Jason

Exciting Prospect. Look forward to seeing him in action

Lloyd, Matthew

Ours for the next 3 years :)

Lucas, Scott

Yet to sign, but by god I hope we're able to keep him

McGrath, Cory

Trade Bait. Had his opportunities but never made the most of them. Goodbye

McPhee, Adam

Played every game this year. Required Player

McVeigh, Mark

Rumored that he might want to go back to Sydney. A shame, just when he was starting to come good.

Mercuri, Mark

A shadow of his former self, but we're burdened with him for the next year. Thank god for the vets list

Misiti, Joe

Not the stellar player of yesteryear, but a great contributor nonetheless. Required.

O'Keefe, Simon

Another of Sheedy's project ruckmen. Will this guy ever develop?

Peverill, Damien

Shaky Start, good finish. Required Player

Ramanauskas, Adam

Untouchable, Future Captain

Reynolds, Joel

Better live up to that name. Showed enough this year to show he has potential.

Richards, Ted

Exciting Prospect. Required Player!

Rioli, Dean

Unique Creativity, oozing with talent. Requred player.

Solomon, Dean

Fantastic Comeback from injury. Required Player

Walsh, Darren

Shades of Wanganeen? Come on essendonfc.com.au, stop patronising us. Nevertheless, this kid is good. Just not THAT good.

Watson, Jobe

Untouchable.

Wellman, Sean

The Quarterback. Required Player.

Welsh, Andrew

Fantastic development in such a short time. Future leader. Untouchable.

Winderlich, Jason

Great Midfield Prospect. Look forward to seeing him in action.

-----------------------------------------------------

Up for Trade (Outside players who may be sacrificed to bring the club what it will need to be a better team)

Bannister
Davies
Forster-Knight
Henneman
Hunt
Jacobs?
C. McGrath
McVeigh?
O'Keefe?

----------------------------------

List Situation:

Full List, Minus Barnard, Still over the limit by two when you consider the three rookies in there. Ken Hall may need to go back down to the rookies, and the possible delisting of Alessio/Davies/McGrath to make room for the other.

Two other players need to be sacrificed if we're going to take the minimum of two players in the draft this year. Our trades should involve trading players for high draft picks if possible to maximise talent.

---------------------------------

Vet's List

James Hird and Mark Mercuri. Misiti can't go there cos then we'd actually be paying more. Hird and Mercs have heavily backloaded contracts.

------------------------------------

What we need (in No Particular Order)

Midfielder with electric pace, a master at clearances who can also kick goals

Who?

Dominant Ruckman. Sorry Hille, you're good, but not THAT good. YET. Flashes of brilliance, but awkward consistency.

Who?

---------------------------------------

Cupestar
16 Sep 2003, 01:12
Oh yes, our draft picks worth trading...

13 & 28

marcuz
16 Sep 2003, 01:17
Cartledge, Tristan

Potential Dud. Forced to keep him for another year (Draftee Rules)

Very harsh. Turned 18 mid year. 6'6 with a huge leap. I wouldnt write him off.

Walsh, Darren

Shades of Wanganeen? Come on essendonfc.com.au, stop patronising us. Nevertheless, this kid is good. Just not THAT good.

When i was at kardinia park with a couple of mates who support geelong. One of them spotted walsh and said when did wanganeen come back to essendon. He moves like wanganeen. Super quick with great balance. I rate this kid. He is no wanganeen but will be very good for us

Cupestar
16 Sep 2003, 01:20
Originally posted by marcuz
Very harsh. Turned 18 mid year. 6'6 with a huge leap. I wouldnt write him off.

Mind you, I used to think that Hille was a hack and that Mercs was the best thing since sliced bread. I'd love to be proved wrong on this one.

marcuz
16 Sep 2003, 01:26
I once said Daniel McAlister would play 200 games....:(

Im dissapointed in james davies....So much skill left or right foot and super fast yet he hasnt come on. he might get one last chance

The big guys take a lot longer to devolop cupestar. Id be holding on to all of our young ruckmen. Dont want any of them coming back to bite us in the arse

Cupestar
16 Sep 2003, 01:36
On the point of ruckmen, Hille is capable, but if he gets injured, we've got almost nothing to back him up - (I'm very impressed with Laycock, but he might be a little too inexperienced). Henneman isn't a ruckman, and playing him there will just end up curtailing his own career and hurting us. Same with Bolts, he's a good player, but he can't ruck either. Alessio is more of a liability than anything at the moment.

Who can we get?

Peter Street from Geelong?

Is Ricky Mott still on the Market?

Jamie Charman from Brisbane?

Pevers-Legend
16 Sep 2003, 10:46
Davies, James

Overrated Hack. Trade bait to get draft pick 80.

Love it - been saying since I first saw him. He reminds me of Homer trying to see the back of his head when he is on the field.

Would keep Hunt - I like the look of the kid and if he can get injury free - will have no doubt he will be playing senior footy.

Rooboy36
16 Sep 2003, 16:02
Is there any Likeable Players from Teams in the finals in the TAC CUP this year at the moment that Essendon should or would be interested in???

-Calder Cannons = Should be a couple due to area, quality etc?????
-Murray Bushrangers = Some Classy ones dunn, tenace???
-Dandenong Stingrays = Dunno??
-Bendigo Pioneers = Dunno??

What do you reckon guys..........................

Stealth bomber
16 Sep 2003, 16:36
If I'm not mistaken, Ken Hall can't be on the rookie list next year because he is too old/been there too long.

Not sure what to do with the Bannister/F-K/Davies group. I like to think one of them is due to come good but I also see some blokes who just never find it.

We seem to draft a lot of players from the Calder Cannons. We got Welsh from them and a few others. I don't really pay much attention to the individual players, but there are a couple there with Essendon bloodlines I'm sure that Sheedy is interested in.

Pornstar
16 Sep 2003, 17:15
Originally posted by Stealth bomber
Not sure what to do with the Bannister/F-K/Davies group. I like to think one of them is due to come good but I also see some blokes who just never find it.
I think it is a pretty simple decision - they have to go. We already have Winderlich, Watson, Harvey, Richards, Lay(ock, Reynolds, Johns, Walsh, Hunt pushing for selection ahead of these guys, plus whoever we draft this year. They've had 3-4 years to show something. If they were going to be guns they would have put their hand up by now.

Cupido13
16 Sep 2003, 17:35
Originally posted by Pornstar
I think it is a pretty simple decision - they have to go. We already have Winderlich, Watson, Harvey, Richards, Lay(ock, Reynolds, Johns, Walsh, Hunt pushing for selection ahead of these guys, plus whoever we draft this year. They've had 3-4 years to show something. If they were going to be guns they would have put their hand up by now.

Well said, at the end of the day, if they haven't showed anything in 4 years, they aren't going to, and even if they do it is not going to be premiership winning material like weay get out of any of those listed above who are by all reports some quality players in the making.

Stealth bomber
16 Sep 2003, 19:21
Davies is probably the least likely to amount to anything based on past performance. Delist.

Forster-Knight had that one real good quarter on the ball against the Weagles, and then got benched and dropped. Persist with him if there is room, otherwise trade him. Don't delist him though; I think he is worth something.

Bannister is a real question mark. Injury pretty much prevented him from getting a fair go. Made a mark early in the Brisbane loss and then faded.

Cupestar
16 Sep 2003, 21:33
Tough to tell with Bannister, he's shown flashes of class, but we just haven't seen enough to be definitive on him, I think the committee will persist with him in 2004, give him a season to show what he's made of.

With the others, I agree wholeheartedly: Davies - Go, RFK - Stay.

marcuz
16 Sep 2003, 22:12
RFK can **** off. He is another pev clone. Bannister has had his time, He doesnt use the ball well at all ,he can go to

Cupestar
16 Sep 2003, 22:20
Looks like Joey might be gone too.

It's sad, I'm disappointed how the club treated him in what might have been his last game. I still think he has something to contribute.

Jacobs might be big trade bait...the Weagles want a key defender, we want someone like Kerr who can run through the lines (Did anyone see that goal of the year!!!???) I'd give up a second round draft pick and Jacobs for that! Chances are we'll get a second round draft pick for one of our other trades anyway, and I find it hard to see us taking on more than two draftees next year

Cupestar
16 Sep 2003, 22:58
We CANNOT lose Scotty. He's more important to us than any of us would like to acknowledge. Quite easily one of the most versatile KPPs around.